2012 draft

Graham kicked 3 in the last half, was absolutely an absolute jet down there. He also kicked a ripper from the boundary. William Hams showed some really nice things too. Kicked a great goal from 2nd efforts which was really impressive.
how many Membrey get? I had to watch on and off unfortunately. Saw the end though :thumbsu:

i want graham bad after watching him today, he showed real leadership and lifted them back into the game when they looked shot, best on ground for mine

Mate we don't need another inside mid like every one is banging on about .. Cause isn't that what conca is for ? Or is he just average like I have said before ?

We failed to convert goals and that's why we lost so many close games and the players who don't convert are not genuine chf's there just mid fielders

rubbish. remember tuck will retire next year or maybe, just maybe the year after. what happened to our season when foley went down? yes conca is a insider but we need more rotations within the midfield and the 1 thing we need a hand in is getting the pill. i understand your point but i dont think its the most IMPORTANT thing we need. if we lost games bc of conversion then why do we need to draft fwd's if we just didnt kick straight? for me we have astbury,griff,post,derickx as the swing kpp's with jack and vicks up fwd plus grimes,rance and more likely chaplin. for THIS year i think we need to concentrate on 3 mids first up.

Hey Mods,

Could we do a Richmond Board Mock Draft? I see they are doing it on the WCE board. Would be fun. I have noticed a lot of Tigerheads keen on the draft, I am happy to take part, would be a great way to see what other think and who ranks who higher or lower?
I'll be in that and can i ask to get richmond....................... Do i get Tigers :p

Mate we don't need another inside mid like every one is banging on about .. Cause isn't that what conca is for ? Or is he just average like I have said before ?

We failed to convert goals and that's why we lost so many close games and the players who don't convert are not genuine chf's there just mid fielders
You are not serious i hope , We are currently 3 good inside mids short & with Tuck,Jackson,Newman yet to be replaced in the next 2 years brings that to 5.

Can never have enough quality inside midfielders

rubbish. remember tuck will retire next year or maybe, just maybe the year after. what happened to our season when foley went down? yes conca is a insider but we need more rotations within the midfield and the 1 thing we need a hand in is getting the pill. i understand your point but i dont think its the most IMPORTANT thing we need. if we lost games bc of conversion then why do we need to draft fwd's if we just didnt kick straight? for me we have astbury,griff,post,derickx as the swing kpp's with jack and vicks up fwd plus grimes,rance and more likely chaplin. for THIS year i think we need to concentrate on 3 mids first up.

sound like a blues supporter :P ... we need a jack darling type ( can play both mid and forward really well )

I highly doubt Stringer or Clurey will drop to those picks. That's more of a wishlist than anything realistic.
I appreciate that mock drafts are only a individuals opinion and that often are uneducated . However have seen a few that don't have Clurey being taken and I'm not sure any club will risk Stringer early , which may mean he might slide further than some are suggesting .

Hey Mods,

Could we do a Richmond Board Mock Draft? I see they are doing it on the WCE board. Would be fun. I have noticed a lot of Tigerheads keen on the draft, I am happy to take part, would be a great way to see what other think and who ranks who higher or lower?
The mock draft being done upon the WCE board appears to be , being run by users not mods , looks like you've got yourself a job Tigerbob THE_GUN .

You are not serious i hope , We are currently 3 good inside mids short & with Tuck,Jackson,Newman yet to be replaced in the next 2 years brings that to 5.

Can never have enough quality inside midfielders

Not sure if anyone has managed it but ideally I'd love to have a midfield where all who play there are equally strong in and out and have strong offensive and defensive games. I'm probably dreaming but that to me is the ideal. Just imagine it ? ....

Anyone who watched the TAC cup final got any thoughts on "Tippa"? Heard Stevens refer to him being similar to a Rioli or Yarran at same age, and might be one to look at with one of our later picks for that outside, goal kicking spark type player.

The fact that he's not being widely talked up in mock draft circles indicates to me he needs a fair but of development still.

I appreciate that mock drafts are only a individuals opinion and that often are uneducated . However have seen a few that don't have Clurey being taken and I'm not sure any club will risk Stringer early , which may mean he might slide further than some are suggesting .

I have both Stringer and Clurey going at 19-24 at latest. I mean we could get lucky, but as I said, I doubt it.

Anyone who watched the TAC cup final got any thoughts on "Tippa"? Heard Stevens refer to him being similar to a Rioli or Yarran at same age, and might be one to look at with one of our later picks for that outside, goal kicking spark type player.

The fact that he's not being widely talked up in mock draft circles indicates to me he needs a fair but of development still.

Tippungwuti wasn't drafted last year because he was lazy and unfit. Trust me, he has all the talent in the world. He is super fast, he finds space, he can take on opponents and can play both ends well. He has been working really hard on his fitness but to be honest, it still needs a lot of work.

Against Oakleigh, Tippa just couldn't get enough of it. Similarly, a lot of the times that he did, he wasted the opportunity. He showed some really good things though, he did some nice runs through the middle and was dangerous up forward.

I wouldn't waste a spot on the main list for him but I wouldn't be against taking him as a rookie.

Hey Mods,

it would be interesting if no-one was assigned richmond and a poll was run each time the tigers' pick came up – may add some more interest, get those involved that aren't assigned a team, and stretch the process out longer to fill up some more time before the real deal :p

Not sure if anyone has managed it but ideally I'd love to have a midfield where all who play there are equally strong in and out and have strong offensive and defensive games. I'm probably dreaming but that to me is the ideal. Just imagine it ? ....

well ideally yes. this is why inside mids are like gold for us. we generate enough run, while not saying we shouldnt add more, but it is a weakness we have as not enough can do it well. i think thats why the idea of tyson is good bc he's inside and out. foley, cotchin,deledio,martin can do both while tuck is mainly inside, then grigg,houli are outside. so we need to replace tuck asap. imo its harder to train INTENT to get the footy than it is to train outside run,spread fitness.

Would you support grabbing Clurey with our 2nd ? Has an amazing tank and could end up a pavlich type , who can rotate through the midfield ?
I'm not too sure about going through the midfield. I kind of see him as a Harry Taylor type. He can push up, and set up play, he has great footskills and can read the play seriously well. He is a pretty good intercept mark too.
I'd be happy to get him if we don't get Plowman with our first pick.

I'm not too sure about going through the midfield. I kind of see him as a Harry Taylor type. He can push up, and set up play, he has great footskills and can read the play seriously well. He is a pretty good intercept mark too.
I'd be happy to get him if we don't get Plowman with our first pick.
Can take a serious hang and has tested very well in the past over 3klms .
Huge wraps on him attitude wise also , certainly wouldn't be against us taking him with our 2nd .

Can take a serious hang and has tested very well in the past over 3klms .
Huge wraps on him attitude wise also , certainly wouldn't be against us taking him with our 2nd .

Have heard good things also.

Vlastuin/Wines, Clurey/Membrey and Graham would be a great outcome.

sound like a blues supporter :p ... we need a jack darling type ( can play both mid and forward really well )
Unfortunately players like Jack Darling don't grow on trees and there isn't really much in terms of KPP at the top end this year so we will more then likely be picking up mids with our early picks.
Worst thing you can do is overlook the best talent early to reach for a certain type.

Thing with Darling is that he's not quite kpp height. Around 190cm, but came in with a mature body in the mid 80's kg range. Membrey is listed around 188cm, 87kg, and a dead eye dick, normally. Haven't seen much vision of either as juniors, but on paper they seem similar types.

Would anyone be upset if we landed Grundy? If he somehow managed to land to us I would be absolutely ecstatic, much more than if we landed Garlett, Wines, O'Rourke, or even Macrae. I was just thinking about it.
I have it under pretty good authority that Melbourne are going for the best two midfielders, let's assume O'Rourke and Macrae. Someone here said before that WBD are pretty keen on Wines and I could also see them going for someone like Plowman as they have no good genuine KPD's other than Lake and Morris who are both 30 and are injury prone. Then Port go for Mayes, who is a SA boy, and even so, he would fit Port pretty well. Brisbane got Longer last year so I highly doubt that they'd look at getting another ruckman. So boom, Grundy.

Just to reiterate again, the top 10.
Whitfield
Toumpas
O'Rourke
Macrae
Wines
Plowman
Mayes
Shaw
Grundy
Daniher

Grundy is a ready to go footballer, he is pretty physically mature. He can play up forward too, which would solve an immediate problem. Vickery can become a permanent CHF and we can give Grundy the same role that Vickery had this and last year. This works out in a few ways, the first being that if any of Maric or Vickery go down, we will have a ready-made replacement, not a Browne or Graham type. Secondly, this could turn out like a Cox-Naitanui combo with him and Maric. I mean, Grundy's tapwork is probably better than Naitanui's. Nic is a better athlete but not a better footballer. WCE have shown that if Cox and Naitanui are on fire, they are far more important than any other players. Thirdly, it solves our ruck-stocks problem. We'd have 3 genuine ruckmen/forward who are all excellent players.

Grundy for all we know, could be taken by GWS at 1, and is unlikely to come to us if GWS get any early picks from the MD. According to his coach, he has excellent work-ethic and is up in that Nic Naitanui/Matthew Kreuzer category for young ruckmen coming through the draft. Excellent talent, excellent player.

Thoughts?