List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Zgope1s highlights makes a bontempelli pick at 4 much more palatable
There is much more there than just height and wing span. I understand the temptation to take him.
And if that is who they believe is the best, he just might be. The inside work really surprised me in those highlights - loads of composure and a series of good decisions and some good tackles.

But I find myself still longing for kolodjashnis left foot - ah well I will just have to get over it

Zgope1s highlights makes a bontempelli pick at 4 much more palatable
There is much more there than just height and wing span. I understand the temptation to take him.
And if that is who they believe is the best, he just might be. The inside work really surprised me in those highlights - loads of composure and a series of good decisions and some good tackles.

But I find myself still longing for kolodjashnis left foot - ah well I will just have to get over it

Somehow I'm not surprised you have a foot fetish :p

Anderson also said that Scharenberg is the second best player in the draft, and he was confident about that. I don't understand not picking him. If he slides to Collingwood, its a f'ing rort

uhezedub.jpg

This part of the Bontempelli video reminded me of at school, when a twat of a teacher would play a video and leave her mouse in the middle of the screen the whole ******* time.

haha there's some stinky pieces of editing in there. I'll learn from my mistakes. Happy to bring dance music and footy highlights together.

Also just think it's notable that the afl website's highlights don't value grunt work and vision. They just all had him running 3 paces and kicking long.

One more thing, i think it's irresponsible of Quayle to put the Bonts down as a half back. He played mid the whole second half of the year and was one of the best inside mids in the tac cup over that time. People make it sounds like a project but most recruits are projects. If we got Aish we'd have plenty of work to put into him too

haha there's some stinky pieces of editing in there. I'll learn from my mistakes. Happy to bring dance music and footy highlights together.

Also just think it's notable that the afl website's highlights don't value grunt work and vision. They just all had him running 3 paces and kicking long.

One more thing, i think it's irresponsible of Quayle to put the Bonts down as a half back. He played mid the whole second half of the year and was one of the best inside mids in the tac cup over that time. People make it sounds like a project but most recruits are projects. If we got Aish we'd have plenty of work to put into him too

Todd Terje was a sound choice.

I'm liking this.

Will the Dogs' punt pay off?
No doubt Marcus Bontempelli is a risk at pick 4, but beefed up development resources, headed by the club's new stand-alone VFL team, will help unleash his potential.

4. Western Bulldogs

MARCUS BONTEMPELLI

194cm, 83kg

Club: Northern Knights

If the Dogs can crack open this bloke's potential he could wind up the best talent from the draft. Tall midfielder who dances like Pendles but can go missing.

DOGS SET TO GAMBLE WITH PICK 4

Northern Knights teammates Marcus Bontempelli (left) and Ben Lennon are both likely to go in the first round. Picture: Josie Hayden Source: News Corp Australia

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...clubs-first-pick/story-fni5f22o-1226764679332

You would like to hope that our decision is still flexible, and should still depend on exactly who the other sides before us choose.
GWS have a propensity to do their own thing, rather than following other's perceptions of what they 'will' or should do. What if they don't go with Kelly,
but come up with an alternate pick. That could throw everyone's predictions of selection order thereafter totally out the window. They are not exactly short of midfield talent already, so a left field decision is not beyond them.
Is a flanker/winger St Kiljoy's greatest need ?

Not that I am suggesting it will happen, but what if Kelly, Billings, Koloalphabet, Aish and Berger are all still there at our pick ? Do we still go with Bono ?

Thinking back over a lot of the forums/postings of the last 2 years as to what we need to balance our list, I am still not convinced that Bono matches the prototype so frequently described.
I am confident he could be a very good player, just still not convinced that he is either the "best available", or the one who most matches our greatest need.
If we do go down that path are we still left desperately needing some outside class, pace, and a deadly delivery. And if we wait till next year to fulfil that need,
how can we fit all these various mids into our 22 ?

hey guys.. i remember hearing a couple of years ago that they do the draft by counting from pick 10 to 1 .. do they still do this? or they just start from one and do it all live on tv?

Nah, they stopped that last year, thankfully. Starts from pick 1 now.

Pretty sure they just start from 1, Boyd and Kelly are unanimous picks 1 and 2, so it would be a bit strange to count from pick 10 to 1.

If St. Kilda take Shazz look for Dalrymple and the McCartney's to have a long conversation before making the pick.

Apparently Billings didn't interview well, doubt that they will.

If you say so......

Oh don't get me wrong, I would love Billings. I just don't think that we'll take him because he apparently didn't interview well. Also I still reckon Billings is a lock for the Saints. I think Bonts is our man.

Is there any truth to the media saying bontempelli is a lock at pick 4?. I would have thought aish fits your needs so much more . For all the talent bontempelli is supposed to have he tested very poorly . I smell another Grant !

Grant looks good now! It only took a few years....

We must just rate Bonts higher in the long run and think he'll be the better player, and perhaps we have more doubts on Aish. I think Aish would suit us better too, but Bontempelli apparently passed Macca's "good person" test with flying colours as well.

I hope we're keeping it all a mystery and we just bloody pick Aish, feed him steak & watch him become a monster as he learns to beat the tag like Griff.

Bont's is so big he could play as a ruck for gods sake. I just think we need a pure outside mid in our stocks. Feels like this draft conversation has gone on forever!

I hope we're keeping it all a mystery and we just bloody pick Aish, feed him steak & watch him become a monster as he learns to beat the tag like Griff.

Bont's is so big he could play as a ruck for gods sake. I just think we need a pure outside mid in our stocks. Feels like this draft conversation has gone on forever!
Yep, I'm with ya on this.

based on Brett Anderson's uncertainty, i'm thinking Bonts may not be quite a done deal. We might be surprised. I might have to get my hands on some Aish footage. Hope not though.

I am getting nervous now....I believe still that our best prospects are with Scharenberg, Aish, Billings and Kelly and I think there is no need to second guess it and go for anyone else. I would feel more comfortable knowing for sure that Macca wants him...and he's not been bullied by the recruiters on this one.

We should get a good player here no matter who it is....I see value in all the main guys linked to our pick but I am nervous....and excited all at the same time. Bingo, Bango, Bongo!

Grant looks good now! It only took a few years....

We must just rate Bonts higher in the long run and think he'll be the better player, and perhaps we have more doubts on Aish. I think Aish would suit us better too, but Bontempelli apparently passed Macca's "good person" test with flying colours as well.

Ah....we if that is the case I feel a bit better.....need to hear from Macca why he chose who he chooses.....
I'd say it's Macca pushing for Bonts, fits his "type" perfectly. Tall midfielder who is good inside and outside the contest, very versatile and can rotate forward and I even reckon he'd be okay as a loose man in defense, great attitude and work ethic, etc.