2012 draft

How 'freaky' are these U.S athletes? Who's to say there aren't plenty of athletes on home soil that can beat Nic Nat's leap but because you only see football hopefuls test at the combine you never see them score.
Very freaky. A guy who is 6ft broke Naitanui's standing leap by 12cm. Lol.

Im happy with your line up tigs, looks good. :thumbsu:
Thanks mate.

To put it in perspective the list has gains of:
6 pure mids - Vlastuin, Broomhead, Graham, Cook, Valenti, Martin.
A few of these guys are mids only IMO Cook and Valenti and don't have a huge amount of flexbility. Martin and Vlastuin could play off a HBF and use their kicking skills. I actually think I should have put Martin as the PSD/late ND pick and Cook is more a rookie pick. Graham is capable of going forward and taking contested marks. He's very much like Luke Parker at the Swans IMO. Broomhead we could throw anywhere from inside/outside mid or HBF/HFF. Really think he will follow a similar path to a Beams/Sidebottom as a HFF who eventually becomes a mid.
1 tall Fwd/Mid - Sumner.
That rangy type that can play forward and kick a bag but also push up into the midfield and use his skills delivering forward. He really could be what TT was supposed to be but with better foot skills.
1 small Fwd/Mid - Gideon Simon.
Our PNG rookie who I've seen live. Has a tonne of tricks. Some of the things he does makes your jaw drop. Hoping he grows a little bit and can play as a mid. He's only 172cm last I read. Think he will be more a forward who pinch hits long-term.
2 small forwards - Coleman-Broome, Stokes.
Stokes is very small/skinny at this stage similar to Turner. Has tricks and is quicker than Turner and takes defenders on. Coleman-Broome is a better prospect because he is bigger, has a bigger trick bag and goal sense but still has electric pace and if he can build a tank he has the size to push into the midfield.
3 talls (1 ruck/1 back up ruck) - Hannath, Haretuku, Ederaine.
Both are mature-aged. Hannath has taken off this year when given 1st ruck duties in the SANFL. Haretuku is a FF/2nd ruck who would be a Vickery back-up which we desperately needed this year. IMO he is better than Casboult at Carlton. Ederaine I just plucked off the list from the American Combine. No idea who he is but he's tall and has a ridiculous leap. :D

Are all the US combine people around 200cm...? I heard they're only targeting centers and power forwards from basketball backgrounds as they have the highest potential to make it as ruckmen. Would like to see some people who are potential midfielders.

No defenders? We were pretty shit when Grimes went down.

I think some of the 185 cm players would make good small defenders playing on the likes of betts. They would have the size, strength,speed and most importantly the agility to go with them it would just be a matter of teaching them basics of footy.

im not too sure where they might end up draft order wise. but here's a few names:

HBF/mids

matthew dick 187/86
paul marschall 189/90
leigh osbourne 186/84
nathan wright 183/78

Forwards
Scot Clouston, 25, 194cm leading forward, can take marks and has a big kick

Tom Lee 194cm 39 goals in 15 games

Ben Saunders medium forward, 187cm, 59 goals so far this year

all these are off an afl article which i cant seem to find now. but I picked the players that were said to have the best kicks!

Jake Stringer - that is all

I'm starting to warm to this idea. He could be the best player from this draft, but will slide in a Darling like way. Maybe not as far, but certainly to our pick you would think.

What I would really like to see is if we somehow land a late 1st round pick from somewhere so we can land Stringer or another slider that wouldn't make it to our 2nd round picks. Nahas and a 3rd rounder could get it done maybe? No idea who with.

No, because the difference in talent between 15-25 isn't all that flash.

Look at it this way, we'll probably get Kennedy or Vlastuin with our first pick which'll be around the 10th pick give or take, then Stringer will probably slide which gives us a chance to get a sure pick (most likely) and a 50-50 chance of getting a player who was top 5 before injury and is still dominating. If not Stringer then Garlett, both are top 5 in potential.

I have displayed numerous occasions my discomfort with us picking Stringer up. His performances since his broken leg have been underwhelming and is not the type of player we need. Garlett will not last till 15, he is way too classy. The only potential outcome with this would be taking a risk and hoping Vlastuin slides to pick 15. However, the risk is big and I'm not sure whether the club has the balls to do it.

You are joking i hope ?

191cm 90kg Smart Midfielder that can go foward and kick multiple goals- resemblance to Pavlich !

Really at a crossroads here.
O'Rourke - probably a Dustin Martin
Wines - said to be a bigger Cotchin
Vlastuin - genuine ball-winner could be potential Toby Greene :O
Kennedy - x-factor small forward/midfielder, with sppppeeeddd and gets a lot of the ball
Mayes - said to be best kick
Stringer - inside/outside midfielder
Garlett - sppeed midfielder

i'm just looking at fast players because i remember when daisy outran edwards and i felt ashamed as a tigers supporter and i'd like to laugh and see our players other than deledio and foley outrun players.

i hope the Bulldogs take Mason Shaw as a key forward

You are joking i hope ?

191cm 90kg Smart Midfielder that can go foward and kick multiple goals- resemblance to Pavlich !

He's barely been playing in the midfield, mostly as a KPF and his form has been poor. Smart? Hardly. Selfish would be the word I'd describe him with. Honestly why would you want a KPF who is still injury-riddled and is not playing good football.

Really at a crossroads here.
O'Rourke - probably a Dustin Martin
Wines - said to be a bigger Cotchin
Vlastuin - genuine ball-winner could be potential Toby Greene :O
Kennedy - x-factor small forward/midfielder, with sppppeeeddd and gets a lot of the ball
Mayes - said to be best kick
Stringer - inside/outside midfielder
Garlett - sppeed midfielder

i'm just looking at fast players because i remember when daisy outran edwards and i felt ashamed as a tigers supporter and i'd like to laugh and see our players other than deledio and foley outrun players.

i hope the Bulldogs take Mason Shaw as a key forward

We won't get O'Rourke or Wines unless we upgrade our pick. O'Rourke doesn't have the lightning explosiveness that Martin has and if Wines was a 'bigger Cotchin' then he would be pick 1. Vlastuin hasn't got good pace, which is why it's hard to compare him to Greene who is very quick. Kennedy description is basically spot-on. Mayes isn't likely to last till 10 nor is a forward flank high on our priority list. Stringer, big no. Garlett, I wouldn't be upset if we got Garlett because he will be an absolute gun, but I still think we need an inside midfielder.

Vlastuin, Kennedy or Garlett should be the ones that we snatch up with our pick.

We won't get O'Rourke or Wines unless we upgrade our pick.

Probably right about O'Rourke but I think we're a sneaky chance to get Wines. Not inconcievable that 8 players will be taken before him.

Whitfield, Grundy, Viney, Toumpas, Mayes, O'Rourke, Stringer, Shaw, Garlett, Plowman, Menzel, Vlastuin and even Kennedy are all pretty realistic chances to be picked ahead of Wines. I would probably agree with you if Carlton had pick 9 though, reckon they would be all over him.

Suckers.

In light of todays events, my preference has become Wines, Kennedy, Vlastuin or Stringer in that order, unless O'Rourke or Mayes slide to 9.

Probably right about O'Rourke but I think we're a sneaky chance to get Wines. Not inconcievable that 8 players will be taken before him.

Whitfield, Grundy, Viney, Toumpas, Mayes, O'Rourke, Stringer, Shaw, Garlett, Plowman, Menzel, Vlastuin and even Kennedy are all pretty realistic chances to be picked ahead of Wines. I would probably agree with you if Carlton had pick 9 though, reckon they would be all over him.

Suckers.

In light of todays events, my preference has become Wines, Kennedy, Vlastuin or Stringer in that order, unless O'Rourke or Mayes slide to 9.

For me the draft order before our pick will pan out like this.

Option 1:

Whitfield, Toumpas, Viney, O'Rourke, Grundy, Mayes, Wines, Garlett

Option 2:

Whitfield, Toumpas, O'Rourke, Mayes, Grundy, Garlett, Wines, Plowman

Melbourne won't take Grundy, they need midfield power, so Viney and O'Rourke or O'Rourke and Mayes for them. WBD need outside midfielders so they will likely take Mayes + Grundy or Grundy + Garlett, it will be highly unlikely that they will get both Mayes and Garlett but if they do will be fortunate for us because Port would be silly not to take Grundy at 7. Port are the ones likely to snatch up Wines as with Boak likely to leave and Cassisi and Cornes not being there for much longer, an inside mid would be in demand for them. However, there is a chance that WBD will pass on Grundy so if Port take him at 7, Wines may slip through as the Lions would be looking for outside mids or key position players.

So the dream draft for us would be...

Whitfield, Toumpas, Viney, O'Rourke, Mayes, Garlett, Grundy, Plowman, Wines.

Reading that now, it does seem possible, but a lot of things would have to fall into place.

Yep, it's a fairly long shot, but not entirely unrealistic. I think a lot depends on whether GWS or GC make a bid for Viney. If they don't they will piss off 15 other clubs who effectively slip down a spot in the first round! I can see any one of Melbourne, Dogs, Port or Lions taking Wines but there's a fair whack of talent in this draft so here's hoping he slips.