2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

I've seen lesser players make it at that level with half the dedication he has and his disposal is generally pretty good I think.

His ability to keep running is second to none.
Who have Logan got this week? Is Milligan better than Nuetral's man #51?

I posted this on the Div 2 board and i am interested in the thoughts of the Div 3 board as well:

I see the Country Stockmen squad has been announced ... I don't think I see anyone from Div 2 or below which I think is a bit disappointing ... surely there is at one player in this competition who would be good enough to play in this rep side??

3 Questions
1: Is there anyone in Div 3 who you think could play this level of rep footy
2: Wouldn't it be a good idea to have a rep team from each division eg Div 2 play a game against a similar country league, Div 3 play as well against similar standard country league (Div 4 northern Rivers played Darling Downs 2 weeks ago)
3: Who would win a rep game if Div 2 played Div 3?? I personally think the top 22 in Div 3 would come very close

A rep game would be great. We used to have the Summerland League vs Coffs League which was always close.

Just to stir a bit of thought what about a Div 3 North v South in both grades.

North: Nambour, Caboolture, Redcliffe, UQ, Marooka
South: Ipswich, Calamvale, Logan, Beenleigh, Coomera

Played on a week off with perhaps it being a total score of the Seniors and Reserves taking the trophy?!

Good idea Swoopa although probably doesn't mean much in the end unfortunately. Would be good to forge some sort of relationship with another comp, maybe a northern NSW side?

A rep game would be great. We used to have the Summerland League vs Coffs League which was always close.

Played on a week off with perhaps it being a total score of the Seniors and Reserves taking the trophy?!

wow moorooka on the north side, that will make them strong, please look at a map

wow moorooka on the north side, that will make them strong, please look at amap

5 teams per squad with each submitting 5 players (25 total). Play with extended benches.

The training would be held central so travel is equal.

I understand Marooka isn't as north as others but the south side basically runs along the Logan Motorway, with the North being further up.

Let's not pick apart this imaginary Rep game ipw.

Perhaps a game vs the Division 4 Central or North teams?

I reckon it depends on your depth.

In my experience at this level, the drop off can be pretty significant from your starting 18 to your bench with alot of teams.

Personally I would prefer to have a tired gun resting in a pocket than a fresh but average footballer taking his spot.

Again its all about depth isnt it. Nambour for example probably dont lose much if anything when rotating blokes off the bench.
the gap between the best and worst player in a team is far greater at the lower level, if the fresh legged gumbie cant do what the tiring champ can do then the gumbie gets bench stains. It's a no brainer:rolleyes:

So we agree then ???

Who have Logan got this week? Is Milligan better than Nuetral's man #51?

i reckon milligan is better but thats just my opion.
dont bite my head of mr neutral observer i see calamvale took it upto caboolture for 3quarters. top effort moorooka for us this week to finish of the half way mark.

swoopa has TBOK (deano) trained with u boys yet.
hes me mate back from overseas very handy pickup plays on ball.

Hmmmm.... Name doesn't ring a bell mate but in saying that I tend to take time remembering names these days! Ha ha

Here's hoping though. Would be great pickup by the sounds of it.

Ha ha yeah he'll help the boys out.

You sure he isn't a 7 foot monster who can play forward, back and ruck?!

That'd be great!

haha if he was id be getting him at beenleigh :D
he played juniors with coota and couple of them. and lives out coomera.
so u play in the backline ?

haha if he was id be getting him at beenleigh :D
he played juniors with coota and couple of them. and lives out coomera.
so u play in the backline ?

Well he played in some good company! Ha ha

I play where I'm put but back line appears to be the most frequent ha ha

I reckon it depends on your depth.

In my experience at this level, the drop off can be pretty significant from your starting 18 to your bench with alot of teams.

Personally I would prefer to have a tired gun resting in a pocket than a fresh but average footballer taking his spot.

Again its all about depth isnt it. Nambour for example probably dont lose much if anything when rotating blokes off the bench.

gee I reckon its a no brainer - I'm with you Morro. Even at AFL level the very best players are now starting to rest as a deep forward. About time too. This rotation thing is overdone IMO, especially at local level where it is a case of monkey see, monkey do. The lower the level the importance of having your best players on the ground is far greater.
Lets not pretend the game moves that fast!

Jesus that would be a smashing!! North would win by over 100. 3 of top 4 sides

Very true, quality ruck stocks would be div 3's Achilles heel but no point having an Aaron sandillands if the taps don't go to advantage. I thought most competitions had rep footy every couple of years?

There are only rep games every 2 years to coincide with the Australian Country championships. There is always the Stockmen (mainly div 1 players with some NEAFL country origin) as well as 1 or 2 from country leagues v Cairns but I would have thought giving blokes who do the hard yards every week no matter what division an opportunity for rep honours would be great. It's only every 2 years how hard could it be for AFLQ to organise.

Div 4 South (northern Rivers) played Darling Downs a couple of weeks ago and Townsville played Mackay in a rep game which they play every 2 years. My thoughts would be something like

Div 2 v Townsville/Mackay
Div 3 v Capricornia/Mt Isa
Div 4 (north and Central) v Wide Bay
Div 4 South v Darling Downs

I know it's pie (no pun intended pies11) but surely blokes deserve at least an opportunity for rep footy. In my day the SQAFA Rep team used to play in the Qld State Champs and played regular rep games. Just a thought if any one from AFLQ cares and wants to keep blokes interested and playing this great game at grass roots level

I posted this on the Div 2 board and i am interested in the thoughts of the Div 3 board as well:

3: Who would win a rep game if Div 2 played Div 3?? I personally think the top 22 in Div 3 would come very close

I think you blokes need to get out more - Div 2 would give you a hiding - worth remembering that cab didnt win a game 3 years ago in Div 2 with a similiar team that sits top 3 atm.

General consenus is Div 2 has got stronger the last 3 years and Div 3 weaker.

Id even go as far to suggest that Div 3 rep team wouldnt play finals in Div 2.

Granted there are guys like Spring who played PHC and state footy but your div isnt that strong.

I think you blokes need to get out more - Div 2 would give you a hiding - worth remembering that cab didnt win a game 3 years ago in Div 2 with a similiar team that sits top 3 atm.

Granted there are guys like Spring who played PHC and state footy but your div isnt that strong.
Well they're fighting words. Not for 1 minute would I suggest Div 3 would beat a div 2 rep team but I still think it would be closer than what you suggest. I have seen a couple of Div 3 games but more Div 2 games and believe me there are some quality players in Div 3. Yes the quality falls away significantly compared to Div 2. I do agree Div 2 has got stronger even with the demise of Caloundra to Div 4 (still don't know how that happens to a side that won the flag 2010). It's just my opinion that the top 22 players in Div 3 would make a game of it and again it's just an opinion but a Div 3 rep team would play finals in Div 2 no doubt. It's good to see some healthy debate between the divisions.

Mate for starters caboolture's side is completely different form 3 years ago. Very limited players left from then. Don't kid yourself about div 2, it's not as good as your talking it up to be. From what I see it is stronger than div 3 but not by a great deal. I think for instance- Logan last yr and Nambour would be more than competitive at div 2 level. Not saying premiers, but i think challenging for finals birth. There is a massive jump when you get to PHC level and even bigger again at state league.
Div 3 standard this year has dropped with 4-5 sides really struggling. But I am confident when I say that top 2-3 sides would be competitive at div 2 level. I suppose we will find out next year when 1 side will have the oppurtunity to move up to the 'ELITE' div 2 hah

umpires agree its a good healthy debate - and whilst you did not say Div 3 would beat Div 2 you did say they would come very close. I guess it depends on your definition of very close as I think it would be a massacre - based on difference in skills, fitness etc

Dont think anyone in QLD footy {outside of SMY of course :) } truely understands how a premiership team loses numbers so quickly.

I think you would have say 10 Div 3 players at most that would be competitive for a period of time against the best of Div 2 - and this isnt a biased or sh*t stirring comment. Whilst yes Spring is outstanding and some say Milligan is a gun and old mate from Nambour famously known by his jumper number, the blokes that they would be playing on are the likes of guys who have been gun NEAFL players, ex AFL players and sadly they would get towelled up.

The teams in Div 2 did formerly have a rep game a few years back from memory when they were Div 1 played at Carrarra about 5 years ago but cant remember who it was against.

Mate for starters caboolture's side is completely different form 3 years ago. Very limited players left from then. Don't kid yourself about div 2, it's not as good as your talking it up to be. From what I see it is stronger than div 3 but not by a great deal. I think for instance- Logan last yr and Nambour would be more than competitive at div 2 level. Not saying premiers, but i think challenging for finals birth. There is a massive jump when you get to PHC level and even bigger again at state league.
Div 3 standard this year has dropped with 4-5 sides really struggling. But I am confident when I say that top 2-3 sides would be competitive at div 2 level. I suppose we will find out next year when 1 side will have the oppurtunity to move up to the 'ELITE' div 2 hah

Pies interested in your reply - could have sworn Peek won ur B&F, both wilkinsons were there and you used to kick it to the big fella. not sure of who else you have lost but would say not that much has changed. Do you believe you were stronger in Div 2 then your current team? As the year before you dropped back you didnt win a game - if you were stronger then and werent competitve and the general consensus is div 2 is a better league now im not sure how ur post supports your argument.

look at Kedron and Robina who went up last year. Kedron finished last and Robina didnt play finals. While both look to be competitve this year there lists have greatly changed with Robina now including a number of PHC players.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion and heathly objective debate is a great thing in footy - but my opinion stands that as a rep game it wouldnt be much of a contest.