2012 draft

this is the exact reason why drafting jaksch at 9 may not be the best thing.
Yer, I like Jaksch as a player but I don't think we need him and I don't think he's ahead of Vlastuin.

The same footy company I work for that allowed me to meet and talk to Mark Williams, is the same company that sees me work with a couple guys who have played for and coached at the Northern Knights.

I had breakfast with my boss yesterday morning who has been an assitant at the Knights.

We got talking about Vlastuin - pronounced 'Floss-tone'

He was a huge rap for 'tigger'.

The way he explained him was exactly what we need.

These were his words regarding Nick;

"The thing that seperates Nick from everyone else and what will make him a very good AFL player is his competitiveness. If Nick is in a congested situation with 15 other blokes, he WILL get the ball, there's no 2 ways about it. He WILL get it".

He claimed that he's an absolutely sensational kid with a brilliant head on his shoulders and is very much like Cotch in that he leads by actions, not so much verbally.

I'm hoping we end up with Tigger, will be great for us.

Thanks for that mate - also cheers for clarifying how to pronounce that name lol. Sounds like a ripper, hope we land him. Would be ideal to take Tuck's place once Tucky hangs up the boots.

So what???? We are trying to build a premiership team, no short cuts. Tuck can play another 3 years yet

First you build inside mids then add the outside mids.... eerrgghh what ??o_O Since when??? got any track record to base this on???? Whats wrong with outside to in , front to back or back to front???? Any team that has gone outside to in as you suggest and one a flag???

for those fans asking why some of us keep talking about tuck is tuck himself is considering retiring soon(within 1 or 2yrs) thats why.

Despite all the phantoms id be 100% comfortable in taking Kennedy at 9

I'm of the opinion that just about any result will have at least some posters up in arms.

Mind you, there are obviously a select few around here that do actually have intimate knowledge of the draftees, as well as spending a lot of time to actually research the facts. Not everyone is simply an armchair expert like me ;)

no disagreements on any of that d d , particularly the first sentence.

It's just mind boggling some of the comments and the lack of, or totally buggered, logic used.

theres a good insight into the process used to make our selections here.

Richo Feature: Francis Jackson - YouTube

It's not just about ability, it's also about having the character to not just make the grade, but to stand up and be counted when it matters. That you cannot get from watching 5 minutes of selective highlights

Of course you have to get the ball first, but that is when you are in a GF. You can easily get outside players, gun forwards, rucks etc.. and after that then to help get the ball first and then get your extractors last if that suits.

What if you get your chief extractor later in a free agency play to help Cotch???

I think I get what you're trying to say Mr Magic but I think I believe the opposite - you can't win a game of football without first having the ball.

In 2012, we ranked 12th for tackles - only Adelaide and North finished below us, made the finals. That to me says we need more hardness and presence to at least become a top 8 team in this area.

For contested possessions (according to the AFL site) we rank an impressive 5th but only 10th for clearances. North rank 7th and Carlton rank 8th - both of these teams you would think will be fighting with us to make the 8 next year. The top 6 for clearances in 2012 were also the final 6 teams in the race for the premiership this year (Hawks, Swans, Crows, Eagles, Pies and Freo). That shows how important the clearance count is.

That suggests I think we need to step it up in the stoppages and need to extract the ball more and send it forward if we want to push on in 2013. To beat these teams into the 8, a good start would be to have more clearances than both and I think that we either need A) better/upgrades on inside players or B) we need to set up differently and try something different at stoppages to improve in this area. I think a combination of both is likely to be the answer here.

I kind of get what you're saying about leave the extractors for last (or perhaps target them through FA) but I think our mantra has been to draft stars and trade for needs. If we draft a gun inside mid, we can then supplement that with good outside runners later on. Wouldn't mind if we could get Josh Kennedy as a FA one day though :thumbsu:

Well this is it, how can you have Vlastuin and Tyson in the same side?
Brisbane struggled with Voss and Black together from memory. Could be wrong.

Fine, but the obvious question then is, why did we get Conca???.. and if we are writing him off now as an inside mid who is in the gun barrell sights??:D
For your sake I really hope you're joking. But based on history I'll presume you're not. We will need more than one inside midfielder in the future! Vlastuin is the only pure inside mid we will likely have. Conca can play both as can Cotchin, Deledio, Martin, Tyson if we get him. If we don't have Cotchin getting beaten up inside then that's a win as far as I'm concerned. We have a very good balance.

Voss and Black is different to Black and Black. Isn't Tyson and extractor??? What about the others we are bringing into the dream team:D??? How are they going to fit in
What others? Tyson is like Black Vlastuin like Voss. No certainty Tyson comes anyway so don't think we can factor him into a decision at pick 9.

For your sake I really hope you're joking. But based on history I'll presume you're not. We will need more than one inside midfielder in the future! Vlastuin is the only pure inside mid we will likely have. Conca can play both as can Cotchin, Deledio, Martin, Tyson if we get him. If we don't have Cotchin getting beaten up inside then that's a win as far as I'm concerned. We have a very good balance.

Honestly as good as Cotch is all around the ground he is the general in the middle and always will be while he is there. It does matter who you get to help him he is the daddy and if Vastuin is chopping him out thats no good. No saying he would but seriously you have the premier midfielder in the comp and we could have the best to midfielders inside in 3 years time and you are worrying about inside mids???o_OIts almost like what the.

Like we have a side of mids and no one can kick the goals or whatever. Tigers need to be careful not to create and imbalanced team that lacks cohesion. Conca is not an outside player IMO as much as some like to spin it just like Vickery is not an outright forward.

P.S. don't worry about my sake, I am not worrying about yours:D

I tell you what if Vlastuin is good but workmanlike and second tier to a Macrae who is overlooked and turns into a Pendlebury type and Conca doesn't come on but festers around like thereabouts player you would pick around 18 as the phantoms have it, the recruiters shouldn't worry about me, they should worry about what everyone else and the jury is suspecting overtime. I wish all players the best but don't think for a moment the recruiting decisions will not be scrutinised. You don't need Santa Claus posting to have the blow torch on your butt:D

What others? Tyson is like Black Vlastuin like Voss. No certainty Tyson comes anyway so don't think we can factor him into a decision at pick 9.

Well if Tyson is like Black an extractor then we don't need Vlastuin because from the vision I have seen he is no Voss. If Vlastuin is Voss then what the hell are the other clubs thinking???;)

Honestly as good as Cotch is all around the ground he is the general in the middle and always will be while he is there. It does matter who you get to help him he is the daddy and if Vastuin is chopping him out thats no good. No saying he would but seriously you have the premier midfielder in the comp and we could have the best to midfielders inside in 3 years time and you are worrying about inside mids???o_OIts almost like what the.

Like we have a side of mids and no one can kick the goals or whatever. Tigers need to be careful not to create and imbalanced team that lacks cohesion. Conca is not an outside player IMO as much as some like to spin it just like Vickery is not an outright forward.

P.S. don't worry about my sake, I am not worrying about yours:D

I tell you what if Vlastuin is good but workmanlike and second tier to a Macrae who is overlooked and turns into a Pendlebury type and Conca doesn't come on but festers around like thereabouts player you would pick around 18 as the phantoms have it, the recruiters shouldn't worry about me, they should worry about what everyone else and the jury is suspecting overtime. I wish all players the best but don't think for a moment the recruiting decisions will not be scrutinised. You don't need Santa Claus posting to have the blow torch on your butt:D

I didn't say take Cotchin out of the middle. But at the moment he does majority of the work and gets smashed every week physically. Vlastuin is better inside than Tyson IMO but Tyson has him well and truly covered on the outside. Like I said as well we don't have Tyson and no guarantee we will so pointless making a decision at pick 9 based on hoping to get him.

I didn't call Conca an outside player I said he can play both. Imbalanced team. We have quite a few players that can play both inside and outside. We need a pure inside midfielder who is like a bull in there. That's Tuck for now and will become Vlastuin. Tyson isn't really that type of player. He relies more on his footy smarts to win the footy than an all out attack on the ball like Vlastuin.

Macrae could very well become a bust. I was on his train but have been watching more and more and not sold anymore. I tell you what the recruiters couldn't care less about you. Why would they worry about what you say on a forum? You can't even use the threat of not buying a membership. If we are so bad put your money where your mouth is and contribute like 53,000 people did last year.

Well if Tyson is like Black an extractor then we don't need Vlastuin because from the vision I have seen he is no Voss. If Vlastuin is Voss then what the hell are the other clubs thinking???;)
Black can play outside to a high level as well. Silky skills. You mean the 3 minute highlights clips? I've said previously that he plays in a similar style to Voss not that he is Voss. He may end up as good he may not, but that's his game style.
when did we get tyson?
20 minutes ago apparently and we should not take Vlastuin for this reason. :D

I think I get what you're trying to say Mr Magic but I think I believe the opposite - you can't win a game of football without first having the ball.

In 2012, we ranked 12th for tackles - only Adelaide and North finished below us, made the finals. That to me says we need more hardness and presence to at least become a top 8 team in this area. Irrelevant , no short cuts, we are building a long term premiership team, the final 8 is a short cut. This can be addressed later before we get to the GF.

For contested possessions (according to the AFL site) we rank an impressive 5th but only 10th for clearances. North rank 7th and Carlton rank 8th - both of these teams you would think will be fighting with us to make the 8 next year. The top 6 for clearances in 2012 were also the final 6 teams in the race for the premiership this year (Hawks, Swans, Crows, Eagles, Pies and Freo). That shows how important the clearance count is. Irrelevant we are not winning a premiership in 2013-remember no short cuts

That suggests I think we need to step it up in the stoppages and need to extract the ball more and send it forward if we want to push on in 2013. To beat these teams into the 8, a good start would be to have more clearances than both and I think that we either need A) better/upgrades on inside players or B) we need to set up differently and try something different at stoppages to improve in this area. I think a combination of both is likely to be the answer here. Irrelevant again-again no short cuts- Our number one goal is to get the best team available to be able to compete at the highest level in a GF and develop them accordingly. That type of fine tuning can be left later when we have a sufficient base regarding the cattle. Remember we still got to find a A grade forward line yet

I kind of get what you're saying about leave the extractors for last (or perhaps target them through FA) but I think our mantra has been to draft stars and trade for needs. If we draft a gun inside mid, we can then supplement that with good outside runners later on. Wouldn't mind if we could get Josh Kennedy as a FA one day though :thumbsu:

No, I agree with what you are saying that you need to win the ball, IMO you are completely misreading my point.

What I am saying, is this.

1.Just say 5 years to a premiership.

2.You get best available. recruit best available to get best team.

3. So do not think positionally anything just best available.

4. In the fourth year you have all the players you need except best available policy mean't you are one short in terms of extractor. So in draft for final year you get your extractor like Vlastuin or better and he is ready to play and you attack the premiership the next year.

So what I am saying is you need players to win the ball to win but you do not need them at the outset of a period when you are still buiding your list. You can get them in the end particularly when they can come on quickly like Selwood or you can get them via free agency/trades

Regarding the last paragrapgh, Vlastuin would have to match Kennedy as a bare minimum. You talk about stars but to me Macrae demonstrates more star quality potentially likewise Mayes, Grundy etc.. to me Vlastuin is good but the Gun referred to him as workmanlike, he played at HBF this year, he is after 11 in most phantoms so the necessary star aspect does not necessarily wash with me. Besides you do not necessarily need star extractors in the mauls today like the rucks , you need stars in space that kick goals like Chapman and Stevie J. Besides when I was talking about getting extractors via free agency I has sights on better options than Kennedy, aka real weapons of mass destruction that hit the scoreboard with a bang!

I didn't say take Cotchin out of the middle. But at the moment he does majority of the work and gets smashed every week physically. Vlastuin is better inside than Tyson IMO but Tyson has him well and truly covered on the outside. Like I said as well we don't have Tyson and no guarantee we will so pointless making a decision at pick 9 based on hoping to get him.

I didn't call Conca an outside player I said he can play both. Imbalanced team. We have quite a few players that can play both inside and outside. We need a pure inside midfielder who is like a bull in there. That's Tuck for now and will become Vlastuin. Tyson isn't really that type of player. He relies more on his footy smarts to win the footy than an all out attack on the ball like Vlastuin.

Macrae could very well become a bust. I was on his train but have been watching more and more and not sold anymore. I tell you what the recruiters couldn't care less about you. Why would they worry about what you say on a forum? You can't even use the threat of not buying a membership. If we are so bad put your money where your mouth is and contribute like 53,000 people did last year.

Black can play outside to a high level as well. Silky skills. You mean the 3 minute highlights clips? I've said previously that he plays in a similar style to Voss not that he is Voss. He may end up as good he may not, but that's his game style.

20 minutes ago apparently and we should not take Vlastuin for this reason. :D

Why get personal, and why do the recruiters give a toss about your posts???

If you/we are so bad how is my money going to help???:rolleyes: