2012 draft

With the combination of the changes to the interchange, capped rotations, free agency, and reduction in the size of the rookie list, I can envisage the following may well occur:
- clubs will hold less rucks on their list in general
- only the absolute standout rucks will get picked up out of u18's (in theory, this may actually INCREASE the value of the standout junior rucks, not devalue them)
- clubs will chase a ready made option via F/A when they need one
- more rucks will miss out on getting drafted straight out of the u18's and instead head to the state leagues to develop, rather than being given half a dozen years on an AFL list/rookie list to come good
- clubs that nab the good junior rucks are taking a higher risk/higher reward route (on the basis that clubs going via F/A will find it harder to poach a #1 ruck)

That's my general logic/theory... and all that said, I will be spitting chips if Grundy doesn't go top 9. It won't simply be like "Tambling over Buddy?", or "Watts over NicNat?"... There will be half a dozen clubs looking very silly a few years down the track... Grundy had Longer covered last year as a 17 year old, and Longer's form was so good in the reserves this year he demanded selection. Sure, he didn't dominate at AFL level, but Grundy is a once in a decade opportunity, and as others have said, the chance is there to have our ruck division sorted for the next decade.

great post!!

I also reckon the value of juniors that can really ruck and do other things will increase. But the ones that are only good will likely not get picked and have to work their way in through the state leagues. The KP/ruck will also grow in value. Grundy sounds great, but not a unanimous pick. I reckon FJ and co will work him out. We'll see, but if he is the real deal he solves a problem for us for a decade. That frees up our draft picks and trades for ages and allows us to have a tall and flexible spine.

Otherwise we havet o pick a really talented mid - damn shame!!

Honestly people need to forget about Grundy, he'll be gone before our pick easily. Probably top 5.
Sadly i think your correct. If thats the case cmon down Tigger

People's thoughts on Jackson Thurlow? Tassie guy in Chris25's draft is spruiking his talent quite fiercely

Not only was he elite, he was actually an elite athlete who had elite endurance. You just can't judge footballers by their size.
I remember playing one day at FF and along came my opponent, all 5 foot 6 of him and about 120kg. I wondered who my next opponent would be after thinking I would kick six on him in the first quarter. Anyway, halfway through the 2nd quarter after I had been dragged, this bloke was fast, skilful and strong and gave me the mother of all hidings. I learnt that day, never on the sporting field to judge a bloke by his build.
You neglected to tell us you were 5 foot 4 and 140kg at the time tugga!:D

We get to wait for our pick this year as Patrick Keane has just tweeted that they are doing away with the reverse top 10 countdown.

Hallelujah. Thank **** for that. Stupid idea in the first place.

How would Grundy compare to Kreuzer?

In my opinion, he compares favorably to him.

The thing about Kruezer was he was well known junior and had played the sport from a very young age, whereas Grundy picked it up as his sport at 16. This could be seen as a negative to Grundy, but I see it as a positive. His improvement each year is staggering. He was totally outplaying last years best ruckman in Billy Longer and this year went another step. Without all the junior grounding Kruezer had, he had a very favorable comparison in his last junior year. Grundy is also a two time All Australian. What an effort from a kid who has come from that far back.

I see Grundy being a tad more complete than Kruezer. His sideways movement is much better, his desperation on the ground is similar, but recovery from those positions is better. He is more aggressive than him also, but Kruezer is a competitive beast also. I think Kruezer at the same age was better at positioning himself in reading the game around the ground, but I think that will come with Grundy with coaching.

Before Kruezer did his knee, I remember a game up forward he played against Adelaide and totally dominated. He hasn't done that since, but I envision Grundy to be able to tear a game apart like that. I am in Rendells corner here, this kid is a matchwinner. I have said up forward he looks like a Tippett with more aggression.

I would no hesitation taking him at 9. Would actually be my biggest hope.

Just don't see why GWS shouldn't take him. Seems obvious to me.

I mean, Giles and Phillips??

I agree with this too. It is only what people are saying. They may take him and should, but who knows?

Whitfield, Toumpas and Grundy would be my first three picks, no doubt. GWS may have different ideas. I heard O'Rourke, now we are being fed Menzel. Who knows!

With so many good kids, I wonder if there is a Tambling among them?
I feel confident going into this draft but who knows

Who do you think would be most likely to spud out, or the club most likely to pick him up?

With so many good kids, I wonder if there is a Tambling among them?
I feel confident going into this draft but who knows

Who do you think would be most likely to spud out, or the club most likely to pick him up?

Hard to say from here but if I had to pick one I would say Stringer or Mayes, Stringer because of the man child thing and Mayes because I'm unsure of his ability to play against good opposition. Not basing that on much though and I could be completely wrong.

Because they can ?

Exactly....5 picks in the top 20...3 mids -inside/outside/tall (1,2 12 or 14 ), 1 defender (12 or 14)....why not take the best ruckman for the draft with pick 3. They still have another pick before our 2nd as well. They will take him I have no doubt regardless of Tippett.

I reckon he'll make it to 8 if Melbourne are stripped of their picks. If Wines, Vlastuin and Macrae are all available at our pick FJ's head may well explode
Yes, may request the extra two minutes* - to say the least.:eek:

*Unless Grundy's still there as well.

Just don't see why GWS shouldn't take him. Seems obvious to me.

I mean, Giles and Phillips??
The only reason i can think of GWS passing on Grundy is they really rate Toumpas,Menzel extremely highly & believe that Giles and Phillips will be enough to see them through their development period.
They are probably expecting a few mids to request trades out of GWS and might think that they could possibly trade for a mature developed ruckman when the time comes