2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Two big thumbs up to the way the Roosters went about their business in both grades yesterday. We got the jump early in the magoos and though the result was never in doubt the Roosters put in all across the ground.

Their seniors had a red hot crack especially after half time so they should be commended considering what happened up at Nambour. As they say a week is along time in footy so the club should be proud the way both sides went about it.

Very much looking forward to Redcliffe/Beenleigh game this week. Should be a cracker.

It appears the top 5 will be Nambour, Redcliffe, Caboolture, Coomera & Beenleigh, just gotta sort out the pecking order! Beers in a coaches' box, now that almost makes the gig seem even more farcical than a youth policy, pink boots or fatigue breaking bones!

Yeah but I bet they get a lot of applicants at years end...:D

I had the pleasure of being involved with the Caboolture Football Club in the rescheduling of UQ's Saturdays games to Bribie and was able to stay round and watch the games. The ressies was a cliff hanger - I think there was a point in it at 3/4 time - where either side could have taken the game which was played in a great spirit with not the slightest suggestion of dirty/late/aggressive play at any point - great for the spirit of Div 3 footy
The Caboolture seniors are a class act - Roo amongst others had a cracking game. As for your your full forward - what a talent. Congrats to the Uni boys who, as always, ran it out to the final siren.
Congrats to the Caboolture Football club for the professionalism they bring to the game - it was a pleasure locking swords.

Nambour and UQ to play in the ressies GF is my prediction. Nambour arent stupid and have depth and will have quality plyers available into finals, UQ have an ego to feed and will do outrageous things to ensure they are there. Youth policy to come third
I just saw this little gem - chat forums are are a great way for the ignorant and uninformed to rubbish other clubs without the slightest idea of what actually happens. So can i clarify for you as to what goes on at UQ!
We are very strong in club of rewarding those that do the hard yards and contribute to the team - its not all about natural talent - anyone who has coached a team of any sort over time will know exactly what I mean.
Our reserves coach has worked hard to get the fitness level of our ressies boys up. A core of them have been at it since September last year.
There is no way we would be pushing guys out who have done the work and played a full season of ressies to make way for a senior player in order to stack a team. A fair dinkum senior player who things that is the right thing to do ought have a good hard look at themselves.
I understand that a flag is very much the holy grail for many but not at the expense of fairness and doing the decent thing by your players - we actually want our players to see the Club and game as a great thing to be part of and want to see them all back again next year. The quest for a flag should not be at the expense of ripping the heart and soul from deserving players!

I just saw this little gem - chat forums are are a great way for the ignorant and uninformed to rubbish other clubs without the slightest idea of what actually happens. So can i clarify for you as to what goes on at UQ!
We are very strong in club of rewarding those that do the hard yards and contribute to the team - its not all about natural talent - anyone who has coached a team of any sort over time will know exactly what I mean.
Our reserves coach has worked hard to get the fitness level of our ressies boys up. A core of them have been at it since September last year.
There is no way we would be pushing guys out who have done the work and played a full season of ressies to make way for a senior player in order to stack a team. A fair dinkum senior player who things that is the right thing to do ought have a good hard look at themselves.
I understand that a flag is very much the holy grail for many but not at the expense of fairness and doing the decent thing by your players - we actually want our players to see the Club and game as a great thing to be part of and want to see them all back again next year. The quest for a flag should not be at the expense of ripping the heart and soul from deserving players!

Hear, Hear!

Two big thumbs up to the way the Roosters went about their business in both grades yesterday. We got the jump early in the magoos and though the result was never in doubt the Roosters put in all across the ground.

Their seniors had a red hot crack especially after half time so they should be commended considering what happened up at Nambour. As they say a week is along time in footy so the club should be proud the way both sides went about it.

Very much looking forward to Redcliffe/Beenleigh game this week. Should be a cracker.

Very well said Cats35. It was the first time this year I have seen both Moorooka and Redcliffe and I must agree the way the Roosters went about the games was top class. Yes they struggled a bit against very good opposition but not once did they shirk an issue and they put in 100% the entire day, didn’t whinge or whine at the umpires and played the game in the right spirit. The Roosters seem to have very good people at the top and this cascades down to the teams. Overall very impressed by what I saw from the Roosters and I hope they get a couple of wins before the end of the season they deserve it. Also if Redcliffe can keep going the way they are they will be a major player in finals.

having not seen a minute of football in this league this year, I think i am extremely well qualified to say the pivotal games for the make up of the final 5 look to be Beenleigh v Redcliffe, Beenleigh v Logan, Coomera v Redcliffe, Commera v Logan and logan v cab over the next 5 weeks.

Neutral - start saving your pension for petrol for the 28th of July... Beenleigh v Logan... would suggest would be worth a look!!

As morro has attempted to say all year, make the 5 and it doesnt matter where you finish you can still win the flag - this comp has a history of straight sets finals losses and minor premiers losing the gf over the last 5 years.

we will see sunshine

Probably one of the smartest things I've read on this page. I've spoken to your Ressies captain and I don't think he would let anything under handed go on while he is around either.

Good luck for the rest of the year to your boys.

Oldman1, well put earlier. I for one think the UQ model could be an exciting one to be part of. Not knowing the inner workings of selection it would, & is one that would demand a pretty secure structure for selection and I believe the club seems to be on the whole, pretty successful. All the best to them

having not seen a minute of football in this league this year, I think i am extremely well qualified to say the pivotal games for the make up of the final 5 look to be Beenleigh v Redcliffe, Beenleigh v Logan, Coomera v Redcliffe, Commera v Logan and logan v cab over the next 5 weeks.

Neutral - start saving your pension for petrol for the 28th of July... Beenleigh v Logan... would suggest would be worth a look!!

As morro has attempted to say all year, make the 5 and it doesnt matter where you finish you can still win the flag - this comp has a history of straight sets finals losses and minor premiers losing the gf over the last 5 years.

well said chap

Aright looks like the top 5 is nearly settled unless Logan do something special in the last 5 weeks. To be honest our form Redcliffe and coomera has not been great as of late whereas Beenleigh have improved which hurts me to say. The next 5 weeks see us all playing each-other at some stage so it is there for the taking boys, good luck.
Is Nambour stronger than last year? From our perspective we would say no, as we have had 2 very close games. But when I look at other results it may seem the case? Has Beenleigh recruited anyone from the divs above of late?

Aright looks like the top 5 is nearly settled unless Logan do something special in the last 5 weeks. To be honest our form Redcliffe and coomera has not been great as of late whereas Beenleigh have improved which hurts me to say. The next 5 weeks see us all playing each-other at some stage so it is there for the taking boys, good luck.
Is Nambour stronger than last year? From our perspective we would say no, as we have had 2 very close games. But when I look at other results it may seem the case? Has Beenleigh recruited anyone from the divs above of late?

I'm not familiar enough with the Beenleigh list to comment on who is new but I can say that from what I saw there wasn't 1 or 2 superstars that won them the game Saturday. If you look at the goals list it shows they had a good spread over the field and worked well as a team.

I would say Nambour are still the strongest side in the competition but I truly believe that anyone down to 6th can win their way through finals and knock off the favourites.

I hope for the competitions sake that all sides have a clean bill of health all the way through! Every side will have some well deserved drinks come their respective mad Monday's!

I

Mate can guarantee you the beenleigh team yaself an coomera challenged has been the same for the majority of the season! We jus havnt had a game where we could put together our best 22 until recently hence the good form..

We only have 2 guys on our list that werent on our list when we first played you. We dont have alot of numbers as I have said multiple times, and in the first half of the year we were smashed by injuries and bloody weddings amongst other things. We always knew our bad luck would turn and in the past 6 weeks or so it has. We still have players out like everyone, and lost 2 more on the weekend but unlike 6 weeks ago when we had 12 senior players and 19 players in total unavailable we have a solid core playing consecutive weeks which is the key. heck, we didint finish with a bench for most of the first 10 weeks and had players doubling up but apparently that was just a lame excuse.

Our starting midfield group did not all play together once in the first half of the year which killed us. I am not predicting a Buffs flag by any means but I have never seen a clubs depth that I have been involved in, so decimated as ours was.

Maybe the last fortnight has proven to the doubters what I had been saying all along. I have been involved with this league long enough to know what I am talking about and am glad to see a few admitting they were off the mark. Our coach has done a great job with the hand he was dealt early and his hard work is paying off. A lesser man would have walked away IMO. Our group is really gelling and whilst this year may not proivide us with the ultimate, the club has taken enough steps in the right direction to ensure we remain competitive as we have done for so long.

Rant over and thanks for listening.

Ps. Swoops, you are one of the few good guys on this forum, and I appreciate your summary of the buffs. fair assessment IMO.

We only have 2 guys on our list that werent on our list when we first played you. We dont have alot of numbers as I have said multiple times, and in the first half of the year we were smashed by injuries and bloody weddings amongst other things. We always knew our bad luck would turn and in the past 6 weeks or so it has. We still have players out like everyone, and lost 2 more on the weekend but unlike 6 weeks ago when we had 12 senior players and 19 players in total unavailable we have a solid core playing consecutive weeks which is the key. heck, we didint finish with a bench for most of the first 10 weeks and had players doubling up but apparently that was just a lame excuse.

Our starting midfield group did not all play together once in the first half of the year which killed us. I am not predicting a Buffs flag by any means but I have never seen a clubs depth that I have been involved in, so decimated as ours was.

Maybe the last fortnight has proven to the doubters what I had been saying all along. I have been involved with this league long enough to know what I am talking about and am glad to see a few admitting they were off the mark. Our coach has done a great job with the hand he was dealt early and his hard work is paying off. A lesser man would have walked away IMO. Our group is really gelling and whilst this year may not proivide us with the ultimate, the club has taken enough steps in the right direction to ensure we remain competitive as we have done for so long.

Ps. Swoops, you are one of the few good guys on this forum, and I appreciate your summary of the buffs. fair assessment IMO.

No worries. Call it how I see it.

Think there will be plenty of movement and thrilling games by seasons end.

Seriously... if I had a dollar for everytime I heard a Beenleigh complaint about not having a full strength team - I would be a rich man!
Yes, it seems you guys have hit some form, do we believe the shit that comes out of your mouth regarding your squad, NO! For all your self proclaimed greatness you seem the need to validate things a lot! You may have silenced some doubters regarding potentially playing finals but there are still a lot of us who agree 100% you are still a twat. Except for KP obviously! The day this bloke has an original thought and doesn't bat off to everything 'Morro says' can't come soon enough!

Regarding Sat it should be a good game... We will ensure there is hot water, beers and I have arranged for a small light aircraft bearing my reall identity to fly over the ground. And don't worry - we have already made mention in the local paper that the game on the weekend is a sell out. Only because we couldn't fit our regulars in with your massive ego as well bud. And before you go on about revealing yourself AGAIN... its a forum so i can say what I like and keep my anonymity.

Good luck to all on the weekend.

Seriously... if I had a dollar for everytime I heard a Beenleigh complaint about not having a full strength team - I would be a rich man!
Yes, it seems you guys have hit some form, do we believe the shit that comes out of your mouth regarding your squad, NO! For all your self proclaimed greatness you seem the need to validate things a lot! You may have silenced some doubters regarding potentially playing finals but there are still a lot of us who agree 100% you are still a twat. Except for KP obviously! The day this bloke has an original thought and doesn't bat off to everything 'Morro says' can't come soon enough!

Regarding Sat it should be a good game... We will ensure there is hot water, beers and I have arranged for a small light aircraft bearing my reall identity to fly over the ground. And don't worry - we have already made mention in the local paper that the game on the weekend is a sell out. Only because we couldn't fit our regulars in with your massive ego as well bud. And before you go on about revealing yourself AGAIN... its a forum so i can say what I like and keep my anonymity.

Brock McLean?

Oooh stirring the pot before the big game Saturday nice! You've been workin on that speech for a while I like it.. Ya clearly arnt makin sence " there's stil some of us agree 100% ur a twat" wats that got to do with buffs makin finals???

Hahahahahahaha good one.:rolleyes:

Dis you rush off to the mirror after typing this, flex your guns, beat your chest and remind yourself what a big man are you?

In all seriousness though, you not liking me is about the last straw on this forum for me. How can I possible go on knowing that some hero hiding behind his computer screen thinks I am a Twat?:(

Need a loan peanut?

Just when I thought this thread was being destroyed by too many hugs & kisses between all the clubs Geelong9999 breathes some life into it! And without using the words muppet, peanut or princess! One of the only games I've seen this year was between Beenleigh & Redcliffe & I reckon this one will be better... How far is the Redcliffe ground from Everton Hills? 40mins?

Oooh stirring the pot before the big game Saturday nice! You've been workin on that speech for a while I like it.. Ya clearly arnt makin sence " there's stil some of us agree 100% ur a twat" wats that got to do with buffs makin finals???

Hello 'Hero'.... What big game is this mate you talk about?
Because we are playing Beenleigh so hardly worth that billing! And you have hurt my feelings now with your big words....