2012 Draft wish list

I think that Shaw will easily flow through to us, there's talk that he'll fall to 20-something but I can't see Collingwood letting him slip with one of their 3 picks, seeing as they just lost Dawes and they'll only get 1-2 years out of Lynch.

Yep I think people have to be prepared to see him go past our first pick and maybe not reach our second. I have watched enough drafts to know they most likely go "best available" with the first pick and by any mucking around with the orders that looks like it will be a midfield type.

They better pull the trigger on Shaw if he slides he's my #1 draft wish. Everyone seems to rave about last yr when he kicked 66 goals in 21 games, yet this yr due to injury he only played 10 games yet kicked 40 goals. If he had of played the whole season he could have easily kicked 80+ goals and people would talking him up as top 5, if he was from Vicco I'm sure he would be rated top 10.

I haven't seen him play but I spose one downside is that he doesn't get a heap of the pill also not sure of his defensive pressure capabilites but he averages over 70% accuracy on goals for over 100 goals in 2 seasons of WAFL colts which is exceptional and he also pinch can pinch hit in the ruck which has become so important for AFL. If he does slide and we don't pick him I'm not gonna be happy :mad:

I'm not sure I understand the fascination with Shaw?

Is it because he's from W.A?

Thinking from a recruiters perspective there's only one role he can play at AFL level, that's as a deep forward.

He's not big enough to play in the ruck, doesn't move well enough to roam across the half forward line and isn't agile enough to play as a key back.

He's a very good forward, does he have enough strings to his bow to be a dominant forward at the next grade?

I say no, I think he'll slide past the first round potentially slip as far as the third.

He has limited flexibility and no stand out attribute, bar a large frame.

Yep I think people have to be prepared to see him go past our first pick and maybe not reach our second. I have watched enough drafts to know they most likely go "best available" with the first pick and by any mucking around with the orders that looks like it will be a midfield type.

I get that feeling about Shaw too.

Although I get the feeling that this year we won't necessarily go for a mid as there's a slim chance that one of Membrey, Jaksch or Menzel will also slip through to us. Whilst Membrey and Menzel aren't exactly what we need (KP), they'd certainly make our forward line more multi-dimensional and even more potent.

Thinking from a recruiters perspective there's only one role he can play at AFL level, that's as a deep forward.

He's not big enough to play in the ruck, doesn't move well enough to roam across the half forward line and isn't agile enough to play as a key back.

He's a very good forward, does he have enough strings to his bow to be a dominant forward at the next grade?

I say no, I think he'll slide past the first round potentially slip as far as the third.

He only has to be good at one position. Flexibility is overrated

That's Mark Harvey ethos. Players to play adequately in a number of positions.
What this club needs now is players who excel in a particular position ie; specialist forward.
We have essentially wasted Pavlich's impact on a footy match for years.
Out with fit for purpose and in with best for the job.

That's Mark Harvey ethos. Players to play adequately in a number of positions.
What this club needs now is players who excel in a particular position ie; specialist forward.
We have essentially wasted Pavlich's impact on a footy match for years.
Out with fit for purpose and in with best for the job.

Yep, this. Can't remember the last time Woosa played Kennedy at full back.

The current forward line is full of players that can play multiple positions. I would be surprised if a first round draft pick was used on a player that can only play 1 position unless they are elite at playing that position. From what gather Shaw is not an elite talent as a forward.

Shaw is playing colts and he is exceptional , for colts.
It's like all young draftees , you can only go on what they show as juniors.
Not being facetious here, but Sandi is lucky to get a game because he can't play full back.
We need a potentially class forward ; we get that with Mason Shaw.
It's my contention , we have wasted Pavlich for years. We do not need another Pavlich that we can play in the midfield with the occasional stint at CHF.

I don't think you understand my point.

Shaw can only play as a deep forward, he's a remote chance of playing as a roaming forward.

I don't think you can play a bloke who has one string to his bow. Kennedy can push up higher if need be, Shaw isn't outstanding as a key deep forward either, he's better than average.

Likes to play on his own terms and seldom pulls in pack marks, he's not a bloke Lyon would pick IMO.

I don't think you understand my point.

Shaw can only play as a deep forward, he's a remote chance of playing as a roaming forward.

I don't think you can play a bloke who has one string to his bow. Kennedy can push up higher if need be, Shaw isn't outstanding as a key deep forward either, he's better than average.

Likes to play on his own terms and seldom pulls in pack marks, he's not a bloke Lyon would pick IMO.
Surely you jest?
He's a kid with immense talent. Nobody expects him to be leading our forwardline next year. But a succession plan is imperitive. As far as him being a West Aussie - when you're comparing apples with apples, we'll most often pick the W.A apple every time!

Surely you jest?
He's a kid with immense talent. Nobody expects him to be leading our forwardline next year. But a succession plan is imperitive. As far as him being a West Aussie - when you're comparing apples with apples, we'll most often pick the W.A apple every time!

Sure we will - but BF posters have a habit of overrating the WA apples and underrating the imported apples. Sure the imported apples sometimes can't handle the weather here and spoil sooner, but we should leave the apple picking to the apple pickers rather than make assertions based on our limited knowledge of only ever seeing local apples.

Ok Arc, at the risk of turning this into an orchardists conference - I'm talking about two royal galas..... same ripeness, same texture. Naturally you would go down the backyard and get the one off your own tree rather than truck one over from the east. That is why we have so many local apples in the pantry now! Our apple pickers do take this into account.

Geez, what a fun analogy!!! ;)

Ok Arc, at the risk of turning this into an orchardists conference - I'm talking about two royal galas..... same ripeness, same texture. Naturally you would go down the backyard and get the one off your own tree rather than truck one over from the east. That is why we have so many local apples in the pantry now! Our apple pickers do take this into account.

Geez, what a fun analogy!!! ;)

Well I'd like to think that the apple pickers would prefer local apple varieties 'all things being equal' - less distance to market, more suited to the local environment, and lower cost. All I'm trying to say is that when I go to the shops and look at apples, what looks like two equal apples to me might not be the same as what the apple pickers see.

I see two juicy apples, both green - the choice for me is to support the local farmer since I don't know any different - the decision is academic. The apple pickers see two apples - one which is green no obvious flaws and will likely be a tasty apple, and the other which looks even better on the surface but tiny blemishes that most people would miss hint at it having a rotten core.

So yes, I agree that apple pickers should go with local apples, but they are the experts, so I trust them to pick the best apples for me - instead of relying on what the local grocer is spruiking as special of the week.

Surely you jest?

No, not really.

Severely underwhelmed by what Shaw has produced this year, just doesn't seem to have any standout features other than being a little bigger, a little taller than his colts opponents.

He doesn't crash packs, he does burn people on the lead and he's not overly agile.

Unless he plays on Shoenmakers every week, I dont think he has the tools to make that great of an impact at the next level.

Well, I do hope our pickers actually get a choice of both the Shaw and the Jaksch variety. Upon much study and possible likelihood of them making it to our market - thinking the consumers would be more than happy with either. :thumbsu:

No, not really.

Severely underwhelmed by what Shaw has produced this year, just doesn't seem to have any standout features other than being a little bigger, a little taller than his colts opponents.

He doesn't crash packs, he does burn people on the lead and he's not overly agile.

Unless he plays on Shoenmakers every week, I dont think he has the tools to make that great of an impact at the next level.

He also hasn't had any time in an afl environment. A preseason plus a little mire time before a mid season debut would help to develop some of his weaknesses. He is nearly 200 cm tall. Can take a mark and is an accurate kick. What teams will adequately be able to match up on him, pav, maybe, Walters, ballas etc.

My dream picks are shaw at 17. Lowrie at 37 and warrel at 40. Maybe paperone in he rookie.

What pick do you see him representing best available?

I reckon Ysaye has nailed it. I believe that according to Bond/Lloyd drafting theory, you're unlikely to get hold of a quality key forward outside the top 10 (ie there's only one or two in each draft). So, by pick 16 the best two or three KPFs will be taken. Therefore we'll take best available with our first pick. And hope like hell that we can land a Pav-replacement through free-agency/ trading next year.

Which brings us to pick 36(?). I reckon Marco Paparone is the perfect 2nd/3rd tall. Not big/strong enough to be the key target but very athletic and very mobile and loves to kick a goal. Fills the need perfectly.

I'm hoping Nick Rodda is still around at pick 39(?). He will be a gun defender.

The question AND the answer.

No, not really.

Who do you want?

2012 Draft wish list