2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

to our sunny coast friends... interested in ur thoughts on footy in the area. nambour premiers last year and from all reports far superior again this year. yet caloundra drop to div 4 with an inability to field 2 teams and maroochy on bottom in phc reserves with a percentage of 20 after only scoring 86 points in 4 games. is it as simple as guys not wanting to committe to phc or is it the culture at maroochy or what?? interesting non morro based topic for discussion!!!
g
hey morro good to see the human tripod back for u guys yesterday...can play and has a massive ****!!!!

Good topic mate - like you said, good to move on from poor old Morro and his boots!!
From what i can tell this is how i would put it:
Nambour - well run club, has been close knit with some real quality people that got the club back on track 10 years ago after a diabolical period where it was fleeced of money and probably not well suited to mixing it with the PHC clubs re location or finances. Junior numbers are average (worse this year than last year surprisingly) yet they have done very well with their selection of coaches in recent years who have added a real professionalism and as many have said on here, a real good ethic about the way they play their footy. Fairly, hard and with alot of skill it seems. They have taken a number of guys IMO who would normally play for Caloundra and maybe even stick around a club like Maroochydore and play 2's - none of the boys there aside from max 2-3 would even get a look in playing seniors at Maroochydore let alone Noosa.

Caloundra - has struggled off field at the senior end but from all reports trying to fix that up with a new pres. Had low junior numbers but good quality but very few seem to come through to their senior group or stick around. Some might argue that their dropping of divisions was a result of a few internal issues because there is no way known a town the size of Caloundra with the nearest real football club ie solid structure 20km away should not have 40 senior players running around. Smashing it in Div 4 but unbelievably I have been told some blokes getting paid to do so!! Not sure if true. Doesn't help matters when the junior boys get cash awards IMO - doesn't lead to the sort of culture that I reckon is sustainable.
Maroochydore - still really trying to rebuild after spending enough money to send themselves broke (nearly). Good coach and the team around him but really struggling on field this year when expectations were alot higher. Good junior set up but the rewards of this won't be realised for probably 2 + years. As everyone knows though you can't compete at PHC level with just local kids so need to get themselves into a financial position that allows them to recruit selectively certain players. IMO have the right ethos considering their financial position right now. Have 50 U=18 boys on their list with 2 teams so this is probably good going fwd.
What is hard across the coast right now is money drying up and many guys working FIFO. It is much more attractive if you are going to play social footy to play this in the ones I suppose at a club like Nambour rather than second fiddle in the magoos.

Like i said, good question though.

Runrun - just for you because you must be the only tosser who cannot read between the lines. The courtesy bus is a nick name that we give to the Veterans Affairs bus. Runrun - do you know how you qualify for the use of this bus? Let me inform your pea brain, you have to have been injured in the defence of this great country of ours - it is because I have made sacrifices that you could never comprehend that you have the freedom to comment of forums like this. Your just relax and spend your centre link cheque each fortnight on booze and cigarettes and your world will be rosy.

I shouldn't have bothered with the Griffith v Caboolture game - the nude nut was on fire and it was over inside 10 minutes. Does anyone know if Caboolture keep stats as I would love to know his contested marks tally. Who is the older chap in the long sleeves for Caboolture? I think Cabooltures disciplined style of play and game structure are comparable to Nambours. I do think that the Griffith coach tried to stem the tide and tried a few different things. I am not a fan of dropping numbers back though. This is negative football and will never win you games - it may stop a defeat from being a blow out but at least try to win the game first.

Assjar can you confirm that Nambour had this type of score with 8-10 seniors missing and with 3 unders 18's playing and 1 under 16? Are my sources correct?

How good must the Redcliffe/Coomera game been - I can not wait until the 2 matches next week. Nambour/Redcliffe - top spot up for grabs here. Who wants it the most?

Beenleigh/Logan - both looking like a bit of form is on the way back and a game buffer for the winner. This may be critical in the finals make up. Is this comp a final 5? I think it is. Again who wants it the most....Morro?

Think you might find mate that the U-16 boy was actually U-17 but played in the 16's State Champs last week as an overage lad. Good footballer, good size and has played a few games now I think.

I agree, these bottom sides continually start the game by dropping numbers back. This sends a negative message to the playing group before the game has even started. I believe the coaches of these sides should instil some belief in their players and try to kick some early goals. Momentum is a huge thing in football and if these sides could simply get a sniff you never know they might just get some confidence.

First game of the year that we have started with loose men back. We weren't in it at half time, with Caboolture dominating play. We did have moments, but Caboolture were very good at rebounding and always had those get out options, which meant they moved the ball very quickly.

After half time though we played much better, and I would say it was easily our best half of the year, and against a quality side too. We kicked 8 goals to 5 in the 3rd, before Caboolture got on top in the last (6 goals to our 2 goals), although we didn't crumble and let them kick goal after goal, which has happend in other games this year.

That Limo bloke had 8 at half time and he was just clunking all the marks that came his way, and he didn't miss. In the second half he only got 3 as we had a loose man always there to help our full back, and the loose man rebounded the ball for us really well and often lead to us getting into good attacking positions.

The second half of the game was - Caboolture 11.6.72 to Mooroka 10.4.64, which I think is indicative of the fight we showed in the second half. This is a big positive for us, as in the past have just switched off and would end up losing those games by big, big margins, often 130+. We've gotta carry what we did in that second half to every game this year, which will see us improve and hopefully lead to us being competitive against the tops sides of the competition.

:) get on board
i was wondering who would bite!
and yes smy that is correct, he has played nearly all of our games this year except for when he had to miss due to rep duties. but we did have one other under 16 playing on saturday, altho he has been playing 18's all year so far.

The second half of the game was - Caboolture 11.6.72 to Mooroka 10.4.64, which I think is indicative of the fight we showed in the second half. This is a big positive for us, as in the past have just switched off and would end up losing those games by big, big margins, often 130+. We've gotta carry what we did in that second half to every game this year, which will see us improve and hopefully lead to us being competitive against the tops sides of the competition.

Well done, its always good to see the sides struggling not give up. nothing worse than a team just not caring after half time if there getting flogged. you boys kept on trying against us and seem to have a great attitude throughout the whole team.

in regards to teams dropping a man back. it has seemed that nearly every game we have played the other team has put a loose man back by quarter time. some teams even do it before the first bounce which i think is just the completly wrong way to go about winning a game.

Np_#1 when will you be back in the seniors ? I got to the game yesterday was a great clinic beenleigh put on.
Is the guy who got taken in the ambulance ok I did get over and seen a lot of support from the onlookers, obviously well liked that fella,

beenleigh looked really big and strong a lot of new faces well for me anyway !

And for the culture police when I went to have a beer after the game I reakon there would have been close to 30 boys sharing a brew great to see. Kudos to the 10 odd calamvale guys who went in for a beer and chin wag aswell ! Qld footy looks strong again . Any thoughts ?

Yeah mate was a lot of people back sat was really good to see ! Sorry to disappoint mate but I won't be playing seniors this year, try watching derick and morris very entertaining footballers , poppy the guy in the ambulance is all good and home now him and his family do an awful lot for the club and is vice captain well liked and respected .

i was wondering who would bite!
and yes smy that is correct, he has played nearly all of our games this year except for when he had to miss due to rep duties. but we did have one other under 16 playing on saturday, altho he has been playing 18's all year so far.

Who was that assjar re the 16 yr old? Alex?

I don't have a problem with playing a spare man back when you already know you ae up against it. Better to keep yourself in the game for as long as possible sometimes and then look to win it when the game has to be won (in the final qrt) than give it up with an 8 goal to nil headstart and basically no chance of pegging it back. Whats the difference bn dropping a man back and flooding 100% of your side into the back half which has been common practise with many sides at AFL level anyway (that have been successful).

Who was that assjar re the 16 yr old? Alex?

I don't have a problem with playing a spare man back when you already know you ae up against it. Better to keep yourself in the game for as long as possible sometimes and then look to win it when the game has to be won (in the final qrt) than give it up with an 8 goal to nil headstart and basically no chance of pegging it back. Whats the difference bn dropping a man back and flooding 100% of your side into the back half which has been common practise with many sides at AFL level anyway (that have been successful).

Im talking about the mental effect it has on teams. They seem beaten before they even come out.

The big difference is that at AFL level they obviously have the time to practice various scenarios at training eg loose players back or flooding. They know exactly what is expected of them when playing certain roles eg loose. At our level players seem to be just filling in non dangerous areas and waisting their time being a plus one defender. You would hope these sides train in these type of 'scenarios' but from what I can see it doesn't seem like that? This could be due to lack of numbers at training ?? I would encourage teams to play man on man and back their cattle in form the start. Show some belief in your players

Im talking about the mental effect it has on teams. They seem beaten before they even come out.

The big difference is that at AFL level they obviously have the time to practice various scenarios at training eg loose players back or flooding. They know exactly what is expected of them when playing certain roles eg loose. At our level players seem to be just filling in non dangerous areas and waisting their time being a plus one defender. You would hope these sides train in these type of 'scenarios' but from what I can see it doesn't seem like that? This could be due to lack of numbers at training ?? I would encourage teams to play man on man and back their cattle in form the start. Show some belief in your players

Pies I could be wrong as it could have just been late in the game but didnt you guys drop a loose man back against us. Again maybe it was late in the game so a non point but I thought you played someone there for most of the game, maybe no. 9, super quick fair height??? good player.

If so, I wouldnt have thought it was a negative move from you guys as much as a game plan? Which worked well I might add.

I do get your point though, it's a defeatest attitude in most cases.

Agreed great game right down to the wire. I wish we could look at the replay on a few of those free kicks, cant say I have ever seen a bloke take a speckie and give away the free kick for a push with his knees before???? WFT? Sometimes I think our umps make up the rules as they go.

Hopefully in future the Redcliffe ressies can grasp the concept of not bringing your own grog to away games, thanks to the 2 blokes who actually did the right thing. Very disappointing considering how long we stayed back to put some money through your bar last year. Good way to ruin club relationships imo. Sure it wont happen again :)
Were the maggots really as bad as what i'm reading in the Coomera v Tigers game ...... i thought they kept all the dodgy decision makers in Div 2

Big wraps for my UQ 4ths boys beating Nambour! That is Morro's boys and now Nambour accounted for! Here is hoping my mates in the 4ths can keep with it :)

I wouldn't be too quick to heap praise here Mufasa. If Neutral is right and Nambour had 8 seniors out it makes sense that those 8 came straight our of their ressies. Full credit to your boys though - they can only beat who is out there and they have the 4 points right now, but I wouldn't like to be the team that faces them when those 8 are back in the two's.

Were the maggots really as bad as what i'm reading in the Coomera v Tigers game ...... i thought they kept all the dodgy decision makers in Div 2

They were pretty ordinary but it went both ways, all you can do is play to the whistle. I actually feel sorry for umps, **** of a job and no ****ing way I'd do it.

I wouldn't be too quick to heap praise here Mufasa. If Neutral is right and Nambour had 8 seniors out it makes sense that those 8 came straight our of their ressies. Full credit to your boys though - they can only beat who is out there and they have the 4 points right now, but I wouldn't like to be the team that faces them when those 8 are back in the two's.

Mufasa?

I'm also glad predictions of a 400 point win to Nambour weren't granted :D

I was just seeing if you could swear with a bit of creativity.....

Hahaha, I'd delete it before the mods see it. ;)

And I have to confess, I did have to google Mufasa, but once I got the answer, my childhood came rushing back :D

But as Logan and Coomera have seen, we have our own Lion.... Randy the Red Lion :D

which ground do u enjoy playin on the most ?
as a buffs player i love our ground. i enjoy playin at logan and redcliffe as well.
good atmopheres there. looking forward to the derby this weekend.

which ground do u enjoy playin on the most ?
as a buffs player i love our ground. i enjoy playin at logan and redcliffe as well.
good atmopheres there. looking forward to the derby this weekend.

I enjoy ur back yard the turf on that is 2nd to none especially the section between the clothes line an water tank kp

Let's just say they were "inconsistent" and made some very "creative" decisions. In my opinion if you don't remember them they did a great job.... Alas, they were probably remembered by both sides equally.

Can anyone shed light on this- week before last we had a deliberate rushed behind free kick paid in our game (although he was being tackled at the time). I was under the understanding that rule wasn't enforced in our division regardless. Any ideas if I'm wrong?!