2. Hawthorn
3. West Coast
4. Geelong
5. Carlton
6. Fremantle
7. Sydney
8. North/Ess

9. Essendon/North
10. Adelaide (Really depends on Sanderson, they have the list to do well)
11. Stkilda
12. Richmond
13. Dogs
14. Brisbane
15. Gold Coast
16. Melbourne
17. Port
18. GWS

Sorry melbourne fans

Just a quick note. Brad, get off the crack!

It's a ladder prediction. Just because I haven't predicted an identical ladder to 2011 (which you virtually have) does not mean i'm on crack.

Essendon are in a very good position to make a rapid rise up the ladder.

Our developing players are a year older. The team overall will be fitter and stronger.

We get two senior players back from long term injuries (they may not be in our best 10 (winders and dempsey) BUT they are still important and were in fine form leading up to their injuries).

The fixture we have been dealt is by far one of the more pleasing (in terms of difficulty) we've had over the past few years. (one trip to Perth, one Vs West Coast, Hawthorn and Geelong)

I believe we have every chance of making the Top 4.

The coaching staff will know the players a lot better than they did this time last season and the game plan will be a lot more easily put into place now having had a season to learn and adjust to it. Add an improvement to the defence (full season from Pears, Hooker and Hibberd) will see teams scores against us reduced markedly.

3rd is where we'll be come end of Round 23.

1. Collingwood
2. Hawthorn
3. Geelong
4. Carlton
5. West Coast
6. Essendon
7. Fremantle
8. Sydney

9. North Melbourne
10. St Kilda
11. Richmond
12. Adelaide
13. Melbourne
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Brisbane
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

Top teams remain similar. Geelong lose a few more because they continue to rest a lot of players. Fremantle jump into the eight and battle with the Bombers for HGA. Sydney squeeze into the eight.

Brisbane, Gold Coast and Port remain near the bottom, although all three are more competitive than last year. Western Bulldogs are the big sliders since they have nobody to replace Hall with.

If Injuries and players improve as expected we should see a push for top 4. However i think the ladder will look like this.

1.Hawthorn
2.Geelong
3.Carlton
4.Collingwood
5.Essendon
6.St Kilda
7.North Melbourne
8.Melbourne
9.West Coast
10.Richmond
11.Gold Coast
12.Western Bulldogs
13.Sydney
14.Fremantle
15.Brisbane Lions
16.GWS
17.Adelaide
18.Port Adelaide

Fixed

If Injuries and players improve as expected we should see a push for top 4. However i think the ladder will look like this.

1.Hawthorn
2.Geelong
3.Carlton
4.Collingwood
5.Essendon
6.St Kilda
7.North Melbourne
8.Melbourne
9.West Coast
10.Richmond
11.Gold Coast
12.Western Bulldogs
13.Sydney
14.Port Adelaide
15.Brisbane Lions
16.GWS
17.Adelaide

Who am i missing? Ugh
Freo, I made the same mistake

1. Hawthorn
2. Collingwood
3. Carlton
4. Geelong
5. WCE
6. Essendon
7. St Kilda
8. Fremantle
---------------
9. Nth Melbourne
10. Sydney
11. Adelaide
12. Richmond
13. Brisbane
14. Melbourne
15. Western Bulldogs
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

1. Hawthorn
2. Fremantle
3. Carlton
4. Geelong
5. Pies
6. Essendon
7. Sydney
8. WCE
---------------
9. Nth Melbourne
10. Bitchmond
11. Saints
12. Melbourne
13. Brisbane
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Adelaide
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

Without looking at fixtures and all that

1. Collingwood
2. Hawthorn
3. West Coast
4. Geelong
5. Carlton
6. Fremantle
7. Stkilda
8. Sydney

9. North
10. Essendon
11. Dogs
12. Richmond
13. Adelaide
14. Brisbane
15. Gold Coast
16. Melbourne
17. Port
18. GWS

Sorry melbourne fans

Sorry Melbourne fans?? What about ur own teams fans, 10th??

Cant be bothered atm to do a full ladder but I think we will finish 5th to 7th! 1 more year before we crack the top 4 but as hirdy says we just want to "improve" so i'll take that & say anything 8th & lower is a fail? (baring a really bad run of injuries then i'll just blame our new fitness coach:D)........
I expect us to finish 6-8th but unfortunately I can see us dropping out of the 8. Lack of midfield class and some injuries could really hurt but we should make the 8

And if we do finish 10th i bet you people will be questioning Hird already on this board, come later in the season.

So many good teams at the moment, which is why i see us missing. I think we can probably finish above Stkilda, north and maybe even Sydney but thats about it. Stkilda have shown with trading/drafting ect they are going to give the flag one last crack and a new coaches ego cant go pass this when taking over such a list. They will get Hayes back and need Riewoldt, Gilbert to get back to there best plus Wilkes needs to play apart. With this i can see them finishing above us.

I think we have a better list than the swans, but they just seem to find a way into the top 6-8 every year. Reid, Rohan, Jack, Jetta are only on the upward trend. Im scared of what Reid could do for the swans and how important he becomes. Helps Goodes and Rok play more midfield and give them a dangerous mix.

North will be interesting really toss of a coin stuff as to who has the better list. Time will tell.

1. Hawthorn - will be hungry after their finals loss to the Pies and know they're capable.
2. Collingwood - teething problems will occur with adapting to Bucks in a fulltime head-coach role, but they have the depth of talent.
3. Carlton - midfield depth will get them there. If they had a stronger leading forward than Waite or to work with Waite they could finish stronger.
4. Essendon - Believe. Hocking showed great improvement last year providing an important counter-point to Jobe's influence in the middle. I'm banking on the improvement of Zaharakis, Melksham and Heppell.
5. Geelong - too many retirements now. Too much success for young players too early in their careers riding the coattails of the old guard; premiership hangover for the youngsters. The window is closed.
6. West Coast - too many old people. Lucky with injuries last year.
7. Sydney - A season with Longmire now and a better understanding. Maybe finish 6th.
8. Fremantle - I said during the week that they'd finish in the 8. I should hold that line :confused:
9. Richmond - Next year they'll be top 8. I would have selected Hardwick as part of our coaching team for the 'Latest Recruit' thread. Maybe top 8 this year.
10. North Melbourne - Marred by inconsistency. Harvey won't be able to save the Roos anymore. Lindsay Thomas and Daniel Wells will again play ripper matches every 3 or 4 weeks.
11. St Kilda - the window is well and truly closed. Riewoldt is a shy lil bunny; Kosi just aint that good. Milne can only do so much. Hayes returns which is good, but without Dal Santo and Montagna playing well, no dice. They also lost Dawson. FWIW, I wouldn't have minded seeing Essendon make a play for Clint Jones during trade week.
12. Melbourne - The Dees have heart. Scully does not. His leaving the club might galvanise the playing group but they are mostly too young to simply adapt to a new game plan and find success over 22 rounds. I reckon they should have kept Bailey.
13. Adelaide - Not so long ago won a final. I don't know how much their list has changed but I seem to recall a bad run with injuries? The talent is probably still there.
14. Western Bulldogs - Maybe 13th
15. Brisbane - Vossy's last season; everyone else could see you were trigger happy during your first trade week, Vossy; I can't help feeling as though it set the pattern for a downward trend.
16. Gold Coast - Next year they'll move up rapidly. Very interested in tracking Hunt's progress.
17. Port Adelaide - Boak to EFC at season's end.
18. Greater Western Sydney - Very interested in tracking Izzy's progress. GWS might end up being my second team, ahead of Brisbane.

Now that i'm finished I think we'll probably more realistically finish 5th or 6th... my list remains though.

1. Hawthorn
2. Collingwood
3. Carlton
4. Geelong
5. West Coast
6. Essendon
7. Fremantle
8. Sydney

9. Nth Melbourne
10. Richmond
11. St Kilda
12. Melbourne
13. Brisbane
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Adelaide
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

1. Collingwood
2. Carlton
3. Hawthorn
4. Fremantle
5. Essendon
6. Geelong
7. Sydney
8. West Coast
----------------
9. Richmond
10. North Melbourne
11. Brisbane
12. St.Kilda
13. Melbourne
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Adelaide
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

1. collingwood - losing malthouse wont mean anything. only lost to one team last year and that team may well be finished. beat the hawks with one good quarter of footy. had 3 all australian midfielders and didak had a poor year.

2. hawthorn - second most talented list now

3. west coast - no weaknesses in that team. good key forwards, key defenders, rucks, midfielders, small forwards and rebounding defenders

4. carlton - congratulations tankers goal achieved!! Sam Rowe might go alright. not much improvement left

5. geelong - won a lot of close games last year. menzel out with an acl and retirements will pull this great team back and blood a few youngsters

6. essendon - will win a few more games and find that consistency(against weaker teams we struggle to beat when expected. weapon robinson making the players bigger should help that problem) we were one of the worst hit teams with injury, how many times did we suffer blow outs because of limited interchange rotations. 7 players in our best 22 will crack the 50 game mark if all goes to plan and thats not including hibberd or crameri

7. freo could finish a lot higher. need to learn how to win in melbourne though

8. sydney - according to champion data they have the most above average players in the league ahead of us, but being more experienced, teams like essendon and freo will leap frog them with more improvement

9. st kilda. -getting lenny hayes back will be good for them. they could finish a lot higher or they could finish a lot lower. its very hard to tell

10. richmond - got a handful of potential A graders who they rely on. last year a number of players stepped up.

11. brisbane - will have a bit of a climb up the ladder. they lost a lot of last quarters and are focusing on getting fitter to solve that problem. getting brown back could help

12. melbourne - losing tom scully is a blow but they will have grimes back. who knows how they will go with a new coach

13. western bulldogs - would put them in the bottom 4 but have too much talent. whos going to kick all thier goals now that barry hall is gone.

14. north melbourne - overated developing team. one of the most unskilful that turn the ball over too much, will take some time to improve

15. port adelaide - guess that fight they had a few weeks ago proves they are fired up and want to really compete and improve from last years dismal season. butcher to win the rising star award ahead of carlisle :p

16. adelaide - got a handful of good players i rate. might be too harsh putting them that low, just dont see much upside in the crows. they were flogged by the deemons.

17. gold coast - could rise up a few spots but still very young

18. GWS - may not win a game

keystone agony, this was your idea, want to do the tally?

Yeh mate when i get time i will do it, dont have a lot of time on my hands in the next couple of weeks or so. But when i get some will do it, let a few more put in what they think first :thumbsu:.

Feel free to do it yourself if i take too long due to time.

1. Hawthorn
2. Geelong
3. Collingwood
4. West Coast
5. Carlton
6. Essendon
7. Sydney
8. North Melbourne

9. Richmond
10. Melbourne
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Adelaide
13. St. Kilda
14. Brisbane
15. Fremantle
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. Greater Western Sydney

Hawks - will have the hunger back big time and will finish top 4

Coll - will continue to do what they do despite coaching changes.

Eagles - last year was no flash in the pan and they simply win at home.

Geel - a few old cats gone but some class kittens to take their place.

Blues - could be anywhere from 5th to 10th. Not convinced they are top 4.

Freo - anything could happen here but they almost made it with a huge injury list last year. Danger is they are Freo which dictates they could finish anywhere from 4th to 14th.

Essendon - think 7th to 10th will be their go again.

North - i rate most of their midfield. Lack of proven talls pulls them up.

Melbourne - could easily be up as far as 6th if the big sweep has worked.

Sydney - another in the mix for the 6th to 10th spot.

Richmond - have some really good young blokes but not enough to move them up just yet.

Brisbane - if they have Brown all year then they could challenge but you can not put them all in.

Saints - think that after a few years at the top they will need to take stock. Looked a broken team last year, can they get it back ? If they can get their mojo back they have the talent to finish in the 8.

Gold Coast - will start to make some inroads.

Bulldogs - rebuild time.

Crows - think it is still rebuilding time but they could surprise.

Port - like the crows they are rebuilding and also need to find something to bind them together as a unit.

GWS- they will simply be too young.

Bulldogs

Gold Coast
Brisbane
Port Adelaide
GWS

This will be the season of the devil 666. The top 6 will be clearly better than the rest of the league, any of the next 6 could sneak into the finals but I think with our draw we should be good for a spot, and the bottom 6 combined would struggle to beat one of the top teams on their day. This year there will be some massive percentages.

1. Hawthorn
2. Geelong
3. Collingwood
4. Carlton
5. West Coast
6. Essendon
7. Fremantle
8. North Melbourne
--------------------------------
9. Sydney
10. St. Kilda
11. Richmond
12. Adelaide
13. Melbourne
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Gold Coast
16. Brisbane
17. Port Adelaide
18. Greater Western Sydney

1. Collingwood - Their key players are still in their prime, have also had some good drafting whilst on top which is hard to do, will be as good or better than last year.
2. Hawthorn - Their plethora of solid, talented, big bodied midfielders will see them right at the top of the ladder.
3. Carlton - They weren't far off top 4 last year and they haven't lost anyone of value (although Scotland/Waite are getting up there in age now), this is their time now. A good run with injury and the premiership is not out of reach.
4. Geelong - They've done a superb job of keeping their list rejuvinated, I think it may be a case of 'a mile too many' but I still think their experience and talent will get them to a prelim, then they will probably hang around 8th for a couple of years as they rebuild.
5. Freo - Their list seems primed, they have a new coach but I think top 4 may still be hard for them with a new gameplan. They are likely to be stronger on the injury front than last year. Expect them to challenge the year after but their window will be relatively small IMO.
6. Essendon - We have suffered through quite a few years of mediocrity and rebuilding but I think this is the year we really start to see the genuine progress and consistency. We will probably be top 4 early (with the draw particularly) but will fall down to around this spot as the year goes on, I'm tipping us to win a final. Expect people to marvel at the fact we actually have a decent midfield.
7. West Coast - They are good but I think they had a lot of factors go right for them last year. Injuries (depth was never tested), draw (they had a wooden spooners draw), form (their old players all found their best form again), I still like them though and if they do have a good injury run could finish as high as 3rd.
8. North Melbourne - Decent side, really easy draw, they should be able to secure a spot in the 8. The 2 games against Essendon could be strong indicators of where they end up.
9. Sydney - You can count on them to always be thereabouts so I slid them in here. Mature list, they will beat the teams below them regularly but don't appear to be going anywhere fast. 5-10 range for me.
10. St.Kilda - Their top few players will save them from a bottom 4 finish which is about where their bottom 10 players would place them. Expect their stars to continue to decline, I'm not expecting that much from a 32 year old Hayes coming back from a knee reco.
11. Richmond - They are slowly increasing the amount of decent players in their best 22 (to go with their elite 4 or 5), but unless they have an amazing run with injury still lack sufficient depth for top 8.
12. Melbourne - With a new coach they may play a bit more consistently but I still don't really think they are going places anytime soon. They need another couple of years to challenge.
13- Brisbane - Seem to have got a talented young midfield together, will win most of their games at the Gabba and very few away. Could finish as high as about 10th. Not much depth. A few years and they could be a force again.
14- Adelaide - Hard to work out where to slot them in, their top players aren't really THAT good, Thompson aside. Thompson is more likely to play worse rather than better. They have a fair amount of decent young players but nothing that really stands out. I don't really know where to rate them to be honest so here they are.
15- Port Adelaide - Ok they really suck but they should be able to beat out GC and GWS. Butcher looks a real talent and will make a difference if fit. Probably at least another season in bottom 6 after this one too.
16- Gold Coast - I could see them winning about 5-6 games this year if they have a good injury run but probably more likely around the 4 games mark. Lots of talented youngsters, still too young to perform consistently though.
17 - GWS - Will not win a game unless they have a ton of luck vs GC/Port. In the second half of the season will be thrashed continually and teams will rest their best players vs them. Ward and Scully aren't even in the stratosphere of Ablett at the moment.

1. Collingwood - New coach may inject some life into this outstanding side. They have a lot to prove.

2. Hawthorn (my premiership pick)

3. Geelong - Last year was impressive, good group of kids adding depth to an aging but still brilliant list.

4. Carlton - With a pig on my noise. I see the Blues as a treat. Murphy is close to if not better than Judd and the side looks well balanced across the ground.

5. West Coast Eagles - Impressive last season, best ruck duo and that home ground advantage is a big plus.

6. Fremantle - Injuries wrecked last season yet they were not far off the eight. they would be unlucky to have a repeat of those injuries therefore should see Finals footy.

7. Essendon - Last year was promising, the confidence should be higher and now the club as a good core group of players that can match it with most.

8. North Melbourne - People say they have an easy draw and last year they showed some positive signs

---

9. St Kilda - I think we need to take a few things into account when thinking about the Saints. Last season they clearly had a disrupted pre-season that impacted on the club culture. I think with a more straight forward pre-season and new coach this side should not be discounted.

10. Sydney - Just keep winning the close ones.

11. Richmond - I think the Tigers are a chance to make the eight this season but until they actually do I will place them outside of it.

12. Western Bulldogs - Unsure how the Dogs will go this season.

13. Adelaide - The same as the Dogs, could spring a surprise and threaten for the eight before fading late season.

14. Melbourne - Could be similar to the Dogs and the Crows and for a large part of the season be in contention for the eight but I think they wont be able to maintain it all season.

15. Brisbane - Could threaten for the eight but will need a fully fit J.Brown, if he goes down, so will they.

16. Gold Coast - Didn't deserve the wooden spoon last season and with a year under their belt will be more competitive, not necessarily in the numbers of wins but with less big losses.

17. Port Adelaide - I see very little to be positive about, only way is up.

18. Greater Western Sydney - Will struggle, less mature aged talent than the GCS and with at least one young gun out injured.

Ok here goes

1.Collingwood
2. Hawthorn
3. Geelong
4. Carlton (finally the rebuild will lead to a prelim)
5. St. Kilda (they are falling away but Hayes' last hurrah and an easy stretch in the draw)
6. Fremantle
7. Essendon
8. West Coast

9. North Melbourne (east draw will see them this high)
10. Sydney (Surely they can't continually make the finals carrying some utter spuds)
10. Richmond (on the improve and will have some good wins)
11. Brisbane (if Merrett and Brown play all year else they will drop to 14th)
12. Melbourne
13. Adelaide
14. Western Bulldogs (I think this might be wrong but not sure where to put them)
15. Port Adelaide (I also think they could do better than this if things click for them)
16. Gold Coast (still babies, Ablett or not)
17. GWS

Preview 2012 Ladder Prediction