2012 draft

Nick Graham should be moving up the rankings. Had some great performances for Gippy Power in recent weeks.

Strong bodied mid who plays with aggression and a good user by hand and foot. Can play all over the ground and can kick goals. Including 4 in a BOG performance against the Ranges.

Could be a solid 2nd round option.

I know he doesn't get much hype - but I'd be bidding for Lachie Hunter in the 3rd I reckon. Make the Dogs pull the trigger, and if they don't take him, beauty.

I'm a fan - he's just got time. Dangerous on the forward flank, kicks goals and has lots of time. Smart.

AFL website has listed the best mature age prospects from state leagues...

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/143912/default.aspx

VFL
Leigh Osborne (Frankston)
Khan Haretuku (Frankston)
Kyle Martin (Frankston)
Leigh Kitchin (Frankston)
Dean Towers (North Ballarat)
Adam Marcon (Northern Blues)
Myke Cook (Sandringham)
Adam Cockie (Sandringham)
Billy Burstin (Port Melbourne)

NEAFL - Eastern Conference
Kade Klemke (Queanbeyan)
Marcus Crook (Ainslie)
Josh Bryce (Queanbeyan)

NEAFL Northern
Ryan Davey (Labrador)
Tom Fields (Labrador)
Scott Clouston (Redlands)

Tasmanian State Football League
Josh Woolley (Launceston)
Brady Jones (Clarence)
Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

SANFL
Mitch Clisby (North Adelaide)
Nathan Batsanis (Norwood)
Nick Liddle (South Adelaide)
Chris Schmidt (West Adelaide)
Andrew Bradley (Glenelg)

WAFL
Tom Lee (Claremont)
Ben Saunders (South Fremantle)
George Hampson (Subiaco)
Max Duffy (East Fremantle)
Callum Sinclair (Subiaco)

The article has a write up on each player... a couple here who could fill holes in our list and add depth. Callum Sinclair sounds like the sort of player we need.

Many Mids who could come in and make an impact next year.

Thoughts?

Don't really follow any of the state leagues but given the success of mature age picks in the last few years (and getting Morris last year) I'd be open to getting a few mature age guys in who can make an immediate impact especially midfielders for depth and possibly small or medium marking forwards - if we could get someone like a Zorko, it would be huge.

I noticed that list didn't mention that Myles Sewell who would be one of more decorated VFL midfielders in the last few years - 3 time premiership player, Liston trophy winner, club champion and best on ground in a GF. He apparently has gone close a few years but hasn't been given a chance yet. He would be about 25ish I think. Any state league watchers know how he has gone this year?

Saw the article on the LA Combine, they all seem like freakish athletes with Dwight Howard leaps and Derrick Rose explosiveness. Maybe we should take one of them, i'm very keen on taking a freakish ruckman who can have the potential of Nic Naitanui or better.
Also contemplating a Point Guard or Quarterback if they have one because their decision making and vision is sublime, NFL players might have a little bit of an advantage with them handling a similar type of ball, but i'm worried that their thirst for physical contact might go a bit over the top I've never really watched NFL but it all just seems like charging into other players and holding them up to wait for your quarterback to throw the ball. Would be good to have someone who has a thirst for the contest and be a Naitanui + Dangerfield combined. I hope we don't take a center from the NBA lol, they'd all be as slow as Browne and be very poor at ground level. Guards are the way to go although I don't want a Kobe who never passes.

Anybody have the same views?

I'm feeling that Vlastuin may be the best 'fit' for the club. Tuck is likely to be the first guy from the midfield to retire (cue posts about Tuck playing till he's 230 years old. :p) Vlastuin seems like a natural successor to Tucky but also capable of playing straight away.

For our second rounders I think Tim Broomhead and Nicholas Graham would be a good fit.

Broomhead is a midfielder who can play all over the ground. Another guy with great footskills. He's 182cm but only 73kg at this stage but I see him playing similar to a Sidebottom. Start as a half-forward turn into a mid. Also has an awesome name like sidebum. He'd be quicker than Sidebottom though.

Graham is a tenacious midfielder who is strong overhead and can kick goals. Really good skills and good tackler for a youngster which is something IMO we desperately need.

For our 3rd rounder I'd be looking to add some speed to our midfield with any of the following: Tim Sumner, Dom Barry, Shannon Taylor, Dean Towers.

Sumner is a rangy half-forward/winger with elite skills. Indigenous kid with a touch of x-factor about his game. Really good user of the ball when delivering into the F50 which would come in handy. Very quick and can do some damage but needs to get more involved in games. Huge upside with this pick.

Dom Barry is a lightning quick winger. Really skilful player with an elite kick. Left-footer in the Stephen Hill mould. Very skinny though.

Taylor is a small forward/midfielder with elite speed. Hasn't had the most productive season and is probably destined to be a small forward at AFL level but if you had of said last year he is a chance to be available here you would have been over the moon. Kicking has gone from very good to just average this year.

Towers is a mature age winger in the Isaac Smith mould. Not a huge ball-winner but is very damaging with his run and carry.

4th Rounder I'd look at a dangerous small forward. Two I like are Marvin Warrell and Brian Coleman-Broome.

Warrell is quick, reasonable skills with a great leap and tackling ability is fantastic.

Coleman-Broome is a QLDer with elite speed and tackling pressure as well as fantastic skills. Very good goal-sense as well and I think he will be a very good player at AFL level. If the club felt they could build up his tank he'd be my first choice because I feel he has some midfield potential.

PSD pick: Would be trying out a few state-league players and see where they are at. We are rumoured to have an interest in Myke Cook so I'll put him in. Solid rotation midfielder. Quick more outside than in but can win some of his own ball. Decent skills and will help create some depth.

Rookie draft: Need a ruckman (IMO) and obviously we are keen to add some mature midfielders plus we have Gideon Simon who I don't think counts on the list being an International rookie.

Ruckman:
Jack Hannath 22 year old from Central Districts who has come on in leaps and bounds this year.
Chris Prowse: junior ruck from Oakleigh Chargers. A giant at 203cm.
Cliff Ederaine: 201cm/93kg USA basketballer. No idea if he can play but he jumped 82cm standing jump. 4cm higher than NicNat. :eek: Just turned 22 so has some time on his side.

If Derickx and Graham go I could see us taking Hannath as ready to go back-up who would be happy just to have a chance even if it is as a back-up. Wouldn't mind a development prospect as well. From what I can gather someone like Ederaine is a free hit as they don't take up a rookie spot so why not?

Mature Midfielders:
Kyle Martin 22yo from Frankston. Prolific ball-winner at VFL level this year.
Shane Valenti - rumour that we are keen on him so another I'll put here. Was actually a decent player at the Dees.
Shane Nelson - bit of a BF favourite last year but got sick lost a lot of weight and missed out. Scored 97% for kicking at combine but I don't think he's that elite but he is decent. Racking up footy this year so would be handy depth.

Hardwick has said we will use the rookie draft for ready to go replacements. I still hope we look to pick up some youngsters as well. Would be looking at 2 guys here plus Cook in the main draft with Towers as a possibility too.

Small Forwards:
Chris Yarran is an intersting kid who has slid massively this year. Extremely talented but is purely a forward and is a bit lazy. Think if he was available in the rookie draft he's just so talented you have to look at him. Was a potential first round pick last year. Bet he wishes he was older and could have been drafted a year ago. :p

Jarrod Stokes 175cm NT forward with electric pace. Good attack for a small forward too.

Others I like:

Khan Haretuku - 22yo KPF/Back-Up ruck behind Vickery.
Max Duffy - 19yo Stevie J type. Attitude issues though but I have a feeling it's more his dad than him.

Overall:
Nick Vlastuin 187cm/83kg Mid
Tim Broomhead 182cm/73kg Mid
Nicholas Graham 182cm/76kg Mid
Tim Sumner 187cm/78kg Mid/Fwd
Brian Coleman-Broome 181cm/79kg Fwd
Myke Cook 182cm/80kg Mid (22)

Jack Hannath 200cm/100kg Ruck (22)
Shane Valenti 176cm/80kg Mid (25)
Kyle Martin 182cm/82kg Mid (22)
Jarrod Stokes 175cm/69kg Fwd
Khan Haretuku 199cm/100kg KPF/Ruck (22)

International Rookies:
Gideon Simon (PNG) 172cm Mid/Fwd
Cliff Ederaine (USA) 201cm/93kg (22)

Overall:

International Rookies:
Cliff Ederaine (USA) 201cm/93kg (22)
Nice list/info tigs2010, ta!

Beyond questions re: whether we'd be cautious taking another "Graham" when we're likely to be clearing one out, or whether it's a bit much to take two guys with "Broom(e)" in their names in the one draft, I have a more serious question:

With us reportedly looking at bringing in two FA's (Chaplin and Knights being the strong mail), plus you've outlined 6 more via the ND, that means 8 delistings off our main list at year's end. Most speculation on delistings run to around 6 or 7 names... what are your thoughts here, because to bring in 8 new faces would put guys like Post, McGuane, and White on shaky ground.

I guess what I'm essentially asking is, are we better off to hold onto these guys as our depth players, rather than searching in the 4th round of the ND for those depth players? I can see the possibility of us being finished in the ND by the 3rd round (which would be our 4th selection + the two FA's for 6 incoming players in total).

Cheers!

Saw the article on the LA Combine, they all seem like freakish athletes with Dwight Howard leaps and Derrick Rose explosiveness. Maybe we should take one of them, i'm very keen on taking a freakish ruckman who can have the potential of Nic Naitanui or better.
Also contemplating a Point Guard or Quarterback if they have one because their decision making and vision is sublime, NFL players might have a little bit of an advantage with them handling a similar type of ball, but i'm worried that their thirst for physical contact might go a bit over the top I've never really watched NFL but it all just seems like charging into other players and holding them up to wait for your quarterback to throw the ball. Would be good to have someone who has a thirst for the contest and be a Naitanui + Dangerfield combined. I hope we don't take a center from the NBA lol, they'd all be as slow as Browne and be very poor at ground level. Guards are the way to go although I don't want a Kobe who never passes.

Anybody have the same views?

if you were to poach from the nfl you would probably poach a running back or wide receiver, good QBs are pretty high in demand, as all play makers are, but as i said you would be better off poaching a player with good hands.

I would be very keen on getting freak athletes from the USA who could potentially become rucks. Imagine having a nic nat (tap wise). I feel the tap work they would pick up easily and the rest would be a project.

How 'freaky' are these U.S athletes? Who's to say there aren't plenty of athletes on home soil that can beat Nic Nat's leap but because you only see football hopefuls test at the combine you never see them score.

Overall:

International Rookies:
Cliff Ederaine (USA) 201cm/93kg (22)[/quote]

Hi Tigs, you have us taking 5 mids and a fwd/mid. Don't like the balance of the side if this is true. With at least 2 FA's as well in Chaplin and Knights the balance would be completely wrong

If we do what you say and we get rid of 8 (which will probably be)
Connors
Webberley
Moore
Mcdonald
Mcguane
Derickx
White
Graham

This means that
1 One of picks must be a ruckman, Can't see us going into the season with only Maric and Browne
2 With the loss of Derickx/Mcguane/Moore we have to draft one KPP and one KPD.

I see us picking up 3 mids, a ruckman and 2 KPP's

Therefore the balance would be as far as KPP's are concerned
Rucks: Maric Browne ruckman from ND
Backs: Griffiths Chaplin Rance Grimes with back up from Post plus one KPD from the ND
Fwds: Riewoldt Vickery Post with back up from Elton plus one KPF from the ND.

Just my opinion though ;)

Nice list/info tigs2010, ta!

Beyond questions re: whether we'd be cautious taking another "Graham" when we're likely to be clearing one out, or whether it's a bit much to take two guys with "Broom(e)" in their names in the one draft, I have a more serious question:

With us reportedly looking at bringing in two FA's (Chaplin and Knights being the strong mail), plus you've outlined 6 more via the ND, that means 8 delistings off our main list at year's end. Most speculation on delistings run to around 6 or 7 names... what are your thoughts here, because to bring in 8 new faces would put guys like Post, McGuane, and White on shaky ground.

I guess what I'm essentially asking is, are we better off to hold onto these guys as our depth players, rather than searching in the 4th round of the ND for those depth players? I can see the possibility of us being finished in the ND by the 3rd round (which would be our 4th selection + the two FA's for 6 incoming players in total).

Cheers!

Nicholas Graham might be a siamese twin of Angus and got both hearts. :p

I'd have it as 7 with Newy on vets list making the other. I originally thought that meant 1 less on rookie list but apparently not. Geelong have 38 players plus 2 vets plus full 8 rookies.
That 4th rounder could very well be a 3rd rounder if we trade a Graham/Post or if that Nahas rumour is true a 2nd rounder.

I'd have it as Connors, MacDonald, Moore, Webberley, Derickx, McGuane as likely gone. That's 6 Possibly White as well or maybe one of Graham/Post asks for a trade (2 of those 3 will stay IMO). Newman would make the 8th.

I may be way off on rookie list but I'd have us keeping Verrier, Turner and maybe Darrou giving us 5 places plus Simon and an American guy would be seperate as International rookies (could be way off on that, in particular how Gideon works.)

Hi Tigs, you have us taking 5 mids and a fwd/mid. Don't like the balance of the side if this is true. With at least 2 FA's as well in Chaplin and Knights the balance would be completely wrong

If we do what you say and we get rid of 8 (which will probably be)
Connors
Webberley
Moore
Mcdonald
Mcguane
Derickx
White
Graham

This means that
1 One of picks must be a ruckman, Can't see us going into the season with only Maric and Browne
2 With the loss of Derickx/Mcguane/Moore we have to draft one KPP and one KPD.

I see us picking up 3 mids, a ruckman and 2 KPP's

Therefore the balance would be as far as KPP's are concerned
Rucks: Maric Browne ruckman from ND
Backs: Griffiths Chaplin Rance Grimes with back up from Post plus one KPD from the ND
Fwds: Riewoldt Vickery Post with back up from Elton plus one KPF from the ND.

Just my opinion though ;)

The first 7 you have on your list I agree with but White may be saved if Graham, Nahas or Post get traded.

Newman would be the 8th going outside the main list as a veteran allowing us an extra main list spot.

With regards to your first point: even with no guarantees of Graham going I still have a ruckman coming in on the rookie list (Hannath) who would be ready to go if called upon as he is a mature-ager doing well in the SANFL as well as a back-up to Vickery who is more forward than Ruck and would replace what Derickx is doing (Haretuku) Both are 22 and physically capable of playing games from next year.

With regards to your second point: Derickx/McGuane have played as a 3rd forward/2nd ruck and I have Haretuku/Hannath replacing them. Moore is replaced by Chaplin.

Rucks: Maric, Hannath, Browne, Graham with Graham to be cut next year.
Back-Up Rucks: Vickery, Haretuku.
KPD: Rance, Grimes, Chaplin, Griffiths, Post, could swing Astbury back if needed and Darrou (if we have a horrid run)
KPF: Riewoldt, Vickery, Haretuku, Elton, Astbury with ability to swing Griffiths or Post forward.

As a rough side:

B: Dylan Grimes, Troy Chaplin, Steven Morris.
HB: Bachar Houli, Alex Rance, Jake Batchelor.
C: Brett Deledio, Shane Tuck, Shaun Grigg.
HF: Shane Edwards, Tyrone Vickery, Nick Vlastuin.
F: Dustin Martin, Jack Riewoldt, Robin Nahas.
R: Ivan Maric, Trent Cotchin, Nathan Foley.
INT: Brandon Ellis, Chris Newman, Reece Conca.
SUB: Chris Knights.

Reserves side:

B: Ben Darrou, Ben Griffiths, Matthew Dea.
HB: Brad Helbig, Jayden Post, Steven Verrier.
C: Tim Broomhead, Daniel Jackson, Nick Graham.
HF: Brett O'Hanlon, Todd Elton, Tim Sumner.
F: Jake King, David Astbury, Khan Haretuku.
R: Andrew Browne, Shane Valenti, Kyle Martin.
INT: Jack Hannath, Myke Cook, Gideon Simon, Gibson Turner, Brian Coleman-Broome, Matthew Arnot.

Development League: Angus Graham, Jarrod Stokes, Cliff Ederaine.

Seems reasonably balanced to me.

I'd have it as 7 with Newy on vets list making the other. I originally thought that meant 1 less on rookie list but apparently not.
Wasn't aware the veterens were outside the normal list... thought it was only the salary concessions that came with moving to veteren status, so that helps!

And a 22 that can't find a spot for Griffiths, Dea, Jackson, Astbury and King is a promising sign of improving depth! :thumbsu:

Wasn't aware the veterens were outside the normal list... thought it was only the salary concessions that came with moving to veteren status, so that helps!

And a 22 that can't find a spot for Griffiths, Dea, Jackson, Astbury and King is a promising sign of improving depth! :thumbsu:
Nah you can have 38 main list PLUS 2 veterans. But I originally thought that it meant you had 1 less rookie. ie. Veterans plus rookies = 8 but apparently not.

In regards to the best 22 I'm sure I could fit them somewhere like King instead of Knights as the sub. Jackson could possibly get games over Ellis to start with who knows.

Guys I think could contribute next year from the reserves team would be: Griffiths, Dea, Helbig, Post, Jackson, King, Astbury, Browne, Valenti, Martin, Hannath & Cook which is 12 guys ready to go if injuries hit. To a lesser extent guys like Broomhead and Graham will get games on the flanks and Haretuku will be pretty close to being ready to go.

*If really desperate Gus could play too.

He's a very unique player IMO and there really aren't any others. Crameri to an extent but he's a shit kick. Membrey in the draft this year but he's not in the same ball park as Darling and he's 4cm shorter and not really as mobile which is what allows Darling to play as a 3rd and at times 4th tall forward and dominate.

Thanx Tigs. I'm obviously not that up to date with the rookie list rules and forgot about Newman possibly going to the vets list. Taking all that into consideration, in terms of your balance, I think it's spot on. :thumbsu:

mate you might wanna have [ quote ] (without spaces) at the beginning because you've got a stand alone [\quote] (switched the / with \ because i didnt want to quote something random)[/quote]

The first 7 you have on your list I agree with but White may be saved if Graham, Nahas or Post get traded.

Newman would be the 8th going outside the main list as a veteran allowing us an extra main list spot.

With regards to your first point: even with no guarantees of Graham going I still have a ruckman coming in on the rookie list (Hannath) who would be ready to go if called upon as he is a mature-ager doing well in the SANFL as well as a back-up to Vickery who is more forward than Ruck and would replace what Derickx is doing (Haretuku) Both are 22 and physically capable of playing games from next year.

With regards to your second point: Derickx/McGuane have played as a 3rd forward/2nd ruck and I have Haretuku/Hannath replacing them. Moore is replaced by Chaplin.

Rucks: Maric, Hannath, Browne, Graham with Graham to be cut next year.
Back-Up Rucks: Vickery, Haretuku.
KPD: Rance, Grimes, Chaplin, Griffiths, Post, could swing Astbury back if needed and Darrou (if we have a horrid run)
KPF: Riewoldt, Vickery, Haretuku, Elton, Astbury with ability to swing Griffiths or Post forward.

As a rough side:

B: Dylan Grimes, Troy Chaplin, Steven Morris.
HB: Bachar Houli, Alex Rance, Jake Batchelor.
C: Brett Deledio, Shane Tuck, Shaun Grigg.
HF: Shane Edwards, Tyrone Vickery, Nick Vlastuin.
F: Dustin Martin, Jack Riewoldt, Robin Nahas.
R: Ivan Maric, Trent Cotchin, Nathan Foley.
INT: Brandon Ellis, Chris Newman, Reece Conca.
SUB: Chris Knights.

Reserves side:

B: Ben Darrou, Ben Griffiths, Matthew Dea.
HB: Brad Helbig, Jayden Post, Steven Verrier.
C: Tim Broomhead, Daniel Jackson, Nick Graham.
HF: Brett O'Hanlon, Todd Elton, Tim Sumner.
F: Jake King, David Astbury, Khan Haretuku.
R: Andrew Browne, Shane Valenti, Kyle Martin.
INT: Jack Hannath, Myke Cook, Gideon Simon, Gibson Turner, Brian Coleman-Broome, Matthew Arnot.

Development League: Angus Graham, Jarrod Stokes, Cliff Ederaine.

Seems reasonably balanced to me.

Thanx Tigs. I'm obviously not that up to date with the rookie list rules and forgot about Newman possibly going to the vets list. Taking all that into consideration, in terms of your balance, I think it's spot on.:thumbsu:

Thanks for that. I'm not 100% sure how International rookies work but from memory the non-Irish ones don't take up an actual spot. Might trade Graham out as well from my scenario and FA someone like Russell or pick up another mature-ager that we think is worthy of a main list spot. Tom Lee wouldn't go astray.