2012 SEQAFL Division 2 2012

BOC alex hills hitting form was a bit of an understatement. good to see the lads get up for deanforsters 400th game...was great day and to see the bloke kick 11 was fitting.

Morro, in relation to your seniors will be in for a treat tomorrow, were you meaning the vikings bombers game?
i have seen so umpires just have bad days at the office, i have seen umpires out of their depth, these blokes just thought they were just plain to good for anyone at the ground even saw them giving bit of lip to players from both teams, word was around the club after the game they were state league umpires aswell that had been dropped, i can see why.

Stanley - the 2's comp is definitely heating up.. massive effort to kick 11 in a game... cpl of nervous weeks at the top of the goal kicking with hahn having wynnum this week and alex having yeronga!!Also going to be an interesting last 2 rounds to see where the 4 teams below uni finish.

Our ones put up a good fight but probably didnt get enough out of kicking with the breeze early and went down by 20 points. Moro - wasnt too much talk about the senior umpires today - I thought they were reasonable to both teams. The guys that did the 2's - well thats another story... rocket and his mate were terrible today to the point that one of the Coorparoo guys even said to me "we havent paid these guys just incase ur wondering". some interpretations of the rules were incredible...Both of them were stupidly inconsistent with their interpretation of over the shoulder in the difference between ducking ur head and bending over to pick the ball up, incorrect disposal and "its come out in the tackle" and over the shoulder in the marking contest. As a player i make plenty of mistakes and generally i dont like going the umpires - and im not accusing them as the reason we lost - & Nothing will change the decisions and this can be interpreted as sour grapes... but they were both farrrrrrrrrrrrrking terrible and I will be hopeful we dont run into them again!!

RUL - good second half by ur boys in the ones... aspley look to be a real serious contender having knocked over the kings and being up at half time against ur boys... going to be a cracker last round with the minor premiership still up for grabs!

Stanley - the 2's comp is definitely heating up.. massive effort to kick 11 in a game... cpl of nervous weeks at the top of the goal kicking with hahn having wynnum this week and alex having yeronga!!Also going to be an interesting last 2 rounds to see where the 4 teams below uni finish.

Our ones put up a good fight but probably didnt get enough out of kicking with the breeze early and went down by 20 points. Moro - wasnt too much talk about the senior umpires today - I thought they were reasonable to both teams. The guys that did the 2's - well thats another story... rocket and his mate were terrible today to the point that one of the Coorparoo guys even said to me "we havent paid these guys just incase ur wondering". some interpretations of the rules were incredible...Both of them were stupidly inconsistent with their interpretation of over the shoulder in the difference between ducking ur head and bending over to pick the ball up, incorrect disposal and "its come out in the tackle" and over the shoulder in the marking contest. As a player i make plenty of mistakes and generally i dont like going the umpires - and im not accusing them as the reason we lost - & Nothing will change the decisions and this can be interpreted as sour grapes... but they were both farrrrrrrrrrrrrking terrible and I will be hopeful we dont run into them again!!

RUL - good second half by ur boys in the ones... aspley look to be a real serious contender having knocked over the kings and being up at half time against ur boys... going to be a cracker last round with the minor premiership still up for grabs!

Certainly mate! Took one helleva effort to come back from 5 goals down. Aspley were very very good. While a wins a win, I think my boys realize they had a major fight on their hands over the last two weeks and its only going to get tougher

BOC - good to hear the umpires were ok in the seniors, have you seen the female umpire before? As long as they were ok that's the main thing. As for your game .... you guys would have had rocket before so it shouldn't hold any surprises. I can't and won't publicly bag any other umpires...... not yet anyway. All I can say is I understand how frustrating it can be when the umps have a bad day but at least coming into finals the best umpires (with the exception of me cause I’m out :-) ) will be officiating and should be consistent through out the finals series. I hope this softens the blow for you guys a little.

Stanley- wasn't talking about your game but on looking back i could have been. very sad to hear your thoughts about the umps mate. I have been known to give a bit back to players but also know there is a time and place for it. To answer your question neither umpire is on the NEAFL Panel but have been umpiring Div 1 & Div 2. Whether they have been dropped unfortunately I can't confirm or deny if they were dropped or part of a "rotation policy" either way as an umpire it is disappointing to read these comments but I certainly understand your and the players frustration if this occurred (and I’m not saying it didn't) but like any club I cant and wont publicly bag a team member.... not yet anyway.

As above the best umpires should be dpoing finals and hopefully they will all have good days. IMO 2 of the best umpires in Div 2 were at the UQ v Aspley game. Hopefully they did the game justice on the week end

moro - im not sure there was a female field umpire on saturday. Granted id had a few and was watching hawks / pies and the races but it wasnt mentioned by any of the boys either.

Re Rocket - he usually isnt too bad.. but inconjunction with the other bloke on saturday im sure both of them left knowing how their performance was appraised by myself (which of course does you no favours either!!) I dont think im any different to any player who just wants consistency - whether the interpretation is right or wrong as long as its consistent you can play accordingly - we definately didnt have any "advantage" free kicks as every time the whistle blew we stopped as we had no idea what the decision was going to be!!!

what actually happens at umpire training? apart from fitness work how do u work on things?

moro - im not sure there was a female field umpire on saturday. Granted id had a few and was watching hawks / pies and the races but it wasnt mentioned by any of the boys either.

Re Rocket - he usually isnt too bad.. but inconjunction with the other bloke on saturday im sure both of them left knowing how their performance was appraised by myself (which of course does you no favours either!!) I dont think im any different to any player who just wants consistency - whether the interpretation is right or wrong as long as its consistent you can play accordingly - we definately didnt have any "advantage" free kicks as every time the whistle blew we stopped as we had no idea what the decision was going to be!!!

what actually happens at umpire training? apart from fitness work how do u work on things?
BOC - Interesting maybe you should have YOUR eyes checked :-) as there was a female umpire out there. Can't say what happens at GC training (I am sure they do the same as we do) but in Brissie we have "Theory" sessions most weeks in that we watch videos of NEAFL games and go through numerous decisions to make sure we are all the same page. We also go through those "Blue Moon" situations (those that don't happen all the time) to ensure we get the correct decision. We also are tested on the laws of the game to again make sure we umpires are on the same page. I'll put it to you this way in regards to reserves umpires .... As players it is difficult to execute a game plan when some players don't attend training regularly. As player if you don’t attend training and work on your skills you make mistakes during games .. missing targets with kicks handballs etc or missing that goal when you’re in the goal square. Same for umpiring at this level some blokes come every week some come every couple of weeks and some just can't get there at all but they still put up their hands to officiate games on week ends. Not ideal but hey there isn't an over supply of umpires up here so to save clubs having club umpires they do the best they can. I agree consistency is the key and I pride my self on being consistent ..... Consistently bad if I listen to most feedback :-) but hey it is consistent

hahaha fair point :) probably backs up my previous statement though - no comments were made either way which is probably a compliment in itself!

Love the analogy! We actually had a blue mooner in our game with a free kick for "shaking the goal post". In actual fact the coorparoo bloke was knocked into it in the marking contest and was harshly done in my opinion, although i did offer to rocket that lazer vidovic got 3 weeks for it in the afl and as such should have been a report!!

As i said earlier without u blokes there is no game - and my jack reiwoldt / alistair clarkson response wouldnt have done me any favours!!

Is there an umpires forum that you knobs can go and talk on? Moro, you drive me crazy enough on Saturdays, please don't destroy my weekdays too. BOC - I reckon you boys need to start qualifying some players or you'll be toast in round one of finals. Alex ressies are clearly on the "improve" so to speak.

Haha badger - be interested on how you'd qualify players with 2 games to go when they need to have played at least 5 in the 2's...

We still have an eye on 3rd - 2 wins against aspley and alex in the last 2 rounds would see us finish on same points as aspley and alex and we'd go thru on %. Granted we need to play better then we did on the weekend but we arent far off.

Alex 1's could well take the spoon if yeronga beat them on saturday.

Haha badger - be interested on how you'd qualify players with 2 games to go when they need to have played at least 5 in the 2's...

We still have an eye on 3rd - 2 wins against aspley and alex in the last 2 rounds would see us finish on same points as aspley and alex and we'd go thru on %. Granted we need to play better then we did on the weekend but we arent far off.

Alex 1's could well take the spoon if yeronga beat them on saturday.

I doubt you'll finish third. Alex Hills won't lose again as they clearly conceded seniors finals some weeks ago and have been shamelessly qualifying players to play reserves finals ever since. You will probably finish fifth and play Aspley first week of finals. I just had a look at your list. You actually only have one seniors player that you could qualify over the next couple of weeks, which is a shame for you lot. From looking at Alex Hills' list, they have 5 or 6 that they will no doubt qualify in the coming fortnight. I'd say they will be favourites for the flag in the ressies.

In fairness badger up until saturday alex hills seniors were a mathamattic chance on playing finals if you look at the net, being in and around the club at alex i will tell you first hand the side they played with was very very young generally every player was under the age of 22-23ish. Has nothing to do with players being dropped back either, injuries this year have nearly crippled this club. lucky we had close to 70 on the list at the start of the year. if you actually take the time to look at team lists you will see that not 1 player has been purposely dropped back to qualify for finals, blokes are actually playing up with a couple making their senior debeuts on saturday. therefore weaking the reserve grade line up, only time i recall players from our seniors running round in the seconds is coming back from injury or from club imposed susp. i think it is wrong to say that are dropping back players without any proof. (if you have any please submit it?) as for the scoreline on the weekend it was a club veterans 400th game. the boys came to play i also suspect the vikings may have been down on numbers as there was a few quality players missing from their 1st grade team.

Stanley - We have been in a similar position with injury and have had a lot of guys play 1's this year that probably didnt expect to - great for there development but has ultimately seen the club miss the finals. ( unless with 2 games to go a miracle happens!!).

I just had a quick look at the team list from the weekend - and there were 8 guys from that team that have played seniors. There would only appear a cpl which look slightly suspect as being qualified and welcome your reply otherwise - happy for you or anyone else to do the same to our list as well.
Baird has played 5 seniors and the weekend was his 4th 2's game, Mcguire 5 seniors and weekend was his 3rd 2's game, Fallon has played 3 and 3 and Evans has played 7 seniors and the weekend was his 2nd 2's game (so he wont qualify under my understanding of the rules).

I think your correct with regards to Wynnum as I know they had a cpl of blokes suspended in the 1's from our game who would still be unavailable. Great to see Someone play 400 games let alone be able to make a contribution with 11!

Stanley - We have been in a similar position with injury and have had a lot of guys play 1's this year that probably didnt expect to - great for there development but has ultimately seen the club miss the finals. ( unless with 2 games to go a miracle happens!!).

I just had a quick look at the team list from the weekend - and there were 8 guys from that team that have played seniors. There would only appear a cpl which look slightly suspect as being qualified and welcome your reply otherwise - happy for you or anyone else to do the same to our list as well.
Baird has played 5 seniors and the weekend was his 4th 2's game, Mcguire 5 seniors and weekend was his 3rd 2's game, Fallon has played 3 and 3 and Evans has played 7 seniors and the weekend was his 2nd 2's game (so he wont qualify under my understanding of the rules).

I think your correct with regards to Wynnum as I know they had a cpl of blokes suspended in the 1's from our game who would still be unavailable. Great to see Someone play 400 games let alone be able to make a contribution with 11!

I dont really have the time nor energy to be bothered checking BOC, by saying that i dont really think any club actually does it in an obvious way anyway?

in regards to the players your speaking of, i know both baird and mcguire have struggled with injuries and fitness this year, when we play down at robina in 2 weeks i am sure you will see why, 2 of the bigger blokes running around. as for evans and fellon i know they both seemed to go missing for the middle part of the season i cant comment on why and i wouldnt have a faintest idea. just trying to protect a club.

who was suspeneded from wynumm?

Stanley - agreed not many clubs would do it blatently.

tbh its not something we discussed doing and apart from having an idea of the blokes we are going to come up against on game day, arent fussed whether others do it or not. Above statement was more in support of ur claims with regards to badger's statement who would have u believe half the team have done it then trying to pot u blokes!

Alloway was suspended as well as one of the brothers who's surname escapes me.

Stanley - agreed not many clubs would do it blatently.

tbh its not something we discussed doing and apart from having an idea of the blokes we are going to come up against on game day, arent fussed whether others do it or not. Above statement was more in support of ur claims with regards to badger's statement who would have u believe half the team have done it then trying to pot u blokes!

Alloway was suspended as well as one of the brothers who's surname escapes me.

I'll retract my statement and reserve judgement for a fortnight's time. My prediction though is that Alex will qualify 4-6 seniors blokes in the next fortnight and make the grand final. I might be wrong, but we'll see.

I can’t understand why Alex Hills would stack out a reserves team with senior players. If they lose their next two games in seniors by enough they could finish in dead last place. Surely that is worse than any kind of gains your club would get from winning a ressies premiership. I also feel a bit for the legitimate ressies teams who will have to come up against them in finals. Each to their own I guess.
There are some very interesting games this weekend. UQ at Wynnum should be a great game, especially with Wynnum getting some good players back. If Wynnum can knock them off and Coorparoo beat them next week, we’ll be on top of the table. Even if they don’t, if the Kings can kick a cricket score against Kedron and beat UQ next week, they still might leapfrog them into first.
The other interesting one will be Aspley vs Robina. Aspley will be looking to have two big wins over the next fortnight to take third spot from the bears. Will be interesting to see if Robina can knock them off or at least make it a close one.
Good luck to all teams. I watched Robina play last week and thought they were quite good. I’m trying to get around to watch all teams at least once this season, so I’m going to watch Kedron this weekend.

Hahaha King Me great post!

wonder which team will put all their cards on the table to win the minor premiership next week. Both teams would be desperate for a week off and with Aspley knocking the kings off last time they met would be an interesting qualifying final.

Robina havent put the cue in the rack and are desperate to finish 6th to build on last year - little consolation I know but definately want to finish the year on a positive.

I can’t understand why Alex Hills would stack out a reserves team with senior players. If they lose their next two games in seniors by enough they could finish in dead last place. Surely that is worse than any kind of gains your club would get from winning a ressies premiership. I also feel a bit for the legitimate ressies teams who will have to come up against them in finals. Each to their own I guess.
There are some very interesting games this weekend. UQ at Wynnum should be a great game, especially with Wynnum getting some good players back. If Wynnum can knock them off and Coorparoo beat them next week, we’ll be on top of the table. Even if they don’t, if the Kings can kick a cricket score against Kedron and beat UQ next week, they still might leapfrog them into first.
The other interesting one will be Aspley vs Robina. Aspley will be looking to have two big wins over the next fortnight to take third spot from the bears. Will be interesting to see if Robina can knock them off or at least make it a close one.
Good luck to all teams. I watched Robina play last week and thought they were quite good. I’m trying to get around to watch all teams at least once this season, so I’m going to watch Kedron this weekend.

I have for my sake, your wrong :D

RUL - howd both your grades go on the weekend? no scores on aflq as of yet...

Stanley - good win by the seniors - bit of a boil over in the 2's?

Badger - still want to be on Alex 2's after the weekend?

Robina v Alex this week to determine who finishes 3rd in the 2's. Aspley and Kenmore 1% between 3rd and 4th in the 1s and Yeronga under a 1% behind Kedron who have the bye this week in the battle for the 1's spoon.

RUL - howd both your grades go on the weekend? no scores on aflq as of yet...

Stanley - good win by the seniors - bit of a boil over in the 2's?

Badger - still want to be on Alex 2's after the weekend?

Robina v Alex this week to determine who finishes 3rd in the 2's. Aspley and Kenmore 1% between 3rd and 4th in the 1s and Yeronga under a 1% behind Kedron who have the bye this week in the battle for the 1's spoon.
Yeah, interesting one. If you look at their team list, they are in the process of qualifying 5 or 6 blokes so I'd say they will still play in the grand final. More of a blip than anything is what I reckon.

Badger - yeah 7 blokes will just happen to finish on 5 reserves games for the year ;)

That said they all played on the weekend in the loss - this week is a big week for us - prefer to be playing in a qualifying final then an elimination!

Yeah, interesting one. If you look at their team list, they are in the process of qualifying 5 or 6 blokes so I'd say they will still play in the grand final. More of a blip than anything is what I reckon.

2 wins for th Uni lads

BOC - yeah was a great game the to watch, good to see the boys had a bit more support this week crowd was very vocal, good to see burgess kick 9 aswell (even with 1 arm held behind his back all day) interesting to see a couple of AFLQ officals (umpire related i would like to think) sit and watch the game maybe morro can elaberate??

As for the 2s i didnt get there ealry enough to catch the game from the word around the club was that a late 50 cost us the game. bit harsh i know but ii guess a game that close both teams deserve to win.

Badger since your doing the research can you name those 7 players maybe i can help explain why, i standby what i have said and that is alex hills afc would never drop players back to win flags, defeats the whole purpose of have a seniors and reserves team, and do the maths if the seniors won last week v vikings they still would have made finals so i think its a bit rich to saying we dropped blokes back 5 weeks ago, might aswell say we are taking for a draft pick.

A.Heide
C.Baird
D.Robinson
L.McGuire
M.Grainger
M.Merlehan
M.Fallon
T.Henwood
Z.Samuels

These blokes have either qualified within the last fortnight or will be qualified by playing the next match. Seems pretty convenient. Questioning how you are going to get J.Evans qualified.

thanks for do the research badger , wasnt quite aware who you were talking about.

but can honestly say none have been dropped back for the purpose of qualifying if you looked at the seniors games you would see this??

as perviously stated Biard has been in and out of both teams this year due to injuries and form i would think.
L Mcguire would be the same.

A Heide has been just in and out of the senior side, i think more just on who we have avaliable through injuries work etc, if he has played 5 down would have played the rest up??

d.robinson, have a look at the stats has only played 3 games alll year, new player to the club didnt join till mid season, dont see how he has been dropped back if he hasnt played in the seniors?

likewise Mark Grainger hasnt played seniors either i dont think, not sure why think he has had a bad run with injuries once again cant be dropped back if he never played seniors.

Mitch fallon, only played handful of games in the seniors, not positive of why he did miss a whole chuck of the season both seniors and reserves

Zac Samuals is a ruckman and is probley 3rd best in the club and considering you only play 2 ruckman max, he has been the unlucky one to miss out

Tom Henwood, Senior coach Graham henwoods Son, Was in Japan or China on holiday for the start of season 2012 has only played a handful of games on return.

Badger i really dont alex hills has any case to answer, my only problem would be if a senior player from our club or any club had played say 10 games in the seniors then finishs with the last few games in reserves when there senior team si a no show of making finals i will mention again with 3 games to play our seniors were still a chance