How much weight can you put on an article from the Worst. I'd be happy with Shaw at 17. Poparone at 37, Rodda at 40.
I'd get prepared to be disappointed...

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
How much weight can you put on an article from the Worst. I'd be happy with Shaw at 17. Poparone at 37, Rodda at 40.
How will this differ from most drafts. (Exclude 2009).I'd get prepared to be disappointed...
I might get around to it tonight.
We should have a fair idea of how many live picks we are going in with as of Wednesday 14th @ 2pm EST when List Lodgement 2 is due. Could be time to depart with Krytuicfgoirut%#$!^xoirtoN, Roberton and Anthony.
The club in recent memory has sometimes painstakingly taken the 'best available' over needs every time.
Ok good.21 in 2008 was not "best available" since we had so many decent picks so close together that day, Hill was what we deemed best available. Having had 24 too, I doubt the club saw Suban as "best available".
Nobody knew Taylor was the "best available" in 2007, because he wasn't the best available, in fact 3 months out from the draft he wasn't even in 1st round contention. Nobody had ever heard of him?! Pretty sure Palmer was deemed "best available" for pick 7, and 1 year out from that draft it appeared to ring true.
On Bigfooty? No bloody idea, I didn't know the place existed until 2010. I do however remember Taylor being a late bolter and a possible 1st rd selection in the days/weeks leading up to the draft.
If your source is the media and bf posters, I just don't see it. If he is there at 17 I would have him as likely as any other player to be taken who is rated mid teens to mid 20's. Ticks the boxes and rated highly for the position we need to fill. If as you suggest he is rated as "best available" at mid 20's, then pick 17 is well and truly in the range of where he will be selected because "needs" will definitely come into play as has happened in the past.Shaw's looking more and more like a mid 20's pick.
But Bigfooty posters such as yourself have it all worked out?Nickos, my point is that what the recruiting departments of football clubs thinks, especially outside of the top 10, is palpably different to what the media thinks. Taylor is an example of that.
Sure, and you are entitled to that opinion, I truthfully hope it works out that way, but I have shared my opinion that theorises otherwise.If your source is the media and bf posters, I just don't see it. If he is there at 17 I would have him as likely as any other player to be taken who is rated mid teens to mid 20's. Ticks the boxes and rated highly for the position we need to fill. If as you suggest he is rated as "best available" at mid 20's, then pick 17 is well and truly in the range of where he will be selected because "needs" will definitely come into play as has happened in the past.
I clearly remember a few posters on this board talking Taylor up prior to the draft. Ripper was definitely one, but there were others. He'd had two really good years in the WAFL, so you're quite correct Gav, it was there for all to see. Geelong jumped when they did because they knew full well that many other clubs were keen on him and he was never going to last much longer.
I'm glad we're closing in now, so we can finally stop wondering.
A perfect draft for me would be something like:
17- Shaw>Jaksch>Clurey
37- Colledge>O'Brien>White
40- Rodda>Howsen>Paparone
Ofcourse, our recruiters would never pick solely from WA for a whole draft. We'll probably pick up some unknown midfielders from Vic and SA.
I can't work out how to do a draft competition, but here is a draft mini quiz before someone smart puts a real one up
Hypothetically if Jaksch, Shaw and Garlett are all still there at our pick 17:
1. Who would you want?
2. Who do you think we'd take?
My answers
1. Shaw
2. Garlett
I reckon you're right. I'd take shaw. Bondy would have Garlett.
Yeh, fair enough Gav. However, wet toast was Darling's preferred home and they had him earmarked a long way out too. So when those two parties are on the same wavelength, a skull fracture becomes reported as "a possible serious brain injury" and a bit of young bloke cockiness becomes a "major attitude problem" for when other possible clubs are nosing around.Fracturing a kids skull would have to be up there with one of the most devious draft manipulating ploys in history. Wonder if it will catch on?
The Bullies and Port boards are running what seems a good format for this Seppo. Maybe take a look and see what you think?These 10 days won't go quick enough...
We going to run a guessing comp to guess our Draft picks again?
Fracturing a kids skull would have to be up there with one of the most devious draft manipulating ploys in history. Wonder if it will catch on?
But maaaan, when they eventually develop!Actually, it would explain Mitch Brown's work on Shaw which resulted in his drop in form.
But seriously, is there someway we can remind Bond and co that Shaw is a VERY good FF, who still managed to kick shit heaps of goals depite being in a concussion induced "form slump"? As good as guys like Garner look, I just don't think I can take another year of flankers.![]()
For what its worth (I.E. nothing) I finally got round to watching the highlights clip of Mason Shaw so I could see what everyone would be knashing their teeth at when we don’t pick him and I can’t say I was impressed. Lumbering was the word that came to mind. Nice straight kick but not powerful or agile. Just the sort of forward who defenders jump all over (and then run off) in today’s footy.