2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Pies interested in your reply - could have sworn Peek won ur B&F, both wilkinsons were there and you used to kick it to the big fella. not sure of who else you have lost but would say not that much has changed. Do you believe you were stronger in Div 2 then your current team? As the year before you dropped back you didnt win a game - if you were stronger then and werent competitve and the general consensus is div 2 is a better league now im not sure how ur post supports your argument.

look at Kedron and Robina who went up last year. Kedron finished last and Robina didnt play finals. While both look to be competitve this year there lists have greatly changed with Robina now including a number of PHC players.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion and heathly objective debate is a great thing in footy - but my opinion stands that as a rep game it wouldnt be much of a contest.

They were very unlikely having lost a fair amount of games by under a goal or 2. This in my mind only adds to our argument.

I have played both Divs and dont think there is as big a gap as many say. Div 3 has plenty of NEAFL, PHC and Div 2 players playing in it to play with mates.

Nambour last year would have made finals in your div mate.

Dont take this as being a smart ass, but have you actually watched our div lately?

Morro I have also played in both div's and saw the gf last year - havent had a chance to see a game this year. likewise have u had a look at say a kings v uni game?

what would you think the margin would be? Id think 70 - 80 points.

interested in RUL's thoughts as he has seen uni have the top teams in seniors and reserves in div 2 and the teams that have struggled in div 3.

I am not having a go at the quality of the div or anything like that - I just think the cream of div 2 would rise a lot higher then that of div 3 purely on a fitness, skills and skills under intense pressure basis.

Mate for starters caboolture's side is completely different form 3 years ago. Very limited players left from then. Don't kid yourself about div 2, it's not as good as your talking it up to be. From what I see it is stronger than div 3 but not by a great deal. I think for instance- Logan last yr and Nambour would be more than competitive at div 2 level. Not saying premiers, but i think challenging for finals birth. There is a massive jump when you get to PHC level and even bigger again at state league.
Div 3 standard this year has dropped with 4-5 sides really struggling. But I am confident when I say that top 2-3 sides would be competitive at div 2 level. I suppose we will find out next year when 1 side will have the oppurtunity to move up to the 'ELITE' div 2 hah

tottaly agree with you mate. i played in robina's premership side in 2010
and we went up to div 2. with basically exact same side that won the flag bare 3-4players. and although we didnt play finals we ended up finishing 7th losing 6games by under 10pts and beating eventual premiers both times. now im playin at beenleigh but agree the top 3 sides in this div would be very compeptive as ive seen and be involved. div 3 is better haha its the most talked about compeption :thumbsu:

I agree that it would be a close game ... there are easily 22 players in div 3 that would easily get a game in div 2 and 10-15 that would be top 5 in many clubs a lot of the good players in div 3 are normally there not cos they are lazy but because they have full time jobs and can't commit to training which is a requirement . I managed to get to tansey park at 315pm on Saturday and I actually lost for words with running of Daniel Milligan in the last quarter I've never seen him playing before and he was the difference in the game by far in the last quarter his gut running and forward 50 entries 5-6 in the last quarter alone was amazing . Beenliegh seemed to struggle going forward and lacked a target up forward where as Logan had flowers who took at least 3-5 marks inside 50 in the last quarter . Possession wise it was pretty close and the wind affected the score a lot as both teams were inaccurate . Morro I've decided this week to head all the way up to caboolture as I ink this will be match of the round would u agree??? After last weeks reality check I'm keen to see how Redcliffe bounce back .

Forgot to mention before number 9 was good for beenliegh and also number got a lot of the ball but kicked it the boundary a lot , mind u this where a lot of the play was from what I saw ...I personally think beenliegh should play finals before Logan they need to get a forward .

i reckon milligan is better but thats just my opion.
dont bite my head of mr neutral observer i see calamvale took it upto caboolture for 3quarters. top effort moorooka for us this week to finish of the half way mark.

Back to KPs comment....:D

Thanks mate!!

They were very unlikely having lost a fair amount of games by under a goal or 2. This in my mind only adds to our argument.

I have played both Divs and dont think there is as big a gap as many say. Div 3 has plenty of NEAFL, PHC and Div 2 players playing in it to play with mates.

Nambour last year would have made finals in your div mate.

Dont take this as being a smart ass, but have you actually watched our div lately?
I tend to agree with ur points, from memory the leagues have changed around a bit haven't they? Teams like Beenleigh Caboolture Redcliffe & Logan etc used to mix it with Yeronga Wynnum Coopooroo and UQ. Ur right about the mates thing as teams can be the best in div 3 on the back of a handful guns playing footy with their mates

Morro I have also played in both div's and saw the gf last year - havent had a chance to see a game this year. likewise have u had a look at say a kings v uni game?

what would you think the margin would be? Id think 70 - 80 points.

interested in RUL's thoughts as he has seen uni have the top teams in seniors and reserves in div 2 and the teams that have struggled in div 3.

I am not having a go at the quality of the div or anything like that - I just think the cream of div 2 would rise a lot higher then that of div 3 purely on a fitness, skills and skills under intense pressure basis.

Fair point I haven't seen div 2 this year but would suspect its lost a little quality like our div?

I wouldn't think it would be that big a margin.

No idea on a guess though. As a whole our div is way off, I just think u under estimate some of the top quality in our div. it's the tail end of team lists that are the real difference.

I agree that it would be a close game ... there are easily 22 players in div 3 that would easily get a game in div 2 and 10-15 that would be top 5 in many clubs a lot of the good players in div 3 are normally there not cos they are lazy but because they have full time jobs and can't commit to training which is a requirement . I managed to get to tansey park at 315pm on Saturday and I actually lost for words with running of Daniel Milligan in the last quarter I've never seen him playing before and he was the difference in the game by far in the last quarter his gut running and forward 50 entries 5-6 in the last quarter alone was amazing . Beenliegh seemed to struggle going forward and lacked a target up forward where as Logan had flowers who took at least 3-5 marks inside 50 in the last quarter . Possession wise it was pretty close and the wind affected the score a lot as both teams were inaccurate . Morro I've decided this week to head all the way up to caboolture as I ink this will be match of the round would u agree??? After last weeks reality check I'm keen to see how Redcliffe bounce back .

Hey RunRun did you notice we only had 16 after 3/4 time and they seemed like they had 5 milligans lol he was everywhere.

I reckon Coomera v Logan will be a great game. But either or mate

umpires agree its a good healthy debate - and whilst you did not say Div 3 would beat Div 2 you did say they would come very close. I guess it depends on your definition of very close as I think it would be a massacre - based on difference in skills, fitness etc

Dont think anyone in QLD footy {outside of SMY of course :) } truely understands how a premiership team loses numbers so quickly.

I think you would have say 10 Div 3 players at most that would be competitive for a period of time against the best of Div 2 - and this isnt a biased or sh*t stirring comment. Whilst yes Spring is outstanding and some say Milligan is a gun and old mate from Nambour famously known by his jumper number, the blokes that they would be playing on are the likes of guys who have been gun NEAFL players, ex AFL players and sadly they would get towelled up.

The teams in Div 2 did formerly have a rep game a few years back from memory when they were Div 1 played at Carrarra about 5 years ago but cant remember who it was against.

I will give you a thesis mate...:D

I didn't notice numbers but I did see u were low on cattle and I did see 2 players go off the field in the last quarter. I don't think anyone in Australia could've run with Milligan in the last 10 minutes he must had 15 touches in the last quarter alone if he doesn't win the medal again I'd be very surprised after what I saw . If that's the case about ure injuries u guys should be pretty happy with the result.because from what I saw only Milligan kicking forward to flower was the difference and I'm confidant to say no team would have stopped that from happening no matter how many players they had . When I arrived from memory u guys were in front . Mmmmmmm u have me confused now weather I go to caboolture or coomera after ure comment . Anyone got an opinion on which game will be better????

My vote is Coomera v Logan. Should be a good battle especially in the midfield. Plus you can hop the back fence to Dream World if ya wanna look at the Tigers...
Hahaha nice! By the sounds of it Coomera vs Milligan & Flower! If this duo aren't stopped I'm tipping Logan (genuine contenders again) will win with out too much trouble! Sorry. Cut off supply and it should be vastly different

Yeah sounds like they are in some blistering form.

Has anyone here had a tag put on them this year? Or perhaps done a tagging role themselves?

Yeah sounds like they are in some blistering form.

Has anyone here had a tag put on them this year? Or perhaps done a tagging role themselves?
From the few games I've seen tagging seems non-existent, it appears more effective to block a players run if they get a stat it's going backwards. Most sides can't afford to play with 17 so if a gun still gets 25 touches the focus is removing inside 50's and bringing assisted effective disposal down.

True. That's why I was curious because I hadn't seen too much (which probably makes for some great games). I played in a team in Vic where that was my role which wasnt always enjoyable, but I haven't seen too many people being tagged in this Division. In saying that there are definitely some guys that would be worthy of having a negating role done on them.

Unstoppable duo????????????????

kidding arnt ya better duo"s then them running around.
flowers still getting big wrap ive played against him bout 8times now. and the most hes kicked against us on (quality backman) is 3.
very nice guy tho big schmidt from caboolture gives us more trouble.

True. That's why I was curious because I hadn't seen too much (which probably makes for some great games). I played in a team in Vic where that was my role which wasnt always enjoyable, but I haven't seen too many people being tagged in this Division. In saying that there are definitely some guys that would be worthy of having a negating role done on them.
Yeah I used to play in Vic & it was prolific, it was a good way to get young players to learn how to read the play, tagging quality, however in lower comps taggers have usually been less skillful types with good endurance but great onballers use this for their confidence & ego & it often backfires. If any team tags they should tag the 2nd string onballers when they change & force the senior midfielders to carry more load with (previous comments) less effect

Kp hope ure not number 4 in the seniors mate if so I seen u have 50 touches and didn't hit a target once and I only got there at half time and from what I saw that duo (flower and milligan) won Logan the game. u no that team Logan who last week u asked who they were well there the team with the 4 points from Saturday . U wouldn't get a game in my div 4 reserves team ..

hahahaha yes mate that is me :)
u sure u was at the same game cause im sure i hit the target at least once surely :thumbsu: when can we see u running around havin a game mate ?

Last game was 2004 kp . Just be honest mate u were beaten by 2 players in 15 minutes .like I said to morro u can hold ure heads high , let's just be friends .

Fair enough but 50 touches bit fair fetched :D we wasted a good opportunity in the 2nd qrt 1.7 think we kicked but that's footy. Got 9games to try get our season bak on track. If I wasn't playin I'd go see Logan coomera should be a ripper don't know who too tip.

Fair point I haven't seen div 2 this year but would suspect its lost a little quality like our div?

I wouldn't think it would be that big a margin.

No idea on a guess though. As a whole our div is way off, I just think u under estimate some of the top quality in our div. it's the tail end of team lists that are the real difference.

Blokes like Ben Gibson, Shane Morrison, Tim Plummer, Millikman and Wray Josh Lake, Alloway, Matt Brown and Murray to name a few are all jets and as good as the blokes youve mentioned are I think they would be a 3 goal a quarter better team - doesnt seem like much but there is your 70 points.

Particularly as noted Div 3's strength would be its onballers - think you would struggle to find guys to play on Morrison, Plummer, Matt Brown and Murray - although im sure KP has probably had a couple of cracks at him at Robina training in the past!!

No disrespect to anyone playing the div or their reasons - and will try be interested to keep an eye on the way the year plays out.