• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Well at least Knightmare's does not think I am fool
from his description of Freeman:

" In short this guy has all the tricks and other than Jack Martin is that only other midfielder I see as a genuine game changer"

And yet he still doesn't rate him as a potential A-grader, whereas he rates Aish as a potential A-grader.

There's a point where best available and needs are incommensurable and I'd suggest that Crouch is way past that point. I'm a big fan of Crouch and he'll be a player but not for us. We have limited list space and it's not the time to put another slow inside extractor on it. We have plenty of depth in that area and if we start ignoring our gaps to go best available with every single pick then we're going to have a big hole when we're trying to contend.

Regardless, I'd be very surprised if Crouch went anywhere close to 42.
I'm bias because I'm a massive fan of Crouch, as I am with all players from St Pats.

I'd certainly take him at a pick in the 40's. Can't see him being anywhere near that though.

And yet he still doesn't rate him as a potential A-grader, whereas he rates Aish as a potential A-grader.
It's also really convenient that he brings up Knightmares rating of Freeman but not his rating of Aish, were he says he thinks he's the best midfielder in the draft.

For those who have been talking about getting a Murphy replacement, check out Darcy Byrne-Jones' highlights on the AFL website. Closest thing I have seen in this crop.

Beautiful balance, quick stepper, good decision maker, even the way he moves...

Mate your on the ball this kids untapped love his work was him play earlier in the year didnt no who he was just 23 --perfect running backman pick 42

Just had a another look at some additional footage of KK and Scharenberg. Like what I see with both, but Scharenberg looks to be the pick of draft still for me. I just can't see GWS not taking him. The Saints also would be mad to miss on him because he has midfielder written all over him. Happy for others to mount the case against, but so far I am still a Scharenberg man, if he slips to us I will be delighted. :D

Just had a look and yes you spotted a Muph clone....the step and all....However couple of differences, he's just 180cm, Murph is 187cm and I saw the kid get tackled a couple of times....I don't think I have ever seen Murph tackled ;)
Yep, shame about his height. A couple more inches and he would be the perfect back flanker.
Haha in his defence one of those tackles he gets taken out by a team mate who is not even close to being on the same page.

Just checked out this Darcy Byrnes-Jones kid, really well spotted TBOW. Love the way he moves. I looked up on him a bit and it appears he killed it not only in speed and agility but also endurance. Top 5 in 3km time trial, beep test, agility and repeat sprints. Top 10 in 20m sprint. KP also implied that he has him ranked pretty high in his power rankings. Would be interesting to see where he goes, would be ecstatic if we picked him up with our second pick.

timtam & cross
I have ceased slagging Aish because of the slanging match it attracted a few pages pack.
I get it, you love him. I don't.
I acknowledge Freeman's limitations, you refuse to except Aish has any - fine

I thought it worth considering options, as neither of us want the club to make a mistake with what maybe our last high pick for some years.

As it is, I would pick Kolojazznee a head of everyone, maybe even Boyd.

Dude seriously. I understand that there unpopular opinions, but why would we pass on the best KPF available for KK? That makes no sense at all, especially given that we would love a KPF.

What makes you think that Macca would pick another Farren Ray or Sam Power? Don't think that's a risk to be honest.

It's not the coach that picks the players. Macca said himself he doesn't have a heap of input.

I understand the recruiting team along with Mac have developed a system in place to reduce the risk, but that does not mean mistakes can't happen. Recruiting isn't an exact science and players who are labeled outside players are generally the ones that have the most chance of failing. That said I do have a hell of a lot more confidence in our drafting compared to previous years and they will no doubt have my support whoever they choose.

Are we confident we can keep Aish happy and have him not piss off to Adelaide?

Are we hoping the influence of Cooney and Griff will keep him here?

Although there are exceptions, I don't think the lure home to Adelaide is that big for SA draftees. There haven't been that many who've wanted to go home. Maybe because after they've had a taste of Melbourne, they realise that they can never go back and live in the third world.

It's not the coach that picks the players. Macca said himself he doesn't have a heap of input.

I understand the recruiting team along with Mac have developed a system in place to reduce the risk, but that does not mean mistakes can't happen. Recruiting isn't an exact science and players who are labeled outside players are generally the ones that have the most chance of failing. That said I do have a hell of a lot more confidence in our drafting compared to previous years and they will no doubt have my support whoever they choose.

If you think that Macca has no direct input to the decisions then you'd be wrong. The coach is only one of a number who provide input, but he greatly influences the type of player and type of person we are after - the "attributes" rather than the specific individual.

EDIT: Chris, upon further reading I get what you are saying. I don't think we are actually disagreeing - Macca won't select the actual player - this will be done in the pre-draft meeting by the recruiters and the footy department, however Macca has broadly designed the system we use to rate players and has set the expectations re style of play and personal characteristics.

Are we confident we can keep Aish happy and have him not piss off to Adelaide?

Are we hoping the influence of Cooney and Griff will keep him here?
It helps when Toumpas also lives in Melbourne. If he gets homesick then that's a problem in the future, not now.

Trade him for Crouch or Boak in a couple of years, no worries, aye.

It helps when Toumpas also lives in Melbourne. If he gets homesick then that's a problem in the future, not now.

Trade him for Crouch or Boak in a couple of years, no worries, aye.

I suppose us winning will help. :p

If I were the Dogs, this is who I would have in my order of preference for pick 4.

1. Tom Boyd. Everyone is well aware of his talents and potential.
2. James Aish. Midfield super talent, brilliant ball user, with proven performances at SANFL level despite being under 18 years old. Apparently only likely to slip due to some average interview performances.
3. Matthew Scharenburg. Would set up our defence for the next 10 years (with Roughy and Talia beside him).
4. Josh Kelly. The last of the big 4, super runner and outside mid. More a 'cream' style player, but with our wealth of young inside mids, should be a great compliment.

All of those 4 have their pros and cons.

I think it would be hilarious if SOS drafted another outside midfielder at 2.

Honestly I think SOS has no idea what he's doing. How Plowman went top three I'll never know. And I'm not basing it off him playing hardly any games (like some do with Toumpas), I was genuinely dumbfounded when he went #3 on draft day.

Yeah, I'm never making a "bookmark it" prediction on SOS again. :oops:

If I were the Dogs, this is who I would have in my order of preference for pick 4.

1. Tom Boyd. Everyone is well aware of his talents and potential.
2. James Aish. Midfield super talent, brilliant ball user, with proven performances at SANFL level despite being under 18 years old. Apparently only likely to slip due to some average interview performances.
3. Matthew Scharenburg. Would set up our defence for the next 10 years (with Roughy and Talia beside him).
4. Josh Kelly. The last of the big 4, super runner and outside mid. More a 'cream' style player, but with our wealth of young inside mids, should be a great compliment.

All of those 4 have their pros and cons.

What is it with these comments about Aish not interviewing well?? Where did it come from? How did he not interview well? It must be pretty serious if he has dropped from a sure pick 2 to a potential pick 6. I haven't heard this from any reliable source and most draft experts say he is a level headed kid and very determined

The only reason that I could think of was that GWS didn't want another midfielder as they already had a glut of highly rated young midfielders. It still didn't make much sense though.

What is it with these comments about Aish not interviewing well?? Where did it come from? How did he not interview well? It must be pretty serious if he has dropped from a sure pick 2 to a potential pick 6. I haven't heard this from any reliable source and most draft experts say he is a level headed kid and very determined
Supposedly several clubs are worried that he'll want to return to SA in a few years. Apparently some of his answers to related questions made a few clubs nervous.

That said though, I wouldn't put it past the SA clubs to be spreading things like this; I know that a lot of clubs do it. Personally I think it's all manufactured rumour, but there's no way of knowing unless you actually interviewed him.

Supposedly several clubs are worried that he'll want to return to SA in a few years. Apparently some of his answers to related questions made a few clubs nervous.

That said though, I wouldn't put it past the SA clubs to be spreading things like this; I know that a lot of clubs do it. Personally I think it's all manufactured rumour, but there's no way of knowing unless you actually interviewed him.

Thanks.

Who would the SA clubs be trying to worry? Fans? Because the clubs actually interview they player and will know for themselves if he answered poorly/not ideally.

I do rate Aish but would be happy with Billings/Scharenburg as well.

For those wanting a safe pick, my two cents is Josh Kelly. Whether he ends up as the best is debateable but I reckon there's a very low chance he'll be a bust.