2012 draft

4 talls off the list after the end of season i would think we need to replace 1 and possibly 2 of those for a proper list balance
We've replaced 2 already. Although Edwards isn't a tall as such he plays as one so takes a spot on the field as one. Chaplin is certainly a tall and a quality one who will play best 22. If that rumour I posted about Aliir Aliir is true that gives us one more.

I already think we had too many as it was as Coburg was a huge side with no midfield. We obviously needed to load up in quantity in order to find enough quality but I think we are starting to find out which KPP are the quality ones now.

KPF: Riewoldt, Vickery, Elton, Astbury, Edwards, McGuane with possibly Aliir Aliir as a project at Coburg.
KPD: Chaplin, Rance, Grimes, Griffiths, Darrou with Batchelor being able to play a role if required (on 3rd tall fwd)

If Mason Shaw pops up at pick 32/34 I'd certainly be looking at it but I think we need quality mids/a medium forward.

Melbourne can't lose their pick this year. If AFL stripped them on Monday they have 7 days to appeal which goes past the draft so they'd keep it.
In time they may wish they lost pick 4 this year instead of pick 3 next year.
Especially if they use it to pick Wines. Good player and all, but pick 3/4 next year should be a ripper

Had a weird dream last night.

GWS took Nick Lower (who has actually been delisted) with pick 2 and Suban (who hasn't to my knowledge) with pick 3. Somehow, that resulted in us getting Wines at 9.

Would like to think thats Deja Vu of some kind for next week's draft but highly doubt it :D

Hey guys, I have just recieved an invite to the draft next week.

Has anyone here been before?

How did you manage that ? Congratulations Morro ! Have a great time ! & no I haven"t been b4 :thumbsu: If ya go maybe you could post live for those of us who don't have fox ? ;)

I have a friend who works for AFLQ and he just called. Pretty stoked, should be a good night. Maybe they will see me in the crowd and think, wow that guy looks a player and sign me as a mature age rookie. I have nt given up hope :D

I think you underestimate the hurt that so many feel after passing on talented big blokes.
They may be wrong about Vlastuin, and Grundy, for that matter. But I think the anxiety it is understandable.

Pav
Buddy
Clark

6 days
I cringe everytime I see these guys dominate matches. If Grundy is there we take him plain and simple.

Chase mids with the later 3 picks and drafts to come.

I have a friend who works for AFLQ and he just called. Pretty stoked, should be a good night. Maybe they will see me in the crowd and think, wow that guy looks a player and sign me as a mature age rookie. I have nt given up hope :D

if you look anything like your avatar you should be a shoo in

Dees had a draft info session last night.

They expect us to take Vlastuin (wow) and they intimated they would take Toumpas if available.

Really? That's good news for the possibility of Wines being available at 9!
I've decided I'll be happy with any of Grundy,Wines or Vlaustin. Any other scoops revealed?

Wow alright. Where did u here this???

The same footy company I work for that allowed me to meet and talk to Mark Williams, is the same company that sees me work with a couple guys who have played for and coached at the Northern Knights.

I had breakfast with my boss yesterday morning who has been an assitant at the Knights.

We got talking about Vlastuin - pronounced 'Floss-tone'

He was a huge rap for 'tigger'.

The way he explained him was exactly what we need.

These were his words regarding Nick;

"The thing that seperates Nick from everyone else and what will make him a very good AFL player is his competitiveness. If Nick is in a congested situation with 15 other blokes, he WILL get the ball, there's no 2 ways about it. He WILL get it".

He claimed that he's an absolutely sensational kid with a brilliant head on his shoulders and is very much like Cotch in that he leads by actions, not so much verbally.

I'm hoping we end up with Tigger, will be great for us.

I noticed someone else also mentioned that in the HS phantom draft Kennedy went to Port at 30, would be gutted if this happened. Did we ever get any official reason why Port's priority pick this year was inserted in front of our pick?

Not necessarily against Vlastuin but if I had to choose between Macrae and him at 9 I would go the former simply because of what he can bring and he has potential to be elite.

The thing I am interested in though is why do we need an inside mid as a focus point right now??? Why can we not chase an inside mid at some stage in the next few years even via free agency when they are a dime a dozen and we may pick up a better option later. He might be able to get a inside mid that can play forward in later years which would be more effective for us given our strong backline

The other thing with Vlastuin is he can play HBF but we have plenty who can play HBF so why does V in particular get the mojo going for some??

The same footy company I work for that allowed me to meet and talk to Mark Williams, is the same company that sees me work with a couple guys who have played for and coached at the Northern Knights.

I had breakfast with my boss yesterday morning who has been an assitant at the Knights.

"The thing that seperates Nick from everyone else and what will make him a very good AFL player is his competitiveness. If Nick is in a congested situation with 15 other blokes, he WILL get the ball, there's no 2 ways about it. He WILL get it".

He claimed that he's an absolutely sensational kid with a brilliant head on his shoulders and is very much like Cotch in that he leads by actions, not so much verbally.

Yep I'm sold again. It's like a bloody merry go round here. Round and round and round she goes where she stops nobody knows.

Not necessarily against Vlastuin but if I had to choose between Macrae and him at 9 I would go the former simply because of what he can bring and he has potential to be elite.

The thing I am interested in though is why do we need an inside mid as a focus point right now??? Why can we not chase an inside mid at some stage in the next few years even via free agency when they are a dime a dozen and we may pick up a better option later. He might be able to get a inside mid that can play forward in later years which would be more effective for us given our strong backline

The other thing with Vlastuin is he can play HBF but we have plenty who can play HBF so why does V in particular get the mojo going for some??
Because when Tuck goes, and we don't know if Foley will be right ever again, and Cotch can't do it himself, who is going to feed out to these mercurial, outside recievers?

First you build the object (inside mids), then you add the fine, finishing touches (outside mids).

Because when Tuck goes, and we don't know if Foley will be right ever again, and Cotch can't do it himself, who is going to feed out to these mercurial, outside recievers?

First you build the object (inside mids), then you add the fine, finishing touches (outside mids).
And may I stand corrected but I swear I heard somewhere next years draft crop if littered with top quality outside running mids.

So what???? We are trying to build a premiership team, no short cuts. Tuck can play another 3 years yet

First you build inside mids then add the outside mids.... eerrgghh what ??o_O Since when??? got any track record to base this on???? Whats wrong with outside to in , front to back or back to front???? Any team that has gone outside to in as you suggest and one a flag???

if you look anything like your avatar you should be a shoo in

Excuse me! I am not a piece of meat you pig :eek:

Gosh I am not that kind of girl :mad: or am I???

Inside mids who are averaged skilled are dime a dozen. Not highly skilled ones.

The scary thing for me is if each player recruited didn't have this desire and bare application they wouldn't even get recruited. So for me this is just a bare minimum particularly for a round one pick. The other thing I start to wonder is are we looking at simply a big kid v small kids??

So what???? We are trying to build a premiership team, no short cuts. Tuck can play another 3 years yet

First you build inside mids then add the outside mids.... eerrgghh what ??o_O Since when??? got any track record to base this on???? Whats wrong with outside to in , front to back or back to front???? Any team that has gone outside to in as you suggest and one a flag???

I thought it was a fair comment - have to get the ball first mate.