2013 All Australian Team

Really surprised that Barlow didn´t at least get into the 40 man squad.

Averaging 27 possessions per game this year and 6 tackles a game and high clearance numbers, which is better than many mids in the 40.
Expected him to get in before Mundy or Mayne. But it is not that outrageuos that he missed out either.

Averaging 27 possessions per game this year and 6 tackles a game and high clearance numbers, which is better than many mids in the 40.

ditto Liberatore. Only difference is while Barlow is very high in clearances, Liberatore is the highest.

Crowley was the one that surprised me. He has not been beaten all year. If a defender had nullified his opponent every week then he would get picked every year, why not a tagger?

Josh Gibson - Scott Thompson - Corey Enright
Luke Hodge - Michael Johnson - Jarrad McVeigh
Ryan Griffen - Scott Pendlebury - Kieren Jack
Nathan Fyfe - Josh J Kennedy - Patrick Dangerfield
Chad Wingard - Jarryd Roughead - Dane Swan

Will Minson - Gary Ablett (c) - Joel Selwood (vc)

Harry Taylor - Sam Mitchell - David Mundy - Travis Boak

------------------------------------

Lindsay Thomas kicked the most goals of all small forwards, but I mainly view him as a cherry picker. I didn't see him play many great games. The All Australian selectors will probably pick him (just like like they picked Stevie Milne last year) but I reckon it would be a mistake to include Thomas in the team of the year.

Nah, Linds has come good properly. Kicks them when they need to be kicked and also does huge amounts of team stuff.

Not convinced, Thomas is often a fairly selfish player, and kicks a lot of cheap and easy goals, goals from free kicks, joe the gooses etc. I'd rather a more well rounded player like Wingard got in there to be honest.

Thomas may have kicked 53 goals. But let's look at the players who kicked 50 goals or more in a season and didn't get picked. In 2012, there was Darling, Petrie, Cloke, Pavlich, Walker and Riewoldt. Betts kicked 48 goals, yet didn't receive honours. In 2011, Betts kicked 50 goals, so did SJ, no luck. In 2010, Green kicked 55 goals, again, no luck. In 2010, Porplyzia kicked 57, Bradshaw 58, LeCras ditto, and none of these players got AA.

B, enright, s.thompson, Gibson
HB, mitchell, taylor, Mcveigh
C, griffen, selwood, jack
HF, dangerfield, cloke, fyfe
F, kennedy, roughead, wingard
Foll, minson, ablett (c), pendelbury
Int, swan, boak, cameron, hennebery

Fair enough.

I will admit I am prejudiced against him because I don't like some of the things he does

I'm not a huge fan of tiny full forwards such as Milne or Thomas getting selected in the All Australian team based mainly on '"most goals kicked by a small forward". It's a misnomer because their teams lack true forward targets. These guys are not your typical crumbing, set-up, goal-assist types of small forwards, but they play almost as defacto full forwards and get a lot of opportunities come their way.

it makes me wonder why Mark Williams of Hawthorn was never selected as an All Australian small forward when he booted 63 goals in 2005 and 60 goals in 2006 (Hawthorn finished 14th and 11th in those years and kicked 270 & 280 goals compared to North's 340 in 2013, so it was sensational effort by Willo and was completely glossed over in AA discussions)

Lindsay Thomas - 181 cm
Mark Williams - 180 cm

I didn't complain back then because I accepted the All Australian team is all about picking the very best players. That's the whole purpose. Brad Johnson was a better footballer than Williams. Maybe not a true forward like Willo and he didn't kick nearly as many goals in those years, but he was a gun nevertheless.

I just just hate the idea of AA selectors applying stupid rules to the team selection such as "Oh gee, we must pick the small forward with the most goals"

Fair enough.

I will admit I am prejudiced against him because I don't like some of the things he does

I'm not a huge fan of tiny full forwards such as Milne or Thomas getting selected in the All Australian team based mainly on '"most goals kicked by a small forward". It's a misnomer because their teams lack true forward targets.

Dude, LT plays alongside three specialist tall forwards - a rotating cast of Petrie, Tarrant, Black, Daw, Hansen etc - every week.

He also actually plays a lot "taller" than most small forwards, especially someone like Milne, who is a pure crumber. LT actually played more a very high half forward role. Also has excellent disposal, does the team thing.

He's matured massively as a player. Watch him in this passage of play - he does everything "team" and does it spectacularly and is key in setting up the goal.

(This isn't just a North sook. You mentioned in your psot I replied to that Wells shouldn't make the final squad and I agree with you. But LT has come on hugely and is now an absolutely elite small/medium forward)

Dude, LT plays alongside three specialist tall forwards - a rotating cast of Petrie, Tarrant, Black, Daw, Hansen etc - every week.

He also actually plays a lot "taller" than most small forwards, especially someone like Milne, who is a pure crumber. LT actually played more a very high half forward role. Also has excellent disposal, does the team thing.

He's matured massively as a player. Watch him in this passage of play - he does everything "team" and does it spectacularly and is key in setting up the goal.

(This isn't just a North sook. You mentioned in your psot I replied to that Wells shouldn't make the final squad and I agree with you. But LT has come on hugely and is now an absolutely elite small/medium forward)

Save it Wingard and Walters are better players this is widely accepted among AFL fans who know what they are talking about.

You say that he plays alongside talls, which suggests he's a crumber then admit that he plays a fairly high half forward role, which suggests he's a flanker. If he's a crumber, then he doesn't win enough of the ball, besides kicking goals, Thomas does little else. He's also not that team orientated, you plucked an example of where he did the team thing, but countless times, he looks to kick the goal first and often burns his teammates.

This is my team:

FB: Gibson Thompson McVeigh
CHB: Mitchell Taylor Hodge
C: Griffen Selwood Boak
CHF: Jack Riewoldt Fyfe
FF: Wingard Kennedy Roughead
R: Minson Ablett Pendlebury
Int: Dangerfield, Swan, Motlop, Enright

Barry Hall's All Australian team...

Luke Hodge - Scott Thompson - Eric McKenzie
Jarrad McVeigh - Harry Taylor - Corey Enright
Ryan Griffen - Kieren Jack - Patrick Dangerfield
Steven Motlop - Nick Riewoldt - Jeremy Cameron
Lindsay Thomas - Jarryd Roughead - Chad Wingard

Will Minson - Gary Ablett - Joel Selwood (c)

Travis Cloke - Todd Goldstein - Scott Pendlebury - Sam Mitchell

"Thompson has been fantastic... Hodge, McVeigh and Enright for their smarts and experience... Jeremy Cameron has earned the right to get in somewhere.... Wingard has had a fantastic season... Thomas and Motlop - what a dangerous forward line that is... Minson the number one ruckman, he has been a great ruckman all year. Selwood as captain. I think he is the best leader in the comp

David Parkin's All Australian team...

Luke Hodge - Scott Thompson - Corey Enright
Andrew Walker - Harry Taylor - Michael Johnson
Ryan Griffen - Gary Ablett - Daniel Wells
Chad Wingard - Travis Cloke - Patrick Dangerfield
Lindsay Thomas - Jarryd Roughead - Jeremy Cameron

Will Minson - Joel Selwood - Kieren Jack

Todd Goldstein - Ryan Crowley - Scott Pendlebury - Sam Mitchell

"I agree with Barry putting Will Minson as the starting point. Been a lot of talk about Crowley. You wouldn't pick a team without a stopper of some sort. He is obviously the best, even though he won't be picked. You've gotta have Dangerfield in there, half forward will do. I went for Andrew Walker. I reckon his season, particularly the last half has been dramatic in the way he's carried the ball and used it. Johnson up until he was injured was outstanding at CHB. Taylor picks himself. Wells might be debated on the wing. I think he's become one of the more mature midfielders. I think he uses the ball better than Swanny, who butchers it too often, IMO"

Cameron Mooney's All Australian team...

Josh Gibson - Scott Thompson - Corey Enright
Luke Hodge - Harry Taylor - Jarrad McVeigh
Ryan Griffen - Joel Selwood - Patrick Dangerfield
Chad Wingard - Travis Cloke - Josh Kennedy(Syd)
Michael Walters - Jarryd Roughead - Lindsay Thomas

Will Minson - Scott Pendlebury - Gary Ablett

Travis Boak - Nathan Fyfe - Jack Steven
Mathew Stokes (substitute)

"I've gone with 3 talls and 3 small at both ends of the ground. Kennedy can slot in as half forward and push up to the wing. I think Walters has ben sensational this year. Young Jack Steven on the bench, who I think HAS to be in the side with his numbers. He has been brilliant. I put a sub in so it's like today's game. I went with Stokesy. That game where he came on had 18 possessions, 9 inside fifties, kicked 2 goals and had 8 score involvements..."

I'm not too fussed about Carlisle not bring there. He lost form in the last few weeks. He will make AA in future years. But Hibberd not being in the squad even is a disgrace. Was outstanding all year.

Why is Mooney picking Kennedy ahead of Jack?
Probably because he is bigger and stronger and can take a mark

I thought Jack was one of the best handful of players this season, so yes, that looks like a bit of an oversight from the MoonDog. I would've thought K Jack would be twice as good as a "super sub" than his old mate, Stokesy, for instance

Probably because he is bigger and stronger and can take a mark

I thought Jack was one of the best handful of players this season, so yes, that looks like a bit of an oversight from the MoonDog. I would've thought K Jack would be twice as good as a "super sub" than his old mate, Stokesy, for instance
I'd genuinely like to hear his explanation of it. Jack has had the far better season overall.