Mega Thread 2012 List Management thread

Delist
Bate
Bennell (offer chance to rookie list if no else does)
MacDonald
Moloney (I love him, but he would have to take a massive pay cut, don't think he will)
Green (retired)
Jurrah (Pending)

Try to Recruit (via free agency)
Boak/Wellingham (One or both, if possible. Heaps on here are going on about how they are not A graders and you may be right. However they sure as well are better than most of our mids)
Goddard (You never know)

Trade
Morton (For another teams misfiring player, who had potential or a 3rd pick)
Garland (Put the feelers out to see if we get a good offer. Do this purely because we a have good KPD stocks and he would have the most currency excluding Frawley)

Now I don't know a hell of a lot about the draft prospects other than what I have read on here and from experts ext. So if wont go into who I think we should draft, more of what I think we should do with the picks.

If we get Viney with a 2nd rounder.

Pick 3 Best available
Pick 4 & Pick 13 I would offer for trade if we could land a top line A grade midfielder. In actually fact I would like to see one get traded for a top midfielder. (We don't need more kids)

If we get Viney with pick 3, I would still like us to use one of the other first round picks on a quality player already in the system

Trades I would like to see us attempt
Pick 4 & Garland (maybe even a 3rd rounder as well) for Dal Santo (read a few rumors that he maybe on the table)
Pick 4 for Boak & 3rd rounder

Good to see your finally jumped off the Moloney train as well, Sivart, i knew you would come around.

Good post though, realistic ideas and trade scenario's rather than the derp derp Moloney for Crameri crap some have been posting lately.

(We don't need more kids)

Trades I would like to see us attempt
Pick 4 & Garland (maybe even a 3rd rounder as well) for Dal Santo (read a few rumors that he maybe on the table)
Dal Santo will be 29 in Febuary, pick 4 and Garland for him will go down as one of the worst trades in history, Dal Santo will be retired in a few years while pick 4 will be flying.

When u say we dont need more kids, the kids we have that you are referring to aren't kids anymore, Watts, Blease and Strauss will be heading into their 5th seasons, Trengove, Gysberts and Tapscott will be heading into their 4th, time for these guys to stand up and take their games to another level. Nothing wrong with drafting more kids, every club does it every year.

Dal Santo is a free agent anyway.

Agree we need a big step up from the guys heading into their 4th and 5th seasons.

Watts, Trengove, Blease, Strauss, Tapscott, Gysberts is a pretty talented bunch.

Dal Santo is a free agent anyway.

Agree we need a big step up from the guys heading into their 4th and 5th seasons.

Watts, Trengove, Blease, Strauss, Tapscott, Gysberts is a pretty talented bunch.

No its not, Barry Pretenderghastly has led you to believe this. Its pretty ordinary actually.

Blease is the only player in that whole group with any X factor/can win a game off his own boot (Once every 5 games is the problem). Watts and to a lesser extent, Trengove have potential to be good, 50/50 wheather either has greatness in them. The other three are pretty much run of the mill garbage you can pick up from the VFL.

No its not, Barry Pretenderghastly has led you to believe this. Its pretty ordinary actually.

Blease is the only player in that whole group with any X factor/can win a game off his own boot (Once every 5 games is the problem). Watts and to a lesser extent, Trengove have potential to be good, 50/50 wheather either has greatness in them. The other three are pretty much run of the mill garbage you can pick up from the VFL.

I doubt the FD hold the same view as you - I'd be more inclined to blame the prior coaching than the talent of the players.

I agree Prendergast/Bailey had the wrong idea about recruiting, they wanted players with upside but Bailey neglected to coach them properly.

I remember Bailey thinking that feeding players games would see them improve.

I doubt the FD hold the same view as you - I'd be more inclined to blame the prior coaching than the talent of the players.

Yea, blame Bailey for not developing them. lol :confused:

Strauss i have been saying from day dot isnt up to it.

Tappy is a one trick pony.

Gys is Mark McGough MKII.

Terrible 1st round picks, if im proven wrong so be it, ill gladly wear the egg on my face.

Remember when people were bagging Blease (when he was playing in the VFL) and i said he has the goods?

Im not negative towards every young player we have, but i pride myself on being able to spot the duds when i see them.

What's 'dud worthy' about Gys, Tappy and Strauss?

I don't think any will be stars but they could all be good AFL players.

At picks 11, 18 and 19 I'll take good AFL players.

Are you kidding, your going to have a bad time if you expect haf your list to win games of their own boot lol. Out of those blokes I'd have Blease at 4 in players picked. Watts Trengove Tapscott and Gysbertz, give them a full pre season and the results will be telling. How impressive was Tappy in the first half on the weekend? Strauss is my only question mark, but he broke his leg so he cant be judged harshly.

What's 'dud worthy' about Gys, Tappy and Strauss?

I don't think any will be stars but they could all be good AFL players.

At picks 11, 18 and 19 I'll take good AFL players.
Or you could take players like Jack Redden, Luke Shuey, Dayne Beams or Jackson Trengove.

All three of those were in Strauss' draft year.

Shuey was taken before Strauss.

What's your point?

And Trengove? Riiiight.

Just been looking at fantom drafts and googling a few players and have come up with my ideal top 4 picks, if we can get Viney with second round I would love to take Oliver Wines and Brodie Gundy at 3 & 4 and would jump on Stringer at 13 if he gets that far. That would set up a mid field to kill. Grimms, Trengrove, Jones, Gysberts, Blease, McKensie, Viney, Wines, Stringer. Wines sounds like a ripper, good read here. http://www.footytragic.com/blog/planning-for-2013/planning-for-2013-oliver-wines/

Are you kidding, your going to have a bad time if you expect haf your list to win games of their own boot lol. Out of those blokes I'd have Blease at 4 in players picked. Watts Trengove Tapscott and Gysbertz, give them a full pre season and the results will be telling. How impressive was Tappy in the first half on the weekend? Strauss is my only question mark, but he broke his leg so he cant be judged harshly.

Broken leg doesnt excuse no defensive skills. As i said from day one his kicking is a long way off 'elite' as Pretendergast put it.

I like Tappy, love his aggression, but he is slow, doesnt kick as well as advertised either. He will only ever be a foot soldier in a good side.

Gys, disposal is disgusting for a guy picked in the top 12. Has no pace, and a Cale Morton body. Consider this, we traded pick 12 for Mitch Clark yet we drafted Gysberts with a similar pick. Pukin' me guts up!

All three of those were in Strauss' draft year.

Shuey was taken before Strauss.

What's your point?

And Trengove? Riiiight.

Jackson Trengove will be a very good player. Mark my words. Id have him any day ahead of any of our key position stock under 22yo.

Broken leg doesnt excuse no defensive skills. As i said from day one his kicking is a long way off 'elite' as Pretendergast put it.

I like Tappy, love his aggression, but he is slow, doesnt kick as well as advertised either. He will only ever be a foot soldier in a good side.

Gys, disposal is disgusting for a guy picked in the top 12. Has no pace, and a Cale Morton body. Consider this, we traded pick 12 for Mitch Clark yet with drafted Gysberts with a similar pick. Pukin' me guts up!
Ditto Blease? I think blease has plenty to offer, if he learns how to defend, but I think Strauss needs to get bigger in the gym and develop a stronger core, he will get stronger through the legs and will be able to run out games better. Tapscott is Paul Chapman in the making, this I am confident on. I'm more than happy to be quoted on that.
Gysbertz is Joel Corey in the making, and I'm also happy to be quoted on that.

28 other players were taken before a team drafted Beams. He obviously wasn't rated that highly before the draft or he would've gone first round. Collingwood took Sidebottom before him, yet Beams is arguably the better player. Not only that, he got drafted into a team establishing itself as a squad loaded with stars, excellent facilities and the probably best coaching group.

I hate it when people say "but we should've picked x player" when that player is performing above their draft standing. Drafting isn't a flawless exercise, some players show great signs for AFL footy and don't deliver, others the reverse, and some simply perform as expected. We need to work with the players we have and get over what we could've done. For all we know, the shitty environment we apparently have at the club might've left Beams performing like a spud, whilst one of Tappy/Gys/Strauss/whoever might be in Collingwoods best 22 if they were drafted by them.

28 other players were taken before a team drafted Beams. He obviously wasn't rated that highly before the draft or he would've gone first round. Collingwood took Sidebottom before him, yet Beams is arguably the better player. Not only that, he got drafted into a team establishing itself as a squad loaded with stars, excellent facilities and the probably best coaching group.

I hate it when people say "but we should've picked x player" when that player is performing above their draft standing. Drafting isn't a flawless exercise, some players show great signs for AFL footy and don't deliver, others the reverse, and some simply perform as expected. We need to work with the players we have and get over what we could've done. For all we know, the shitty environment we apparently have at the club might've left Beams performing like a spud, whilst one of Tappy/Gys/Strauss/whoever might be in Collingwoods best 22 if they were drafted by them.
Agree we never look at the positives, look at Jeremy Howe at pick 30, the steal of the draft imo

Ditto Blease? I think blease has plenty to offer, if he learns how to defend, but I think Strauss needs to get bigger in the gym and develop a stronger core, he will get stronger through the legs and will be able to run out games better. Tapscott is Paul Chapman in the making, this I am confident on. I'm more than happy to be quoted on that.
Gysbertz is Joel Corey in the making, and I'm also happy to be quoted on that.

Blease is a completely different beast, as i said he has the X factor, has pace and match winning abilities and he plays in a completely different position. Strauss has zipo. Not once have i watched him and been impressed.

Gys, disposal is disgusting for a guy picked in the top 12. Has no pace, and a Cale Morton body. Consider this, we traded pick 12 for Mitch Clark yet we drafted Gysberts with a similar pick. Pukin' me guts up!

You should watch Strauss more carefully - if anything I think his defensive side has been why he's got a spot in the side at the moment.

Dal Santo will be 29 in Febuary, pick 4 and Garland for him will go down as one of the worst trades in history, Dal Santo will be retired in a few years while pick 4 will be flying.

When u say we dont need more kids, the kids we have that you are referring to aren't kids anymore, Watts, Blease and Strauss will be heading into their 5th seasons, Trengove, Gysberts and Tapscott will be heading into their 4th, time for these guys to stand up and take their games to another level. Nothing wrong with drafting more kids, every club does it every year.
your right, not well thought out by me. Maybe pick 13 is a bit more accurate

Stef Martin is a must keep, almost 26 57 games and will have 5 years of development in him come 2013. Gawn needs more time a) to get over his reco and b) to develop as all ruckmen do. Spencer is competitive but not up it, Sellar is better off forward or back. Clark is best up forward and Fitzy is looking good after a really good year at VFL level. Off all our back up options behind Jamar Martin is clearly the best and the most versatile. His middle patch last year when Jamar went down he was as good as any ruckmen.

Sylvia is a must keep he is the best kick at the club, has speed and strength we need. Yes he is inconsistent but his body hasnt allowed him a full tilt at it. I feel f we traded him and he got his body right he would explode and we are stuck with another kid we need to develop. He is a must keep IMO.

Moloney played his last game for the club, poor form, poor attitude. Read between lines of what his manager and Neeld have said he won't be at the club next year.

With all this money we have to play with and CLoke now not in our calculations, who are we going to spend the money on?

I get the feeling we will land the big fish Travis Boak as we will offer hm much more than any other team, and we can also satisfy Port in a trade.

Reckon we are a lock for Chris Knights too.