2012 draft

Sorry Gun but stringer is nothing like PAV . He has very very little agility , limps like a 80 year old who uses a walking frame and is ordinary below his knees . Before the leg , he had some similar traits to PAV . His straight line pace and when kicking in a steaight line is fine anything bar straight line and both his pace and kicking turn to shit real quick.
Similar to those who thought this was going to be a super draft , the call was made on him being a top 3 player , by some , way to early .
I was happy if we picked him up with our 2nd rounder weeks ago , but now given he didn't improve during the later part of the season, I think using a 2nd rounder would even be risky although I have no doubt he'll be taken somewhere in the 17-22 area .
RP, are you rating this kid on his ability or cannot you see past the leg break and the 6 months since his pins and screws were removed? No preseason, very little fitness work during the year due to ongoing rehabilitation to the muscle scructure surrounding the affected area of the leg, his performance figures were always goi to be down, however his performance during the year at both TAC cup and VFL level were quite good (not counting U/18 champs). It's going to be a brave team to select him but the upside is huge. He wont run out a full game of footy for probably 2 seasons, but his impact at the contests will meet expectations. At 191cm and 90+kg (I'd expect him to drop a few preseason 2013) he is ready made for an impact green vest in the later half of 2013. I'd still take him first round...Don't want to see him fall to another team and succeed....

Hasnt gartlett got a charlie sheen style wrap sheet, if so id be keeping this kid from the big city lights and looking elsewhere,...we need to strike gold with first selection

So West Coast can nab him at 20 and make everyone look stupid...I think we should take the risk! We are due for a bust anyway lol

I think Vlastuin will be a very good player but a part of me hopes we go for someone who can bring something different to the team like a Kennedy, Garlett, Mayes or Menzel and then go for the solid soldier types with our 2nd rounders ie. Graham, Atkins, Wright, Pongracic, Temay, Hrovat and Marschall.

Thirded. Think Vlastuin will be a very solid citizen at AFL level, but would just love to have that extra midfielder who oozes class.

Ditto.

Garlett I am now officially a lock on. He would add that extra class to our midfield needed. We are very one paced around the ground, would love a explosive type in there. Plenty of solid citizens around at the second round picks we will have.

I honestly believe it is important richmond get midfielders, with an emphasis on using the ball well. Oliver Wines is the one that stands out for me, I believe he is extremely underrated: great height and ball accumulator who wins the ball on the inside and the outside. Lives and breathes football more than anyone I have met, still hasn't touched alcohol all in a huge commitment to play AFL football. He is the sort of character the richmond tigers need on their list, and having the likes of Cotchin, Martin, Deleido & Tuck as a mentor, I think he is a kid who could develop fast and cut it at AFL quickly

Ditto.

Garlett I am now officially a lock on. He would add that extra class to our midfield needed. We are very one paced around the ground, would love a explosive type in there. Plenty of solid citizens around at the second round picks we will have.
Does Garlett display the qualities that Dimma and FJ are known to love?

Draft profiles for the round 5, 6 and 7 picks from the BF Official Trial Run are up.

You can find them here.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2012-bigfooty-phantom-draft-the-trial-run.962535/page-16

Thanks heaps to Tigs2010 for helping me out.
TFLUA - Just wondering your thoughts on Kyle Hartigan sounds like he has really done well at VFL level and at 22yo 194cm & 94kgs just about ready made & 1 of our delisted players from a couple of years ago Carl Peterson would these guys get a look in at the tigers with late or rookie picks

Hartigan's one of those guys who's been pretty well hyped up ever since his draft year.

I've liked him since his draft year myself and wouldn't mind him at all as a Tiger in the Rookie Draft. He's a nice size and competes well as a KPD at VFL level but has been looked over for years now - every year he has been on the BF radar, and every year he's not gotten the nod. There must be something we're missing.

Peterson isn't one I'd pick up - I think we'll be more inclined to go down the Warrell/Taylor/Coleman-Broome route. I think with our track record of turning around guys with poor attitude that we might stay away.

Hartigan's one of those guys who's been pretty well hyped up ever since his draft year.

I've liked him since his draft year myself and wouldn't mind him at all as a Tiger in the Rookie Draft. He's a nice size and competes well as a KPD at VFL level but has been looked over for years now - every year he has been on the BF radar, and every year he's not gotten the nod. There must be something we're missing.

Peterson isn't one I'd pick up - I think we'll be more inclined to go down the Warrell/Taylor/Coleman-Broome route. I think with our track record of turning around guys with poor attitude that we might stay away.

Just thought with another couple of years under his hat Peterson might of matured and still has time to have a good afl career for 6-7 years.

Also Chris Yarran (the other 1 lol ) have you seen much of him or know much about him, would he fill the small foward/mid role

Thanks mate

Just thought with another couple of years under his hat Peterson might of matured and still has time to have a good afl career for 6-7 years.

Also Chris Yarran (the other 1 lol ) have you seen much of him or know much about him, would he fill the small foward/mid role

Thanks mate

Peterson got another crack with Hawthorn who hoped he'd matured.

He's got more than enough talent - but he's had two chances now.

Yarran is purely a forward, and a very lazy, if exquisitely talented one at that. Has slid an absolute mile from where you would have had him at the start of the season.

I'd take him as a rookie if he's there.

Suppose its time to go scouring the net for highlights packages on the top young kids from the carnivals. Without seing a thing so far and only going from these boards if Grundy was avaliable id take him. Other than that either of Vlastuin/Wines sounds like good gets

would be happy with anyone of Wines, Garlett or Kennedy.

Based on my limited knowledge of the potential 1st rounders only, here is a little list I made at work today for pick 9 -

Don't Want (and why)
Plowman (KPB)
Stringer (injury, form)
Shaw (KPF/RUCK)
Simpson (skinny, outside)
Smith (KPB)

Want (in preference)
O'Rourke
Kennedy
Wines
Garlett
Vlastiun
Menzel

Can't Get
Whitfield (#1)
Grundy (#2-7)
Toumpas (#2-5)
Daniher (F/S)
Viney (F/S)
Mayes (#4-8)

My overall dream choice is Mayes, just think he gives us a real top talent in an area we need, however doubt very much he'll last. Grundy obviously if he somehow slides. I'm pretty keen on O'Rourke, can't seem to find a bad word said about him and would be every chance of slotting into our best 22 as part of midfield rotation. Great disposal, hard inside game and polished outside, particularly around the goals is the report. Kennedy, Wines and Garlett there has obviously been plenty said about, all would be great choices for us. I have a huge soft spot for Vlastiun as well, and would have him higher up on my preferences if I wasn't so keen on a bit of goal kicking x-factor action, which by all reports he does not provide. Would not be at all disappointed if we took him however.

To reiterate, I know nothing.

Can't Get
Whitfield (#1)
Grundy (#2-7)
Toumpas (#2-5)
Daniher (F/S)
Viney (F/S)
Mayes (#4-8)
I'm pretty keen on O'Rourke, can't seem to find a bad word said about him and would be every chance of slotting into our best 22 as part of midfield rotation. Great disposal, hard inside game and polished outside, particularly around the goals is the report.

O'Rourke is the third best mid in the draft, will certainly be picked up by the Dees. We are a better chance to get Mayes, but my money is on Port Adelaide snatching him because of the whole SA thing.

Sorry Gun but stringer is nothing like PAV . He has very very little agility , limps like a 80 year old who uses a walking frame and is ordinary below his knees . Before the leg , he had some similar traits to PAV . His straight line pace and when kicking in a steaight line is fine anything bar straight line and both his pace and kicking turn to shit real quick.
Similar to those who thought this was going to be a super draft , the call was made on him being a top 3 player , by some , way to early .
I was happy if we picked him up with our 2nd rounder weeks ago , but now given he didn't improve during the later part of the season, I think using a 2nd rounder would even be risky although I have no doubt he'll be taken somewhere in the 17-22 area .

Finally, it took 16 pages for someone to agree with me. :thumbsu:

Based on my limited knowledge of the potential 1st rounders only, here is a little list I made at work today for pick 9 -

Don't Want (and why)
Plowman (KPB)
Stringer (injury, form)
Shaw (KPF/RUCK)
Simpson (skinny, outside)
Smith (KPB)

Want (in preference)
O'Rourke
Kennedy
Wines
Garlett
Vlastiun
Menzel

Can't Get
Whitfield (#1)
Grundy (#2-7)
Toumpas (#2-5)
Daniher (F/S)
Viney (F/S)
Mayes (#4-8)

My overall dream choice is Mayes, just think he gives us a real top talent in an area we need, however doubt very much he'll last. Grundy obviously if he somehow slides. I'm pretty keen on O'Rourke, can't seem to find a bad word said about him and would be every chance of slotting into our best 22 as part of midfield rotation. Great disposal, hard inside game and polished outside, particularly around the goals is the report. Kennedy, Wines and Garlett there has obviously been plenty said about, all would be great choices for us. I have a huge soft spot for Vlastiun as well, and would have him higher up on my preferences if I wasn't so keen on a bit of goal kicking x-factor action, which by all reports he does not provide. Would not be at all disappointed if we took him however.

To reiterate, I know nothing.

Don't disagree with this , bearing in mind I haven't seen a lot of these players so really I am making a few value judgements atm.

The only difference might be Plowman might be okay for us though theoretically in terms of what he might provide but I haven't seen him play. That doesn't mean I might pick him over some others though that are listed and thereabouts

O'Rourke is the third best mid in the draft, will certainly be picked up by the Dees. We are a better chance to get Mayes, but my money is on Port Adelaide snatching him because of the whole SA thing.

Finally, it took 16 pages for someone to agree with me. :thumbsu:
Do you think Melbourne will enter the mini draft with pick 4? Or are their needs more immediate? If they both the Dogs and Melbourne enter the mini draft how do you think that will effect GWS' choices, will they go mid crazy like they did last year?

Can't use compensation pick for mini-draft pick

Why can't they trade pick 3 during trade month then use the next best pick for Viney? Isn't the rule that they use the pick after the highest bid? If they trade away all their first rounders then don't they use their second rounder?

Can't use compensation pick for mini-draft pick

Really? Because compo picks can be traded so I find that hard to believe.

All I want is a classy all round midfielder who is decent on the inside but then silky on the outside. This type of player will step straight into our 22 especially if they are a good size.