2012 list management.

Give me Hine anyday over Tape. Never been completely sold on Tape and he was gifted many games where Hine was never given that luxury. Hine has done it the hard way. I am sure if Hine had played as many games as Tape he would be a very handy player.

Totally different players. Hine type players are a dime a dozen, they are everywhere both in afl/lower leagues. Tape can play both key back/loose man/running back. Hard at the contest and is one of McKennas favourite players no matter what the fans say.

It is hard to find players like Tape and would be sort after by other clubs if available. Best 22 lock who will take the oppositions no2/3 forward all day.

Wouldn't mind us throwing Brent Maloney a lifelIne. Get him on the cheap and is one of Melbournes few top players. In a good age group and a great hard mid who can find the goals. Would fill Caddys void mid term should he move on and offers depth.

Could be a straight swap trade for Toy?
i like this trade.. i doubt he would want to come to gc tho, maybe a premiership side?

I reckon Moloney is a hack. I would not want him anywhere near our team. He'd just be taking a youngsters spot. In fact I reckon he wouldn't even get a game in our midfield. He is NOT the future. Seriously do not need/want.

Totally different players. Hine type players are a dime a dozen, they are everywhere both in afl/lower leagues. Tape can play both key back/loose man/running back. Hard at the contest and is one of McKennas favourite players no matter what the fans say.

It is hard to find players like Tape and would be sort after by other clubs if available. Best 22 lock who will take the oppositions no2/3 forward all day.

My opinion is that I think Hine is a better player who can also play in various positions. Your opinion is you like Tape better. We will agree to disagree. Just because Bluey likes him does not mean he is a good player. He has been covered while he has been injured very easily.

Isn't that what most said about Warnock?

Not at all. Warnock was a huge get IMO.

Moloney, honestly, would struggle to fit into our midfield. It's our strongest section of the squad, and arguably, when fit and non-injured, surely ranks fairly high as one of the best in the competition.

The difference with Warnock is that he could really offer something as a KP player, giving time for our young kids to develop. Something not needed with our midfield with Ablett, Rischitelli, Hunt and sometimes Brennan already there.

Hey guys, just curious with report in paper today that Josh Toy wants to come back to Victoria, what would GC be looking at getting for him? First Round Pick or something along those lines?

Good question, as I'm not sure how much value he is worth. Excellent junior, but really struggled to have an impact at AFL. Can't see us getting a first rounder for him.

Would hope for something around pick #30, but that's taking a wild guess at it.

Good question, as I'm not sure how much value he is worth. Excellent junior, but really struggled to have an impact at AFL. Can't see us getting a first rounder for him.

Would hope for something around pick #30, but that's taking a wild guess at it.

Cheers. Wow is he going that bad? Cant say ive taken much notice of him, just knew he was highly rated as a junior and people say probably would gone top 3 or 5(?) Maybe new start is what he needs.

Maybe we can work out deal for Caddy & Toy. ;) Do you have any ruckman you will be looking to offload? You seemed to recruit bucket load of them.

Nicholls will be the ruck that we trade away at this stage. Heaps of talent, just needs a year or two in develop. Huge leap, good prospect. Just needs work on his around the ground movement.

And yeah, Toy is going that bad. I think he registered a single touch in the game against GWS after being subbed on at 3Q time, back in round 7. Not sure he's played a senior game since.

Not at all. Warnock was a huge get IMO.

Moloney, honestly, would struggle to fit into our midfield. It's our strongest section of the squad, and arguably, when fit and non-injured, surely ranks fairly high as one of the best in the competition.

The difference with Warnock is that he could really offer something as a KP player, giving time for our young kids to develop. Something not needed with our midfield with Ablett, Rischitelli, Hunt and sometimes Brennan already there.
Seriously? Couldn't slot him in?

Schade is a player I liked the look of.
I see he's been named on the extended bench for the Hawks game.

Hows he been developing of late?
I'd been keep for West Coast to trade for him.

Very well, and we won't trade him. The club has said a few times that we've been very careful with Schade not to rush him in, since he was very scrawny when we got him. He'll be one of our future pillars in defence when he fills out a bit more. Loved the look of him in the 2s, but yeah. Don't want to rush him.

Interesting to see Nicholls/Piers named this week to possibly play. There is an injury crisis I know but perhaps also a late play to boost their trade value?

If Toy was trade on his own, id like to see a pick upgrade, not an additional draft pick. Eg Toy and pick 40 for pick 20. Something along that line.

Interesting to see Nicholls/Piers named this week to possibly play. There is an injury crisis I know but perhaps also a late play to boost their trade value?

If Toy was trade on his own, id like to see a pick upgrade, not an additional draft pick. Eg Toy and pick 40 for pick 20. Something along that line.

Something like your 2nd round pick for Saints 1st round pick? Or 3rd round - 2nd round?

For really?

Is there anyone on the list you don't rate worthy of a 1st/2nd round pick trade?

Doesnt work like that mate, we would be giving up a 2nd/3rd rounder in that scenario so it evens out. I would rate Toy 2nd round pick worthy right now. Lets not forget he was tabbed as a top 3 pick as a junior and is still quite young.

Pick 40 for 20 is a 2nd round for 1st round upgrade.

You are absolutely dreaming if you think any club will trade themselves out of the first round, for a kid who's barely had a game, let alone a good one, for a side like GC - who's odds on to be delisted.

It's clear you guys aren't forgetting his exploits as a 17 year old. It's about all he's got going for him. That was 4 years ago.

There are plenty of big bulky juniors who never improve past a certain point. Toy is looking like one of them.

Yes, and lots of Essendon snuffies think Sam Lonergan + "something else" = a good trade as well.
An average player is average player.
Toy doesn't even qualify as that, on what he's shown.

Agree with this, Toy performance wise and maybe even committment to professional football has been below average.

I bet if we all look back early 2011 we had him in our best 22 on the bench, back pocket, or half back somewhere like that...2 years on...has shown absolutely nothing in the reserves and seniors when given the opportunity.

I would rate Toy 2nd round pick worthy right now.
One question - why? Why do you think that?

What has he shown over any Joe Bloggs 2nd round draftee, who's also had a good year in 17s and then followed it up with a good year in 18s, and hasn't had the benefit of 2 AFL pre-seasons like Toy has??

That is what other clubs would have to ask themselves.

I suspect their answer will be "not much at all".

One question - why? Why do you think that?

What has he shown over any Joe Bloggs 2nd round draftee, who's also had a good year in 17s and then followed it up with a good year in 18s, and hasn't had the benefit of 2 AFL pre-seasons like Toy has??

That is what other clubs would have to ask themselves.

I suspect their answer will be "not much at all".

He Kept Motlop pretty well held in our first win against Port? :D

Said Motlop may or may not have been delisted at the end of that year. ;)

He Kept Motlop pretty well held in our first win against Port? :D

Said Motlop may or may not have been delisted at the end of that year. ;)

One thing Bluey brought up a couple weeks in a presser, is to help judge a player, have a look at them when they are playing someone their own age. Obviously this is only comparable at early stages of development, but you can't bring that line out for too much longer I would think.

2012 list management.