Opinion 2012 draft thread.

• Thread starter Thread starter Sin City

I'm just glad it isn't up to you, we'll have a team full of [edited] like Gibbs, Garlett, Lucas etc.

We'd just keep topping up on these type of blokes and then watch them go missing when teams like GWS provide a physical approach...
[edited]

I guess you would say no to Pendlebury who isn't harder than Lucas, Gibbs and Garlett.

A team full of Dangerfields wouldn't cut down on the turnovers and decision making errors that hurt us this year.

It's between the ears with our players who pick and choose when they play hard footy. You don't take on Geelong, WC and Collingwood like we did this year if you can't play hard footy.

I would be for Stringer based on the BigFooty group think that he's a versatile and strong player. :oops:

Why wouldn't Stringer be a good fit for Carlton?

Mayes and Garlett sound OK if they can kick.
Well, they're right in that he's versatile and strong but he just doesn't have any decent output in the last two years unfortunately. If he's not paying well and especially IF reports on his look aren't good then there's no point taking him ahead of where his output suggests he should go.

Ah, so you're a good reader with strong comprehension skills to go with being insightful and rational :thumbsu:

Better comprehension, insight and more rational than you. I just gave my opinion regarding what we need but you decide to be a smart arse because you don't have the insight and rationality to come up with something constuctive to add to the discussion.

[edited]

I guess you would say no to Pendlebury who isn't harder than Lucas, Gibbs and Garlett.

I'd say no to Pendles if it meant getting Selwood or Dangerfield, which relates to this year's draft, no to Garlett if it means getting Wines or Stringer.

A team full of Dangerfields wouldn't cut down on the turnovers and decision making errors that hurt us this year.

So you think Wines and Stringer are not good disposers of the ball? ok.

It's between the ears with our players who pick and choose when they play hard footy. You don't take on Geelong, WC and Collingwood like we did this year if you can't play hard footy.

They are capable of it but not often enough, where was this hard edge against the teams that we got bullied against??? Guys like Selwood & Dangerfield are always ready to give it their all, not only when it suits them.

Gets a lot of the ball but every time I see him, he seems to butcher it quite a bit.
Still only 20 though and looks likely to be picked up somewhere. Worth a 4th rounder or will he drop enough to get rookied?

Surely Kyle Hartigan will get picked up by someone this year.
Wonder whether we may have a serious look at him.
Harks, Kyles older brother is a mate of mine..Only interest / discussion so far has come from the dogs and north (again)..

Wouldn't mind that Colqhuan(?) kid or Matthew Haynes with our second pick. Small defender rebounder in Haynes and half back distributor in Colqhuan (am sure the spelling is wrong here)
Would love Colquhoun but I reckon Haynes will be long gone by the time our second pick comes around. Haynes could play half back I guess but I thought he'd be more likely to be a tall wingman at 189cm.

Garlett interestingly was suspended like our own Garlett for sleeping in last month. Read a while back that someone posted on here that Dayle and his mates were driving recklessly and almost ran them over :S

Awesome talent though. Would benefit from having other Swan Districts boys like Army, Yarran, Jeffy around to keep him in line.

Garlett interestingly was suspended like our own Garlett for sleeping in last month. Read a while back that someone posted on here that Dayle and his mates were driving recklessly and almost ran them over :S

Awesome talent though. Would benefit from having other Swan Districts boys like Army, Yarran, Jeffy around to keep him in line.

Nope, do not want him. Seems like another undisciplined Hollywood player that'll go missing when the going gets tough.

We need inside mids that are hard at it and don't take any shit. Wines is the guy I'd want the most even though he probably won't slide to us, but we can only hope.

Dayle was MIA a while back for a month or so but turned himself around to get back for the state games
Best mate's brother was in the state team, found himself hanging out with the indigenous lads a lot, a few little issues when they were in Melbourne for the Vic Metro game but mostly just boys being boys stuff, the kind of stuff that can be sorted out with discipline (or so i believe)

Nope, do not want him. Seems like another undisciplined Hollywood player that'll go missing when the going gets tough.

We need inside mids that are hard at it and don't take any shit. Wines is the guy I'd want the most even though he probably won't slide to us, but we can only hope.
Hunger for the contest is what I want more than an inside mid. We have Carrazzo, Judd, Murphy, McLean, Robinson and Bell soon enough to be clearance types, a competitive mid who hurts the opposition is not a bad option at all IMO. Garlett doesn't seem to be as reluctant in a contest as what Lucas and Gibbs are perceived to be. Think Buckley/Simpson.

The problem is Judd and Carrots won't be around much longer. Robinson and Bell have decision making and disposal efficiency issues and McLean has only had one good season for us. Murphy is the only one in that list that you know is a star mid that will be around for at least another 5 years (barring serious injury of course).

Why do I get the feeling that with all of this negative talk coming out of the West about Garlett and his off-field behaviour, West Coast would still happily take him with their first selection.

..... Jack Darling all over again.

Why do I get the feeling that with all of this negative talk coming out of the West about Garlett and his off-field behaviour, West Coast would still happily take him with their first selection.

..... Jack Darling all over again.
Good theory, but even WC overlooked Darling for Gaff. :p

I'd say no to Pendles if it meant getting Selwood or Dangerfield, which relates to this year's draft, no to Garlett if it means getting Wines or Stringer.

So you think Wines and Stringer are not good disposers of the ball? ok.
Can I ask how many times you've seen Wines, Garlett and Stringer play?

Probably as many times as the Talia-tragics watched Lucas, Fyfe, Menzel and Jetta play in 2009 before they grunted "Get KPP who is well known on internet".

I wouldn't be happy to pass on a silky matchwinner and super freak like Yarran to get a Robinson, Rich, Sloane, Beams or Ziebell.

You don't watch a lot of Carlton games if you think we have enough good kicks in the side.

Hawthorn rule applies here because left footers are the only good kicks playing today...

If you watched the Malthouse interview I posted in the other thread, then you would know that Mick has a good development record and affinity with indigenous players.

Can I ask how many times you've seen Wines, Garlett and Stringer play?

Probably as many times as the Talia-tragics watched Lucas, Fyfe, Menzel and Jetta play in 2009 before they grunted "Get KPP who is well known on internet".

I wouldn't be happy to pass on a silky matchwinner and super freak like Yarran to get a Robinson, Rich, Sloane, Beams or Ziebell.

You don't watch a lot of Carlton games if you think we have enough good kicks in the side.

Hawthorn rule applies here because left footers are the only good kicks playing today...

If you watched the Malthouse interview I posted in the other thread, then you would know that Mick has a good development record and affinity with indigenous players.

The kid seems supremely stupid. I shudder at the thought of people searching his instagram if we draft him only to find him smoking and drinking in almost every photo. He'd have to stop everything he seems to enjoy if he were to take up football professionally. Could slide past 20. The more of his off field stuff I see, the less I like him.