List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

So basically Goddard mk. 2?

Who knows in terms of being a utility yes......

....I think we all see Stringer one day becoming more of a mid who plays forward and we all hope he can....and Scharenberg is a similar type. The only thing is at the U18 level they have used him a lot as running defender and he was not really left in one position as such which has some wondering if that's an issue. Maybe it is? Maybe he can't play mid for enough time? Neither could Stringer, he still can't. But in time?. I just see the way he plays, how he moves, and just think in 2 to 3 years with development that he will be able to play mid.

Someone on here said a couple of days ago....I can't remember, might have been Dannnnnnnnnn??? but he said you need to look at what the player might become, not so much what he is now. Really it's just what I think, based on limited information and footage of the players I see.

I was very strongly against Macrae last year, wanted either Mayes or Grundy at that pick.

I still think I'd rather those two, but am not complaining with Macrae.

All due respect what where you watching last year? The kid is 191cm on baller and growing imposible to catch great motor goal kicking mid --we rested him late kids a champion and has swagger

It's a moving feast this draft caper.....but I am now going down the line of if we can't get Scharenberg then I want Aish. I am not as convinced about Kelly anymore.....he's not doing it for me having seen more footage (not saying he's not a good player but I rate others higher)......but that said I reckon we'll end up with him if we follow the scribes, unless we go for a smokey at that pick and grab KK or Bontempelli. I am hoping that what I hear is true and that GWS love Kelly.....that means we will be able to get either Scharenberg or Aish. ;)

Scharenberg
Aish
Bontempelli
KK

Kelly my smokey to slide. I think the taller utility types will go higher than expected, KK, Bontempelli ahead of Billings and Kelly...

ps....I reserve the right to change my mind. :eek:

I haven't scanned back to the start of this thread but all? most? of the posts concern our pick 4. I think pick 42 could be very important and could deliver us another key forward which is still a high priority IMO. If we could snare one of Ben Brown or Mitch Thorp I think it would be a great addition. The former as a tall marking, straight kicking, rucking forward, the latter as a guy who has dominated in Tassie (albeit a second level comp) and who is desperate for another opportunity at AFL. Apologies if these suggestions were raised earlier.

I like Ben Brown and Mitch Thorp as prospects, but isn't there a chance they will last till our pick 60?

With pick 42, I wouldn't mind us going for Cam Conlon - who prior to this year was rated as the clear second best KPF prospect behind Tom Boyd.

If not him, then another of the myriad of mid-range rated youngsters.

I haven't scanned back to the start of this thread but all? most? of the posts concern our pick 4. I think pick 42 could be very important and could deliver us another key forward which is still a high priority IMO. ...

i think there's less mention of P42 because after the first dozen or so, the genereal consensus is the draft becomes a chook raffle - the guys you mentioned could very well be drafted at 24, 42, 67 or rookied.

in deeper draft years, the chook raffle kicks in later, making easier to speculate about picks in the middle of the draft.

Whilst we're name dropping, I grew up just down the road from superstar Bulldogs forward Trav Baird, I think I definitely win this contest ;)

Exactly. I'm certain we'll be better off for selecting Stringer and Macrae instead of Wines. Ollie's a great young player with an awesome approach to his footy but we didn't need any more inside mids.
You select what you need as part of your plan.

Watch the Bulldogs vs Port game earlier in the year. There were a few 1:1s between Wines and Macrae and Macrae won every one of them. Quite easily I may add.

I actually don't care about Aish, Kelly or Billings. If we get them so be it. The one that I really like the look of is Marcus Bonptempelli, I have seen all the top players tapes and apart from Boyd he is the one I like the look of the most. I just like the way he moves, kicks, and his composure.

Not to mention his size 192/193 cm and almost certainly still growing - only 17 still and is one of the youngest in the draft.

He also has a massive tank already (14.7 beep test at combine).

I'd be very exctied if the club reached for Bontempelli. But do understand there is some risk and we might not be willing to take it - but very exciting prospect IMO.

All due respect what where you watching last year? The kid is 191cm on baller and growing imposible to catch great motor goal kicking mid --we rested him late kids a champion and has swagger
Mayes and Grundy had both shown much more than Macrae in the juniors, Macrae was picked on what he COULD become. Much like Bontempelli this year.

I don't know what it is about this year's draft but I'm not feeling overly confident about any of the names in the top bracket.
I'm sure most of them will be fine players, but there are none that I look at and think 'Oh I want that guy' whereas last year there were a few.
It's probably just me.

I don't know what it is about this year's draft but I'm not feeling overly confident about any of the names in the top bracket.
I'm sure most of them will be fine players, but there are none that I look at and think 'Oh I want that guy' whereas last year there were a few.
It's probably just me.

Its just you. There's plenty of great talent in top bracket. The only difference is it thins out quicker than previous years.

Agree.
I'd Love this kid at 42. Hasn't been mentioned too much here, but has a old style FF look about him and is a strong mark/kick.

Lethal Boot
Him taught the super boot techniques from Ben Graham
might start kicking them from the centre square regularly :p

Mayes and Grundy had both shown much more than Macrae in the juniors, Macrae was picked on what he COULD become. Much like Bontempelli this year.

Macrae's championships were as good as anyones. He was truly dominant and kicked six goals in a game. He no doubt had a better year than Mayes last year. I like the looks of Bontempelli but would be a bigger reach than Macrae was. His championships weren't great by any stretch.

I would just play it 'safe' with our pick 4. Seems to me that there are the top 4 (Boyd, Aish, Kelly, Scharenburg), then Billings, then the next tier.

I think we will end up with Scharenburg, because GWS will take Kelly at 2, then St Kilda will take Aish at 3.

Yeah Macrae was a bit of a one year wonder that came from nowhere but had a huge year before getting drafted including playing well in the champs and best on in the TAC granny

I would just play it 'safe' with our pick 4. Seems to me that there are the top 4 (Boyd, Aish, Kelly, Scharenburg), then Billings, then the next tier.

I think we will end up with Scharenburg, because GWS will take Kelly at 2, then St Kilda will take Aish at 3.

yep. we'll all have our preferences about that top 5 or so and i even like KK a lot, so it's a good draft to just see who we get and then get really excited and re watch the championships with rose coloured glasses. the draft is one of the happiest nights in footy. before fans, the media and a high pressure industry in general make footy stressful again

Mayes was a back to back all Australian, Macrae come out of nowhere. Mayes defiantly had a better junior career, not that it matters now. Very happy we have Jack on our list.

no he wasn't. he was AA the year before named at CHF and struggled to move into the midfield last year

It's like it matters anyway, he was wet impressive for Brisbane last year.