2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Morro can you confirm or deny that the buffs and Cob's are in talks about re merging? I heard it come from the mouth of your boys but not sure if they were just having a joke. They seemed pretty serious.

Gaz not a chance that Logan and Beenleigh will merge, I'd say the Beenleigh boys were taking the piss.

Went out to Moorooka on Saturday and watched the Cobras take on Calamvale. I know that we only had half a senior side play and I hope for the Leopards sake that they did too otherwise they will unfortunantly be in for a long season I'd say and I wouldn't wish that upon them. Cobras defeated Calamvale by over 100 points. We have Coomera this weekend I believe so that will be a great test to see how we are travelling so far this pre-season.

The Caboolture - UQ game was a good day out, and full credit to the Caboolture club for how they ran the day. Without any of the rain that was seen further south, the water misting tent was well received.

I'm not sure if anyone kept score, but it would have been pretty close. To be honest, it was scrappy footy that you expect this time of year. Played in good spirit though, with a few hard but fair bumps thrown in.

UQ, with our usual high number of new players, are still learning each other's names. What we lack in height is being made up for in youth and speed so far (excepting a couple of us old buggers down in the ressies). We should yet get a few back who are training in the Div 2 squad and would have been at the match against Robina.

The Caboolture - UQ game was a good day out, and full credit to the Caboolture club for how they ran the day. Without any of the rain that was seen further south, the water misting tent was well received.

I'm not sure if anyone kept score, but it would have been pretty close. To be honest, it was scrappy footy that you expect this time of year. Played in good spirit though, with a few hard but fair bumps thrown in.

UQ, with our usual high number of new players, are still learning each other's names. What we lack in height is being made up for in youth and speed so far (excepting a couple of us old buggers down in the ressies). We should yet get a few back who are training in the Div 2 squad and would have been at the match against Robina.

It was a great day and a big thanks to UQ as the day was played in great spirit. The game was very scrappy as expected but I was very impressed with some talented youngsters from both sides. I expect UQ to improve and I really believe we are on the right track for a good year.

Heard Redcliffe looked impressive on the weekend from one of my mates. Maybe they are the bolters early on in the season??

Gaz not a chance that Logan and Beenleigh will merge, I'd say the Beenleigh boys were taking the piss.

Went out to Moorooka on Saturday and watched the Cobras take on Calamvale. I know that we only had half a senior side play and I hope for the Leopards sake that they did too otherwise they will unfortunantly be in for a long season I'd say and I wouldn't wish that upon them. Cobras defeated Calamvale by over 100 points. We have Coomera this weekend I believe so that will be a great test to see how we are travelling so far this pre-season.

Yep 6 quarters again should be good hit out. Not sure whether we will play the full side or just the new guys to have a good look at them but looking forward to it.

I got some answers today. I think beenliegh and logan are thinking of combining an 18's team for a year because neither can field a team.

Hi ladies, have been busy but missed you all greatly, especially Gaz, she is quite the dirty girl, pinching a muscle in her back in the warm up for what I must ask????? :eek:

Anywho, just thought I would add my 2 cents worth about the great white hope that is Coomera.

My first impressions are that you will know you have played a game of footy come Sunday morning after you play the Coomera boys. They seem to flood the ball area and cause alot of contested footy which was a strength.
They have alot of medium sized players who like to run to carry and take you on at every opportunity. They will need to learn quickly when and who against to do this though as not all are up to it.
They have some great kids though who are certain to step up for them this year.
On a negative though, and only based on the 40 odd blokes they had available, seemed to lack genuine KPP's and I think will struggle against the big forwards unless they had some KPD's not playing. Seemed quite short across the park which may be an issue against the quality sides. Again, though, they could have a few in hiding.

In general though, well coached, well drilled and pretty consistent across the park they will definately play finals.

The Buffs like every year will have plenty of numbers come RD 1 :eek: just not now.

What is on offer in the way of practice matches this weekend? I have tickets to the Blues v Lions match at Maroochydore - is there any games up that way I could peruse before hand?

Neutral I know Nambour are playing Aspley (2nd side??) at the northshore ground (near the sunshine coast airport) at 12-1230 tmrw. about a 10 min drive from fishermans rd ground. Im aware u already watched the blues last week thou

Thanks footy2b - I will head up early and have a look at this game if there is nothing else on offer. It will be good to watch the reigning premier against a div higher. After watching nambour last week I don't think the result will even be on the radar though - nor it should be this time of year. I will post my neutral thoughts.

Hey guys, first post.

Griffith Moorooka take on UQ in both grades down at the chook pen. Reserves kick off from 12 as per usual. Should be a good game :)

It won't be a good game, we are (again) a young side but have done a tonne of work over the preseason and will pants you guys.

The mysterious and knowledgable Papplepop has returned.

4 from 4 from UQ teams today. Hopefully we can repeat an effort like that when the real stuff happens.

Congrats to the Div 3 UQ boys. Very proud of you guys

Can anyone in the know tell me if Aspley were near full strength against Nambour yesterday?........

If they were Nambour will go back to back. They were a vastly different team to the one that played redcliffe last week.

Aspley had far bigger bodies and won the game by around 3 goals, the score board was not up so I cannot confirm. The game was fast, tough and uncompromising. Both teams tackled well as was a pleasure to watch.

Nambour dominated out of the centre for all but the 2nd qtr which possibly cost them the game. They have a yound kid in the ruck who started taking contested marks around the ground as well - he looks very raw but will be an asset. The big blonde bloke I spoke of last week, I think they call him Jammy or jammo or similar can throw some jumper punches - stay away from them players, he plays the game very hard but fair.

Very well coached and drilled, they appear to play the game for each other, where as I saw some selfish football from Aspley which will need to be coached out of them. I heard that aspley are in premiership contention this year - if they are then Nambour should have gone up a division based on what I saw yesterday, if Aspley were near full strength that is.....

I then went and watched the Blues v Lions game - it paled a bit after watching Nambour and Aspley go at it.

Can anyone in the know tell me if Aspley were near full strength against Nambour yesterday?........

If they were Nambour will go back to back. They were a vastly different team to the one that played redcliffe last week.

Aspley had far bigger bodies and won the game by around 3 goals, the score board was not up so I cannot confirm. The game was fast, tough and uncompromising. Both teams tackled well as was a pleasure to watch.

Nambour dominated out of the centre for all but the 2nd qtr which possibly cost them the game. They have a yound kid in the ruck who started taking contested marks around the ground as well - he looks very raw but will be an asset. The big blonde bloke I spoke of last week, I think they call him Jammy or jammo or similar can throw some jumper punches - stay away from them players, he plays the game very hard but fair.

Very well coached and drilled, they appear to play the game for each other, where as I saw some selfish football from Aspley which will need to be coached out of them. I heard that aspley are in premiership contention this year - if they are then Nambour should have gone up a division based on what I saw yesterday, if Aspley were near full strength that is.....

I then went and watched the Blues v Lions game - it paled a bit after watching Nambour and Aspley go at it.
I think you will find that the Aspley you saw was their 3rd division outfit.Their senior state legue team would beat Noosa by 15 goals plus and nambour by over 30 goals.Agree though Nambour are very well drilled and coached and should take some beating in their comp in 2012.

Please don't insult my football intelligence Noosa Boy - as if I would have thought that this would have been the state league side....They don't have a 3rd div team they have a div 2 team which is who they Nambour played on Saturday - does anyone, with knowledge, know if this div 2 side was near full strength?

it was aspleys full division 2 senoir side besides 2-3 ppl out for work. there reserves side had a practice match at the same time somewhere is brisbane.

was a good hitout 2 weeks before the season

umm, this has to be up there for most obvious post of the year?

it was aspleys full division 2 senoir side besides 2-3 ppl out for work. there reserves side had a practice match at the same time somewhere is brisbane.

was a good hitout 2 weeks before the season

Any good pick ups Assjar this year? How did the ground hold up with the recent rains?

Think you will find Neutral that Nambours main concern about going up a level was depth. If they only have 20-22 players capable of playing well in Div 2 (the div above them - very confusing these days!) then all that was needed was 4-5 players go down (nearly a given) and then everything would have gone to pooh. Probably smart to stay back and then identify 2013 as the year. Certainly have taken over the mantle from Caloundra as the best club "next rung down" from Noosa/Maroochy and with the strength of Kawana as a junior club only getting better every year, I'm not sure what will happen down there at Panther land?

Please don't insult my football intelligence Noosa Boy - as if I would have thought that this would have been the state league side....They don't have a 3rd div team they have a div 2 team which is who they Nambour played on Saturday - does anyone, with knowledge, know if this div 2 side was near full strength?

Well said mate, enjoying your posts. Typical Noosa, think they know it all. Any other results from the weekend did Beenleigh play?

We had a hit out against surfers on saturday morning. They played everyone they thought to be outside of their best 22 ish. So basically played their reserves squad and players they weren't sure of yet, ie, new to the club.

Couldnt read much into it as they rotated probably 30-40 blokes at a guess and we had roughly 30 odd ourselves. They dominated us in the 1st quarter and then from there it was quite even. The biggest difference between them and us, was superior fitness.

We had a hit out against surfers on saturday morning. They played everyone they thought to be outside of their best 22 ish. So basically played their reserves squad and players they weren't sure of yet, ie, new to the club.

Couldnt read much into it as they rotated probably 30-40 blokes at a guess and we had roughly 30 odd ourselves. They dominated us in the 1st quarter and then from there it was quite even. The biggest difference between them and us, was superior fitness.

Good to see sides putting themselves up against some higher division talent. Cant wait for round one vs Nambour by the sounds of it might be a tough one? Any predictions of top 4 in div 3? Redcliffe, Ipswich, coomera are they the big improvers?

Unless Coomera had alot out when we played them, I wouldnt call them big improvers.

Ipswich still quite an unknown at this stage.

Redcliffe seem to have improved a little.

Just from what I witnessed, didn't think they would be major improvers... Not saying they won't be hard to beat but not great improvers? You from Ipswich?