Preview 2012 Expectations

I'd be surprised if he had the fitness base to play more than a couple of games next year...then again same could be said of Smedts. Really looking forward to the fight over 2-3 spots (I think we can safely assume there will be at least one or two injuries amongst the premiership squad) going into next season.

This becomes a huge preseason and NAB for the young blokes,they need to put their hand up early and impress.Spots will still be limited again next year and you will want to be at the front of the Que if one comes up for grabs.

Speaking to a Pie fan mate tonight, and he strongly believes Pies can not beat us as we have worked out the press so well that they have to devise a new strategy. Buckley can't do that next year. He believes Hawks don't have the personnel to challenge either team, and that this year's draft has helped us as our nearest rivals have not been able to gain any advantage.
He thinks the only way Geelong will not win the flag next year is if we get done before we have to face Pies in the likely GF .
Interesting thoughts and that's pretty commonplace thinking right now.

But nobody is mentioning the Saints and their chances......?

I can't agree with a lot of this to be honest. The press is not unknown to anyone anymore, It's been used for 2 years now and all clubs have their plans to attack against it and also play their own implementation of it when defending. Just about time for the next new big thing as far as game plans go but for mine it always seems to be the sides with he best players that win regardless of game plan.

To say that us Hawks dont have the players to challenge is just wrong. Sure we didn't beat either of you last year but we had the better of Collingwood for most of the night in the prelim and tend to run Geelong close on most occaisons. Even our first final we weren't too bad but got opened up in a 10 minute burst by geelong. credit where its due you were too good on the night.

I'm also not too sure how the draft comes into the equation either. While we may not have added players int he draft that are going to improve us straight away I'm not too sure that Collingwood or Geelong have either? Orrent o replace Ottens while a smart move is a net loss given Ottens dominance in the ruck of late and the retirement of Ling will be welcomed by the top mids of both collingwood and Hawthorn, especialy Hawthorn.

Even with out adding much straight up through the draft the addition of Gunston gives us another forward option and having Gilham and Stratton available will strengthen our at times questionable defence. A midseason return from Roughy would have us in much better shape than this year.

Collingwood will also be better i'd imagine with a fully fit Reid, Beams, Maxwell and also having heath shaw for the whole year and they'd be hoping for a return to form of Didak.

Overall i think Geelong Hawthorn and Collingwood will be the main challengers next year with not much separating them.

To say that us Hawks dont have the players to challenge is just wrong.

You haven't made the GF in the last 3 years, why.

1 No rucks.
2 No tall backs.
You haven't addressed either of those problems that I can see.

Your mids are now aging,Burgoyne hasn't lived up to expectation,Heaven knows how Roughy will come back,(and I wish him well).In my opinion Cyrill has gone backwards from 08,most good sides have a handle on Franklin,and Clarko's 2011 keepings off game plan doesn't work against sides with good structures.

Good Luck.

I can't agree with a lot of this to be honest. The press is not unknown to anyone anymore, It's been used for 2 years now and all clubs have their plans to attack against it and also play their own implementation of it when defending. Just about time for the next new big thing as far as game plans go but for mine it always seems to be the sides with he best players that win regardless of game plan.

To say that us Hawks dont have the players to challenge is just wrong. Sure we didn't beat either of you last year but we had the better of Collingwood for most of the night in the prelim and tend to run Geelong close on most occaisons. Even our first final we weren't too bad but got opened up in a 10 minute burst by geelong. credit where its due you were too good on the night.

I'm also not too sure how the draft comes into the equation either. While we may not have added players int he draft that are going to improve us straight away I'm not too sure that Collingwood or Geelong have either? Orrent o replace Ottens while a smart move is a net loss given Ottens dominance in the ruck of late and the retirement of Ling will be welcomed by the top mids of both collingwood and Hawthorn, especialy Hawthorn.

Even with out adding much straight up through the draft the addition of Gunston gives us another forward option and having Gilham and Stratton available will strengthen our at times questionable defence. A midseason return from Roughy would have us in much better shape than this year.

Collingwood will also be better i'd imagine with a fully fit Reid, Beams, Maxwell and also having heath shaw for the whole year and they'd be hoping for a return to form of Didak.

Overall i think Geelong Hawthorn and Collingwood will be the main challengers next year with not much separating them.

they were not my thoughts, I never believe a Hawks game is anything but stressful, they are a serious threat.
The point about the draft is EXACTLY as you said it, no team has enhanced their list with ready made solutions to any real or perceived problems.
I think this was a Pie man who was very philosophical about his team negatively, and positively about Geelong. A lot like some Cat fans 12 months ago in reverse.
12 months is a long time in footy. Did anyone predict that Geelong would beat Pies and Hawks 3x each, Saints twice in 2011?? Unlikely any.

Bobby, thanks for the analysis of the Saints. My comment was a bit of tongue in cheek after my previous years predictions. They are a team I can never dismiss as a threat, there is something about them, but we have well and truly surpassed them now, and I no longer fear any team. The monkey is well and truly off our backs, if it was ever there, and what we have already achieved makes Geelong the equally most successful ever AFL premiership team, (3), and wins/losses, probably #1. AFL meaning post VFL. There is nothing more for Geelong to prove, there is no pressure, the whole non-Geelong football world is now just hoping for and waiting for our slide.

Lets hope theve got a Long Long wait for the slide . The big thing Geelong has got going for it -is that it hasnt got any perceived weaknesses -and the talent is spread very evenly over the ground . You look at our high ranked opponents- they all seem to have gaps and holes which they need to plug -and as we found out in the early 90s -if you have got any weaknesses come grand final day -they will be brutally exposed. If Hawkins and Vardy go right on with it -i wouldnt be surprised if we win 1 or even 2 more flags in this great run -and then rather than an obvious challenger like Hawks Pies Blues- who have all got gaps to fill -i reckon a team further down the list -someone like Richmond or Adelaide -who are developing alot of young players might emerge -just as Geelong did in 2007.

I have a feeling that if the cats do win a flag next year it will be a 'come from behind' type of win - from a place lower in the ladder, as we may not win as many games early in the season due to some older players off the pace, and the blooding of quite a few new players.

Look for early season form/motivation/injury, drop offs from players like the two Coreys, Chapman,Wojo, Pods, Hunt, Jimmy and Scarlett.

Hawkins will need to continue his rebirth as the new Messiah ;) (Along with some kicking lessons)

If we can peak late (a la Brisbane 2003) then the celebrations could continue......

You have to remember that we had players who went into the grand final unfit via injury such as Corey (2nd match back after 6 weeks off), no Menzel (ACL), Pods (down in the 2nd), so it will even up again and there won't be much improvement in Collingwood against us at all imo.

Collingwood have also lost their 2011 All-Australian along with a pivotal link up player with Jolly in Leigh Brown and Didak will be going on 29 years of age and he needs to really capture that form you speak of early otherwise he'll be replaced by a younger player which Mick Malthouse should have done in the final series.

You have to remember that we had players who went into the grand final unfit via injury such as Corey (2nd match back after 6 weeks off), no Menzel (ACL), Pods (down in the 2nd), so it will even up again and there won't be much improvement in Collingwood against us at all imo.

Collingwood have also lost their 2011 All-Australian along with a pivotal link up player with Jolly in Leigh Brown and Didak will be going on 29 years of age and he needs to really capture that form you speak of early otherwise he'll be replaced by a younger player which Mick Malthouse should have done in the final series.

Its a bit naive to say the pies are going to drop out of contention.....they have good young players with plenty of upside and although Brown and Davis will hurt, they will get Nathan Brown back and even Cameron Wood didn't look out of place at the end of the year. Would suprise me greatly if they drop off the pace.

What i think is more likely is that other teams will close the gap significantly on the likes of the pies and Hawks. West Coast and Carlton will be very good and they will develop a lot physically across the board, but don't discount the likes of Essendon, Fremantle, Richmond and Melbourne who will all put in plenty of emphasis on developing bigger more durable bodies. I am a firm believer that we are going to see somewhat of a changing of the guard this next season - similar to how we came on in 07'...fortunately i still think we will be able to compete at the very top end.

A lot will depend on the abilities of a few key youngsters to keep developing. Menzel is going to be a huge loss, but he maybe able to get up for a half season in best case scenario. Vardy and Mitch Brown will be very interesting to watch - but i'm particularly excited about seeing Schroder and Guthrie come through as i think these guys will make a significant difference with some senior level footy behind them.

Round 8 vs Collingwood will be our chance to get back-to-back May premierships.

Also as someone who is a bit superstitious, i am hoping that the Giants win over the Pats in Super Bowl 46 isn't history repeating itself:(

Positive reports on Vardy coming out at the moment...apparently back to full training and anticipating to be back earlier now...although ruled out of NAB cup. Pods and Wojack will be fine and even Menzel is traveling well.

With a full compliment to choose from at the half way mark....we could look dangerous.

I just have a feeling that this year might be a different approach and we may falter early but come home stronger. Still believe the gap between first and eighth will be much narrower this year.

There is nothing more for Geelong to prove,...

They still have not won back to back premierships as both Brizzy and the Adelaide Cows did.

I think that there is still room for further goals and achievements for the Geelong Cats to pursue.

Its a bit naive to say the pies are going to drop out of contention.....they have good young players with plenty of upside and although Brown and Davis will hurt, they will get Nathan Brown back and even Cameron Wood didn't look out of place at the end of the year. Would suprise me greatly if they drop off the pace.

I don't think it's naive at all. I just believe Collingwood had such a tremendous game style for a period of 2 years under Malthouse which other teams struggled to adapt to and that really helped their young players build that momentum in that period of time.

Teams slowly but surely began to work them out and we found that out in the final series as they struggled to put away sides.

You speak of their upside but I think we have already seen it over the last 18 months. Hawthorn did similar in 2008 but struggled to find that same scintillating form from then on.
Collingwood will definitely be around the mark again but I think we will see them lose 4 or more games in 2012 ;)

Just a thought? Do people think that part of the reason we've been so successful is that our "original" game plan was built on fast moving possession. The consequence being that you had to be incredibly skilful for it to work and that gimmicks like the cluster and press once they are found out you're kinda stuffed because you don't have that raw skill base throughout your entire list? This is not to say there aren't some incredibly skilful folks at both Pies and Dawks...

yeh that's an interesting point boob;)

I reckon anyone currently playing footy at the moment may be able to answer that question better than others.

I never associated Geelong's game style as a reason to their success, always believed we have had genuine champions across every single line and when games became close, a certain player would stand up and do something when most others were too stuffed and fatigued.

We saw it again in 2011 as we changed the game style and this time it played right into our hands as we have some of the best contested markers in the league and they proved to be a handful for any defense.

We need a couple to come on like Duncan and Christiansen, and maybe find another tall,
that seems like a lot but there's a few guys that know they need to press this year or it might be curtains.
If we find more of that young spark anything could happen, another GF?

Let's face it Vardy still hasn't started, alot to look forward to!

As long as we are at the top of this list come years end I'll be happy!
art-svGOODOLDGEELONG-420x0.jpg