2012 draft

Tossed up about that one and while I can see him turn into an inside mid down the track I think at this stage they will use him on the outside as a link up midfielder because of his kicking skills.

fair call but i reckon from now on he will be the second foley. can be inside and out.

Can see him starting outside this season and as the season progresses getting more time on the inside. Guess it just depends how the others go, if they are all performing then there is no real need to throw him in there.

Regardless, he still played other teams with terrible midfielders too and he hardly set the world on fire. I think Conca is an inside midfielder, but more of the Marc Murphy variety.
Lets hope you are correct in that M_R

I also see Conca as a inside player with a good outside game that just needs to have another pre season and mature, Once comfortable at the level will start to dominate games and will become the player that hurts teams when they are too busy concentrating on Cotchin,Deledio,Foley,Martin.

Both Ellis & Conca should start getting more midfield time in 2013

I agree that Concs will start outside, there isn't really a place in our best 22 on the inside, but i think he will only ever be a good outside player, has the potential to be a ripper 200+ game inside player, will play there eventually

Seems to have done his best work on the outside or at halfback. Only games where he looked likely in the middle was against the dee's and lions.

Dont forget his fist game through the midfield against collingwood in 2011. Was his 3rd or 4th game and was very good that night against quality opposition.

I agree that Concs will start outside, there isn't really a place in our best 22 on the inside, but i think he will only ever be a good outside player, has the potential to be a ripper 200+ game inside player, will play there eventually

Was our third best clearance player in our last 5 or 6 games this year from memory, behind tuck and cotchin.

I think murphy is a great comparison, doesn't need to bash and crash in like tucky or Carlton Judd but just skits around the edges and extracts the ball.

I still think you should and will take Vlastuin, but would you guys rule out the possibility of Richmond taking a KPP with pick 9? I'd imagine Kristian Jaksch would be one you're looking at, and providing Brisbane don't take him, I think there's a chance you will.

Also, any of you fancy Dean Towers with one of your later picks? 22 year old, vastly improved winger who offers plenty of line-breaking pace.

I still think you should and will take Vlastuin, but would you guys rule out the possibility of Richmond taking a KPP with pick 9? I'd imagine Kristian Jaksch would be one you're looking at, and providing Brisbane don't take him, I think there's a chance you will.

Also, you fancy Dean Towers with one of your later picks? 22 year old, vastly improved winger who offers plenty of line-breaking pace.

Are you asking if we are or telling us we are?

Tossed up about that one and while I can see him turn into an inside mid down the track I think at this stage they will use him on the outside as a link up midfielder because of his kicking skills.

I actually think Conca's kicking is a bit of a weakness, not a strength (gets under them a bit much & lacks penetration). His hands are nearly elite though, doesn't fumble and has a very good handball in general, quick hands, hence i agree more with 'theflea' re: his opinion of Conca as more an inside mid. Concs also lacks a yard of pace to be very damaging on the outside but in saying that, he knows where to run which is just as important, so he will be linking up well as he follows the play very good. Hope that made sense ;)

This is my ratings of guys I think will minimum have solid AFL careers. Going to start making some profiles of all of them once I get the chance. May skip the first group though for obvious reasons. See how I feel. :p

The hope one falls to our pick group but no matter how hard you try in that dream it just doesn't happen. :D
1. Joe Daniher - 200cm KPF are hard to come by so he gets the nod at 1 just.
2. Jimmy Toumpas - his ball-winning ability as well as his amazing skills give him the nod just over the next two.
3. Troy Menzel - most natural talent of the smalls/mediums in this draft. X-factor in spades if he stays fit.
4. Lachlan Whitfield - rate his outside game the best but needs to develop a better inside game or forward game.

The first choices at pick 9 (plus Viney who I rate at this type of level)
5. Nick Vlastuin - tough inside mid who for obvious reasons I've been watching closely over the tapes and he's everything we need.
6. Brodie Grundy - very good tap ruckman and developing a good forward game.
7. Jack Viney - tough nut, high character kid. Gun inside mid. Kicking isn't great though.

If they all happen to be gone then this is the list to choose from
8. Jono O'Rourke - Skilful inside mid a bit in the Conca mould but bit more athletic.
9. Jackson Macrae - Another x-factor forward/mid. Kicking skills aren't as good as I first thought though. Still good though. Should develop an inside game but at this stage hasn't really so he's a bit further down the list.
10. Lachlan Plowman - skilled KPD though is probably a rebounding 3rd tall at AFL level or a big mid at 191cm.
11. Taylor Garner - high flying forward with decent skills. good defensive pressure and elite aerial ability. Good contested game.

The next best that I feel aren't good enough for pick 9 but will go way before our 2nd rounders
12. Tom Clurey - underrated KPD with elite endurance and good skills. Can play forward too.
13. Sam Mayes - highly skilled forward/mid. Very damaging but needs to get more ball for my liking.
14. Oliver Wines - Great ball winner and a lovely size. IMO needs to tidy up kicking if I was to take him top 10.
15. Nathan Hrovat - Small but highest production player available IMO. Just dominates whatever level he is at.

Bit of a talent gap to here but same category where they will fall between our picks.
16. Mason Shaw - big KPF who is a strong contested mark and accurate kick for goal.
17. Kristian Jaksch - have Jaksch just below Shaw. IMO Shaw will develop into a dominant forward whereas not sold Jaksch will. Jaksch's versatility keeps him in the conversation for mine.

Pray they are available at 32/34.
18. Rory Atkins - elite kicking forward/mid. I think he will develop into a highly skilled full time midfielder.
19. Tim Broomhead - Real smooth mover who could be developed into whatever type of player a club wants (inside/outside, forward/back)
20. Tim Membrey - undersized KPF who on production would be higher but I think he needs to develop a midfield game to push up higher in this list, which he hasn't yet.
21. Jesse Lonergan - big inside midfielder with good agility/speed. Improved his kicking this year too.
22. Adam Carter - tough & skilled midfielder/defender. Can play inside and outside.

I've put the 4 small forwards/midfielders together as I rate the first 4 all about the same level.
23. Marvin Warrell - fast & skilled midfielder forward who lifts for the big occasion with best on ground last 2 grand finals.
24. Josh Simpson - had him top 10 on talent but feel he could be too outside for AFL. Silky skilled though and have him just above Garlett.
25. Dayle Garlett - another that I feel is too outside and a bit on the soft side. Has the skills but IMO doesn't have the athleticism of the two above.
26. Ben Kennedy - small forward who can win a bit of his own ball. Very quick and skilled but supposively didn't interview well which with our character testing sees him fall.

Next group are all together and guys I'd look at for pick 43 who I think can forge an AFL career.
27. Aidan Corr - athletic KPP who can push up onto the wing due to his athleticism. Good skills and mix between rebounding/defence.
28. Matthew McDonough - despite his body type I think his production levels show that he can be a very good AFL player. Just keeps getting the ball in midfield and kicking goals up forward.
29. Harrison Marsh - tall midfielder who I think can be a big bodied inside mid with elite skills, strong overhead mark and good defensive game. I had question mark over his skills as his kicking style is ordinary but effective.
30. Andrew Boston - small midfielder with very neat skills. Versatility to play forward to a high level too which adds to his game.
31. Dean Kent - highly skilled midfielder from WA. Missed Champs this year. Really solid body already at 180/85. Can go forward and kick goals.
32. Shane Nelson - IMO demonstrated in the WAFL that he can lift his game to AFL level. Think he could be a very good wingman.
33. Jackson Thurlow - tall half back from Tassie. Really strong bodied and skilful. Not sure we have a need though with Batch/Dea/Grimes etc back there.

Anyone a fan of Matthew Dick from Calder?

I saw some footage of Dick last night and I have to admit , I liked what I saw ! It was the first time I really just blocked everything out and just focused on Dick and I was impressed. He seemed to have no trouble accumulating outside ball as well as inside ball and had great endurance . He got caught with the ball alot but I thought some of the umpire decisions were a bit stiff.

As mentioned before Dick loves inside ball and is great in tight situations , he shows good aggression and is very one eyed and very head strong.

Although predominantly an individual Dick does like group work at times and is the perfect tagger as he likes to work around different opponents . He can concentrate at the task at hand until the job is done. Dick loves the high rotation style of play and working in short sharp bursts.

Draft Prediction : 40-60

We should keep an eye on Dick and think long and hard about picking Dick up if he is still available at 43. It will be hard because there will be other choices out their but Dick does fill a need. He will fit in well with the club and is a very safe selection.

On the AFL site
http://draftmachine.afl.com.au/
Has a combined fans mock draft. Pretty funny to look at. Keeps changing when more people do it. At the moment it has Grundy going to GWS at 14 :eek:, Hrovat at 8 and Plowman at 22.
And has us getting Pongracic with 110!!
The updated view has us taking Vlastuin at 9, Nick Graham at 32, Hrovat going to Brisbane at 33 and us taking Matthew Dick.
If Hrovat there at 32 I would be mightily disappointed if we didn't take him.

The updated view has us taking Vlastuin at 9, Nick Graham at 32, Hrovat going to Brisbane at 33 and us taking Matthew Dick.
If Hrovat there at 32 I would be mightily disappointed if we didn't take him.

agreed. But as per earlier posts, many others feel Hrovat will be long gone by pick 32.

I actually think Conca's kicking is a bit of a weakness, not a strength (gets under them a bit much & lacks penetration). His hands are nearly elite though, doesn't fumble and has a very good handball in general, quick hands, hence i agree more with 'theflea' re: his opinion of Conca as more an inside mid. Concs also lacks a yard of pace to be very damaging on the outside but in saying that, he knows where to run which is just as important, so he will be linking up well as he follows the play very good. Hope that made sense ;)
Agree that the penetration of his kicking isn't that great but he is accurate and more often than not will pick out and hit the right target, that is why I think they will use him primarily as an outside mid to start off and then slowly bring him into the rotations as an inside mid.

This is my ratings of guys I think will minimum have solid AFL careers. Going to start making some profiles of all of them once I get the chance. May skip the first group though for obvious reasons. See how I feel. :p

WOW, thanks for all that!

Boy , l havent done the home work or research , so l guess l'm waiting & hoping FJ & his team nail this EXTREMELY IMPORTANT DRAFT FOR RFC.

Sounds like Vlastuin will be our pick , UNLESS a higher target falls through to us......

The hope one falls to our pick group but no matter how hard you try in that dream it just doesn't happen. :D
2. Jimmy Toumpas - his ball-winning ability as well as his amazing skills give him the nod just over the next two.
3. Troy Menzel - most natural talent of the smalls/mediums in this draft. X-factor in spades if he stays fit.
4. Lachlan Whitfield - rate his outside game the best but needs to develop a better inside game or forward game.

5. Nick Vlastuin - tough inside mid who for obvious reasons I've been watching closely over the tapes and he's everything we need.
7. Jack Viney - tough nut, high character kid. Gun inside mid. Kicking isn't great though.

8. Jono O'Rourke - Skilful inside mid a bit in the Conca mould but bit more athletic.
9. Jackson Macrae - Another x-factor forward/mid. Kicking skills aren't as good as I first thought though. Still good though. Should develop an inside game but at this stage hasn't really so he's a bit further down the list.
10. Lachlan Plowman - skilled KPD though is probably a rebounding 3rd tall at AFL level or a big mid at 191cm.
11. Taylor Garner - high flying forward with decent skills. good defensive pressure and elite aerial ability. Good contested game.

The next best that I feel aren't good enough for pick 9 but will go way before our 2nd rounders
12. Tom Clurey - underrated KPD with elite endurance and good skills. Can play forward too.
13. Sam Mayes - highly skilled forward/mid. Very damaging but needs to get more ball for my liking.
14. Oliver Wines - Great ball winner and a lovely size. IMO needs to tidy up kicking if I was to take him top 10.
15. Nathan Hrovat - Small but highest production player available IMO. Just dominates whatever level he is at.

Bit of a talent gap to here but same category where they will fall between our picks.
16. Mason Shaw - big KPF who is a strong contested mark and accurate kick for goal.
17. Kristian Jaksch - have Jaksch just below Shaw. IMO Shaw will develop into a dominant forward whereas not sold Jaksch will. Jaksch's versatility keeps him in the conversation for mine.

18. Rory Atkins - elite kicking forward/mid. I think he will develop into a highly skilled full time midfielder.
19. Tim Broomhead - Real smooth mover who could be developed into whatever type of player a club wants (inside/outside, forward/back)
20. Tim Membrey - undersized KPF who on production would be higher but I think he needs to develop a midfield game to push up higher in this list, which he hasn't yet.
21. Jesse Lonergan - big inside midfielder with good agility/speed. Improved his kicking this year too.
22. Adam Carter - tough & skilled midfielder/defender. Can play inside and outside.

I've put the 4 small forwards/midfielders together as I rate the first 4 all about the same level.
23. Marvin Warrell - fast & skilled midfielder forward who lifts for the big occasion with best on ground last 2 grand finals.
24. Josh Simpson - had him top 10 on talent but feel he could be too outside for AFL. Silky skilled though and have him just above Garlett.
25. Dayle Garlett - another that I feel is too outside and a bit on the soft side. Has the skills but IMO doesn't have the athleticism of the two above.
26. Ben Kennedy - small forward who can win a bit of his own ball. Very quick and skilled but supposively didn't interview well which with our character testing sees him fall.

Next group are all together and guys I'd look at for pick 43 who I think can forge an AFL career.
27. Aidan Corr - athletic KPP who can push up onto the wing due to his athleticism. Good skills and mix between rebounding/defence.
28. Matthew McDonough - despite his body type I think his production levels show that he can be a very good AFL player. Just keeps getting the ball in midfield and kicking goals up forward.
29. Harrison Marsh - tall midfielder who I think can be a big bodied inside mid with elite skills, strong overhead mark and good defensive game. I had question mark over his skills as his kicking style is ordinary but effective.
30. Andrew Boston - small midfielder with very neat skills. Versatility to play forward to a high level too which adds to his game.
31. Dean Kent - highly skilled midfielder from WA. Missed Champs this year. Really solid body already at 180/85. Can go forward and kick goals.
32. Shane Nelson - IMO demonstrated in the WAFL that he can lift his game to AFL level. Think he could be a very good wingman.
33. Jackson Thurlow - tall half back from Tassie. Really strong bodied and skilful. Not sure we have a need though with Batch/Dea/Grimes etc back there.

Not a fan of McBean Tigs, think he would definitely be one we would/should consider for picks 32-43.