Mega Thread 2012 List Management thread

I like these promotions. Evans can play - just had a really unlucky run with injuries. Give Magner another year on the rookies - he faded badly later. Nicho was a no-brainer.

I think Dunn is still uncontracted as well. I hope we keep JMacDonald

I was trying to find out who was/wasn't contracted found this from August:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/demons-in-purgatory-20120809-23x3q.html

From that list, and after trade period; the following are still uncontracted: Dunn, Macdonald, Sellar, Bartram and Davis.

Id expect at least one to go if Jacobs is available. Also haven't heard much about Bartram's knee; early retirement maybe?

Also haven't heard much about Bartram's knee; early retirement maybe?
Definite possibility. For some reason I had the impression that it wasn't recovering as well as they'd hoped but for the life of me I can't remember if that was from an article, someone with a source on here or some sort of BigFooty withdrawal symptom from when my internet was disconnected last month.

I was trying to find out who was/wasn't contracted found this from August:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/demons-in-purgatory-20120809-23x3q.html

From that list, and after trade period; the following are still uncontracted: Dunn, Macdonald, Sellar, Bartram and Davis.

Id expect at least one to go if Jacobs is available. Also haven't heard much about Bartram's knee; early retirement maybe?

Poor Bartram, I really hope his knee isn't totally destroyed regardless whether he plays footy at the highest level again. Out of those guys I'd like to see MacDonald, Dunn and Sellar retained, Bartram and Davis maybe not

I reckon all of those players will stay, can't see any more being cut. If the draft doesn't run too deep, as has been stated by many, there's not much point holding picks into the 70s.

Do we still have to use draft picks to officially upgrade Nicholson and Evans? Those would be the use of our late picks.

Out of those guys I'd like to see MacDonald, Dunn and Sellar retained, Bartram and Davis maybe not

They'll probably all stay... I didn't know the primary list is 40 now, not 38.

But from what you said, I'd prefer to keep Dunn, Davis and Bartram(If his knee is OK). MacDonald and Sellar can stay or go, it wouldn't bother me either way

I reckon all of those players will stay, can't see any more being cut. If the draft doesn't run too deep, as has been stated by many, there's not much point holding picks into the 70s.

Do we still have to use draft picks to officially upgrade Nicholson and Evans? Those would be the use of our late picks.

Yeah, we use picks to promote rookies.

As it stands:
4 - Live
27 - Viney
49 - Live
53 - Live
70 - Nicholson
73 - Evans

As it stands:
4 - Live
27 - Viney
49 - Live
53 - Live
70 - Nicholson
73 - Evans

Cheers.

Further to my last post, can't see any point cutting serviceable role players for a long shot at pick 70. These players - Dunn, Macdonald, Sellar, Jetta, Bartram - have been kept because they showed the attitude that Neeld was after.
I don't think anyone would question that the likes of Petterd, Gysberts, Martin, Morton and Cook had heaps more talent than the guys still on the list, but for me it's the attitude to training and preparing that is key. What's the point of drafting all those talented kids if they don't develop the right mental traits to succeed at the highest level?
I'm not necessarily bagging those players directly, but our problem has been that we haven't had the leadership (both in terms of on-field senior players and off-field development from coaches) to develop these kids from super-talented juniors who were the best players in their teams, into match-hardened AFL players who can deliver consistency.
So I reckon Neeld's plan is to develop really strong culture with those he deems able to work hard enough, and then look at getting in the flashy, highly-skilled players once a really solid system is in place. The team may look very workmanlike for the next year or two (especially if we lose draft picks) but IMO it will be for the longer term, when we can draft a kid like Morton or Cook and instill AFL attitudes into him, as well as developing his body well enough to play good footy. They won't be gifted early games under Neeld - they'll have to work their arses off to win a place ahead of potentially less talented, but really solid, teammates.

They'll probably all stay... I didn't know the primary list is 40 now, not 38.

But from what you said, I'd prefer to keep Dunn, Davis and Bartram(If his knee is OK). MacDonald and Sellar can stay or go, it wouldn't bother me either way

Absolutely no way we'd get rid of Sellar after the year he had. He's going to be very important as cover for our KPD. If we chopped a key def it would be Davis not Sellar.

As it stands:
4 - Live
27 - Viney
49 - Live
53 - Live
70 - Nicholson
73 - Evans

Yep, this is how it's looking atm with assumably 1 PSD pick left up our sleeve.

I doubt we'll make wholesale changes with the remaining uncontracted players but the club may just want to keep its options open with maybe 1 or 2 depending on who they have their eyes on with delisted FA.

Nicho and Evans had been on the rookie list for 3 years, so we either had to promote or delist. The club obviously rates them both, we can keep magner on the rookie list for 2 more years and play him as nominated rookie or elevate him due to long term injury. Smart move in the end.

Once heard an official talking VERY VERY highly of Evans

Was seemingly very well rated until he had some injury concerns in the jnrs

I know the club was ecstatic to get him as a rookie

Evans could have had a third year on the rookie list - considering he's an interstater.

This was his 2nd year.

Nicho had to be promoted or cut, but obviously deserved a promotion