2012 draft

Spot on mate. We need a structure to win games.

Either way, Grundy is no ordinary kid. He is 100kg and played and dominated men already. Give me an 18 year old Grundy over both the rejects we have training with us.

and finals :thumbsu: (which i appreciate is also a game)....:cool:

I wouldn't think drafting Grundy would or should rule out taking one of Wood and Stephenson. As a rookie, that is

Crappy wage though. Wonder if they'd bother

All this Vlastuin love has me F***d !

If Grundy,Plowman,Wines,O'Rourke are there at pick #9 we take pure talent ahead of 'workmanlike' any day of the week.

You can Never have enough class & talent in your team-
Buy the cream at #9
Save buying the veg,potatos for #32,#34,#43
Vlastuin isn't just a workmanlike player though. He may not be flashy type but he's classy in the sense he's a great user of the ball by both hand and foot. The fact he has the workmanlike traits is an added bonus. Interesting you put Wines in the class & talent category over Vlastuin. Out of the 5 you have there I'd take Grundy over Vlastuin on what he would ensure for our side for the next 10-12 years. (succession plan of Maric to Grundy with no worries about having to find a ruckman later down the track) Plowman I'd be 50/50 over and we'd want to be sure he can transition into a midfielder. Wines no thanks. He's Vlastuin without the kicking. O'Rourke doesn't have that pure ball-winning in close that Vlastuin has when he plays midfield, though he is an elite user so he is tempting. Won't be available so doesn't really matter.

I don't get the knock on Vlastuin that people have with this he's pretty much a hard nut plodder. Is it because Knightmare had him 15-20 in his mock draft most of the year? At the beginning of the year he had him at 2 behind Whitfield. Would be interesting if Knightmare had kept him at 2 all year I reckon everyone would be jizzing over getting Vlastuin to the club. As a player comparison Knightmare has him compared to Michael Voss. Chris has him compared to Luke Hodge. He may never reach those heights but he certainly has the ball-winning, skills and leadership to pave a great career in his own right and we will look back in 10 years and be comparing future top picks making comparisons and calling them the next Nick Vlastuin.

If he hadn't of been injured and forced to play HBF we wouldn't be a chance of getting him IMO. The bonus to him playing HBF this year is he has added that versatility to his game and become a dual position player.

Athletically people knock him but not knowing how he tested and just watching him play he's an absolute bull, strong as an ox. His leap looks better than average. Not saying he's ever going to be a guy who can take hangers but watching him defend he can always get up over the top to get a punch in. Endurance wise, again no idea how he tested but he seems to be able to get himself to contest after contest and go all day. Speed wise, he's no Lewis Jetta but he's not a complete plodder. I'd say he has ok pace which is well and truly good enough for an inside mid role. I'd say he'd be a fair bit quicker than Tuck, Jackson, Sewell and all those types.

If I was Melbourne and I was picking for needs at pick 4 (which they appear to be doing) I'd be going Vlastuin over Wines every day of the week. They want tough ball winners which they both are, they also need guys who can use the footy and hit targets. Vlastuin ticks that box comfortably over Wines for mine. They are also short of leaders at that club. Again Vlastuin has him covered and would be captain of that club in no time.

I wouldn't think drafting Grundy would or should rule out taking one of Wood and Stephenson. As a rookie, that is

Crappy wage though. Wonder if they'd bother
Would mean we have a shit load of rucks again which ****s their development.

Spot on mate. We need a structure to win games.

Either way, Grundy is no ordinary kid. He is 100kg and played and dominated men already. Give me an 18 year old Grundy over both the rejects we have training with us.

Fair enough on the structure call but what if we have Petterd of 2010 form & a gun mid in our structure?
Just playing devil's advocate. What ever decision they make I have full faith in our recruitment team at the moment

general quote on Vlastuin being good enough to be a top 2 pick

It's so easy for those who don't have much knowledge on draft prospects and base their opinions mostly on media reports and highlights packages (me included) to get caught up in certain players based on "the most recent" reports. If Vlastuin was indeed touted a top two pick only a few months ago, and has all the professionalism that has been associated with him - then I'm over the moon.

Vlastuin isn't just a workmanlike player though. He may not be flashy type but he's classy in the sense he's a great user of the ball by both hand and foot. The fact he has the workmanlike traits is an added bonus. Interesting you put Wines in the class & talent category over Vlastuin. Out of the 5 you have there I'd take Grundy over Vlastuin on what he would ensure for our side for the next 10-12 years. (succession plan of Maric to Grundy with no worries about having to find a ruckman later down the track) Plowman I'd be 50/50 over and we'd want to be sure he can transition into a midfielder. Wines no thanks. He's Vlastuin without the kicking. O'Rourke doesn't have that pure ball-winning in close that Vlastuin has when he plays midfield, though he is an elite user so he is tempting. Won't be available so doesn't really matter.

I don't get the knock on Vlastuin that people have with this he's pretty much a hard nut plodder. Is it because Knightmare had him 15-20 in his mock draft most of the year? At the beginning of the year he had him at 2 behind Whitfield. Would be interesting if Knightmare had kept him at 2 all year I reckon everyone would be jizzing over getting Vlastuin to the club. As a player comparison Knightmare has him compared to Michael Voss. Chris has him compared to Luke Hodge. He may never reach those heights but he certainly has the ball-winning, skills and leadership to pave a great career in his own right and we will look back in 10 years and be comparing future top picks making comparisons and calling them the next Nick Vlastuin.

If he hadn't of been injured and forced to play HBF we wouldn't be a chance of getting him IMO. The bonus to him playing HBF this year is he has added that versatility to his game and become a dual position player.

Athletically people knock him but not knowing how he tested and just watching him play he's an absolute bull, strong as an ox. His leap looks better than average. Not saying he's ever going to be a guy who can take hangers but watching him defend he can always get up over the top to get a punch in. Endurance wise, again no idea how he tested but he seems to be able to get himself to contest after contest and go all day. Speed wise, he's no Lewis Jetta but he's not a complete plodder. I'd say he has ok pace which is well and truly good enough for an inside mid role. I'd say he'd be a fair bit quicker than Tuck, Jackson, Sewell and all those types.

If I was Melbourne and I was picking for needs at pick 4 (which they appear to be doing) I'd be going Vlastuin over Wines every day of the week. They want tough ball winners which they both are, they also need guys who can use the footy and hit targets. Vlastuin ticks that box comfortably over Wines for mine. They are also short of leaders at that club. Again Vlastuin has him covered and would be captain of that club in no time.
I respect your opinion but the question is, if Vlastuin is so much better than Wines as you say he is, why don't Melbourne see it? There has to be something that makes Wines a better pick for their club at 4 than Vlastuin.

Surely you're trolling here? :p

Seriously? Look at their past drafting. I'm sure they have their reasons but to me Vlastuin is the better prospect due to his kicking and leadership. Vlastuin's injury has meant he hasn't played midfield which Wines has all year and that would be the appeal to him.

It's so easy for those who don't have much knowledge on draft prospects and base their opinions mostly on media reports and highlights packages (me included) to get caught up in certain players based on "the most recent" reports. If Vlastuin was indeed touted a top two pick only a few months ago, and has all the professionalism that has been associated with him - then I'm over the moon.

It's not even a media report it's based of Mock Drafts. Vlastuin is often in the 15-20 range therefore he is average for a pick 9. Whereas most mock drafts have Wines going top 10 so therefore is a better prospect. The club watches every game these kids play (either live or on video) to decide whose the best fit.

FWIW Knightmare had Wright and Atkins around 15 at stages through the year so people should be wrapped on that. We are getting bargains. :D:p

Just a thought people and some facts regarding ruck drafting...

High pick rucks - development
Ottens
Vickery

Trades - immediate
Simmonds
Stafford
Maric

i can really see this board going into melt down next week
so many people have done some research and have favourites for us to pick.
i would not be suprised to see fj do a conca at our pic's
good luck to the mods

Conca was FJ trying to be "clever" and "outsmart" everyone, when Heppell was the obvious choice. I'd prefer FJ just take the obvious choice and best available for a change rather than trying to be too "cute" with his picks. When clubs try to "outsmart" everyone in drafts they usually just end up outsmating themselves.

Great post. I will be a happy camper if we end up with this kid. He was my first choice late in the season and is still high on my radar.

I'd take Grundy above him just cause of the possibilities with him down the track and I know I've been banging on about Garner around here as I just like that X factor he seems to have. Still really rate Vlaustin and if we select any of those three I'm over the moon.

Mason Wood at 24 is interesting, personally think his a late pick/rookie. What are peoples thoughts on him.

Though the higher he goes the more likely someone we want drops.
Aside from us apparently being pretty keen on him, the word is that Adelaide were also keen on him with pick 20, had they by some miracle not been charged over the Tippett thing, in time for the draft. Shifter also has him in his top 30.

Probably helps considerably that he has reportedly grown by 3cm this year, to 192cm. If he is still growing he could get to a very nice height for someone with his athleticism and endurance attributes and very large hands (which helps considerably with his marking).

Will be interesting to see if we take him in the 20's or not. A lot will probably depend on who, if anyone, slides from what we consider to be the best 20. Hard to see us letting anyone like Garlett, Membrey, Kennedy, Corr, Clurey, Lonergan slip past us, if they are still available.

Great post. I will be a happy camper if we end up with this kid. He was my first choice late in the season and is still high on my radar.

I'd take Grundy above him just cause of the possibilities with him down the track and I know I've been banging on about Garner around here as I just like that X factor he seems to have. Still really rate Vlaustin and if we select any of those three I'm over the moon.
Yer agree. Grundy first but of the mids I like Vlastuin. (obviously excluding Whitfield, Toumpas) If Menzel is available then I reserve the right to change my mind. :p He is the definition of what we need.

Conca was FJ trying to be "clever" and "outsmart" everyone, when Heppell was the obvious choice. I'd prefer FJ just take the obvious choice and best available for a change rather than trying to be too "cute" with his picks. When clubs try to "outsmart" everyone in drafts they usually just end up outsmating themselves.
I'd still take Conca over Heppell today. Reckon Reece is about to have a breakout season with more time in the midfield and bigger tank.

I got no problems with FJ reaching if he infact thinks they will be better players. End of the day he spends 100x more time looking at all the players and talking to their coaches than we do

Aside from us apparently being pretty keen on him, the word is that Adelaide were also keen on him with pick 20, had they by some miracle not been charged over the Tippett thing, in time for the draft. Shifter also has him in his top 30.

Probably helps considerably that he has reportedly grown by 3cm this year, to 192cm. If he is still growing he could get to a very nice height for someone with his athleticism and endurance attributes and very large hands (which helps considerably with his marking).

Will be interesting to see if we take him in the 20's or not. A lot will probably depend on who, if anyone, slides from what we consider to be the best 20. Hard to see us letting anyone like Garlett, Membrey, Kennedy, Corr, Clurey, Lonergan slip past us, if they are still available.
I think of that list only Garlett will be available and he'll be your other pick.

Just a thought people and some facts regarding ruck drafting...

High pick rucks - development
Ottens
Vickery

Trades - immediate
Simmonds
Stafford
Maric

Are you pro ruck draft or pro ruck trade???

Ottens was a gun pick. If we had of traded him off in 2001 we could have got hodge and Judd as in his breakout year in 2001 he was going to touch the moon.

The trades were okay and although Maric has been terrific I was not expecting a dud effort from him.

If we get Grundy, doubt he would last is he the next General aka Mark Lee?

I'm hoping we go for the best available at our pick - from reading the article on the RFC website, that seems to be what we will do (whether that be a mid, Grundy or another slider etc).

If we do get Grundy, I still think we should look to bring in a mature body (Seaby, Wood, Currie, Stephenson etc) as throwing a first year kid against veterans like Cox, Sandilands, Mumford etc might be like throwing him into a pool of sharks.

Was interesting to note that FJ doesn't rate the draft that highly (not a super draft). He thinks after the first round, it will be pretty hard to find good pick ups - hopefully there are a few sliders or we have earmarked a few hidden gems that we can pick up with our second and third picks.

I'd still take Conca over Heppell today. Reckon Reece is about to have a breakout season with more time in the midfield and bigger tank.

I got no problems with FJ reaching if he infancy thinks they will be better players. End of the day he spends 100x more time looking at all the players and talking to their coaches than we do
We wouldn't have taken Batch if we got Heppell either. Conca will take awhile as a skinny kid who is suited to being an inside mid. Needs to develop his body. It's just a shame Heppell really shot out of the blocks which has caused these early comparisons. Both will be very good footballers IMO.

Yeah we totes screwed ourselves there. And now that we can look back on their careers we can see that.

I could live with that. Especially from a football/on field POV. Would be a gutsy call after all our recent off field stuff though!
If you guys don't take him then I think Hawks get him (who rate him and McBean at their pick) which sucks because he'd be so bloody close to our pick. Hopefully they take McBean and we get Garlett and then all Richmond fans can go out and celebrate. Your shout Tigerbob

I got no problems with FJ reaching if he infancy thinks they will be better players. End of the day he spends 100x more time looking at all the players and talking to their coaches than we do

Still not convinced on Conca yet - as in being of first round quality - a lot tougher player than Heppell, but on demonstated AFL form, Heppell is a bit classier IMO. Don't reckon 2010 was a particularly great draft though, even with all the GC kids taken into account. Still early days for everybody I guess.

Yeah we totes screwed ourselves there. And now that we can look back on their careers we can see that.
Yes let's all just wait until every player has been retired for 10 years first before daring to express an opinion on an internet messageboard.