Mega Thread 2012 List Management thread

Since his smiling incident after the Sydney debacle, Syl has put his head down and arse up, thats all i can ask for, easily one of top two players during the 2nd half of the year. Keep and play midfield next year. He provides grunt.
Except for the games where he didn't

Curious as to where Jack Martin and others like him fit given we'd have to give a pick up for him.

Suppose Grundy goes at 3 then, a classy midfielder at 4 (hopefully Kennedy because he serves as a small forward too), another classy midfielder at 13, Viney as a second rounder F/S, then our third rounder as trade bait for someone who can't get a game that can play outside mid and can get the ball (Travis Colyer/Simon Hogan comes to mind), before using our last rounder to elevate Nicho.

At least, that's how I see it.

We won't take Kennedy with pick 13 let alone 4

Port are trying to get Maloney.

Better get used to spelling MOLONEY's name right then :D

I just heard that Cale Morton is gonna retire from footy to take up boxing.

Sorry can't reveal my source though its just what i heard. It's my mail. It's what some random guy might've said on twitter then deleted it. Jason Akermanis thinks it could happen.

Just heard ..

Bent Moloney to Port (not really fussed)

Steph Martin to Pies (would not be happy)

Stef's a dumb footballer, and honestly the difference between his best and worst is too great

The exact kind of guy we need to let go of whilst he has SOME currency

I just heard that Cale Morton is gonna retire from footy to take up boxing.

Sorry can't reveal my source though its just what i heard. It's my mail. It's what some random guy might've said on twitter then deleted it. Jason Akermanis thinks it could happen.

Maybe Barry Hall will actually have the plums to finally front up in the ring if this is true :thumbsu:

Stef's a dumb footballer, and honestly the difference between his best and worst is too great

The exact kind of guy we need to let go of whilst he has SOME currency

I think Martin is the player we still need he is a nice no 2 ruck option cause he can go forward or play in another postions, Think it would be a very bad idea to trade him.

Curious as to where Jack Martin and others like him fit given we'd have to give a pick up for him.

Suppose Grundy goes at 3 then, a classy midfielder at 4 (hopefully Kennedy because he serves as a small forward too), another classy midfielder at 13, Viney as a second rounder F/S, then our third rounder as trade bait for someone who can't get a game that can play outside mid and can get the ball (Travis Colyer/Simon Hogan comes to mind), before using our last rounder to elevate Nicho.

At least, that's how I see it.
if we got this then I'd be happy:
3 Grundy
4 Toumpas
23 Viney
3rd round + Petterd and Bate for Koby Stevens and 3rd Pick
then elevate Nicho

I think Martin is the player we still need he is a nice no 2 ruck option cause he can go forward or play in another postions, Think it would be a very bad idea to trade him.

I like Martin, when he's on he looks great.

But I don't think he does enough in these other positions

He's not great up forward, nor great down back

He's decent in the ruck, but with Russian, Fitz, Gawn in the ruck and Clark / Sellar able to pinch hit, I think he may struggle

If the offer was good, I reckon we'd take it in a heartbeat

Can't agree - i'm using the Ryan Ferguson precedent to get this deal done.

I'm gonna say we will have 5/6 picks in this years draft. So the 5 players that should go are Joel Macdonald, Jake Spencer, Mathew Bate, Rookie list Liam Jurrah and of course Brad Green has retired.
I'd further test the trading waters with the likes of Cale Morton, Jamie Bennell, Ricky Petterd, Troy Davis and Colin Garland.
We are then left with the question marks over Clint Bartram (may retire through injury) and Brent Moloney (free agent).
One of these picks will be used on Nicho who is virtually a straight swap for Jurrah, and presumably another will be used on Viney.
This would leave 3/4 draft picks of which one can be used at the trading table.

I'm gonna say we will have 5/6 picks in this years draft. So the 5 players that should go are Joel Macdonald, Jake Spencer, Mathew Bate, Rookie list Liam Jurrah and of course Brad Green has retired.
I'd further test the trading waters with the likes of Cale Morton, Jamie Bennell, Ricky Petterd, Troy Davis and Colin Garland.
We are then left with the question marks over Clint Bartram (may retire through injury) and Brent Moloney (free agent).
One of these picks will be used on Nicho who is virtually a straight swap for Jurrah, and presumably another will be used on Viney.
This would leave 3/4 draft picks of which one can be used at the trading table.
This is assuming nobody else picks up Jurrah, whether it's through the ND, PSD or RD.

It won't happen. Ever.

Can't agree - i'm using the Ryan Ferguson precedent to get this deal done.

with players like Jamar Spencer and Gawn i think only 1 of them can play, i cant see 2 of them in the 1 side working in todays footy. Unless your happy with the Jamar and Seller combo.

Well - the way I see it, we can get another body for cheap to do what martin has done this year (nearly **** all). Whilst offloading him at maximum currency.

Would he be playing in our next premiership side? Don't think so at all. Melbourne's problem has been holding players who went to seed. About time we showed we had the balls.

FFS, there should be a blanket ban on "let's rookie Player X to free up a spot for the ND" calls. IT DOESN'T WORK LIKE THAT PEOPLE. We would have to delist Jurrah, then he would have to apply for the National Draft (providing he still wanted to), then he would have to get through the ENTIRE draft and into the rookie draft before we could take him again. I know he seems like a risky prospect with the court case and everything, but it's equally risky to assume that every other club would be scared off by an amazingly talented player with a shaky trial hanging over his head.

Hmmm, I thought this was the case, but got told otherwise. In that case keep him.

Delist
Bate
Bennell (offer chance to rookie list if no else does)
MacDonald
Moloney (I love him, but he would have to take a massive pay cut, don't think he will)
Green (retired)
Jurrah (Pending)

Try to Recruit (via free agency)
Boak/Wellingham (One or both, if possible. Heaps on here are going on about how they are not A graders and you may be right. However they sure as well are better than most of our mids)
Goddard (You never know)

Trade
Morton (For another teams misfiring player, who had potential or a 3rd pick)
Garland (Put the feelers out to see if we get a good offer. Do this purely because we a have good KPD stocks and he would have the most currency excluding Frawley)

Now I don't know a hell of a lot about the draft prospects other than what I have read on here and from experts ext. So if wont go into who I think we should draft, more of what I think we should do with the picks.

If we get Viney with a 2nd rounder.

Pick 3 Best available
Pick 4 & Pick 13 I would offer for trade if we could land a top line A grade midfielder. In actually fact I would like to see one get traded for a top midfielder. (We don't need more kids)

If we get Viney with pick 3, I would still like us to use one of the other first round picks on a quality player already in the system

Trades I would like to see us attempt
Pick 4 & Garland (maybe even a 3rd rounder as well) for Dal Santo (read a few rumors that he maybe on the table)
Pick 4 for Boak & 3rd rounder