2012 draft

How does Grundy go against the men.
In the footage i have seen he is a bloke with a beard monstering boys

bc he wants to go to sydney. since they have pick 23 i think thats 22 spots a club can pick him up on. if he goes into the psd, by then clubs can only participate if they have list space after their compulsory 3 picks in the nd. its more likey that only 6 or so clubs will have picks in the psd. so imo its 22 v 6. of course we know maybe only gws,bris and syd will have room so it increases the players chance to get to the club of his choice. in the national draft he can also nominate price but must rely on gws with 5 picks before syd and bris with pick 8 dont chose him. again cant see him in the ND.
I'm thinking Lions and GWS are the main options who might seriously look at Tippet. If either decide they're keen, and have the cash, then I can't see Tippet getting thru to the Swans. If he goes ND, Lions might baulk at using pick 8, but GWS will jump with pick 12/14. If he goes PSD, you'd think one of the two will take him - again, if they've decided they have the cap space, the PSD pick is not costing them anything per se.

I'm sure clubs would make room on their lists if Tippet was going to be in the PSD. If GWS can afford him IMO he'll be going there, or to Brisbane.

I'm thinking Lions and GWS are the main options who might seriously look at Tippet. If either decide they're keen, and have the cash, then I can't see Tippet getting thru to the Swans. If he goes ND, Lions might baulk at using pick 8, but GWS will jump with pick 12/14. If he goes PSD, you'd think one of the two will take him - again, if they've decided they have the cap space, the PSD pick is not costing them anything per se.

agree. it all comes down to price and if those clubs can take an additional pick in the PSD.

How does Grundy go against the men.
In the footage i have seen he is a bloke with a beard monstering boys

He has played two season of senior SANFL so he must be doing something right against men.

I'm never a huge fan of taking a ruckman in the first round, but hearing he has played a lot of senior footy is a massive plus for mine.

This year more then most for a few years seems like i'd be happy with any number of players. Vlastuin, Grundy, Macrae, O'Rourke. Mayes, Menzel, Wines, Garlett and Garner. Makes you wish even more that we could have grabbed another pick at 12-15

He has played two season of senior SANFL so he must be doing something right against men.

I'm never a huge fan of taking a ruckman in the first round, but hearing he has played a lot of senior footy is a massive plus for mine.

This year more then most for a few years seems like i'd be happy with any number of players. Vlastuin, Grundy, Macrae, O'Rourke. Mayes, Menzel, Wines, Garlett and Garner. Makes you wish even more that we could have grabbed another pick at 12-15

I've been able to find his stats for his games this year.

In the seniors he hasnt done a great deal in terms of possessions, but seems to get his fair share of tapouts. it looks like his early games he was a back up, but a few games later in the season he got good numbers in terms of hit outs

In the reserves he got better numbers in terms of possessions and also good numbers of hit outs.

obviously its another step or two up competing against AFL rucks, but i suppose it shows he can handle himself against men

Anyone seen the video of Ben Kennedy up on the AFL website? He doesn't sound like quite as much of a knob as everyone has been making out. He even said he doesn't really barrack for any team these days, used to be the Crows but he likes a few teams like Richmond and Hawthorn :cool:

Maybe it's us he's tanking himself down to? :cool:

Nick Vlastuin featured on Herald Sun "Pick Me" segment today. Every time I read about him, I'm more impressed. Really think he'd be that tough, no-nonsense Selwood/Mitchell/Sewell type. Maybe not the most talented available at pick 9, but gee, I'd find him hard to pass up. Sorta guy you could really build a side around, and a natural leader.

I agree, he seemed rather normal, which is odd. Maybe he thought he couldn't stuff up the afl interview but he seemed to acknowledge his flaws and seemed willing to travel interstate.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl
Near the bottom in the video section they have interview with Vlaustin and some highlights.
Sounds like he has the perfect attitude for us. Wish everyone at our club thought like he does.
Yeah he conducts himself well for a boy.
Been watching a bit of footage of a few guys who's name have been regularly mentioned in here.
There will be disappointment from some (always is) but to me pick 9 is going to be a beauty whoever we call out.

But then again I remember watch conca's junior highlights and thought we'd picked up the next Robert Harvey (I do rate him and see considerable upside!)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl
Near the bottom in the video section they have interview with Vlaustin and some highlights.
Sounds like he has the perfect attitude for us. Wish everyone at our club thought like he does.

Let me start off by saying I have no first hand kowledge of any of the draftees but from what I have read and watched, this kid screams gun.

Hard not to admire the tough and pure football players. Seem to be a rare breed nowadays.

For those in the know, is this kid the best pure inside mid in the draft? He has certainly been sold this way IMO, and with that in mind, he would be exactly what the doctor ordered for punt rd.

Probably one of, if not the best. Wines and Viney would be up there too. From what I've seen/heard it probably goes something like Viney>Wines>Vlastuin but there wouldn't be a lot in it. I'd be stoked with 'Tigger' at 9 :)

Viney>Vlastuin>>>Wines for me. Vlastuin pips Viney in terms of his capability as a defender. They both have equally hard attacks on the ball, but Viney is more the pure midfielder.

Not a Wines fan?

Viney looks a touch quicker than Vlastuin too

Saw him play the champs this year and was all class at half back. And if the talk of him being equally as comfortable on the ball and given his leadership qualities, it's a no brainer for me to take him at our pick. That skill set and character profile remind me of one player......Luke Hodge!

Not a Wines fan?

Viney looks a touch quicker than Vlastuin too

I rate Wines, just the other two higher. To me, Viney is a better skilled version of Foley, but less pace. The role he would be playing for Richmond won't be utilizing his pace. Tuck doesn't have pace, but he is our best inside midfielder.

Ball-winning ability, ball-use and clearances are what we would be looking for in these players if we want them as inside midfielders.

That's actually highly unlikely.
Wines is a pipe dream indeed, but Stringer certainly is a real possibility.

For what Richmond needs, a forward with the talent of stringer must surely take precedence over a mid-fielder or half-back that will play in our second midfeild rotation like Vlastuin or O'Rourke. Picks 31 & 33 can be used to take midfielders for this.

Stringer could easily be the Jack Darling kind of player we so desperately need, and the new contact rules below the knee should limit any chance further injury. We also have lots of experience of how to manage players who have had broken legs with Nathan Brown and Chris Newman.

Our forward line talent is a bigger weakness than our sencondary midfield rotation and Stringer could isntantly fix this. And he is more than capable of going into the midfield as he develops also.

Stringer Riewoldt Edwards
Knights Vickery Martin

If Stringer is available at pick 9 he is > EVERYBODY ELSE

Nick Vlastuin featured on Herald Sun "Pick Me" segment today. Every time I read about him, I'm more impressed. Really think he'd be that tough, no-nonsense Selwood/Mitchell/Sewell type. Maybe not the most talented available at pick 9, but gee, I'd find him hard to pass up. Sorta guy you could really build a side around, and a natural leader.
I was thinking exactly the same thing for the last week or so , early on i'll admit i was a garlett or sringer fan for some x factor and lately i've taken a liking to macrae' but the more i read about Vlastuin he just might be what we need another strong leader who is ready to play either at half back or inside mid who is tough and hard at it. He seems to be one of those players who has been in the system at U/16 and U18 level for a long time that you begin to look for things he cant do rather than what he can do. I think i'd be happy with this kid at pick 9.

Wines is a pipe dream indeed, but Stringer certainly is a real possibility.

For what Richmond needs, a forward with the talent of stringer must surely take precedence over a mid-fielder or half-back that will play in our second midfeild rotation like Vlastuin or O'Rourke. Picks 31 & 33 can be used to take midfielders for this.

Stringer could easily be the Jack Darling kind of player we so desperately need, and the new contact rules below the knee should limit any chance further injury. We also have lots of experience of how to manage players who have had broken legs with Nathan Brown and Chris Newman.

Our forward line talent is a bigger weakness than our sencondary midfield rotation and Stringer could isntantly fix this. And he is more than capable of going into the midfield as he develops also.

Stringer Riewoldt Edwards
Knights Vickery Martin

If Stringer is available at pick 9 he is > EVERYBODY ELSE

completely agree mate.
I reckon Stringer and Menzel will be amazing A grade players.
IMO the order is Stringer>Menzel>Garner>Macrae>>Vlastuin> most others.
Vlastuin to me seems like conca. If we dont take him at 9 he will go around 13-19. He looks like a safe player without being a star. For some reason I can see us taking Vlastuin. Il back the club though but would be disgusted if we passed stringer or menzel..even Macrae.