Opinion 2012 draft thread.

• Thread starter Thread starter Sin City

Going by previous years... nobody has a chance of picking our draftees! Recruitment left field special coming right up, a la Bootsma.

Doesn't stop us having fun trying though. :)

Heard that Spencer White could be a good pick-up later in the draft.
White might be this year's Zyrus Manson, Tyler Chalwell and Austin Lucy. :)
Hughes couldn't spit his name out quickly enough on draft day. And anyone can see he's got talent.
Hughes did that with Lucas too, but don't remind the Talia-tragics about this. :cool:

Stringer is on track to becoming the next Talia. :rolleyes:

White might be this year's Zyrus Manson, Tyler Chalwell and Austin Lucy. :)

Hughes did that with Lucas too, but don't remind the Talia-tragics about this. :cool:

Stringer is on track to becoming the next Talia. :rolleyes:

Fingers crossed Kane has another killer pre-season and shows us all what he's quite obviously made of.

Bootsma reminds me of 1AW when he was drafted -

andrew_walker.jpg

Look at him trying to pump up those guns!

Spindly little bloke and to quote club officials at the time "a long term prospect"... see what a little patience can bring?

I think we should take the 1st best kid available who has leadership skills and a strong personality.

I think there is plenty of talent on our list but a lot of them seem like the types who need a caring arm put around them.

We need more strength going forward....on and off field strength.

Just going by the draft write ups, someone like Vlastuin interests me.

Reckon Sugar could play forward-midfield like Walker as part of our rotations. Lucas has the athletic qualities that makes Walkera difficult match up for defenders. :thumbsu:

Lucas isn't as aggressive, but he can play.

Yep, you got it in one RK/TG! That's exactly what I was getting at - Kane is another one of those labelled a "long term prospect" (by Hughes on draft day from memory, and many others since) requiring us to "be patient".

We did it with 1AW (just!) and it paid dividends.

Maybe the only other issue is that Kane needs to accept and understand this too? Harker (among others) has alluded to the fact that some of the issues plaguing Sugar this year were more likely between the ears....

Sin - mate can you please give me a bandwagon to jump on? Someone I'll be gutted over passing if he's still available at our pick

even though I haven't seen any of these kids

What's the general consensus on where Jacksh(?) will go in the draft?Just watched a highlights reel and was impressed.

I think that if Toumpas/Stringer/Garlett or Membrey aren't available at our pick - we should send a message to the rest of the competition that we accept nothing less than brilliance, and pass on our first selection.

Who's with me?

Membrey should be there, so all will be okay.

Sin - mate can you please give me a bandwagon to jump on? Someone I'll be gutted over passing if he's still available at our pick

even though I haven't seen any of these kids
Given that you're a fine upstanding SA gent Quazza:

Wish I could join in on the conservation but have nothing to offer.
Is there any access to any TAC games from this year? Preferably finals games.

Sin / C4 / anyone.
Keen on opinions on Spencer White (My inside source :confused: tells me that he plays a little like Buddy and one to really watch out for.)
Harks, you can still watch the TAC cup GF with this link http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3020-0-0-0&sID=128230

Features Jaksch, Macrae, Membrey, Graham among others.

Hot Prospects

Lachie Plowman, Calder Cannons, 192cm, 84kg, 11/9/94
Draft range: 5-10
The athletic Cannons defender will be one of the most sought-after tall backs at the draft despite missing a large chunk of the 2012 season, including the national carnival, after dislocating an elbow. Plowman reads the play well, is an excellent decision maker, a strong organisational influence in the back half and isn't afraid to leave his man to help a teammate or rebound further afield.

Sam Mayes, North Adelaide, 187cm, 78kg, 20/5/94
After being named All Australian centre half-forward as a bottom ager in 2011, Mayes had a quiet champs by his standards this year. The forward-midfielder showed flashes of brilliance - he kicked a goal that would have done Steve Johnson proud down in Geelong - but it wasn't until he returned home to SA that his class began to shine through once again. His SANFL side the Roosters went deep into the finals and Mayes was a regular contributor at senior level.

Jackson Macrae, Oakleigh Chargers, 189cm, 76kg, 3/8/94
Macrae is a busy midfielder whose draft stocks have steadily risen this year. He booted six goals against Tasmania at Visy Park at the under-18s carnival and was a key member of the Chargers' TAC Cup-winning team. The left-footer starred with 44 touches in a representative schools match later in the season that is a key indicator for AFL recruiters each year. He finished equal-second in the goalkicking test at the combine.

Troy Menzel, Central District, 187cm, 78kg, 22/9/94
Draft range: 5-15
Menzel's knees were a big topic of conversation amongst recruiters this year - he had LARS surgery in his right knee as a 16-year-old and partially tore his left PCL playing senior footy for the Bulldogs - but the future looks bright for the gifted forward-midfielder. A positive consultation with world-renowned knee specialist Dr Julian Feller has allayed some fears in the recruiting fraternity and enhanced his credentials as a potential top-10 pick.

Tim Membrey, Gippsland Power, 189cm, 88kg, 25/5/94
Draft range: 10-20
The Power skipper finished the year strongly with 16 goals in his last three games in the TAC Cup. He kicked a goal in every one of his 13 games for Gippsland to finish with an impressively accurate season tally of 45.22. A long season - the Power went through to the Grand Final - probably stopped the full-forward from testing brilliantly at the combine, but coach Nick Stevens maintains he has the ability and endurance to play further up the field.

Dayle Garlett, Claremont, 180cm, 75kg, 9/1/94
Garlett comes with some baggage, having been asked to leave the AIS-AFL Academy at the start of the year, but he appears to have turned the corner as the season progressed and on talent alone he certainly belongs in this company. He didn't do much at the combine due to back tightness, but the sublimely skilled onballer doesn't lack for confidence and is one who could excel under the bright lights of the big stage.

Kristian Jaksch, Oakleigh Chargers, 194cm, 83kg, 7/10/94
Jaksch is one of the most promising key position prospects in the draft. He played a lot of junior footy as a forward, but has seen more action as a key defender this year, which has helped kick along his development. His marking action can look awkward at times, but it is effective more often than not. He took 28 grabs in five games for Vic Metro and kicked a bag of six goals against Tasmania at Visy Park.

Ben Kennedy, Glenelg, 174cm, 74kg, 3/3/94
Kennedy is small in stature, but possesses a booming left-foot kick to complement his pace and ability to find the ball. He won All Australian honours for the second time this year after a stellar carnival that saw him gather 131 disposals in five games with 23 clearances and nine goals. He's played senior footy for the Tigers back home in SA and is a likely type later in the first round.
Hot Prospects