2012 Eagles WAFL watch thread

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

:( Fyfe will be top five in the league in 3 years. How was he let go by so many? Didn't he dominate colts?

Was a late bloomer, read somewhere he didn't even make his high school football team :eek:

Not entirely correct, didn't make it in Yr 11, but he was definitely playing 1st XVIII in Yr 12, I can vouch for that. I used to play against him in nippers, even back then he showcased the same skills he does today. Absolute gun. And going from a mate's word, a ripper bloke as well.

Sorry all, didn't know where to post this question most appropriately, What is an OP visitor?

I think I read an article a while ago about Fyfe being a bit lazy or something in year 11 and missing out on the team. In year 12, apparently he got his shit together and started to play well.

They say that even back then he had something special about him but was a bit raw.

It sucks we didn't draft him but for every Fyfe there are a few Tony Nottes. You can never be certain.

I think I read an article a while ago about Fyfe being a bit lazy or something in year 11 and missing out on the team. In year 12, apparently he got his shit together and started to play well.

They say that even back then he had something special about him but was a bit raw.

It sucks we didn't draft him but for every Fyfe there are a few Tony Nottes. You can never be certain.

We were set to pounce with our pick as well if he slipped to us but we ended up with Weedon instead

I think in a few years time those wishing we hadn't picked Sheppard will be biting their tongues.

Though okay, yeah, Fyfe would have been the better pick. But still. Goodes went at 43, Black at 31. These things happen.

Shepp was always going to take a while to get upto scratch. As Woosha said earlier in the year he's probably 2-3 preseasons away.

I didn't take that comment as a good sign. To me, it said he isn't even in his thinking right now. And if he is going to take that long to come good you have to question his value as a #7 overall pick.

We were set to pounce with our pick as well if he slipped to us but we ended up with Weedon instead
were we? says who? i think this is one of those times things are made up to make ourselves feel better and now it has been transformed into fact because its been said so many times. from memory, the way i understood it, we were always targetting weedon with that 2nd pick.

i just dont remember ever reading to suggest otherwise. Even a woodhouse interview around that time. In the mix for our first pick was Lucas, Jetta and Sheppard. Weedon rumours with that 2nd pick were circulating long before the draft.

EDIT: there was even an article by Hagdorn few days before the draft saying that we were targeting Aaron Black whom we clearly didnt even rate.

Thats the way I remember it. I was firmly in the Jetta camp though neither has done an awful lot. We needed a wingman and got one a year later in Gaff. Sheppard should still come good though I expect itll be on a wing rather than a HBF. There was some talk of Fyfe but it was for the 2nd round picks.

Jetta looked very good vs GWS, a potential star even. It was only GWS though it will be interesting to see how he goes the rest of the year.

Not entirely correct, didn't make it in Yr 11, but he was definitely playing 1st XVIII in Yr 12, I can vouch for that. I used to play against him in nippers, even back then he showcased the same skills he does today. Absolute gun. And going from a mate's word, a ripper bloke as well.

He did, however, get dropped to thirds in year 12 for one match for telling his coach "i'd rather play thirds and sit in the goal square taking hangers"

obviously hadn't developed professionalism yet

He did, however, get dropped to thirds in year 12 for one match for telling his coach "i'd rather play thirds and sit in the goal square taking hangers"

obviously hadn't developed professionalism yet
That's brilliant

were we? says who? i think this is one of those times things are made up to make ourselves feel better and now it has been transformed into fact because its been said so many times. from memory, the way i understood it, we were always targetting weedon with that 2nd pick.

i just dont remember ever reading to suggest otherwise. Even a woodhouse interview around that time. In the mix for our first pick was Lucas, Jetta and Sheppard. Weedon rumours with that 2nd pick were circulating long before the draft.

EDIT: there was even an article by Hagdorn few days before the draft saying that we were targeting Aaron Black whom we clearly didnt even rate.

afaik we were set to take two of fyfe,weedon and bastinac with those 2 picks we had. both fyfe and bastinac went just before we had an opportunity.

We really do have an oversupply of HBFs who can't get a game. Brad Sheppard doesn't even look like getting a game anytime soon, probably should have taken Lewis Jetta in hindsight who would be getting a game for us right now.

this with our drafting of H/BF`s was always going to be a issue at some stage ,

afaik we were set to take two of fyfe,weedon and bastinac with those 2 picks we had. both fyfe and bastinac went just before we had an opportunity.

We would be scary if we managed to get both Bastinac and Fyfe..:eek:

Stevens and Weedon are the vanilla versions..

I'm not sure what makes Bastinac so good, personally.

I reckon if you put Stevens on North's list, you'd be getting similar results at AFL level.

Or am I missing something with Bastinac?

I'm not sure what makes Bastinac so good, personally.

I reckon if you put Stevens on North's list, you'd be getting similar results at AFL level.

Or am I missing something with Bastinac?
i think you are missing something.

Today's WAFL game will have Butler (although he's listed as an out), McInnes and Tunbridge in action for the eagles.

OK, back from the game and whilst none of the players were really standouts, IMO, I thought McInnes was the best of them. However, all of these players drifted out of the game for periods of time, it was hard for McInnes when the ball only went into the F50 about 5 times in the second quarter, but none had a sustained impact on the game IMO.

McInnes did take some terrific marks and got to the right place a number of times only to have players kick it OOF or miss him completely (22 I'm looking at you). Took one terrific mark and goaled from around 50 in the last, to get Perth back to 7 points down.

Actually, Tunbridge wasn't bad either, defended pretty well I thought and contested well as the ball seemed to be in the Royals attacking zone for longer periods of time than Perth had it.

Butler had a typical, steady Butler type of game. Got a bit of the ball, stopped attacks but just didn't impact the game enough for mine. In the last he tried to make some run and get into attacking positions but I would have expected this all game. Maybe I'm too harsh?

Today's WAFL game will have Butler (although he's listed as an out), McInnes and Tunbridge in action for the eagles.

OK, back from the game and whilst none of the players were really standouts, IMO, I thought McInnes was the best of them. However, all of these players drifted out of the game for periods of time, it was hard for McInnes when the ball only went into the F50 about 5 times in the second quarter, but none had a sustained impact on the game IMO.

McInnes did take some terrific marks and got to the right place a number of times only to have players kick it OOF or miss him completely (22 I'm looking at you). Took one terrific mark and goaled from around 50 in the last, to get Perth back to 7 points down.

Actually, Tunbridge wasn't bad either, defended pretty well I thought and contested well as the ball seemed to be in the Royals attacking zone for longer periods of time than Perth had it.

Butler had a typical, steady Butler type of game. Got a bit of the ball, stopped attacks but just didn't impact the game enough for mine. In the last he tried to make some run and get into attacking positions but I would have expected this all game. Maybe I'm too harsh?

What number was Tunbridge Swannies? I thought McInnes did some good things but I was a bit disappointed with Sam's game (and I love Sam Butler). Just as an aside - How poor was Leon Davis - did not do much of anything - so glad we didn't draft him. Great win by the Mighty Royals!!:)

Were you at the game Thorne?

Nah couldn't make it today, sadly. Tried to keep up with the stats when I could online and my mate text me a few times saying McInnes was impressive.

And he's a Dockers fan! :thumbsu: