2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Can never keep everyone happy can you? :) No matter what beer or spirit you provide some connoisseur will always throw his 2 cents in...

Not this guy, 2 drinks of anything after footy and I'm leg less haha. Rarely drink alcohol after a game, curse of being a 2 pot screamer.

alright enough sh...i..t stirring.
Has anyone here heard of a total re shuffle for all leagues below NEAFL??????
Rumours going around that they may do a total re shuffle to limit travel eg ipswich to nambour.
North division eg us, nambour, caloundra, redcliffe, maybe aspley side,maybe bribie island??? etc etc
southern eg logan, beenliegh, coomera, calamvale, etc etc
This may happen in all divisions 1,2,3. Makes sense but will it effect the quality of the comps?

He is certainly someone i have spoken to about having a run in he seniors.Over the past 2 months he has had an enormous program mate with club--raiders--and state footy.
He will certainly have a taste before seasons end.Fantastic young blike who tains quite often with us.
Yeah i have had a fair bit to do with him this year with schoolboys and with his stuff in Adelaide coming up but agree that there is always time for these sort of kids.

alright enough sh...i..t stirring.
Has anyone here heard of a total re shuffle for all leagues below NEAFL??????
Rumours going around that they may do a total re shuffle to limit travel eg ipswich to nambour.
North division eg us, nambour, caloundra, redcliffe, maybe aspley side,maybe bribie island??? etc etc
southern eg logan, beenliegh, coomera, calamvale, etc etc
This may happen in all divisions 1,2,3. Makes sense but will it effect the quality of the comps?

has happened in the 18's to a degree and maybe this is the stimulus. On the one hand it makes sense if there are blokes not playing bc of travel but on the other it is a full circle we've come if it does eventuate bc this is how the old sunshine coast league was formed, then moved into the BAFL back in 1993 I think it was. (and proceeded to dominate I might add..:D)

Wow! That is a massive rumor

A Yeronga/Kings/Kenmore/Aspley/Kedron/UQ competition would be very competitive.

It would make sense but may see the demise of some clubs depending on how it is done. I guess it would need to be done so that we can maintain healthy competition.

Logan/Beenleigh/Coomera/Robina/Palm Beach/Burleigh/Surfers Paradise/Coolangatta

Would be a bit hard to take on some of the more "cashed up" clubs however. I think Cooly would be happy about it though ha ha

My old mob are going through a tough patch!

It would make sense but may see the demise of some clubs depending on how it is done. I guess it would need to be done so that we can maintain healthy competition.

Logan/Beenleigh/Coomera/Robina/Palm Beach/Burleigh/Surfers Paradise/Coolangatta

Would be a bit hard to take on some of the more "cashed up" clubs however. I think Cooly would be happy about it though ha ha

My old mob are going through a tough patch!
Palm beach would smash each of those sides by over 100 and some by 200 eg logan coomera

ya not wrong surely this is just a rumour. i also heard nambour is goin upto div 2 and carrara saints are comin to div 3. they been getting 50 odd to training and only 1 team also if caloundra field 2 sides in 2013 would they be bak in div 2 or div 3 ?

Roaring Just a quick heads up mate We will be hanging around for a beer afterwards on saturday just as you did at our ground(Any chance oe Hahns Super and Carlton cold)We will drink 'em

Hi Graham,

Thank you for letting us know. I will pass the message onto our President/Canteen Manager to see what he can do. He usually stocks it with VB, Tooheys New, Super Dry cans (I think), Gold and then some assorted spirits.

Regretfully I won't be able to join you for a post game beer (Two reasons, I'm doing a 100 Sobriety challenge and I'm going to be accross the river at Yeronga :( ). From what I hear, the reserves game last time was a cracker until a nasty injury in the fourth?

RUL

N
ya not wrong surely this is just a rumour. i also heard nambour is goin upto div 2 and carrara saints are comin to div 3. they been getting 50 odd to training and only 1 team also if caloundra field 2 sides in 2013 would they be bak in div 2 or div 3 ?
Not sure because i know their not happy with un-even side in div 1?? so maybe a cooly drop back to div 2 and carrara drop back to dive 3?? Therefore nambour miss the chance? Or maybe they just totally change it all? Anyone got some suggestions on how they would re structure?

Roaring Just a quick heads up mate We will be hanging around for a beer afterwards on saturday just as you did at our ground(Any chance oe Hahns Super and Carlton cold)We will drink 'em

Looks like both Oval 7 and Oakman Park will be shut this weekend. Word from one of our coaches was that Caboolture showgrounds will be shut too if this rain persists (as forecasted)? Talk of the game being played on a sand based oval at Bribie? Either way doesn't look like there will be any beers being had at a UQ ground this weekend..

Re: the league re-alignment, what would that do for UQ where there are teams in multiple divisions? Some of the posters on here might say that it will force UQ to have only teams in one comp as per their previously expressed beliefs, with the excess going elsewhere to other clubs, but as explained by us uni lads that doesn't seem likely as blokes who live on campus would probably simply give it away as many are without cars etc. Personally I like it how it is, but being in Brisbane means both north and south coast teams aren't too far away compared to being in say Beenleigh and having to travel to Nambour so I understand the idea.

I'm actually in favour of a promotion/relegation system, with the grand finalists (seniors) from our div going up, and the bottom two from the div above coming down. Makes the most sense in my opinion, but it is exactly that, just my opinion. From what I can gather from talking to the div 2 guys at UQ and looking at scores, Robina and Kedron have been reasonably competitive in the seniors since going up. If it means the reserves which go up might struggle a bit so be it, you can't be hold a club back because you are afraid the reserves might get whipped every now and then.. senior footy is what it's all about if you ask me.

I
Looks like both Oval 7 and Oakman Park will be shut this weekend. Word from one of our coaches was that Caboolture showgrounds will be shut too if this rain persists (as forecasted)? Talk of the game being played on a sand based oval at Bribie? Either way doesn't look like there will be any beers being had at a UQ ground this weekend..

Re: the league re-alignment, what would that do for UQ where there are teams in multiple divisions? Some of the posters on here might say that it will force UQ to have only teams in one comp as per their previously expressed beliefs, with the excess going elsewhere to other clubs, but as explained by us uni lads that doesn't seem likely as blokes who live on campus would probably simply give it away as many are without cars etc. Personally I like it how it is, but being in Brisbane means both north and south coast teams aren't too far away compared to being in say Beenleigh and having to travel to Nambour so I understand the idea.

I'm actually in favour of a promotion/relegation system, with the grand finalists (seniors) from our div going up, and the bottom two from the div above coming down. Makes the most sense in my opinion, but it is exactly that, just my opinion. From what I can gather from talking to the div 2 guys at UQ and looking at scores, Robina and Kedron have been reasonably competitive in the seniors since going up. If it means the reserves which go up might struggle a bit so be it, you can't be hold a club back because you are afraid the reserves might get whipped every now and then.. senior footy is what it's all about if you ask me.

If teams are largely successful over a few years, then I definately think they should be promoted e.g. Robina after dominating State Association 2 for a few years straight and struggling teams in the higher division over a couple years should also have that option to go down if they feel that will assist them. I think that is what happened with Caboolture when they came down from the old State Association Div 1 to Div 2 comps? Lions boys can confirm this?

Yeah, mate, that's what happened. Our seniors went winless in 2009 and only won a couple (or maybe even one?) the year before that. Similar story in the reserves. Morale was pretty low so the committee decided it was in the club's best interests to drop down.

Don't agree with promotion/relegation being a mandatory thing every year though. Reckon you should at least be able to have a crack at going back-to-back if you win a flag.

On the sticking around for a beer thing, what do the rest of you think about both clubs doing their awards in the home club's bar soon after the senior game? I know the Sunny Coast rugby clubs do this and it seems to work pretty well. The BOAT race between each team's award winners is always popular ;)

Yeah, mate, that's what happened. Our seniors went winless in 2009 and only won a couple (or maybe even one?) the year before that. Similar story in the reserves. Morale was pretty low so the committee decided it was in the club's best interests to drop down.

Don't agree with promotion/relegation being a mandatory thing every year though. Reckon you should at least be able to have a crack at going back-to-back if you win a flag.

On the sticking around for a beer thing, what do the rest of you think about both clubs doing their awards in the home club's bar soon after the senior game? I know the Sunny Coast rugby clubs do this and it seems to work pretty well. The BOAT race between each team's award winners is always popular ;)

We used to that abck in Vic and it was always great for laugh.

Love the idea myself :thumbsu:

Yea fair point, maybe if it was something that AFLQ looked at every 2 years or so it would work better. If it's tight right through the top 5 then wouldn't make sense to promote anyone. Likewise if the worst clubs in the div above are only separated by percentage relegating them wouldn't be all that fair.

And I like the idea of each team presenting their 'best on' awards or equivalent after the seniors game. Too many blokes have a habit of knicking off asap though..

Swoopa how's the ground holding up mate?

In your opinion are we certain starters tomorrow or do you think the council or AFLQ might have other ideas?
Sun has just come out and if it stays out we wont have a problem, the council closes the ground most weeks but we play anyway and never had a problem. As you'd be well aware grounds cop a lot worse each week in VIC.

IMO we are 99% chance to play, since I'm 1 vote out of 3 we are a third of the way there!

In regards to the comp changes, I speak to Doug fairly regularly and he as been very firm that there is no changes planned for the near future apart from 1 team from div 3 moving up to fill the void (I know from talking to the other presidents that no club is keen on moving atm and I dont think they can actually force a club to move if the issue is finacial. That could get interesting) in div 2 and hoping that a div 4 side will be up to moving up to div 3. I know Carrara are growing like mad and have the numbers to fill 2 sides so they are my tip to come up. I know that will cause more travel for the Northern sides but AFLQ are not interested in a north/south comp, only care about evenness of competitions. I feel that is the right attitude. I used to travel over 2 hours to play some teams in vic and no one had a problem with it because it was an even comp. on the other hand I did have a problem being pumped by 30 goals each week and only travelling 20-30min in another league.

Sun has just come out and if it stays out we wont have a problem, the council closes the ground most weeks but we play anyway and never had a problem. As you'd be well aware grounds cop a lot worse each week in VIC.

IMO we are 99% chance to play, since I'm 1 vote out of 3 we are a third of the way there!

In regards to the comp changes, I speak to Doug fairly regularly and he as been very firm that there is no changes planned for the near future apart from 1 team from div 3 moving up to fill the void (I know from talking to the other presidents that no club is keen on moving atm and I dont think they can actually force a club to move if the issue is finacial. That could get interesting) in div 2 and hoping that a div 4 side will be up to moving up to div 3. I know Carrara are growing like mad and have the numbers to fill 2 sides so they are my tip to come up. I know that will cause more travel for the Northern sides but AFLQ are not interested in a north/south comp, only care about evenness of competitions. I feel that is the right attitude. I used to travel over 2 hours to play some teams in vic and no one had a problem with it because it was an even comp. on the other hand I did have a problem being pumped by 30 goals each week and only travelling 20-30min in another league.
Not sure if Doug makes those big calls mate. He wouldnt have any influence on what happens. I'm not saying it will happen but I am saying there is some serious discussion with some important figures in AFLQ.

Good stuff, its supposed to be fine Gaz so fingers crossed.

Looking forward to a beer (only one) with you and Swoopa tomorrow, especially if we win.;)