2012 draft

Posted this in the Dom Tyson thread but it kind of got lost in there because it was a bit off topic.

But our best bet for Dom Tyson is that Melbourne offer pick 4 for MD1 and then Dogs have to offer more than pick 5 for it so would be willing to do a pick 6 to 9 downgrade and we give up 9 and Post for Tyson. Bit of talk though that GC will bid pick 2 for Viney and therefore Melbourne won't bid pick 4 for pick 1. Meaning Dogs at pick 5 or 6 would be able to just offer one pick for Jack Martin. (GC apparently will just use pick 2 this year and fair enough too.)

This would leave us third in line for Mini Draft Pick 2 behind Port Adelaide and Brisbane. IMO Port need to get a good kid in immediately so will go to the draft. Then it would be pick 8 vs pick 9. Maybe we could offer up Post and get the mini-draft pick 2?

We could bring in a Josh Kelly or Jesse Hogan for our pick 9. I think we have enough internal improvement to make finals anyway and then all of a sudden we have either a big bodied CHF to come in 2013 with a years development or a silky midfielder to bring in. Plus we will have a first rounder next year to either bring in Tyson if we can or another quality midfielder like Sheed.

Posted this in the Dom Tyson thread but it kind of got lost in there because it was a bit off topic.

But our best bet for Dom Tyson is that Melbourne offer pick 4 for MD1 and then Dogs have to offer more than pick 5 for it so would be willing to do a pick 6 to 9 downgrade and we give up 9 and Post for Tyson. Bit of talk though that GC will bid pick 2 for Viney and therefore Melbourne won't bid pick 4 for pick 1. Meaning Dogs at pick 5 or 6 would be able to just offer one pick for Jack Martin. (GC apparently will just use pick 2 this year and fair enough too.)

This would leave us third in line for Mini Draft Pick 2 behind Port Adelaide and Brisbane. IMO Port need to get a good kid in immediately so will go to the draft. Then it would be pick 8 vs pick 9. Maybe we could offer up Post and get the mini-draft pick 2?

We could bring in a Josh Kelly or Jesse Hogan for our pick 9. I think we have enough internal improvement to make finals anyway and then all of a sudden we have either a big bodied CHF to come in 2013 with a years development or a silky midfielder to bring in. Plus we will have a first rounder next year to either bring in Tyson if we can or another quality midfielder like Sheed.

If the Tyson deal doesn't work out (fingers still crossed) then getting Josh Kelly wouldn't be a bad idea (will take more than post) if it only costs #9 but I am still more excited about Macrae or moving down in the order and getting Garner

Was more going off if it comes down to us and Brisbane. 9 & Post could be more valuable than 8 as they want a young, cheapish defender. Also as they have the NT zone selections we could maybe ask for a Dom Barry type thrown in. GWS are keen on Jed Anderson and Jake Neade themselves so giving us Dom Barry doesn't affect them in the slightest.

Should add if Melbourne or GC bid then we can try piggy back on for the Tyson deal to help the Doggies.

Thought I'd do a little analysis on a few players I'd like at the particular picks we have because I'm bored and should be doing my uni assignments :p

Pick 9

Jesse Hogan - Claremont - 194cm - 97kg - CHF
I'm putting Hogan in if we can't get Tyson then I'd like us to try push for a mini-draft pick by adding a player on top. Hogan is a big bullocking CHF from WA. Really good contested mark and just smashed through packs. Has the ability to also play down at CHB. IMO he's a very nice field kick of the footy but has a poor run-up technique for goal kicking which causes some shots to go astray. Tested really well for endurance at the Combine in both the 3km and beep test.

Josh Kelly - Sandringham Dragons - 181cm - 68kg - Midfielder
Another mini-draft prospect and could be wishful thinking but again if the Doggies don't need us to get Martin then it's because their pick 6 is highest bid. Kelly is a silky skilled mid. There's been some talk that he could be the first taken but if Dogs get it they will take Martin. He won the 3km time trial against all the kids in the year above which was a good effort and his kicking skills are elite. He is also a very quick player so has that extremely rare combination of speed and endurance.

Jonathan O'Rourke - Calder Cannons - 183cm - 74kg - Midfielder
O'Rourke is one of my absolute favourites in this draft and would love to have him. (also a Tiges fan so I think he'd love this selection just as much) Despite currently having quite a slender frame he is very much an inside ball winner. Obviously he can't rely on his brute strength (74kgs) so it's all about positioning and reading the play for O'Rourke. Has very clean hands in the contest and can fire out a handball at lightning speed. Really good athlete, with a good combination of speed, endurance and has a good leap on him. His speed is what sets him apart from many other inside midfielders and is what I think would give us a point of difference as an inside mid.

Jackson MacRae - Oakleigh Chargers - 188cm - 75kg - Midfielder/Forward
MacRae is the bolter of this years draft and from what I've heard the Dogs are very keen and IMO is why they are trying to get us involved with our pick 9 so they can snap him up. MacRae can play both inside and out and has very silky skills. Also, has a bit of x-factor in the forward line and ultimately I think this is where I think he will begin his career before becoming a full-time midfielder who rests forward as he develops. I see him in the mould of a Pendlebury. Not super quick but elite skills and always seems to have an eternity to weigh up his options.

Dayle Garlett - Swan Districts - 181cm - 75kg - Midfielder/Forward
Probably the most fascinating player to watch on draft night to see where he falls. One of the most talented in this draft but also has his doubters on his attitude. From a distance he really seems to be trying his hardest to rectify these issues. Another really silky skilled player but has that explosive pace to go with it and can turn a game in a 10 minute burst like he did for WA against VM at Etihad. (Had help from Jack Martin and Laine Wilkins was the beneficiary) I think he is that cream on top type of player but he can go in and win his own ball. Looking ahead to next years draft there isn't any of this type up high so may be worth taking him this year.

Nick Vlastuin - Northern Knights - 187cm - 83kg - Midfielder
Was very highly rated coming into this season as an inside midfielder however he spent a fair bit of time playing off a HBF in the Champs. Still made AA team playing out of position and IMO it was good to see him trying to expand his game. He has good skills for an inside mid and is a very good leader which is something we are always looking for. Has that Stevie Morris nut case attack on the ball so will be loved by fans and I think he'd be the replacement for Tuck eventually. (Though they can co-exist in the same team)

Pick 29/31 - I'll lump these picks together because they are effectively the same but obviously we have two of them.

Tim Membrey - Gippsland Power - 189cm - 87kg - Medium Forward
I just don't know where to place this kid. He's really played most of his footy as a KPF but he's only 189cm. How highly will this type be sought after. He suprisingly (to me anyway) tested very well for speed so I think he could make a good 3rd tall in our side playing a Jack Darling type of role. I've mentioned on here before we are keen to get him so if he's there I expect us to snap him up. Excellent kick for goal from a set shot (rarely misses) and if you let him get his hands to it 99/100 its a mark.

Tim Broomhead - Port Adelaide - 183cm - 74kg - Midfielder
I really rate Broomhead. Has just got better and better. Really well balanced and nicely skilled midfielder who can rotate forward and hit the scoreboard. I think he's one who would start his career on a HFF before pushing into the midfield, not to dissimilar to Beams/Sidebottom at the Pies, as he bulks up. Has some really nice speed for a kid who I expect will become an inside midfielder. Would add nicely to our midfield depth.

Nicholas Graham - Gippsland Power - 182cm - 76kg - Midfielder
First noticed Graham at the Champs and thought he was pretty solid. Didn't get a lot of midfield time for VC but since going back to Gippsland has taken his game to another level. Another high character, leadership type. Not a super skilled player but he's not bad in this regard. He's very much in the Luke Parker mould. Can win a lot of footy, can go forward and impact on the scoreboard and then you have the bleached blonde hair of Parker. Don't think he will ever be a star but will become a handy cog in a good midfield.

Josh Simpson - East Fremantle - 183cm - 72kg - Midfielder/Forward
I think we need to add a bit of speed and excitement to our squad to start to worry opposition sides. As outside Deledio we don't seem to have that breakaway pace that teams worry about. They obviously worry about Cotchin and Martin as well but for different reasons. Not sure Simpson has put together a consistent enough season to go first round but he certainly has the tools to be worthy of it. I feel he could slide though. Very quick, super skills and has a big leap on him so if he puts it all together he could become an A-grader or he could just be an inconsistent outside midfielder all his career.

Rory Atkins - Calder Cannons - 183cm - 75kg - Midfielder
Very talented inside/outside midfielder. Was highly rated coming into this season but had a disappointing Champs this year. I think he is best playing more of an inside role and using his speed to burst away from the packs. Has a nice left foot kick on him. Needs to become consistent if he wants to make a career as he has good games and then games where he goes unnoticed. Was getting better at this for Calder post-Championships.

Pick 50

Samuel Lowrie - South Fremantle - 187cm - 80kg - Midfielder
Unfortunately Lowrie got injured later in the year. Had a good season in the WAFL. Very powerful outside runner in the mould of an Andrew Embley type. Like Stringer he came back from a broken leg this year and then broke his collarbone this season. Still has some very good speed and is capable of going inside and winning his own ball. IMO should go higher than this but he only got a state screening invite so must be something I'm missing and he could very much fall around this mark

Nathan Hrovat - Northern Knights - 173cm - 76kg - Midfielder
I'm sure people will disagree but I think this is his range. He's just so short and doesn't have the explosive pace to make up for it like a Kennedy. He does have a fantastic ability to just accumulate possessions and he's dual-sided with his kicking skills. Just doesn't seem to hurt teams with his possessions a lot. Having said that I still like him as a prospect this late. I think he will definitely forge an AFL career as an inside mid I just don't see him going very high. Could very well be the bargain of the draft.

Dom Barry - Alice Springs - 183cm - 78kg - Midfielder
Barry is very much an outside midfielder and like Kelly has a very rare mix of speed and endurance. Barry I first noticed in the game against SA and he is a real smooth mover on a wing. Very much in the mould of a Stephen Hill although Hill's skills are at another level all together. Wouldn't be disappointed in taking Barry at 31 or trying to organise a deal with GWS to pre-list him.

Marvin Warrell - South Fremantle - 182cm - 70kg - Midfielder/Forward
Was originally hoping we may get Warrell with a rookie or late ND pick but he has really stepped up on the big stage. Back to back BOG's in Grand Finals is an impressive effort. Has really good skills and can play anywhere on the field. Very quick and has a nice leap so is very dangerous both offensively and defensively as a forward.

Steven Baldasso - Norwood - 183cm - 73kg - Midfielder
Baldasso is capable of playing as both an inside and outside midfielder. Is an elite kick of the footy which will appeal to our recruiters and is quite a smooth mover. He's pretty quick for a guy who is capable of playing inside. Needs some meat on his bones though so will take a bit of development.

Tim Sumner - Woodville - 187cm - 78kg - Midfielder/Forward
Rangy type who can play forward or midfield to great effect. Had an 8 goal bag in the SANFL colts this year. Really, really skilful player with a very good burst of speed. Is capable of going and winning his own ball or playing as an outside receiver type and using his skills to deliver inside 50.

Later Picks - Lumpin any pick after the 3rd round together because by this stage I have no idea if we will have any picks, how close any picks will be together so it's a lottery.

Max Duffy - East Fremantle - 189cm - 78kg - Forward
Mercurial forward who missed out last year. Has kicked about 2 goals a game this year playing in the WAFL Seniors. He certainly didn't miss out due to a lack of talent but more with some perceived attitude problems and not getting along well with his club side. Has some very good speed which makes him dangerous up forward.

Sam Rundle - South Fremantle - ?? - ?? - Midfielder/Forward
This is a kid I haven't seen being over in WA and not playing Champs. But have been told about him by a recruiter. Really high level athlete and is very much a damaging goal kicking midfielder. Along with Mason Shaw he kicked 5 in the WAFL colts Grand Final.

Harrison Marsh - East Fremantle - 188cm - 78kg - Midfielder
Like Vlastuin I felt he played out of position at the Champs. Played as a KPD at that level. He should have been played as a big midfielder. IMO late in the draft he is worth the punt. Good skills, good athlete and a really nice size for a mid.

Shannon Taylor - Claremont - 177cm - 72kg - Midfielder
A year ago I would have been happy to take this kid as a 2nd rounder. Has dropped off the radar a bit but should still get drafted. Last year was up the very top in the speed department and had very good skills. This year his skills seem to have gone backwards and not sure where he fits in. If he's there at our 4th rounder then I'd snap him up. The talent is there.

Jack Hannath - Central Districts - 200cm - 97kg - Ruck
Best mature age ruckman going around IMO. Good tap ruckman and has excelled being given the no.1 ruck duties. If we get rid of Gus I could see us looking at Hannath.

Cameron Symonds - East Fremantle - 205cm - 105kg - Ruck
Big ruckman who missed out last year. Pretty good skills for a big man but has a bit of development to go on his ruck work.

Also as it seems that we will be looking at mature aged rookies this year I thought it would be worth putting a brief write up in about a few of them as well.

Mitch Clisby - North Adelaide - 182cm - 75kg - HBF
Clisby is a super skilled dashing HBF from the SANFL. Adds real drive and just looks like he belongs on an AFL list.

Justin Hardy - Central Districts - 196cm - 97kg - KPF/Ruck
Hardy is an interesting story as he has played most of his career as a KPD and has now turned into a KPF winning the SANFL leading goal kicker. Can also provide some relief in the ruck. Really big body and plays aggressively.

Marlon Motlop - Swan Districts - 179cm - 79kg - Midfielder/Forward
Cousin of Daniel. Ex-Port listed player and we know we love them. Has really excelled as a midfielder this year in the WAFL. Good speed and skills.

Shane Nelson - West Perth - 179cm - 70kg - Midfielder
Still not convinced he will go again. He's just so thin and doesn't seem like he will fill out. Is a ball magnet though and when has time has reasonable skills but his decision making isn't great and can panic.

Myke Cook - Sandringham Zebras - 184cm - 83kg - Midfielder
Quick outside mid who can win a bit of his own ball. Reasonable skills. Been linked to us but could go higher on the day. Ex-Adelaide so fits the recruiting mantra of having played some footy in SA.

Khan Haretuku - Frankston - 198cm - 99kg - KPF/Ruck
Another KPF who can play back up ruck. Has had a very good season in the VFL. Would provide some handy back up to Tyrone and is a good contested mark.

Kyle Martin - Frankston - 182cm - 82kg - Midfielder
Think he was overlooked a few years ago due to him having tickets on himself. Can play through the midfield and off half back. Wins a lot of the footy at VFL level and seems a level above.

Nathan Batsanis - Norwood - 181cm - 80kg - Midfielder
Another ex-Port player. Really hard running outside midfielder with reasonable skills. Would be able to step up and play if required.

Daniel Currie - North Adelaide - 200cm - 100kg - Ruck/Forward
Mature age ruckman. Up there with Hannath for best state league ruck. Injury plagued at Sydney he seems to be over those injuries now and had a good season in the SANFL. Really good mover and can play as a no.1 or 2 ruck so has a bit of flexibility to his game.

If we get Wines i'd be a happy. He is in the Viney, Greene mould. Just goes in hard at it and dishes the ball out like Viney. A clone of Morris but in the midfield. Should try to develop his outside game. Was 3rd in the Larke Medal Count, pretty good effort from an alleged inside midfielder with no outside game.

Would also be happy with O'Rourke. Just seems like that Foley type who gets the ball and has the potential to break lines with his speed.

Macrae or Garlett i'd be happy. With Garlett i'm a little bit more confident with Williams as development coach.

If we get Wines i'd be a happy. He is in the Viney, Greene mould. Just goes in hard at it and dishes the ball out like Viney. A clone of Morris but in the midfield. Should try to develop his outside game. Was 3rd in the Larke Medal Count, pretty good effort from an alleged inside midfielder with no outside game.

Would also be happy with O'Rourke. Just seems like that Foley type who gets the ball and has the potential to break lines with his speed.

Macrae or Garlett i'd be happy. With Garlett i'm a little bit more confident with Williams as development coach.

All the names you mentioned I agree with. We will get a good one at 9. The mail before the Tyson talk was Vlastuin. I wonder what the club is thinking now?

I personally like Garlett and Macrae, but we will see.

Still there is 3 weeks of trade period to come, who knows what will happen?

This far out, I like Macrae @ 9. Bolter, yes, but poise, size and ability to kick it beautifully is attractive.
But I just don't know Garlett well enough to opine with confidence.

This far out, I like Macrae @ 9. Bolter, yes, but poise, size and ability to kick it beautifully is attractive.
But I just don't know Garlett well enough to opine with confidence.

Macrae may be a bolter but I have serious doubts he will make it to pick 9 now. He has bolted that far up the rankings. A lot depends on what happens from tomorrow, mainly tomorrow morning with the Father Son bidding. Let's hope GC do bid for Viney and Melbourne take him. They will then be less likely to trade Pick 4 to Collingwood. Melbourne should take Viney at 3. I rank him at 7 but he means that much more to them than that. He also has great mental strength. He is the leader Melbourne have screamed for.

A lot of talk that Bulldogs like Macrae, so again, will they get that mini draft pick and give up picks?

He is definitely someone I would like to have.

Thought I'd do a little analysis on a few players I'd like at the particular picks we have because I'm bored and should be doing my uni assignments :p

What don't you like about Wines at 9?

Genuinely curious as I have no knowledge of these youngsters, bar a few highlight vids and posters' write ups.

Macrae may be a bolter but I have serious doubts he will make it to pick 9 now. He has bolted that far up the rankings. A lot depends on what happens from tomorrow, mainly tomorrow morning with the Father Son bidding. Let's hope GC do bid for Viney and Melbourne take him. They will then be less likely to trade Pick 4 to Collingwood. Melbourne should take Viney at 3. I rank him at 7 but he means that much more to them than that. He also has great mental strength. He is the leader Melbourne have screamed for.

A lot of talk that Bulldogs like Macrae, so again, will they get that mini draft pick and give up picks?

He is definitely someone I would like to have.

What happened to Trengrove?

What don't you like about Wines at 9?

Genuinely curious as I have no knowledge of these youngsters, bar a few highlight vids and posters' write ups.
Tbh I don't dislike him I just think those I've listed are a) better prospects and b) we will have a choice of 1 or 2 of them. I think pick 9 is too high. To me he is purely an inside grunt mid. He's not quick, he's not a great kick but he can win the ball. To me that doesn't scream star potential. Doesn't have much of an outside game. Neither does Vlastuin but at least he has put some time and effort into this side of his game and he can do it.

As things firm up a bit post draft camp, where do the more experienced draft watchers see Stringer going?

Wouldn't surprise me if he went anywhere between 10-30 , he had massive hype , which was probably warranted , pre injury , which would see him easily within top 5 . However his form this year is not disimilar to someone picked up late in a second round .

FWIW, he got into the votes (in a serious way, top couple on ground) in all 3 of the VFL games he played. Don't know whether that will hold much significance, but it won't hurt. I can't see him dropping too far unless his testing or interviews are absolutely awful.

He's apparently a ripper kid. Will fly through his interviews no worries at all.
"Roar Passion" range is about right. I think he's MOST likely to go 15-20ish but anywhere in that range he could go.

He's apparently a ripper kid. Will fly through his interviews no worries at all.
"Roar Passion" range is about right. I think he's MOST likely to go 15-20ish but anywhere in that range he could go.
I could easily see him going earlier.
To not just fit in at the 2nd best level of footy in the country, but actually do really really well (playing against Cats reserves, Box Hill & Willie, so all AFL-aligned & plenty of listed players), is a massive feather in his cap.

I could easily see him going earlier.
To not just fit in at the 2nd best level of footy in the country, but actually do really really well (playing against Cats reserves, Box Hill & Willie, so all AFL-aligned & plenty of listed players), is a massive feather in his cap.
No doubt. A few recruiters had issues with his ability to bully kids so that would have given him a boost. The other question mark is his kicking. (excluding the obvious leg thing of course but that will heal with time) So I guess it depends how much the other teams value kicking. For me, he's in the same boat as Garlett in that I hope they are gone by our pick so they don't bite us on the arse when we overlook them. :D

Wasn't he one of the highest scorers in the kicking tests?

Wouldn't have a clue. Not the most accurate test going around though. Nor does winning it mean you get drafted. Just ask Shane Nelson. :P

Not that it affects us, but do we think Greater Western Sydney will take Lachie Whitfield and Jimmy Toumpas with their first two selections, or address another need and take, say, Brodie Grundy with their second pick.