2012 Prototype Teams

• Thread starter Thread starter Warthog

hi everyone,

dont be to harsh on my side. i love dt very competitive with it highest ive finished is 6th overall and a couple top 50s, last 2 years the competitors have improved alot though so yeah. anyway my team is.

Goddard, Carrazzo, Deledio, Grimes, Burgoyne, Lake, Morris (hombsch, wilkes)

Swan, Ablett, Mitchell, Murphy, Koby Stevens, Sheil (Zorko, James Mcdonald)

Sandilands, Giles (Stephenson, Pattison)

Goodes, Robinson, Martin, Sidebottom, Green, Byrnes, Treloar (Achee, Rowe)

bout 10,000 left over. what you think? i try to general select all my premium players in from top 4 sides. especially these days with the top sides over possessing the pill a lot.

Agree GOPOWER

No one that has finished top 50 both in the last 2 years and has finished 6th aswell would be 1) posting a team at this time, 2) asking for advice on a team at this time and 3) pick this team :cool::o

Agree GOPOWER

No one that has finished top 50 both in the last 2 years and has finished 6th aswell would be 1) posting a team at this time, 2) asking for advice on a team at this time and 3) pick this team :cool::o

He could be a 12 year old kid who just wants to be accepted you know.

Give him a break you heartless monster..

hi everyone,

dont be to harsh on my side. i love dt very competitive with it highest ive finished is 6th overall and a couple top 50s, last 2 years the competitors have improved alot though so yeah. anyway my team is.

bout 10,000 left over. what you think? i try to general select all my premium players in from top 4 sides.
especially these days with the top sides over possessing the pill a lot.

Let the kids get involved..:thumbsu:

lol, i have finished 6th and 2 top 50s, whats wrong with that side? plenty of room for improvement with the youngsters, also dont forget pre season matches havnt started yet so the side will change alot after that date.

the reason i put my side up these days is because come end of nab cup all the dream team talks and fanfoott's will put up cheat sheets and so on so theres no point hiding my side, everyone will have a similar side anyway.

and whats wrong weith byrnes? his under priced and is playing in a top side, all he has to do is get on the park and he will average 80s at that side, you dont need to be a good afl player to be a good dream teamer!

honestly tell me where my side falls down (other then my second ruck, but with stephenson and giles looking likely to ruck, the cheap second ruckmen option isnt a bad idea)

also i never said i finished that high in the last 2 years, i said in the last 2 years the competitivness has improved. i finished 6th in 06 and top 50 the 2 years after that.

ahh yes i have, i was 5 spots off $50,000 cash. team name is baroneblues and my mates team is daves magpies (dave86)

we regardes to achee you do realise its round very early and ive probably put him in just to put a rookie in who might play. still to early to select actual rookies. and regards to byrnes? why cant he play, his having a good pre season and will want to break back into the side which is a top 4 side.

ok go power, who do you recomend this early into the pre season?! i think ill select my rookies passed on what i see during the practice matches! not from what ive been told, atm my rookies are virtually names i know.

porps is over priced, winderlich is the better option, porps is to injury prone and unless his bargain basement price i wont be getting him, plus he hasnt averaged high enough. i would love to see your team!?

Not sure what is wrong with having Shannon Byrnes in your team. Very capable player when fit.

Porplyzia and Winderlich both have similar scoring histories aside from one year out of the blue from Winderlich in '09, Winderlich is more injury prone than Porplyzia (81 games to Porplyzia since his debut in 2006 compared to 76 to Winderlich), and Winderlich costs 45k more than Porplyzia, yet Porplyzia is the one that's overpriced? :confused:

I don't mind Winderlich as an option, but Porplyzia is far from overpriced. 200k for a guy who averages around 80-85 when fully fit.

These figures suggest that Winderlich has the higher ceiling:

http://www.fanfooty.com.au/players/profile.php?firstname=Jason&surname=Winderlich

http://www.fanfooty.com.au/players/profile.php?firstname=Jason&surname=Porplyzia

winderlich is the better option, he is a very important peice to the average essendon midfield. he never gets tagged or has any attention put on him because he isnt damaging enough and also because if you stop watson you stop essendons midfield so all the effort goes into stopping watson.

Porps on the other hand has been proven to be a match winner and therefore almost always gets the best small defender, porps has failed to push into the midfield in past years and with how fragile his shoulder is i would suggest he wont go on the ball in 2012 and play closer to home at the feet of tippet.

your team is good, but i would much rather have mine, my top 4 midfielders can score over 120 on most weeks with far more consistancy. your backline is good but after hearing you whinge about byrnes, why do you have maleski, towards the end of last season he was a frindge player.

rucks are very good, berger should stop up this season again.

in your forwards id say there are more consistant players then sylvia for the same price or less, who have much more support around them ala sidebottom.

solid team could be better, SHOULD BE BETTER!

winderlich is the better option, he is a very important peice to the average essendon midfield. he never gets tagged or has any attention put on him because he isnt damaging enough and also because if you stop watson you stop essendons midfield so all the effort goes into stopping watson.

Porps on the other hand has been proven to be a match winner and therefore almost always gets the best small defender, porps has failed to push into the midfield in past years and with how fragile his shoulder is i would suggest he wont go on the ball in 2012 and play closer to home at the feet of tippet.

your team is good, but i would much rather have mine, my top 4 midfielders can score over 120 on most weeks with far more consistancy. your backline is good but after hearing you whinge about byrnes, why do you have maleski, towards the end of last season he was a frindge player.

rucks are very good, berger should stop up this season again.

in your forwards id say there are more consistant players then sylvia for the same price or less, who have much more support around them ala sidebottom.

solid team could be better, SHOULD BE BETTER!

like your post, don't like your forward line. GoPOwer would pump you with his largely cookie cutter team. Actually also dont like the ref to Eski being a fringe player, he clearly is not.

Still a rookie listed player. Chances of him playing a pretty bloody slim. But feel free to pick him.

Lower was rookie listed as well, and played every game bar being suspended. Different coach, but I would be shocked if he didn't play half Fremantle's game.

Thats when Winderlich is playing midfield, what about when he plays as a small defensive forward type?

As for the Lower, Spurrs discussion. Lower played every game or most games due to injury and injury to onballers who can win clearances and do the hard nut stuff ala: not choice but Lower. Fremantle would need a fair amount of injuries for Lower and Spurrs to play most games.

Remember Freo were picking from 25-28 players for a large part of the season.

Hi everyone.
Here’s my first stab at a team for this season. Be kind on my rookies because I really need to wait until the NAB Cup to see who are the genuine contenders.
I’d appreciate thoughts on my team.
DEF: Goddard, Suckling, Heppell, Duffield, Waters, Clarke, Talia
Emerg: Brown, Wilkes

MIDS: Ablett, Fyfe, Delideo, Barlow, Hayes, Shiel
Emerg: Treloar, McDonald

RUCK: Cox, McEvoy
Emerg: Stephenson, Giles

FOR: Zaharakis, Martin, Power, Didak, Brown, Winderlich, Smedts
Emerg: Zorko, Couch

Looks like an alright team Chunky. Absence of the superstar DT'ers is a bit weird, of those guys the ones which would be in the top 10 for their position would be Goddard, Suckling, Ablett, Cox, McEvoy and Martin.

I'd switch Fyfe to the forwards, Deledio to the backs and trade out Power, Didak and Waters, all never-agains for me...

Thanks for your comments Drazsyker.
I�ve gone for more of a mid priced strategy this season. I�ve underweighted some of the superstar Dters because I genuinely feel there are some very undervalued stars who are coming off poor seasons for a variety of reasons. Therefore representing excellent value in my opinion.

Duffield. Due to injuries at Freo in 2011 he was required to play a more accountable role. Hopefully he can be released this season and return to his high 80�s average which would make him a keeper (6th/7th back).

Waters. Admittedly an injury risk but he has shown in 2010 that he can achieve keeper like numbers when he is able to string a season together. Also has the potential to be a 6th/7th back.

Power. Was on the outer at Brissie with Voss paving the way for youngsters such as Redden and Rockliff. GWS will need his experience and hard body to get them through the season. Also, he probably has a bit of an axe to grind so I expect him to go out and try and prove the doubters wrong. His listing as a mid/fwd is an added bonus. If he can average 90+ he would become a forward keeper.

Didak. Had a shocking preseason in 2011 and this translated into below average results on the park. By all accounts he is having a solid preseason, so as long as he doesn�t have any set backs, there is a good chance that he can once again become a top 10 fwd.

Barlow/Hayes. I concede that they are both injury risks but from what I�ve read they are having excellent pre seasons. Both capable of conservatively averaging 105-110 if they can stay on the paddock.

In terms of DPP. I would prefer to leave Fyfe and Delideo in the mids to give some flexibility to my structure in the first half of the season. With only 2 benchies in each position in 2012, DPP could once again become particularly important. But when the time is right and I will move them to the fwd and def positions respectively.

I usually stay out of these threads but I am waiting for a meeting so:

Didak - apparently does not get on with Buckley, is old, he will be competing for midfield time with Beams and Sidebottom who are younger, with more midfield upside and are not as good forwards. I expect him to not get the midfield time needed to jump back into the elite category.

Fyfe - has been in the hospital group all preseason and still is. He has a game built on endurance which means there is no way he repeats his scoring from last year early in the season.

Deledio - good player but not in the midfield. You only have 6 midfield spots of which 3 or 4 will be used on premiums. You need to use them on premiums.

Suckling and Waters - both injury prone guys. Take a chance on one sure but I would not go with both.

Talia - young KPD who is priced a smidge less than the likes of Conca and Suban and more than experienced guys who have done it before like Lake and Hargrave. Don't see why you would be buying.

Power - played through the midfield as much as he could handle last year. Fully priced with significant downside risk if he plays a lot as a small forward as anticipated. He might have a point to prove but age is definately catching up with him.

Brown - very attractively priced but he is the wrong side of 30 and power CHFs do not have a good record at that age. Will probably start with a bang but likely to wear down as the season progresses.

Duffield - is he in the 22? He did not play that well last year and with everyone available I think he could get squeezed out. I think he is competing with Suban for a spot. Mzungu, Broughton, Spurr, Suban and the excess mids from Mundy, Hill, Barlow, Lower, Sheridan, Neale, Morabito, Ibbo will be in line for the HBFer roles. By no means a given that he makes the cut I think and if he does will he have a high scoring role ahead of those other guys?

Couch - who?

Lower was rookie listed as well, and played every game bar being suspended. Different coach, but I would be shocked if he didn't play half Fremantle's game.

I'm not sure Spurr can be upgraded sans a LTI (touch-wood), due to the Pav and Grover now both on the veterans list. Or can every team upgrade a rookie prior to the season regardless?

With regards to Duffield - I prefer him to Broughton this year. I expect Lyon to find a role sweeping around the backline - a Gilbert, Gram type role.

No Spurr needs an injury to be upgraded. It seems alot of people are picking these rookie types but forgetting that they cant play unless upgraded via injury or not having enough veterans ect.

Duffield i like, but i agree if he plays bad he can easily be dropped and i also agree wouldnt be Ross Lyons cup a tea type player. Im sure he would like the Subans, Ibbos, Lower types alot more. I guess your paying alot of a player that atm i reckon sits from 17-21 in the freo side right now. The other side to the coin is Lyon, made Montanga become a hard player and even NDS with tackling ect, if he can get that with Duffield than he could go bang, we all know he is damaging by foot and freo like to get the footy into his hands considering their backline.

Fyfe - Has been in the medical room and from what i know only just started training full on with the main group of late, but he had a shoulder injury is naturally fit and would have been doing running/plenty of bike riding with his shoulder. I doubt his endurance will be any different to last year. My concern with Fyfe is that fremantle may need him to strengthen their half forward line more so than the wing with guys like Morabito back in the team. He may rotate into an onball position which would be fine, but hes one to watch for what role he will play.

Brown - I like, hes more expensive than i thought he would be but ill probably be picking him next year. Pretty confident on the big guy as a cheap keeper. Dont write champions off.

I usually stay out of these threads but I am waiting for a meeting so:

Agree with everyhing you say here. Most of those players are way to risky.

The only risk I will probsbly take this year is Hayes as he is a proven quality player and is at a very nice price. Potentially a premium mid at a cut price rate. If he doesn't work out can be upgraded to a premium.

I will be taking Ablett Swann and Pendleubry first up this yer as I can't count on many dfenders or forwards being premiums. Will really need to get my rookies right this year I think.

No Spurr needs an injury to be upgraded. It seems alot of people are picking these rookie types but forgetting that they cant play unless upgraded via injury or not having enough veterans ect.

Duffield i like, but i agree if he plays bad he can easily be dropped and i also agree wouldnt be Ross Lyons cup a tea type player. Im sure he would like the Subans, Ibbos, Lower types alot more. I guess your paying alot of a player that atm i reckon sits from 17-21 in the freo side right now. The other side to the coin is Lyon, made Montanga become a hard player and even NDS with tackling ect, if he can get that with Duffield than he could go bang, we all know he is damaging by foot and freo like to get the footy into his hands considering their backline.

Fyfe - Has been in the medical room and from what i know only just started training full on with the main group of late, but he had a shoulder injury is naturally fit and would have been doing running/plenty of bike riding with his shoulder. I doubt his endurance will be any different to last year. My concern with Fyfe is that fremantle may need him to strengthen their half forward line more so than the wing with guys like Morabito back in the team. He may rotate into an onball position which would be fine, but hes one to watch for what role he will play.

Brown - I like, hes more expensive than i thought he would be but ill probably be picking him next year. Pretty confident on the big guy as a cheap keeper. Dont write champions off.

Mora to LTI, Spurr upgrade IMO