2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Re: Dream team

Buffaloridge, I having difficulty trying to make sense of your post, however if you were trying to say that Kedron have dropped down to Div 4, then that is completely incorrect.

I can assure you Kedron still remain in SEQAFL Division 2 (formerly State Association Division 1).

Cheers for that Rhino, I was pretty suprised when I heard they were dropping back also. Some great blokes at Kedron and would be a shame to see such a big fall from grace.

Interested on anyone's thoughts on who might be the big improvers this year? IMO and going on what I've heard & read I would pick Coomera. They had a solid season last year, sounds like they could go top two this year

I have also heard Coomera will go up another peg this season, they weren't far off the pace last year, so one would expect them to give it a good shake.

It appears nambour will widen the gap though which is a bit scary for the comp :eek:

The Buffs have some handy blokes that have joined us in the last month which should see us provide a similar competitive outfit to last year, but with a younger squad which is great for our future. 2 of them will suprise the hell out of this division and I am backing one of them already to win the league medal as I believe he is the best player our div will have seen in my time.

Rumours are still running rife that Logan have very few on the track still, really hope this is crap though for the sake of the comp, would be a shame to see them go backwards after such big steps forward last year.

Everyone else is pretty quiet, maybe they are looking for suprise attacks on the comp, or maybe they just have nothing to report, fortunately we dont have to wait too much longer.

P.s Have been told by 2 different club officials that Nambour have accepted the offer to move to Div 1, but this morning was told by a pretty reliable source that they declined. Can anyone confirm or deny if there has been any movement on this topic? Personally I think with the addiiton of some Caloundra players as reported, they would definately play finals in Div 2 and give that comp a fair shake aswell. Would be an amazing escalation of a club in a very short period of time.

Re: Dream team

Cheers for that Rhino, I was pretty suprised when I heard they were dropping back also. Some great blokes at Kedron and would be a shame to see such a big fall from grace.

Here here!

Good to see Kedron staying in the comp. :)

I have also heard Coomera will go up another peg this season, they weren't far off the pace last year, so one would expect them to give it a good shake.

It appears nambour will widen the gap though which is a bit scary for the comp :eek:

The Buffs have some handy blokes that have joined us in the last month which should see us provide a similar competitive outfit to last year, but with a younger squad which is great for our future. 2 of them will suprise the hell out of this division and I am backing one of them already to win the league medal as I believe he is the best player our div will have seen in my time.

Rumours are still running rife that Logan have very few on the track still, really hope this is crap though for the sake of the comp, would be a shame to see them go backwards after such big steps forward last year.

Everyone else is pretty quiet, maybe they are looking for suprise attacks on the comp, or maybe they just have nothing to report, fortunately we dont have to wait too much longer.

P.s Have been told by 2 different club officials that Nambour have accepted the offer to move to Div 1, but this morning was told by a pretty reliable source that they declined. Can anyone confirm or deny if there has been any movement on this topic? Personally I think with the addiiton of some Caloundra players as reported, they would definately play finals in Div 2 and give that comp a fair shake aswell. Would be an amazing escalation of a club in a very short period of time.

No caloundra players are heading to nambour that I know of.

I have it on good authority that Nambour never seriously considered moving up. They are a smart club and I am told they will never consider the next division until they are also strong in the reserves. Being the Neutral Observor I tend to move around some clubs - the good word is that Redcliffe are the real deal and are really setting themselves for a crack at Nambour in their up comming practice match to determine where they actually sit, should be a beauty - for a practice match. A past Ipswich Coach has also advised that they have an influx of RAAF players from Amberley and are looking to give the finals a real shake - good luck to them I say. Bring it on..... the footy that is.

Why do you say this Morro?

Looking to rebuild down at the chook pen, good numbers on the track, everyone has put in a very solid pre-season. Have got some handy new additions to the club and are fitting in well. It's a mostly young group looking to build for the future. Will most likely be a mixed season for us, no bold predictions for the chooks this year but shouldn't be looking all the way up the ladder by seasons end, it's a case of watch this space. One word to describe the Roosters this year, United

Where's all the Logan muppets ? This page is by far to friendly ! Wish someone would consider stiring the pot a little !

strange thing to say, they won't have the benefit of poaching half of maroochydores reserves this year, and from what I am hearing a few nambour boys are talking about heading back to Maroochydore.

Smy my good mate, buddy old pal :D

Mate I just heard that they had retained most of their squad from last year and had picked up a few more. Certainly wasnt passing it off as fact, just based on rumours and most rumours that come out about them arent usually covered in shit like most other teams.

More than happy to be wrong, seriously hope I am actually

First time Big Footy user, long time viewer of this division of footy.

Some interesting posts here and all is set for a good season of footy. Hard not to tip Nambour to go back to back in the seniors. Coomera sound like they are only going to get stronger as well as Redcliffe. A little birdy has told me that several of Beenleigh's key players have decided to show their wares in the Pineapple Cup and could mean that the once competitive Buffaloes may not be so this year. Anyone involved with them will no doubt quash these rumours...

Heard that Ipswich may have picked up a few air force recruits and should be alot more competitive than last season. Logan are apparently keeping a low profile this pre-season and are keeping quiet about their prospects. Be hard not to imagine that they will still be pretty strong after making the granny last year. Suppose only time will tell.

Griffith Moorooka are continuing with their youth policy and one would think they should improve this year and for the years to come. Any news on how Caboolture are travelling?

Bring on the 24th March

As long as you don't think there are a number that will play for the Lions next year we are all sweet!:D

No thats fine, thought you may have heard some more news. They certainly thought long and hard about moving up to Div 1 but as someone else said on here (might have been you?) the concern with lack of depth in the 2's went against them.

Out of interest, those who know better, would they have competed highly with last years side in Div above? What is the jump in standard like? Is there a jump?

As long as you don't think there are a number that will play for the Lions next year we are all sweet!:D

No thats fine, thought you may have heard some more news. They certainly thought long and hard about moving up to Div 1 but as someone else said on here (might have been you?) the concern with lack of depth in the 2's went against them.

Out of interest, those who know better, would they have competed highly with last years side in Div above? What is the jump in standard like? Is there a jump?

Using Robina as a reference point, who were highly competitive and lost many games by under a kick or 2 in their first year back in Div 1, I can confidently say that Nambours best 22 or so woould have made finals last year in the div up. Their ressies however would have really struggled. The main difference in my opinion in the div up, is 2 fold. The good sides run deeper in quality and generally their top end talent would have it over our div. Our top 5 last year would all have won some games.

First time Big Footy user, long time viewer of this division of footy.

Some interesting posts here and all is set for a good season of footy. Hard not to tip Nambour to go back to back in the seniors. Coomera sound like they are only going to get stronger as well as Redcliffe. A little birdy has told me that several of Beenleigh's key players have decided to show their wares in the Pineapple Cup and could mean that the once competitive Buffaloes may not be so this year. Anyone involved with them will no doubt quash these rumours...

Heard that Ipswich may have picked up a few air force recruits and should be alot more competitive than last season. Logan are apparently keeping a low profile this pre-season and are keeping quiet about their prospects. Be hard not to imagine that they will still be pretty strong after making the granny last year. Suppose only time will tell.

Griffith Moorooka are continuing with their youth policy and one would think they should improve this year and for the years to come. Any news on how Caboolture are travelling?

Bring on the 24th March

We have lost 4 very good players mate, 1 to fishing(WTF), 2 to Surfers who apparently are really impressing and 1 to Springwood. Certainly hurts thats for sure, but cant hold it against them.
On a positive note, we have more than covered those losses with 4 extremely handy additions. We will still be very competitive this season, of that I have no doubt. I would probably say we will be on par with last year but with more youth, which is great for the club. As recently as last night we had another 2 very good players come back to the club aswell. Both early 20's.
Our ressies dont appear to have the depth of last year but have retained most of our core players which should see us remain quite competitive again.

Any word on you guys fielding a thirds team this year Morro?

No can do mate. Our 3rds last year consisted mostly of older blokes who have hang up the boots. We simply dont have the numbers this year. Shame really but seems we are not alone in the not enough players category.

A shame, the buffs thirds played at a similar level to our Yeronga Thirds and generally played the game in good spirits. Not many actual thirds teams around these days.

Redcliffe have had an influx of several players but have also lost some experience. I know they are keen to have a run against Nambour to see where they are at. I think the 2's my struggle this year with the Ruckman gone interstate and Frusher and Ricky Bob not sighted so far. Whereas last year The Buffs had more depth i think some others may be a better chance to take the title.

We have lost 4 very good players mate, 1 to fishing(WTF), 2 to Surfers who apparently are really impressing and 1 to Springwood. Certainly hurts thats for sure, but cant hold it against them.
On a positive note, we have more than covered those losses with 4 extremely handy additions. We will still be very competitive this season, of that I have no doubt. I would probably say we will be on par with last year but with more youth, which is great for the club. As recently as last night we had another 2 very good players come back to the club aswell. Both early 20's.
Our ressies dont appear to have the depth of last year but have retained most of our core players which should see us remain quite competitive again.

Which player left to Surfers and Springwood? Fishing is a new one!

nambours team will be extremely different to last years with many people moving away for work ect... in saying that for the first time in a whilst our 18's have great numbers to training. overall wont know the makeup of our team till a couple of games in, no different to last year really.
also we only have one person going back to mdore, to play thirds with all of his mates.

this rain does suck tho, last week we trainined on our ground and it was the best it has been in 3 years, who know with all this rain how it will pull up :(.
looking forward to redcliff next week!

Using Robina as a reference point, who were highly competitive and lost many games by under a kick or 2 in their first year back in Div 1, I can confidently say that Nambours best 22 or so woould have made finals last year in the div up. Their ressies however would have really struggled. The main difference in my opinion in the div up, is 2 fold. The good sides run deeper in quality and generally their top end talent would have it over our div. Our top 5 last year would all have won some games.

Yeah good points - invariably too in divisions above there is less "soft" games where certain players can be rested / nursed thru matches. less blow outs and in turn tend to be more injuries hence rely on 2's blokes more.
Sounds like Nambour recognised their lack of depth and wisely stayed put.

Assjar - interesting that you guys and Maroochydore are flushed with 18's this year - 2 clubs that really have made an effort to get them off the ground and support this age group and recognise the importance of the connection bn juniors and senior footy. Roos have over 40 boys signed up currently!

nambours team will be extremely different to last years with many people moving away for work ect... in saying that for the first time in a whilst our 18's have great numbers to training. overall wont know the makeup of our team till a couple of games in, no different to last year really.
also we only have one person going back to mdore, to play thirds with all of his mates.

this rain does suck tho, last week we trainined on our ground and it was the best it has been in 3 years, who know with all this rain how it will pull up :(.
looking forward to redcliff next week!

and it was your coaches brother!

http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/story/2012/02/26/focus-on-juniors-has-roos-leaping-ahead/

"We had quite an exodus of playing talent last year, but they weren't necessarily people we wanted at the club.
"We've now got people coming to us saying they've heard what we're doing and they are keen to be a part of it. A football club should be about more than just putting a team on the field each week."

Hope the Nambour boys that left Maroochydore last year don't read that, not sure it is directed at them.

Yeah read that too today S36.... First thought was "ouch"!!
Hopefully he wasn't taken out of context (the local rag has been known to do this occasionally...) but agree that reckon ALL the blokes that went to Nambour wouldn't fit into this category as none were at the Roos playing for $$ anyway in 2010.

the slime can say what they want, im happy with all the mdore players that came over. we didnt get any ********s.