2012 draft

GC & GWS have to step upto the plate and show the other teams that when it their time to go - They will

Melbourne has been extremely underhanded and Tanked to get scully/Trengove & when scully took the dollars AFL again looked after this basket case of a club and gave them more than what he was worth 2 1st round picks

Now they actually want 4 1st round selections in 3,4,13 & Viney WTF -----------No way they should be able to Ravage the draft due to cheating ''AGAIN''

They have committed to Viney offered him a verbal Deal & recieved permission from the afl to let him train & play with casy, THEY MUST BE MADE TO SELECT HIM.

GC & GWS ------------ ITS YOUR TURN
or then again with their recent track record of drafting dodgy first rounders we could let them pick all these picks which will take all the ordinary players away from us ;)

Doesn't work like that... Either one of GC or GWS have to put picks 1/2 on the line in the bidding process to force Melbourne to use pick 3. I reckon the Dee's will get him with their second round pick, which will be a real bargain.

Yeah, i didnt realise that compo picks dont come into play. It's either pick 3 or their first second round pick.

If he is available at pick # 50 take him
Won't be available at #50. He will go mid 20's to early 30's. He is an excellent contested mark and doesn't miss. I think he kicked 8.0, wasn't it? He is also excellent at ground level and skills are sublime. If he was 5-6cm taller he would be an easy first round pick.

Conca was 1 year post school when drafted. Ditto Post. Vlastuin finished school in 2011.
Wouldn't be against us going for someone younger who is emerging rather than a top ager

I'm on the Jackson Macrae train.

Conca was 1 year post school when drafted. Ditto Post. Vlastuin finished school in 2011.
Wouldn't be against us going for someone younger who is emerging rather than a top ager

I'm on the Jackson Macrae train.

We seem to play it very safe with our selections. Mature age players, as you say are our go. It all points to Vlastuin as talk is. Not against it, but you just want them to really make sure they are not missing out on something extra special for this type.

When Hawthorn took Cyril it changed their dynamic. When Sydney took Jetta it changed their dynamic. Both in Prelim finals with the week off. Simplistic view I know, but you see my point in taking that type. Cyril went at 12 and Jetta at 14 from memory. Garlett at 9 is round about the same. Man I want him in the yellow and black, unfortunately I don't see us taking him. As you have pointed out, there is a type and that type points to Vlastuin.

Jackson Macrae hey! I like him, I really do, just scared that he hasn't been consistently great but suddenly has risen up the rankings. I can't get a handle. Have no doubt he is a top 15er, and have heard talk he will go top 10, but for us, if we were going that way, Garlett for mine.

Why are you on that train mate?

Moves like he's on rails, finds it, very swift, great length in his kicking, think his disposal is very very good, enjoys the contested ball, upside once his frame fills out to match his height (188), and I think he had some unholy number of touches in the APS v AGS match

He's at Carey and having attended that school for 13 years, albeit a long time ago, I know our record wasn't flash (Jackson, Lisle, Roach), but that seems to have changed (Gaff, Viney).

I'm sure Vlastuin is right in the crosshairs, but some real spark is desirable. I just haven't thought Garlett is likely so haven't thought about him so much. I'd support, no doubt

Moves like he's on rails, finds it, very swift, great length in his kicking, think his disposal is very very good, enjoys the contested ball, upside once his frame fills out to match his height (188), and I think he had some unholy number of touches in the APS v AGS match

He's at Carey and having attended that school for 13 years, albeit a long time ago, I know our record wasn't flash (Jackson, Lisle, Roach), but that seems to have changed (Gaff, Viney).

I'm sure Vlastuin is right in the crosshairs, but some real spark is desirable. I just haven't thought Garlett is likely so haven't thought about him so much. I'd support, no doubt

Yeah I didn't see any of his School games but a mate who has said he was special. I saw something but not enough to get that excited about. My issue not the kid's. Gotta get some tapes of his games to properly analyse. Not highlights either, they blind you of positivity, I need the full games.

Think he will be the next I look into. Seen so much of Garlett to know he will be some kind of player now. Exactly the type you mention we need. If Macrae is half as good as the descriptions I am getting, then I would support that too. Will do some more research over the next week on him to forge my own opinion.

We should get a beauty at 9. Absolute beauty. Need to get a top liner.

To be perfectly honest, Im not too concearned about who we select at pick 9 !
Garlett.Wines,Grundy,Mayes,O’Rourke, Vlastuin,Kennedy, Macrae,Stringer etc etc

Im sure the Club will select best available with our selection & we now know that we dont stuffed it up like before.

What i am more interested in is our selections after that #29 , #31 , #50
I would be extatic if we could end up with McBean and if some of the footy gods are smiling at us somebody like Stringer or Jaksch or Menzel slipping to our next seections.

This Years Selections could be the cream on the cake

Im sure the Club will select best available with our selection & we now know that we dont stuffed it up like before.

I would be extatic if we could end up with McBean and if some of the footy gods are smiling at us somebody like Stringer or Jaksch or Menzel slipping to our next seections.

Agree with this. One of our first two picks should be a speedy outside type player. We wont go any further with a meat an potatoes midfield

the problem is we have the meat and not enough potatoes. we need inside mids badly esp if tuck retires soon. i know we would like outsiders too but when foley went down our inside stocks failed. i guess it comes down to best available in our eyes but for me insider all the way. this can be mitigated by other choices mind you but i see this area as critical. if you cant win the ball for 4 q's you cant win.

What we will have to assess is what type brings us the better players.

Will an outside speedy player be better than an inside brute.

Can we obtain an inside mid later in the second round that will be better than a speedy classy player in the second round.

My experience is you generally have to dine out early for the classy, skillful pacy stuff. Inside ball winners are around aplenty later. The best most classy guys are generally taken first.

What we will have to assess is what type brings us the better players.

Will an outside speedy player be better than an inside brute.

Can we obtain an inside mid later in the second round that will be better than a speedy classy player in the second round.

My experience is you generally have to dine out early for the classy, skillful pacy stuff. Inside ball winners are around aplenty later. The best most classy guys are generally taken first.

This time of the year is really difficult and i find my self constantly changing opinions and going from 1 player to another and they all have their special qualities that we need/want. Initially i wanted Wines or Stringer, But i lot of people have me concearned with stringers break and the doubts on his ability to recover.

Oliver Wines i really like , i see alot of cotchin esque features and the number #33 he wore kind of reminded me alittle of Mathew Knights with the blonde in the hair. Then i see players like Bennell,Rioli,Jetta and think Wow when they are on they really F*** the othersides and their structures up and think that perhaps we are a little bit ''VANILLA'' in our players

The More i think about it, I'm Kinda hoping that Gralett is our number #9 just to add that magic and speed that we need, But in all honesty - I am starting to get concerned with the lack of real speed in the side. Conca,Ellis,Cotchin,Martin,Grigg,Houli,Helbig,Arnot - Are all abit same paced with only white,Delidio,King,Morris quick.

My major concern. I agree, we need inside ball winners also, but where is the line breaking pace?

Deledio is our only one. Morris is not in that top percentile either is King. White would be, but he is not good enough to be considered.

We definitely need some more. They are not going to be around later. Not the guys with the combination of class and skill.

My major concern. I agree, we need inside ball winners also, but where is the line breaking pace?

Deledio is our only one. Morris is not in that top percentile either is King. White would be, but he is not good enough to be considered.

We definitely need some more. They are not going to be around later. Not the guys with the combination of class and skill.
Thats why im starting to lean towards Garlett , another player that i have huge amount of admiration for that i would love to see at Richmond is Gary Rohan from swans - Brett Delidio size and very FAST foward/Mid

Can I ask what do you like about McBean?

Conca,Ellis,Cotchin,Martin,Grigg,Houli,Helbig,Arnot - Are all abit same paced with only white,Delidio,King,Morris quick.
Foley?

Any chance Kennedy might be a huge slider? I've only seen highlights, but there seems to be a mentality that anyone sub 180cm isn't worth looking at... certainly not early. Last year Nelson was talked up as an early round possibility and missed completely. Now I know Kennedy sounds like he is a much more explosive and talented player, but mid second round may not be completely out of the question...

Foley?

Any chance Kennedy might be a huge slider? I've only seen highlights, but there seems to be a mentality that anyone sub 180cm isn't worth looking at... certainly not early. Last year Nelson was talked up as an early round possibility and missed completely. Now I know Kennedy sounds like he is a much more explosive and talented player, but mid second round may not be completely out of the question...

Height didn't harm Devon Smith's and Dion Prestia's draft positions.

Foley?

Would have to change my pants if we got him in the second round