2012 draft

Hanging out for Emma Quayles mock draft. She is usually fairly on the ball with whos going where early. Stringer will go 6 by the sounds of it with the Doggies hell keen on him and i still cant see Grundy going later than 3. GWS have the time to develop him.
Anderson seems to think GWS will wait till they are contending and pick one up then. They already have Giles. If they keep taking quality mids they could afford to trade 3 of them to get a very good ruck to come to them.

The reserve top 10 count down will be a lot more interesting for us this year especially as we will be the first called out with Daniher already going to Essedon. Imagine if we get Grundy.

For whats if its worth heres my rankings:
1. Daniher
2. O'meara
3. Grundy
4. Mayes
5. Toumpas
6. Whitfield
7. Crouch
8. O'Rourke
9. Plowman
10. Jaksch

What if Anderson is right and it starts

1. Whitfield
2. Toumpas
3. O'Rourke
4. Wines
5. ??
6. ??
7. Grundy

Who do you think the 5 & 6 are? Macrae and Plowman?

FWIW he has Mayes at 11 and Stringer in the 20's with Garlett at 25.

Yeah those two would be the ones I would think. Haven't listened to this guy, but interesting his observations are. Can't disagree with him, as I said it is so even that anything could happen. GWS could play funny buggers, I think personally they would be stupid to turn down the top 3, but, it would make it very interesting.

It seems that we are interested in Grundy and believe he may slip. Hmmmm.

Yeah those two would be the ones I would think. Haven't listened to this guy, but interesting his observations are. Can't disagree with him, as I said it is so even that anything could happen. GWS could play funny buggers, I think personally they would be stupid to turn down the top 3, but, it would make it very interesting.

It seems that we are interested in Grundy and believe he may slip. Hmmmm.
I did say yesterday that we were hoping for someone to slip. Never thought it was Grundy. If it pans out like that hopefully Port take Mayes. No chance Lions go ruckman again I wouldn't have thought. They already spent 2 x 1st rounders on Leuenberger and Longer.

Edit: sounds like he has Jaksch at 8 to the Lions. Either way this is shaping up to be a ripper for us with either Grundy or a quality midfielder.

I did say yesterday that we were hoping for someone to slip. Never thought it was Grundy. If it pans out like that hopefully Port take Mayes. No chance Lions go ruckman again I wouldn't have thought. They already spent 2 x 1st rounders on Leuenberger and Longer.

Edit: sounds like he has Jaksch at 8 to the Lions. Either way this is shaping up to be a ripper for us with either Grundy or a quality midfielder.

Grundy would be an immense steal. Biggest I have seen for a long, long time. Top 3 talent, can play straight away. No wonder we didn't get a backup. If it happens, would be amazing. Can play and dominate up forward too. WOW. I didn't think we were even factoring this in. Looks like a possibility now. As you say, either get him and win or a gun mid and still win.

Then still got 3 picks to get some quality mids/forwards in. If Maric went down he and Vickery could share it 50/50. I wonder if the Dogs interest in Stringer is for pick 22 now they have another 1st rounder.

Who are you favourite mids at 32/34/43?

Surely GWS will take Grundy within the top 3? You'd have thought they have enough midfield talent running around that they could afford to use pick 3 on him.

If they don't take him it would be the stupidest draft decision in a long time. How many top 10 pick midfielders do they have already?

Then still got 3 picks to get some quality mids/forwards in. If Maric went down he and Vickery could share it 50/50. I wonder if the Dogs interest in Stringer is for pick 22 now they have another 1st rounder.

Who are you favourite mids at 32/34/43?

I like you am a massive Broomhead fan. Think he is a competitor which we love, versatile in that he can play forward, back and midfield. He would be my dream get at Pick 32. I like Atkins at that selection or thereabouts, still has question marks for mine but I trust our development. I also think we can get a Jason Pongracic too which would be a good get. Will be plenty there at those selections for sure. All gone quiet on Nick Graham too, would be a sneaky chance. We will see.

Supposively waiting till they are ready to challenge for the Premiership Cup. I guess when they are ready they could offer a team 1 gun mid and 1 good mid for a quality ruck that they entice over with all that extra money they have rather than hope Grundy ends up good.

I like you am a massive Broomhead fan. Think he is a competitor which we love, versatile in that he can play forward, back and midfield. He would be my dream get at Pick 32. I like Atkins at that selection or thereabouts, still has question marks for mine but I trust our development. I also think we can get a Jason Pongracic too which would be a good get. Will be plenty there at those selections for sure. All gone quiet on Nick Graham too, would be a sneaky chance. We will see.

Yer, Graham is another. I think he's a better chance than Broomhead tbh. That decision by AFL to put Port's compo picks first could be the difference when it comes to him, with him being a local kid for Port. I find Atkins a good offensive player, not much chop the other way and not sure he will transition to a full time mid but he'd still be a handy replacement for Knights long term IMO. Pongracic at 43 could be an absolute steal.

Your right, count Broomhead out. Port will take him most certainly if he is there. Bang on the money you are.

Well then, Graham and Pongracic would be a great midfield combo to obtain at those selections. Atkins in the mix too. I am sure Frank has a couple up his sleeve we haven't mentioned. As we have stated he loves his Dandenong Stingrays, so I expect Taylor Garner and Pongracic to come into calculations. Maybe another.

Will make our draft so different if Brodie Grundy is selected.

FYI, Inside Footy draft guy thinks Grundy will go to Port at 7. Must be a surprise or 2 before then - If He does fall too #7 i dont think post will take him or Lions TBH- will be top 3 for sure

His favourite player in the draft is Clurey - I Do Like Clurey but our picks are either too high or too low

Thinks Vlastuin does not warrant 9.
- Agree with him, If we dont pick him with #9 can see him getting to #15-#17

Thinking about grundy at #9 is a little like seeing that hot girl at the bar and thinking/dreaming if only you could have a chance - But deep down in your heart you know that flog on steroids is going to take her home and have a great time with her !!

Flog on steroids is GWS

No well in hell Grundy will still be there at our pick.

I couldn't possibly see it, but if it does, party time.

St.Kilda just paid pick 13 for Hickey. Good talent, he's no Grundy. To have Maric, Grundy and Vickery would take care of our ruck/forward position for a long time.

FWIW can't see any chance that GWS will let go of Grundy let alone him sliding to 9.
Way i see it one of Mayes, Stringer, O'Rourke, Macrae will be there at our pick
1-5 Whitfield, Toumpas, Grundy, Wines, Plowman (Think the doggies will take him)
6-9 Mayes, Stringer, O'Rourke, Macrae
Garner, Garlett, Vlastuin will all be there
Would be happy with any of them

Still really really want Hrovat at 32

After reading some write ups of possible later selections I would like to know if any draft watchers have seen any of these guys play and if you would want them to come to Richmond
Aiden CORR - KPD with excellent pace and an ability to play as both an attacking and shut down defender.
SUMNER - Sounds like he has X factor, good speed and nice height for a HFF
Any really quick small forwards that are worth taking?