Opinion 2012 draft thread.

• Thread starter Thread starter Sin City

500full.jpg

"Can't sleep.....draft will eat me."

Just someone with a lot of inside connections - writes for footy tragic.
Usually pretty spot on.

Just someone with a lot of inside connections - writes for footy tragic.
Usually pretty spot on.
:D

Your waffling about sources and connections is getting silly.

Who are his connections?

Have you seen his phantom from last year? Who did he pick for us and where did they get drafted?

:D

Your waffling about sources and connections is getting silly.

Who are his connections?

Have you seen his phantom from last year? Who did he pick for us and where did they get drafted?

Mate, I wasn't saying it was gospel!! Just thought it might be of interest.
Bitch rich too considering you last tweeted him 2 hrs ago!

Mate, I wasn't saying it was gospel!! Just thought it might be of interest.
Bitch rich too considering you last tweeted him 2 hrs ago!
It's not really. Enough about the sources and connections (most clubs keep their cards very close to their chest) and more about what you've seen yourself :thumbsu:

What to expect at the 2012 AFL national draft if history is any indication
* Supporter outrage/euphoria immediately concluding the draft

As well as club reaction, the immediate supporter reaction is even more predictable. Despite the vast majority of supporters having little knowledge of the players in question, everyone suddenly becomes a draft expert on draft night. A quick check of Facebook and/or Twitter or footy bulletin boards following the draft and you will see posts like this: "Yes! Joe Blobbs at 4 and John Citizen at 18!!! We killed it!" Or you might see a few posts like this: "What the hell?! We overlooked Joe Blobbs at 3?! Idiots! Can't believe how bad we stuffed up again." It takes many years to determine the success of draft selections, but many supporters on draft night declare it then and there.
What to expect at the 2012 AFL national draft if history is any indication

My only concerns with Menzel is the fact he and his brother have a history of knee problems and Troy opted for LARS.

Collingwood is well placed to take a risk on Menzel too. They have 3 first round picks.

Or even the Bulldogs

He will be gone before Collingwood.

To us hopefully.

I just don't think we are in a position to take a risk on Menzel or Stringer. Especially given our next pick is 35.

Couple of posters on Talking Carlton have also stated that Stringer and Wines or Macrae to the Dogs is the likely scenario. Wines is probably too good for them to pass up. McCartney and Dogs appear to favour hard mids.

1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas
5. Stringer
6. Wines
7. Mayes
8. Jaksch
9. Menzel/Vlastuin
11. Menzel/Macrae

Like the wraps on Macrae, but everyone suggests that Menzel is the better footballer.

It might come down to Tigers getting Grundy.

Why is Watts a better prospect than Morabito?
Why is Livo(pick 4) better than Lenny Hayes(2 knee recos)???

You dont know whats around the corner with any player you draft.

Cant get too cute ..

Goddard did his knee in the second or third year he played.
they should have traded him.....

You get a chance with Menzel you dont worry too much.

Six ripper years is better than a Cunnington

You can call me a risk taker but if Kennedy and Garlett were available with the following 2 picks id snag them too.

Im sure youll get good footy out of all of them....

Menzel probably isn't my first choice, but he may well be my first choice when the top 10 have been picked.

I certainly won't be disappointed if we get him, looks to be a gun.