Injury 2012 Injury Thread

Lol a big overreaction re the end of his career. Embley will get a reco and be ready for finals. This won't be his last year, has one more left in him. The perfect sub player IMO.

We cant afford to play someone who's shoulder will fall apart that easily. He needs to get it recoed again. If he is back again this year then great.

This, Embers has been great for the club, but it helps no one with someone his age playing the year underdone. Book the loss, repair it and lets get him back after he's recovered.

He should play if it's right, dislocated shoulders are not much, Adelaide's pozi always does one every game, 2-3 weeks max if he needs it but should be good. No need to cut short his year for the sake of being cautious.

He should play if it's right, dislocated shoulders are not much
Bullshit. Have you ever done one? I did mine and was quite possibly the worst pain I have ever encountered. The fact that they didnt put it in straight away also suggests it wasnt an easy one.

Not to mention its prone to reinjury as he has already seen.

Embley to have the Shoulder Reconstruction ,... to miss 3-4 months , I reckon Embers will play on in 2013 and is looking at the big future re finals 2012 ( hopefully ) and 2013 / 2014 . Embley is only 30 years of age approximate

Lol a big overreaction re the end of his career. Embley will get a reco and be ready for finals. This won't be his last year, has one more left in him. The perfect sub player IMO.

You touch on a very interesting point...for the more established sides (ie. premiership contenders) would there ever be a SUB role player, week in, week out? Embers would be brilliant as this, but he may not like doing all the training for such a limited, albeit important team-based, role.

Should get the operation done and push for the sub role late in the year. We still have 22 rounds and a bye to come so 23 weeks until finals, if its a 12>16 week recovery he would still have 6>7 weeks before finals to build through the WAFL / on the track.

Opens the door now for Koby Stevens and / or Sheppard.

Anyone see Shehan On the Couch?

"How many best 22 players can you lose before your depth is severely tested? Eagles have lost Le Cras, Nicoski and now Embley, one more and it would be close to season over!"

WOW !!! If we didn't have Sheppard, Butler, Stevens, Swift, Neates, Weedon, Brennan plus Stevenson, Daziell and Newman lining up for a chance he might actually be onto something.:cool:

Just another example of how his knowledge is all Victorian focused. What a flog this guy is.:thumbsdown:

Nickosi and Embely are replaceable, Le cras not so much but Hill and Hams are doing pretty well so far.

Love Healy having a dig reminding Shehan about his prediction of the Demons becoming a 'Super Club' three years ago.:D

The Vics think our midfield just relies on Kerr, Priddis and Embley. You're right Obeanie that Embley can be covered. Hill and Hams are already doing a half decent job replacing Lecras and Nicoski.

I would like to see Sheppard come in for Embley. Has been in ok form and can play midfield. He is a high draft pick so its time for him to do something.

I know they are the purple pansies from down the road but just remember freo's season last year. Depth only goes so far and the more injuries we have the lesser the quality of the replacements. Sure we have guys like sheppard, stevenson, stevens, mcginnity and butler who could come in now and fill a role i dont think any of them are going to come in and play at a level above any of their contemporaries currently in the side. Sure stevenson, butler and sheppard can come in and play a role down back or even a minor role in the middle we lose a bit more forward firepower with embers going down and on that list of replacements i dont see anyone who is really offensively minded.

Embley -> Hill

Le Cras -> Newman

Nicoski -> Hams

Or:
Leave out Newman and replace Embley with Stevenson.

I know they are the purple pansies from down the road but just remember freo's season last year. Depth only goes so far and the more injuries we have the lesser the quality of the replacements. Sure we have guys like sheppard, stevenson, stevens, mcginnity and butler who could come in now and fill a role i dont think any of them are going to come in and play at a level above any of their contemporaries currently in the side. Sure stevenson, butler and sheppard can come in and play a role down back or even a minor role in the middle we lose a bit more forward firepower with embers going down and on that list of replacements i dont see anyone who is really offensively minded.[/quote]

Sheppard, Stevens, Weedon and McGinnity all have their best years ahead of them. Sheppard is now into his 3rd year and seems to be improving on many levels. He strikes me as the most offensively damaging. Stevens playing in our game plan will do well, strong overhead and strong at the contest.

Strijk is who we need to get over these soft tissue leg injuries and get on with his AFL career.

Maybe a Waters or Smith play further up the ground to allow Butler and / or Brennan to play back.

McGinnity could surprise everyone just on his determination and he too is improving in both skills and decision making.

Swift..........:confused:

Newman will need more time but he looks an exciting prospect.

Neates is a 1000 to 1 chance but you never know.

Did the club really mention/ flag a rookie elevation?

Who would that be? Turnbridge? Dick?

Sheppard, Stevens, Weedon and McGinnity all have their best years ahead of them. Sheppard is now into his 3rd year and seems to be improving on many levels. He strikes me as the most offensively damaging. Stevens playing in our game plan will do well, strong overhead and strong at the contest.

Strijk is who we need to get over these soft tissue leg injuries and get on with his AFL career.

Maybe a Waters or Smith play further up the ground to allow Butler and / or Brennan to play back.

McGinnity could surprise everyone just on his determination and he too is improving in both skills and decision making.

Swift..........

Newman will need more time but he looks an exciting prospect.

Neates is a 1000 to 1 chance but you never know.

Did the club really mention/ flag a rookie elevation?

Who would that be? Turnbridge? Dick?

Find the bolded parts interesting. Nothing against Strijk, good West Perth boy and played well in a terrible side in 2010, but to say Strijk can just come back from (many) injuries and get on with his career, whereas Neates is a huge longshot confuses me.

Neates has dominated at WAFL level this year, and has had a few solid preseasons with us now. His NAB cup was excellent for limited opportunities, and he was really highly rated out of the draft. Is it his size? His unknown status? Why would Neates be a 1000 to 1 shot whereas Strijk is someone with a long AFL career if he can stay healthy? Neates is the much better player for mine, albeit untested at AFL level. Just confused as to why Strijk > Neates in your eyes.

Neates brings speed and hussle, but he's a midget. This limits his viability at the top level. He likely has to carve out a niche, likely as a FP.
Strijk has great skills, and his utility is broad. He can play everywhere except along the spine and in the ruck. Strijk's excellent skills and utility make him ideal for a depth player.
I think Strijk is a better player than Neates. Strijk just needs to get over his injury, build a solid fitness base, and then he will be back to playing good footy. When Strijk has his mojo, he's too good for the WAFL; I can't say that about Neates, though he has potential. Neates is going to look good in a dominant Claremont team.

Injury 2012 Injury Thread