List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Not interested in Cornelius at all, personally; yet to see anything at AFL level that makes me confident in his ability to even be a depth option to be honest. Even if he does though, he's more of a third tall and we have those kinds of players coming out of our ass. Would rather take a raw younger player if we do get a rookie pick.

Well he was a top junior down there, my contact a former AFL footballer tells me a different story, he 's been heavily involved in TASSIE football, coaching down there, tells me a different story. Interesting.
You've said this already
not too long ago actually

First pick i'm happy with Berg ,Billings, kelly, Aish or KK what our options at our second and third picks in the draft .Does anyone have any inside info please .

Well he was a top junior down there, my contact a former AFL footballer tells me a different story, he 's been heavily involved in TASSIE football, coaching down there, tells me a different story. Interesting.
Your contact is wrong. Cornelious hasn't been in Tassie doing coaching because he's been in Brisbane, struggling to get a game with the Lions. I'd say you get a new contact, pal.

I think he means his contact has been in Tassie doing coaching. ;)

Ahh well, I'd still hazard a guess and say his contact is looking through glasses with a heavily rose coloured tint.. As I said before, even as a junior, Cornelious was a speculative pick. He hasn't developed all that much since then tbh..

I know what you're saying here KH and it's difficult to argue with. However one only needs to look into the history books to see that players labeled "safe" picks rarely become the best players in their draft year. Being physically ready to make an immediate impact generally means that they're closer to their peak and thus will get overtaken by other players.

I can't argue that Scharenberg is less of a risk than Aish; I, too, think that at the very least he'll be a solid player. However - is this the right time to take a little bit more of a risk and see if we can get an absolute top-liner? My head says yes. We have a very solid young core which is starting to show some real form on its own. I don't think now is the point where we have to take a safe player, and I'd be disappointed if we did. I don't want to reach and take somebody not even in top five calculations, absolutely not; all I'm saying is that Aish's reward offsets his risk, and the point we're at in our development means we can afford to take that slightly more high risk/high reward player for me.

Dannnnnnn , I should not have got involved in the discussion , because I have never seen Aish play and he may very we'll be a gun , so I will bow to your opinions.
But if It turns out we end up with another Farren Ray or Sam Power I will go into a very deep depression :eek:

Dannnnnnn , I should not have got involved in the discussion , because I have never seen Aish play and he may very we'll be a gun , so I will bow to your opinions.
But if It turns out we end up with another Farren Ray or Sam Power I will go into a very deep depression :eek:
Haha, no worries - my point was more on the overarching philosophy going into the draft rather than players in particular, though. I just feel like there's no need for us to take a player with a (perceived) lower ceiling that is all set to make an immediate impact, though; if we think player X will be better than player Y in the long run, but more of a risk, I reckon we should go player X.

Your a good man Dannnnnnnn, but when you start talking player X and Y , I have had to read it 4 times to to get the the jist of it all !
You see I am not that bright :)

The info I've been given is we like Scharenberg better. That was a month ago, not sure if things have changed.

Well a month ago Aish was absolutely no chance to get past pick 2, I think things would have changed a bit.

Obviously they would go back through the footage and would continue with a more thorough interview process so things can change yes. But I'm still sticking by the Scharenberg unless I hear otherwise. The information I was given was that Scharenberg was the standout along with Kelly and Boyd so he's the favourite IMO.

I'm really pissed off. This Tasmanian ex Hawthorn and Brisbane player-Sharenburg Aish sounds like terrible trade for Kolodashnji Bontompelli who is currently getting good raps in the VGL.

Share your concerns on that outcome, however to be fair I don't recall Power having the same reviews as Aish and Ray was not as highly rated as Aish, from memory anyway. That said, the lightly built outside mids taken high in the draft do worry me. I think it's probably to do with the fact that in lower grades of footy, their outside game thrives, but in AFL they don't get time and space. I really like the bigger bodied mids who have an inside game that stands up.

I think Kelly is in a similar boat, but I believe has worked on his inside game a bit more maybe.

I know what you're saying here KH and it's difficult to argue with. However one only needs to look into the history books to see that players labeled "safe" picks rarely become the best players in their draft year. Being physically ready to make an immediate impact generally means that they're closer to their peak and thus will get overtaken by other players.

I can't argue that Scharenberg is less of a risk than Aish; I, too, think that at the very least he'll be a solid player. However - is this the right time to take a little bit more of a risk and see if we can get an absolute top-liner? My head says yes. We have a very solid young core which is starting to show some real form on its own. I don't think now is the point where we have to take a safe player, and I'd be disappointed if we did. I don't want to reach and take somebody not even in top five calculations, absolutely not; all I'm saying is that Aish's reward offsets his risk, and the point we're at in our development means we can afford to take that slightly more high risk/high reward player for me.

I like the logic here.

I agree with it except your assuming that Scharenberg has less upside based on the fact he has the mature body. That could be correct, but what if what we see of him at this stage is just the tip of the iceberg.

The reason I like him, is because I think he does have more upside to him, I don’t see him as a simply a solid, creative big bodied half back who might replace Morris, I see him as 190cm mid who can play back or forward (ala Stringer) in 3 to 4 years time. If the dogs don’t think he has that capability then I think we should pass.

Wine
Wines just might be a lot better, Scharenberg will be a good pick at 4. Aish would be a good pick 4. Tough call for mine.
Yes agree....it's a tough call. And it's likely part of the decision will be made for us depending on who takes who, so it's not entirely in our control.

I will be ok with any of Aish, Kelly, Billings or Scharenberg as we should get a very good player.....in fact I really like the looks of Taylor, Lennon, Dunstan, KK, Merrett, Bontempelli and a few others but we can only take one…..if we are lucky one of the other good ones might slip to 42.

Kristian on Footy Tragic who does excellent write ups has just started his power rankings and there is some very interesting information there on Lewis Taylor. Very harsh on him. I rate Taylor higher than he does but the points he makes are all very valid, and many of his issues with Taylor I have also noticed. He weights those negatives more than most though, I would think. Regardless, the fact that his height is his only concern is a bit of a myth. Not that we are going to pick him anyway, but he has been brought up quite a bit in this thread.