2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

interesting that no one considers UQ to be a real treat for the ressies flag
I would think they are a chance but ressies is too hard to pick as we saw last year with Cabo loading up their team for finals anything can happen.

Redcliffe very unlucky last year not to play in a GF.

But I would have thought you blokes would have injuries to key players??
Cant wait to play you blokes whether you are at full strength or not we are confident.

Oh I see what you did there :cool:

Well Pie, this will be as close to full strength as we have been all year, so if we dont beat the highly fancied Cabo this week then we dont deserve to play finals. Pretty simple.

Disclaimer: The above opinion may not be shared by the club and is purely the authors opinion.

Oh I see what you did there :cool:

Well Pie, this will be as close to full strength as we have been all year, so if we dont beat the highly fancied Cabo this week then we dont deserve to play finals. Pretty simple.

Disclaimer: The above opinion may not be shared by the club and is purely the authors opinion.

Havent we all come a long way this year, caboolture players using sarcasm as humour - at this rate one day we will put a man on the moon!

Morro heard the buffs have a new man mountain of a goal kicking machine......only danger to him not kicking another bag this week is if their is a strong wind he might be blown over? can you confirm or deny? :)

Havent we all come a long way this year, caboolture players using sarcasm as humour - at this rate one day we will put a man on the moon!

Morro heard the buffs have a new man mountain of a goal kicking machine......only danger to him not kicking another bag this week is if their is a strong wind he might be blown over? can you confirm or deny? :)

Hahahahahahaha He is the new adonis of Div 3 :p but sadly he has a wedding. We will certainly miss his imposing frame this week.

morro probably shouldnt have used the phrase "not competitive" - but from my limited understanding of Nambour FC they were offered the option to go up this year to a higher div and knocked it back. There is no doubt that they have the players - We all know Spring played at Noosa and the Maroochy boys etc but from what I understand these are a good group of blokes that enjoy playing footy together at the level they are at. Maroochy 2's havent won a game in 2 years, there seniors are a developing list, caloundra played in the 2's div 2 gf last year and their seniors won the comp 2 years ago and they are now in div 4. The sunny coast has a very fickle nature to its footy. I think the avenue for the guys at Nambour to play at a higher level already exists as in Noosa, Maroochy or prior to this year Caloundra and for perfectly good reasons they have chosen to stay in Div 3 whether it be to play with mates or cbf training to play against PHC level teams. We all know winning games generally makes footy more enjoyable - and for this reason I think that if (when they win the gf as expected) they go up to div 2 next year they may not be as competitive as if there div 3 team atm played against robina, kedron, aspley etc right now.

Fair enough mate, that's all possible I guess.

Having been around the Nambour club and players etc I think you have them wrong on a few accounts. I think their close bond would tide them over in tough times should they choose to go up next year.

My understanding is they knocked back the Div 2 offer this season as they were still finding their feet at this level after coming up a div already. Whilst I think they could/should have gone it is very understandable wanting to take it a little slower than 2 jumps in 2 years.

Spot on Morro - and to my mind a very sensible one. Better off going a year too late than too early IMO. Was at Maroochydore as a player when we made the move into the AFLQ premier division (now NEAFL) in 1998 - worst decision the club made and was the eventual reason for its quick demise. We needed to stay one more year in the BAFL to cash up and spend it looking for decent young players and old alike. 1998 and more so 1999 we were just slaughtered on a regular basis despite having 3-4 Lions players with us most weeks. The wheels can fall off a club very quickly, far quicker than it takes to build one. I reckon Nambour, from my limited knowledge to their inner workings, are too smart for this as you alluded to.

interesting reading regarding nambour and peoples thoughts. SMY as someone who has over 15 years experience around clubs in the sunny coast, what is it in your opinion that makes Nambour a better club for these blokes then the Noosa/maroochy/caloundra that they have come from?
As mentioned previously a lot of these blokes have come from these clubs - my understanding and please correct me if im wrong is that the maroochy reserves coach from 09 when they played in the gf against pbc in phc went to nambour and took / had a lot of guys go with him.
I guess those of us not involved in this div are all interested in know what the "secret" is that nambour have uncovered. I played in Robina's senior flags in 04/05 and 10 and have experienced that tightness of a group - guess we are all after the answer to how to replicate that culture every year!

So match of the round? Beenleigh v Caboolture or Logan v Redcliffe? Or Ipswich v Calamvale?

I don't think CabooltureVBuffaloes willbe much of a contest. Buffaloes have not beaten a top 3 team all year.
Logan V Tigers will be a good hard game.

At least Morro's terrible tipping stats will be intact after the weekend!

interesting reading regarding nambour and peoples thoughts. SMY as someone who has over 15 years experience around clubs in the sunny coast, what is it in your opinion that makes Nambour a better club for these blokes then the Noosa/maroochy/caloundra that they have come from?
As mentioned previously a lot of these blokes have come from these clubs - my understanding and please correct me if im wrong is that the maroochy reserves coach from 09 when they played in the gf against pbc in phc went to nambour and took / had a lot of guys go with him.
I guess those of us not involved in this div are all interested in know what the "secret" is that nambour have uncovered. I played in Robina's senior flags in 04/05 and 10 and have experienced that tightness of a group - guess we are all after the answer to how to replicate that culture every year!

You want my opinion now BOC???:)
In all seriousness I don't think there is a magic formula they have used (they are still in Div 3 and haven't catapaulted year after year of course) but I reckon one thing is money - or lack of it. They haven't built their club around buying players, which i think we can all agree is a fast way to go up and but a damn fast way to go down as well when it runs out and in fact generally ensures the club is worse than when it started. They have employed excellent coaches over the past 6-7 years starting with Penguin (Dave Harding) who instilled a professional attitude in the club followed by Benny Stanley last year and this one, with another bloke in between who was pretty good too from all reports. Probably the most important factor has been off field leadership too. Very underrated quality and requires people without egos to be there - footy clubs often are run by egotists who rate their personal status by the division their club plays in and never look at the bank balance bc this scares them. They also need to be workers and not just figureheads at this level. if you don't want to get your hands dirty then you shouldn't be a president IMO.

The blokes from maroochy went there bc Stanley was a popular player there (junior player right thru to senior player all his life) and I think most blokes would prefer to play senior footy even if it means being a division or 2 lower. Spring ended up BACK there - was his original club before being drafted really and his old man wanted to play with him and alot easier to do this playing 1's at Nambour than Noosa! Caloundra - well lets just say blokes leave Caloundra i find over the years. New pres this year will help them immensely but they will need that help bc IMO Nambour has leap frogged them as the club of choice to play lower than PHC.

Can't say I have my finger on the pulse of every club here (if you read my posts am very general about most stuff - only bloke I've heard of at Beenleigh for instance is Morro!!:)) but lots of mates involved at various clubs! Now i know thats not quite the "world" that you alluded to in the Div 2 thread but they do say this is Gods Country!!

very dissapointed il be missing the caboolture game dam weddings during footy seasono_O
but heres my tips
im tipping us buffaloes with our best side we have put out all year to beat caboolture by 2goals
nambour by 100.
ipswich in a close one at home if calamvale play the way they have the last month could snatch it.
logan to win by 3goals at home
coomera to keep chugging along by 40
BEST OF LUCK TOO ALL TEAMS:footy:

very dissapointed il be missing the caboolture game dam weddings during footy seasono_O
but heres my tips
im tipping us buffaloes with our best side we have put out all year to beat caboolture by 2goals
nambour by 100.
ipswich in a close one at home if calamvale play the way they have the last month could snatch it.

Definitely. All weddings should be banned until October or else must start after 6pm.

but heres my tips
nambour by 100.
Ipswich has by far been the toughest opposition and should not be overlooked in any game
Buffs if they are on their game ought beat Caboolture
Coomera might get a fright against UQ. I have heard depth at UQ is amazing.
Yes - best of luck to all. Fabulous to have such a crowded ladder - makes each weekend a cracker.

Weddings during Footy season ouch! Beenleigh by 6 goals, Redcliffe by 10 points, Calamvale by 10 points, Nambour by 12 goals (opportunity to freshen their list) & Coomera by 5 goals..

Ipswich has by far been the toughest opposition and should not be overlooked in any game
Buffs if they are on their game ought beat Caboolture
Coomera might get a fright against UQ. I have heard depth at UQ is amazing.
Yes - best of luck to all. Fabulous to have such a crowded ladder - makes each weekend a cracker.

"Ipswich has by far been the toughest opposition and should not be overlooked in any game"-

This is either sarcasm or you are talking reserves? Unless of course you haven't faced them since their "youth policy" began...

"Ipswich has by far been the toughest opposition and should not be overlooked in any game"-

This is either sarcasm or you are talking reserves? Unless of course you haven't faced them since their "youth policy" began...
Swoopa apologies - am talking Ipswich reserves - I think we coped a youth policy day!!

Yeah so did we. Bit questionable if you ask me but each club to their own I guess.

Sorry oldman1 I just realised you were replying to an old post.

so much talk about nambour! why didnt we go up? becuase we lost half our premiership team due to work and retirements and our ressies struggled last year due to lack of numbers.
tips for the weekend.
cabo to win if there forward plays (if beenleigh loses then they will find it very hard to make finals)
we should beat grifith
ipswich over calamvale
coomera over UQ
and logan to beat redcliff only cause its at logan

Is it really going to be worth me going to Nambour today? They are a real chance to kick a world record score if the rain stays away. It is a pity that Beenleigh v Caboolture and Logan v Redcliffe are both "away". They are both going to be good games. Oh well it is not often you get to watch a world record.

Caboolture by 4 goals,
Nambour by the world record mentioner earlier,
Calamvale to beat Ipswich reserves in the ones,
Coomera by a couple, and
Logan to upset Redcliffe by 2 goals

I don't think CabooltureVBuffaloes willbe much of a contest. Buffaloes have not beaten a top 3 team all year.
Logan V Tigers will be a good hard game.

At least Morro's terrible tipping stats will be intact after the weekend!

Haha you really are upset that I don't rate Redcliffe aren't you?

Buffs will win and set up a cracking second half of the year.

Logan v Redcliffe is a tough one, I have heard mixed reports about Logan of late. Toss of coin and for our sakes I hope redcliffe win.

All the others pick themselves accept I'll go with Calamvale in what could be described as an upset. It would be a win for the good guys at least anyway.

Anyone with an Idea as to the team that goes up is it the G/F winners or the table leaders at the end of the regular season??

Teams are no longer being forced to go up but may be offed the chance beginning with the 2 grand finalists.