2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Hey all, if we we gunna be playing less games next year is our alfq registration fee going to be the same as this year ? If so that is terribly gay

I believe they are in fact going to be higher than last year...
G'day Swoopa, less teams/games, later start, interesting division promotions.... Smells like a temporary fixture, a 1 year deal...look toward a north div and south div in 2014! No more div 2 & 3 but north & south, nearly there now, swap pine rivers & Robina and a couple of other adjustments and there it is.
Anywho, I hope the boys from Coomera, Ipswich, Pine Rivers, Calamvale, G.Moorooka, Carrara, UQ & Logan have a great break & I look for forward to more witty banter next year..

G'day Swoopa, less teams/games, later start, interesting division promotions.... Smells like a temporary fixture, a 1 year deal...look toward a north div and south div in 2014! No more div 2 & 3 but north & south, nearly there now, swap pine rivers & Robina and a couple of other adjustments and there it is.
Anywho, I hope the boys from Coomera, Ipswich, Pine Rivers, Calamvale, G.Moorooka, Carrara, UQ & Logan have a great break & I look for forward to more witty banter next year..
Thanks Footy. You too mate.

It definitely seems like if they can get the balance right they'll be in a good position for a North/South style setup.

I'm looking forward to the new challenges of 2013 and hope its the year of the Magpie!

Think there may be a slow transistion for the governing body to begin creating a "north" and "south" competition for Div 2 and 3 if all of what you suggest toucan is correct. Not a dumb idea at all IMO for the levels below PHC Div 1 IMO. Think the term "divisions" will be removed in due course and it will be a "north", "south" situation not unlike div 4. I reckon Nambour for instance would be more than happy to have Redcliffe, Caloundra and Caboolture in their division for travel purposes. The same as dropping Coolie to div 3 makes sense if the AFLQ are looking at this division as being a south division. Thats just my thoughts anyway on what the general move seems to be..

Wrote this ages ago on this forum and reckon it seems like a few others are starting to agree. A north/south "conference" (seems to be the in word currently in AFLQ quarters) is probably where they are going with maybe the winners of the 2 "conferences" to play each other a la Super Bowl. Distance of travel is a major influence for players in my experience, moreso when large $$ aren't changing hands. Means guys can still do some work Saturday morning, alot more likely family or friends will come to watch, therefore bigger crowds, more atmosphere. Sure there will be some major discrepancies between the clubs but I would imagine far less movement bn clubs for playing a better standard. If you want to get drafted play NEAFL, if you want to get paid ok in a pretty good comp play Div 1, if you are a social footballer play in the north/south conferences. IMO think it is a pretty good model all up.

No love for the BUffs???:eek:

He did his knee in the 2011 GF and only had the operation in the last couple of months. He did move to Melbourne at the start of 2012 but we are hopeful of him moving back sometime this year

Poor bugger, great bloke and gun player.

Hey all,

My skills are quite rusty but I've very recently picked up the footy again, I have started running and am about to recommence gym.

My questions are would it be difficult to pick the sport back up in this league and are teams still accepting people onto lists?

Beyond that, what is the competition like as a whole?

Hey all,

My skills are quite rusty but I've very recently picked up the footy again, I have started running and am about to recommence gym.

My questions are would it be difficult to pick the sport back up in this league and are teams still accepting people onto lists?

Beyond that, what is the competition like as a whole?
Hey Something.

Welcome back to the good game! In my humble opinion I'd say give it a go. Find your local team, pop down to training and have a bit of a kick. We have guys at Coomera that have never touched the footy all the way through to 500 gamers in their 40s. If you've got the heart you are already half way there! I'd just say be honest with the club and yourself about your fitness level and work within your limitations.

This league has quality players but not beyond anyone I'd say especially with reserves also.

Dependant on where you are I am happy to make recommendations on good clubs but every club is a good bunch so you can't go wrong in this division I'd say.

No disrespect to any of the other clubs nearby but if you are anywhere near Calamvale they are quite a welcoming club from what I can tell and would appreciate the numbers (not a reflection on the club, just numbers in the area are slim I think). If you are further down the road (near Coomera) come on down this Tuesday at the sports fields on Beattie Rd.

Again I'd say definitely give it a go and if you want you can message me on here and I'll help you out where I can finding a club.

Better to regret doing something then to regret doing nothing at all!

Hey all. Can anyone confirm whether UQ accept players from outside the University? I have just always assumed that they do without knowing.

There is no requirement for players to be current University students. That being said, UQ Sport (who controls any maintenance works to the oval and facilities and also governs our access to them) sets student participation benchmarks. There are a few non-students who have come down to the club because they have mates playing there, but the overwhelming majority of players at UQ are current or past students of the Univeristy. With the sides picked on playing ability in a top down order a larger proportion of players in the higher division are obviously past students who are older and more experienced footballers after moving up from the lower teams, while the lower division primarily consists of younger current students many of whom have only just taken up the game.

Awesome. Thanks for that. I will pass that info on!

Hope everyone was as terrible over the break as I was and is as keen to get back into it!

My first lap will certainly not be at a record breaking pace....

this needs to be communicated more widely at a league level.

Surely im not the only half educated spud to cringe when a less educated spud on your own team has started the "get back to studying" path of sledging against UQ.

Paddlepop - do you guys get around St Lucia in your own varsity jackets and have a cool kids table in the Cafe?

Surely im not the only half educated spud to cringe when a less educated spud on your own team has started the "get back to studying" path of sledging against UQ.

Paddlepop - do you guys get around St Lucia in your own varsity jackets and have a cool kids table in the Cafe?
I see what you did there :)

Only during homecoming week.

Bond have played home games at Robina for a while & its fair to say for a div 4 team of real spuds they do have a very high % of spectators of groups of the fairer sex - seems the AFL team is well promoted throughout the uni - I see from ur above post that UQ sports runs the grounds - do the AFL teams get much of a mention throughout campus life?

I just cant shake the thought of RUL in a Adam Sandler Waterboyesque role either :p