Opinion 2012 draft thread.

• Thread starter Thread starter Sin City

Not sure I like the concept of a final game tank, but there is a potential 2 draft position silver lining.

You say this like we'd have to TRY to lose to St Kilda. I think the team has proven over the past 8 years that they are pretty well versed at losing to the Saints.

Was the direction I was going for also. I think they will be too strong and beat us. Then again, it would be like us to lose one week to GCS then to beat St Kilda at Etihad of all places... What an indifferent season this one has been.

Ironically by daughters boyfriend played against both Stringer and Wines a few weeks ago.

Stringer just sounds right for us and wouldn't be surprised if we did indeed get him.
How do we trade for a better pick should we think we could get Wines?
Warnock and our first rounder for an upgrade? To who?

Who was better out of the 3? :p

Ironically by daughters boyfriend played against both Stringer and Wines a few weeks ago.

Stringer just sounds right for us and wouldn't be surprised if we did indeed get him.

If he has overcome the break in his leg, or will overcome it ... I'd pull the trigger on him at our selection, was reportedly a clearance machine prior to breaking his leg .. and given his height 192 cms? has been doing ok as a KPP.

How did he go against your daughters bf's mob?

I just don't reckon we can do it mate. There was talk of Lucas being the dish lickers number one target but even with Lucas + 1st round for the Dogs pick 5 or 6 I still think he could be gone.

I had mentioned before about our 1st pick and Warnock to get a better position in the draft. Thought the dogs maybe the only team willing to do this trade. But after reading an article just gone up on the HUN. McCartney says that they won't be a big player in the trades this year. Looking to get new talent.

I think Stringer will be available come our pick, but his injury last year really worries me. Sounds like he hasn't put it behind him. Badly broken leg, ewww!!!

Wines is the guy that I really want, but think he maybe gone within the top 6 picks, if not top 4. Very, very little chance of us getting him unless we do something crazy. But I would hope that there would be a very good player available come our first pick anyways.

In all honesty, I am hoping we can trade off a Warnock? To get either a 2nd round pick or a pick upgrade late into the first round.

Not sure about letting Lucas go either, but a pick in the first round would be good (not sure the other club would let go a first round pick) or a late first/early second round pick upgrade from our 3rd round pick could be handy.

No thanks. That's lunacy to give up Lucas just to move up four to six places in the draft. No more "two for one" trades. We can still get a first 22 player who complements our side without losing Lucas. If the draft is even, then I'd rather downgrade our first or second pick to get two selections like Geelong did in 09 and last year.

A younger Mclean-type in Wines would be great, but I'd be just as content to get a Hayden Ballantyne-type who is a talented annoying SOB like Robinson. Kennedy or Stringer could be available. We can thank Essendon's slide if using their top ten pick on Daniher pushes someone down the order.

Why don't you like Plowman or Colquhoun?

Its an ignorant statement from somebody who hasn't seen a whole lot of the stock this year - however, the impression that I get from Plowman is that he sounds very similar to Bootsma, in who we have already invested a first round selection. Of course, I could be totally wrong.

Best Available.

A 'Bush Telegraph' article in the Sunday Hun rates the top 10 Country Victoria footballers (somebody may be able to provide a link). At number 1 is Grant Weeks who plays for Golden Square. So far this season he has kicked 141 goals, last year 130 and the year before 157. He is 23yo, 189cm and 98kg. Anybody know anything about him and why he is not playing AFL?

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...e-in-the-country/story-e6frg6nf-1226457719871

Despite Weeks's impressive hauls, no AFL club has shown any interest in the country footballer.
"No one has ever spoken to me," Weeks told The Weekend Australian. "I have had plenty of interest from the VFL, WAFL and SANFL, but no direct contact from AFL clubs.
"I suppose I am kind of a one-dimensional player, I played backline at VFL level, but I am mainly a forward and as a full forward I am only 6' 2" (188cm), so I am not massive and I probably don't have the aerobic capacity of a half forward at AFL level.
Former Hawthorn great Peter Knights coached the team and was impressed. "He's such a go-to player for us and you very rarely see him beaten. In a body-on-body contest, you'd back him every time," he said.

Any chance Mayes will slide to our pick? Good kick, good mark, likes a goal.

Thoughts on Membrey? We could do with a medium forward, when we have either tall timber or short people.

Other than that, more midfielders and a ruck with a late pick.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...e-in-the-country/story-e6frg6nf-1226457719871

Despite Weeks's impressive hauls, no AFL club has shown any interest in the country footballer.
"No one has ever spoken to me," Weeks told The Weekend Australian. "I have had plenty of interest from the VFL, WAFL and SANFL, but no direct contact from AFL clubs.
"I suppose I am kind of a one-dimensional player, I played backline at VFL level, but I am mainly a forward and as a full forward I am only 6' 2" (188cm), so I am not massive and I probably don't have the aerobic capacity of a half forward at AFL level.
Former Hawthorn great Peter Knights coached the team and was impressed. "He's such a go-to player for us and you very rarely see him beaten. In a body-on-body contest, you'd back him every time," he said.
Yeah he was tipped to be drafted at 18 but got injured and missed a lot of footy that year.
You'd think clubs would look a bit more at country leagues, Michael Barlow for example was running around in the GVFL only a couple of years ago.

Any chance Mayes will slide to our pick? Good kick, good mark, likes a goal.

Thoughts on Membrey? We could do with a medium forward, when we have either tall timber or short people.

Other than that, more midfielders and a ruck with a late pick.

Wouldn't be disappointed with him at our second... Would love Matthew Haynes also

Looks like 10 just behind the Bombers who will take Daniher there.

Given that Whitfield, Toumpas, Grundy are pretty much guaranteed top 3 or at least top 5, I reckon that means we'll get one of:

O'Rourke - Inside Mid
Wines - Inside Mid
Stringer - Fwd/Mid
Mayes - Fwd/Mid
Vlaustin - Def/Mid
Kennedy - Mid/Fwd
Plowman - Key Def

With some other smokies:

Gartlett - Outside Mid (big attitude problems apparantly)
Menzel - Mid/Fwd (Injury concerns)
Shaw - Key Forward