List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Would he play forward back or mid for us dannnnnn? Who would you compare him to in the afl at the moment?
Probably all over the place for a little while as he works into the midfield - but mostly up forward. Midfield eventually, a la Stringer.

I really hate making player comparisons to established players as they're never spot on and breed unrealistic expectations. I've seen him likened to Goddard, Stevie J and Bob Murphy but I don't really like any of them overall. Goddard's pace and one on one ability combined with Murphy/SJ smarts is a reasonable description but certainly far from perfect.

Just realised Sydney got Perris on a rookie contract, bloody hell that went under the radar. Don't know how they didn't have to use a pick on him, I would of happily spent 22 on him.

I think it was because he is a NSW academy player or something, pretty ridiculous.

He's a NSW academy boy which means clubs can't bid on him. Only zone selections. Good player I agree, Sydney are damn lucky.

And no other state besides Queensland is allowed to have an academy. Ah well, if it wasn't for NSW academy scholarships then we never would have gotten Tom Young.

Probably all over the place for a little while as he works into the midfield - but mostly up forward. Midfield eventually, a la Stringer.

I really hate making player comparisons to established players as they're never spot on and breed unrealistic expectations. I've seen him likened to Goddard, Stevie J and Bob Murphy but I don't really like any of them overall. Goddard's pace and one on one ability combined with Murphy/SJ smarts is a reasonable description but certainly far from perfect.
Dannnn I remember this time last year you mentioned that inside sources are saying we will get Stringer and Plowman. Nothing being said ATM? Or are you actually hearing that we will get Lennon?

To be fair, we probably would have taken Plowman if GWS didn't take him at 3. Shows signs of being versatile enough to give Macca wet dreams.

Not directly inside just to make that clear - just a mate who tends to get good info haha.

Haven't heard anything yet this year. Getting harder and harder to get anything on the club - which is a good thing.

What makes you so keen on Lennon Dannnnnnn? I tend to think he lacks strong side to side movement on the deck but apart from that i reckon he's pretty good. Apart from the fact his disposal and hands are really good he doesn't exactly light it up for me on the ground. A straight line runner imo.

Why not both?

Brown and Thorp are likely to both go third round and we only have one pick here. If we traded well we could have them but if we had only get one at this time I'm more inclined with Brown because he gives us a key marking forward with height other than Jones who gets overworked something chronic. Thorp is similar to Grant and Crameri and so I'd be cautious about getting Thorp.

Anyway what I wanted to say about the forward line and some holes we all know we have here.

I like a forward line something along this build:

Small Forward||| Mobile Tall||| Small Mid
Mid sized forward||Mobile Tall|||Forward capable ruck

A bit like the Hawthorn and Sydney (of recent years)

So in this mold we currently fit these spots for such a team

???????|||???????||| Dahlhaus/Hrovat/Hunter
Stringer/Crameri/Grant||Jones||||Campbell/Cordy

in this mold we are missing
a) A Center Half Forward
b) A Small Forward
c) A back up for Campbell in case of injury (Cordy is always injured)

Things to take note of
-This sort of structure means that you don't need a gorilla (though it would be nice), Hawthorn aren't huge and neither were the Swans when they won a premiership couple years back they had a good mix of mobile forwards and goalkicking ruckmen as well as dangerous goalkicking mids (Something we have in spades).
-Talls take longer to develop than smalls and as such it is best to get the group of talls together first

Interesting to see who you guys think can fill these holes if we are going in this directing (I have a feeling this is what we are attempting).

Lennon would fit in with this Philosophy nicely as a goal kicking mid. Brown fills this philosophy as well as Alex Pearce from Tassie (need work though) and McCarthy from WA. Getting the latter would require some fancy moving in the draft and so cost us hence why I like Pearce who we can get cheaper but has some serious talent and Brown who can back up for the ruckman or Jones or play FF and send Jones to CHF.

Just gotta work out who that small can be maybe we'll take one as a Rookie or late pick if Addison goes?

Is Lennon an elite level decision maker dannnnn? How is his vision and spacial awareness? It's great to have elite level disposal but without the vision and decision making, it's almost redundant

Not when he's anywhere inside 60m. Bit selfish and reminds me a lot of Colin Sylvia, both as a player and a person. Has all the tools to be a good player, but I wouldn't be going anywhere near him at 4.

Brown and Thorp are likely to both go third round and we only have one pick here. If we traded well we could have them but if we had only get one at this time I'm more inclined with Brown because he gives us a key marking forward with height other than Jones who gets overworked something chronic. Thorp is similar to Grant and Crameri and so I'd be cautious about getting Thorp.

Thanks.

What if Grant is traded, and Crameri heads for the PSD and it's uncertain we'll get him?

Still on the Sheed/Taylor train. Someone's gotta be different.

Brett Anderson is hearing things that Aish could slide, possibly out of the top 5

Thanks.

How do you rate Aish?

I have no real feel for these draft picks. Wasn't he allegedly the gun midfielder left over after the mini drafts?

I do rate him very highly. He's good at running out of trouble with agility and speed and has absolutely brilliant disposal on both feet. Lot's of composure. Also has senior experience. I also think he's pretty convertible to that all round midfielder type as opposed to just an outside midfielder. He can win some hard ball and his frame looks like it'd put on weight well. I'd always go for a kid with pace, skills and agility.

I'd be pretty upset if we passed him up but it has been reported that we like him so hopefully what Brett Anderson is hearing is from the Saints and the Dees.

I do rate him very highly. He's good at running out of trouble with agility and speed and has absolutely brilliant disposal on both feet. Lot's of composure. Also has senior experience. I also think he's pretty convertible to that all round midfielder type as opposed to just an outside midfielder. He can win some hard ball and his frame looks like it'd put on weight well. I'd always go for a kid with pace, skills and agility.

I'd be pretty upset if we passed him up but it has been reported that we like him so hopefully what Brett Anderson is hearing is from the Saints and the Dees.

Thanks. How do you rate him vs Kelly and Billings?

Wasn't he injured recently? Could this uncertainty have something to do with it?

Thanks. How do you rate him vs Kelly and Billings?

Wasn't he injured recently? Could this uncertainty have something to do with it?
To be honest i think they're all level. Impossible to split. Billings probably the most well rounded. I'd go with the best interview and medical because they're all guns in their different ways.

quick summary of these facets

Kelly: brilliant disposal, gets to lots of contests

Billings: brilliant disposal, good overhead, good contested footy, dangerous around goal

Aish: brilliant disposal, breaks lines

I want a line breaker so Aish would be nice but Billings is tantalising. I think his kick is the best personally