2012 draft

If the club believe the latter (i.e. if it's such a talented, even draft in the top 15 or so, and the club would be happy with any one of a handful of players in that 9-13 range), then what Tigs has suggested is worth a shot.

If the clubs believes the former, and that the one guy they're really keen on may be there at 9, but not 13, then I guess they won't attempt that sort of trade.

You mention the chance to get 3 good talents to the club in the 1st and 2nd round... what about 4 good talents. Could really set us up for the future! :thumbsu:

Yep, understand all that, but would be shattered if the four we rate the best possible like these four all go. Would rather get one guy we were really high on, then two were weren't if that makes sense.

I will leave it up to the club, if they are confident in getting the guy they want and can nab another pick then all good. Paid of with Jack Riewoldt. Could happen again.

Yeah, I agree - leave it to the better judgement of the club. It'd be a gamble, but one that could pay off.

Like Riewoldt, we've tended to go a little left field since as well - Conca and Ellis were both taken a little ahead of where they were possibly expected to go. But the fact is, I doubt many clubs are reading mock drafts, or the Herald Sun draft predictor, and then second guessing the thoughts of their professional recruiting departments. And just because the BigFooty phantom drafts indicate no other club is into Vlastuin (who someone indicated we are into), doesn't necessarily mean they're not :D

Yeah, I agree - leave it to the better judgement of the club. It'd be a gamble, but one that could pay off.

Like Riewoldt, we've tended to go a little left field since as well - Conca and Ellis were both taken a little ahead of where they were possibly expected to go. But the fact is, I doubt many clubs are reading mock drafts, or the Herald Sun draft predictor, and then second guessing the thoughts of their professional recruiting departments :D

Except North Melbourne's.....Bigfooty mock draft experts. ;)

Look I agree, we will see the approach taken by the club, I just think if we have a chance to nab the one we want the most at Pick 9, don't risk it, even if he is "rated" a little lower eg. Conca. I think we will take the safe approach.

Where do we get vision of these kids nowadays?

Yep, understand all that, but would be shattered if the four we rate the best possible like these four all go. Would rather get one guy we were really high on, then two were weren't if that makes sense.

Dont disagree with any of your points. I'm going on the basis we are going fr Vlastuin. I believe he'd still be there hence we don't lose anything. If Kennedy or O'Rourke were the targets then I wouldn't do it.

In regards to if GWS wanted to do it from what someone on their board said they will probably only take about 4 kids so they may as well trade their 4th and 5th pick for a better 4th pick if that's te case.

Where do we get vision of these kids nowadays?
I think I've seen a little bit on youtube. Remember seeing a cracker goal amongst some of Kennedy's highlights. Wasn't keen on him early, to be honest - picturing him more as a Ballantyne type quick small forward (not that we couldn't do with one of them)... but reading a bit more, sounds like he is also a highly capable and skilled ball winning clearance player. I reckon we'd be happy with him. Or Vlastuin. Or Wines. Or O'Rourke. Or a number of others!

Toadvine or somebody can you guys clarify the cons of players O'Rourke, Vlastuin, Garlett and Kennedy because everything is positive about them and it seems as if they're all number one picks

Just some quick, blunt cons.

O'Rourke - Hard to fault, soft tissue injury history. Currently struggling with tags in the TAC cup
Vlastuin - Athleticism
Garlett - Application, attitude
Kennedy - Height and Upside

AFL website has listed the best mature age prospects from state leagues...

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/143912/default.aspx

VFL
Leigh Osborne (Frankston)
Khan Haretuku (Frankston)
Kyle Martin (Frankston)
Leigh Kitchin (Frankston)
Dean Towers (North Ballarat)
Adam Marcon (Northern Blues)
Myke Cook (Sandringham)
Adam Cockie (Sandringham)
Billy Burstin (Port Melbourne)

NEAFL - Eastern Conference
Kade Klemke (Queanbeyan)
Marcus Crook (Ainslie)
Josh Bryce (Queanbeyan)

NEAFL Northern
Ryan Davey (Labrador)
Tom Fields (Labrador)
Scott Clouston (Redlands)

Tasmanian State Football League
Josh Woolley (Launceston)
Brady Jones (Clarence)
Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

SANFL
Mitch Clisby (North Adelaide)
Nathan Batsanis (Norwood)
Nick Liddle (South Adelaide)
Chris Schmidt (West Adelaide)
Andrew Bradley (Glenelg)

WAFL
Tom Lee (Claremont)
Ben Saunders (South Fremantle)
George Hampson (Subiaco)
Max Duffy (East Fremantle)
Callum Sinclair (Subiaco)

The article has a write up on each player... a couple here who could fill holes in our list and add depth. Callum Sinclair sounds like the sort of player we need.

Many Mids who could come in and make an impact next year.

Thoughts?

Is this really a super draft ? From what you boys are saying there is alot of downside to the players we could get

Defaintly have a crack at clisby ... Send him to the gym with Rance and Mugaune should bulk him up nicely ;)

Is this really a super draft ? From what you boys are saying there is alot of downside to the players we could get
Name a player, let alone an 18 year old, that doesn't have some area of weakness in their game. Buddy's kicking is ordinary and unreliable, just for one example.

IMO it's good to get that info - often you read draft profiles, and could be forgiven for thinking even players in the 3rd and 4th round are going to be superstars (bit like our club's Coburg report... seem scared to give any blunt criticism, and stick to talking up the good points!)

I think it's pretty clear we are lacking classy forward of centre finishers at the moment which is why Kennedy really appeals to me. That being said we have been pretty average without Jackson in the side. Much less competitive without Foley and if we take out Tuck we would struggle. Priority has to be adding guys who can play in the square. Think Kennedy could but I love the idea of our midfield being stacked with big bodies. Think Vlastuin could be the kid.

Name a player, let alone an 18 year old, that doesn't have some area of weakness in their game. Buddy's kicking is ordinary and unreliable, just for one example.

IMO it's good to get that info - often you read draft profiles, and could be forgiven for thinking even players in the 3rd and 4th round are going to be superstars (bit like our club's Coburg report... seem scared to give any blunt criticism, and stick to talking up the good points!)

i really like to know pros and cons of players but rarely do phantom drafts report weaknesses in players that are top 15 or whole of first rounder

I think it's pretty clear we are lacking classy forward of centre finishers at the moment which is why Kennedy really appeals to me. That being said we have been pretty average without Jackson in the side. Much less competitive without Foley and if we take out Tuck we would struggle. Priority has to be adding guys who can play in the square. Think Kennedy could but I love the idea of our midfield being stacked with big bodies. Think Vlastuin could be the kid.

i wonder... would it be possible to combine 2nd rounder and comp pick after port for a top 15-20 mark so we can get vlastuin

I would like to us use our picks under 50 on youth like,
1st pick(9?)-Wines, Kennedy, Stringer, O'rourke.
2nd/3rd picks(29/31?) Lowrie, Atkins, Pongracic,(any slider)
and the last couple of picks on mature agers from state leagues.
e.g. Tom Lee(fwd)will probably be already gone?
PAUL Marschell(def)Central Districts
Jaye Bowden(mid/fwd)Glenorchy

Seems to me we have drafted the last few years in a particular fashion. I reckon the club feels that we have the star power but need more footsoldier types so they seem to have gone for players with the least downside, rather than the most upside if that makes sense.( first and second rounders I mean here) Wouldnt suprise to see us do the same again for one more draft.

Anyone know which players would fall more into that category???

Khan Haretuku (Frankston): The 199cm and 101kg key forward first picked up a football at 15, after which St Kilda picked him up as a NSW scholarship player. At Frankston he's taken time to develop, but his strong work ethic has served him well. Now 22, he's a strong-marking player with a thumping kick.

Has anyone seen this guys play?

I would like to us use our picks under 50 on youth like,
1st pick(9?)-Wines, Kennedy, Stringer, O'rourke.
2nd/3rd picks(29/31?) Lowrie, Atkins, Pongracic,(any slider)
and the last couple of picks on mature agers from state leagues.
e.g. Tom Lee(fwd)will probably be already gone?
PAUL Marschell(def)Central Districts
Jaye Bowden(mid/fwd)Glenorchy
Reckon Tom Lee will be there by our 3rd round pick (is it 50?) He will be hyped up on here for awhile but in reality he won't ever be an out and out gun at the top level. Really like Marschall's game too. In fact I reckon he could go higher than Tom Lee.

Draft watchers thoughts on emmanuel irra? Where do you think he sits in the draft? Description says he has a lot of development upside about him would provide us with a bit of x factor in the midfield apart from cotchin, deledio

what a load of BS....they havent got a player from central districts in the list and I can tell you for sure and certain, there are 4 minimum that can play AFL level footy as we speak..

I saw the Glenelg v Centrals game a week or so ago, thought Hardy looked promising. Not sure how old he is but he kicked 7, a strong marking 196cm forward with a sweet left peg. I'm probably off on this one as I haven't heard anyone mention his name before but I reckon he'd be an upgrade on someone like Derickx or Post as a forward option.