2012 draft

What are peoples thoughts on us taking Brendan Verrier? Wouldn't mind us taking him with a third rounder if still available, if not a fourth.
Not a very good kick. More inside than his brother though. Doubt we will look at him with his skills tbh.

Yeah true, but we do need to add to our inside mid depth. At a fourth rounder, not much would be expected of him, so might be an ok pick. If we drafted kids with very good skills, we'd struggle with depth for certain positions.

I agree and I don't think we need an elite kick at every position. Just depends how bad they see his kicking and does his ball-winning ability outweigh that.

I would love to package picks 29/31 together for an earlier pick in the draft. If we could trade those into the top 20 we could really land a couple of elite talents.

Thoughts?

I would love to package picks 29/31 together for an earlier pick in the draft. If we could trade those into the top 20 we could really land a couple of elite talents.

Thoughts?
Considering there should be good players on the table still at those picks, and we crave depth above all else, I wouldn't. Seems the depth of this draft is in inside mids, which probably suits us perfectly.

Only reason the club should think about doing this is if there was one player the club particularly wanted, that they were confident they could get with, say, pick 20, that wouldn't be there at pick 29. Still a gamble not knowing what other clubs are going to do.

EDIT: Another option that appeals more to me, if a club (Dogs?) would go for it, is trading pick 9 & 29 for, say the Bulldogs' pick 6, and hoping for either Wines or O'Rourke. Who knows though, the club may be keen on someone a little left-field.

I know that we are extremely likely to take the best available inside mid with our first pick. Luckily for us is that the first round is full of inside mids. O'Rourke, Wines, Vlastuin just to name a few. I also know that we very highly rate Vlastuin, so don't be surprised if we draft him early.

Vlastuin has slid down the order from being regarded as top 10 due to playing through the champs and beyond with an ankle injury. Hasn't been playing much on ball which is his best position, he's been forced to play as a HBF. A lot of Jimmy Bartel about him in the way he plays.

Also a little bit of trivia... Jono O'Rourke is a Tiger supporter

EDIT: Another option that appeals more to me, if a club (Dogs?) would go for it, is trading pick 9 & 29 for, say the Bulldogs' pick 6, and hoping for either Wines or O'Rourke. Who knows though, the club may be keen on someone a little left-field.

The impression I get from reading a couple of Phantom drafts is that after the first three or four picks there is not much difference between pick 5-12 before the talent drops again. Unless if there is a specific player the recruiters know for sure would be an absolute gun and want to be certain to pick him up I don't think it's a good idea.

Most recruiters know when the talent drops off. I vaguely remember a few years ago a club offered us a couple of mid first round picks for our pick 3. We knocked it back and picked up Cotchin. Interesting they didn't offer the club with pick 4 the same deal.

The impression I get from reading a couple of Phantom drafts is that after the first three or four picks there is not much difference between pick 5-12 before the talent drops again. Unless if there is a specific player the recruiters know for sure would be an absolute gun and want to be certain to pick him up I don't think it's a good idea.

Most recruiters know when the talent drops off. I vaguely remember a few years ago a club offered us a couple of mid first round picks for our pick 3. We knocked it back and picked up Cotchin. Interesting they didn't offer the club with pick 4 the same deal.

that was sydney and they wanted martin.

Vlastuin has slid down the order from being regarded as top 10 due to playing through the champs and beyond with an ankle injury. Hasn't been playing much on ball which is his best position, he's been forced to play as a HBF. A lot of Jimmy Bartel about him in the way he plays.

Also a little bit of trivia... Jono O'Rourke is a Tiger supporter

tv what your best guess for us for our picks 1,2,3? all mids?

I would think all mids would be the way we will go. Harwick has been frustrated at our lack of midfield depth and the talent in that area of this draft is quite deep.

Looking back over our last few drafts, Conca, Batchelor, Elton, Helbig, Griffiths etc are all players who played there best footy outside the National Champs or players who did not feature at all in the carnival.

So even though players like Vlastuin, Atkins etc may have slid down the order on the Web I'm expecting them to figure heavily in our thinking.

Toadvine, your opinion on Gartlett and Kennedy? A little run down on each and would you take either of them at our first pick?

Garlett is probably the most naturally gifted player in this draft. Pace and lateral movement is elite and his skills are right up there with the best even though his execution can be laconic at times.
Has a terrific ability to think his way through situations and select the correct option in traffic and going inside 50. He seemed to thrive on the responsibility of being WA's no1 mid and really step up when things weren't going the teams way. A great sign for when he makes the transition to AFL

Can win his own ball in tight but that side of his game will need to be further developed after being drafted. I think in the end it will come down to how he interviews. Dedication, resilience, character etc will be the making of him IMO.

Kennedy is a nuggety clearance player who can do damage on the outside with his pace and his booming left foot. Has very good hands in close and and real x-factor in his his ability around goal. Show's great intensity around the ball and at the man. A ferocious tackler, Kennedy loves to chase down and really crunch his opponent. Has very good ability over head so is unlikely to be exposed due to his height. Very little not to like about this kid.

Garlett is probably the most naturally gifted player in this draft. Pace and lateral movement is elite and his skills are right up there with the best even though his execution can be laconic at times.
Has a terrific ability to think his way through situations and select the correct option in traffic and going inside 50. He seemed to thrive on the responsibility of being WA's no1 mid and really step up when things weren't going the teams way. A great sign for when he makes the transition to AFL

Can win his own ball in tight but that side of his game will need to be further developed after being drafted. I think in the end it will come down to how he interviews. Dedication, resilience, character etc will be the making of him IMO.

Thanks mate. Everything I have seen and heard also. Glad to have your opinion on him also.

He has moved up to number one on my most wanted players. I think we lack a type like him, magical. Your Lewis Jetta, Cyril Rioli flare added to our team. There is no doubt in my mind he is an Elite talent, and if he stayed in the AIS he would be top 6 without battering an eye lid. Questions on his attitude as you say will be solved when interviewed, or be confounded. I have heard him say he has learnt from the mistake he made and is willing to move anywhere to realise his dream.

He is a totally different case to Troy Taylor so I hope fans can see past that.

What about Kennedy mate? He intrigues me. I think if he was 180cm he would be considered top 5, his height at 174cm is a concern but something he can get past. He is a lot like Boomer Harvey, so a goalkicking (from all across the ground) midfielder with penetrating left foot kick. Probably start up forward and be a handful, but then rotate on ball. Again, type we need who is quick and quality skills.

No worries Bob

Kennedy is a nuggety clearance player who can do damage on the outside with his pace and his booming left foot. Has very good hands in close and and real x-factor in his his ability around goal. Show's great intensity around the ball and at the man. A ferocious tackler, Kennedy loves to chase down and really crunch his opponent. Has very good ability over head so is unlikely to be exposed due to his height. Very little not to like about this kid. I suppose clubs will question his upside but he already has more to work with that the like of Devon Smith, Allen Christensen and Dion Presia who have proven to be very handy at AFL level.

I agree with you on Garlett, would definitely bring something totally unique to the team and if we pick him I will back the club 100%

Totally different to TT in my opinion he has never hurt anyone or put anyone in danger, I think he is a bit like Cyril and is totally bemused by the whole recruiting process and just can't wait to get into the real stuff.

Fantastic write up mate. These guys are number one - Gartlett, and number two - Kennedy, on my list at our first picks. Would add something to our team straight away.

Going to be a very interesting off season.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/143899/default.aspx
Ben Kennedy
Club: Glenelg - SANFL
Height: 174 cm
Weight: 76 kg
"Left-footed small forward/midfielder with explosive pace and rare agility. Prolific ball winner who excels at stoppages and is extremely dangerous around goals with set shots or snaps. In 2011 won All Australian NAB AFL Under 18 Championship honours as a bottom-aged player and debuted at senior level. Backed it up this year with All-Australian honours, averaging 26 disposals."

on the website it says something about the 2011 AFL Draft Combine - state level.. what's that about?

No worries Bob

Kennedy is a nuggety clearance player who can do damage on the outside with his pace and his booming left foot. Has very good hands in close and and real x-factor in his his ability around goal. Show's great intensity around the ball and at the man. A ferocious tackler, Kennedy loves to chase down and really crunch his opponent. Has very good ability over head so is unlikely to be exposed due to his height. Very little not to like about this kid. I suppose clubs will question his upside but he already has more to work with that the like of Devon Smith, Allen Christensen and Dion Presia who have proven to be very handy at AFL level.

I agree with you on Garlett, would definitely bring something totally unique to the team and if we pick him I will back the club 100%

Totally different to TT in my opinion he has never hurt anyone or put anyone in danger, I think he is a bit like Cyril and is totally bemused by the whole recruiting process and just can't wait to get into the real stuff.

do you think that vlastuin would be able to fall to our 2nd pick? or is that crazy?
kennedy and garlett seem like the real x-factor that we lack due to the losses of morton and connors, by your description of both players it seems as if they are both perfect players although and might be out of reach of our pick... is that true?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/143899/default.aspx

on the website it says something about the 2011 AFL Draft Combine - state level.. what's that about?

do you think that vlastuin would be able to fall to our 2nd pick? or is that crazy?
kennedy and garlett seem like the real x-factor that we lack due to the losses of morton and connors, by your description of both players it seems as if they are both perfect players although and might be out of reach of our pick... is that true?

In 2011 Ben Kennedy played for SA at the champs as an underager and was mini-draft eligible so he tested at the national combine.

I really can't see how Vlastuin would slide beyond the first round. Garlett and Kennedy should be right around our mark I think but I wouldn't be suprised if someone like the Dees or Dogs jump at Garlett given their multiple picks in the first round prior to ours.