List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Also just to add, I think everyone is trying to find something that isn't there with Billings in the midfield. Aish is what everyone thinks Billings will become.

Did they attempt to trade him do you think? I remember him and Crameri in combination cutting us up pretty badly in the 2012 season.

absolutely I think they did (was an article in the sun saying he'd requested one mid year), on our board we were even discussing the merits of paying him out this year and using pick 66 this year, which says a lot.

He's not a bad footballer, I actually think he's bloody talented, but there are a lot of inherent problems.
Tends to sulk a bit when things aren't going for him and isn't a forward so has been playing most of his career out of position.

I was actually really impressed with some of his VFL work as an on baller, would have had half a dozen 30+ touch games

Can anyone recommend a game/s which best demonstrates Aish's ability or potential? I've watched his U18 Champs game vs Vic Metro and a bit of the SANFL Grand Final and obviously his highlights packages.

He had a pretty good 2012 grand final from memory and a better year all round last year.

Do you think that his shoulder + basically knowing he will be a top pick meant he went a bit easy on his footy? He was a fair bit better last year.

The shoulder could maybe have affected him going in a bit harder (lost confidence), but I think it's mostly the fact he didn't have a pre season.

Apparently we are weighing up whether to take Bontempeli, Aish or Sharenberg

The uncertainty surrounding this draft and our pick is pretty stressful (and fun), I change my mind every day. I wasn't that keen on Scharenberg because he doesn't seem to have much x-factor. There seems to be some risk with guys like Aish, Billings, Kolodjashnij and Bontempelli. I'm thinking now we should just take Scharenberg, sit back, relax and know we've got certain gun. The others might be more exciting and have the potential to be better, but there's probably a bigger chance they won't be.

I'll probably change my mind tomorrow morning though.

Still don't think we will be taking Billings (or Aish). I think it's between Scharenberg and Bontempelli.
Trust your info CG but I hope like hell you're wrong this time. :P Wouldn't be happy with either of those to be honest.

To be honest, I would be rather excited to get Berger because that means the club see him as a future midfield gun. They wouldn't choose him over Aish otherwise.

I don't claim to be a draft watcher, I can only go off what I've seen "on the line" lately, but I reckon Scharenberg is a beauty. Surprising pace for a bigger fella in the highlight reel on display. Frequently grabbing the intercept mark and then making the most of the turnover by quickly darting off against the flow. Is anyone else impressed by his initial bursts through & away from those packs? He would be a very handy acquisition to any team & I'd love him at the dogs.
Ouch, that's my cherry done, but I'll get used to it.

Very nice to see people jumping on the Scharenberg bandwagon.

The main reason I like him is his marking. People compare him to Sam Fisher and use it as a put down. If he becomes a Sam Fisher in the worst case scenario (so he doesn't become the midfielder everyone desires) I'd be very happy. Fisher was a star.

I don't claim to be a draft watcher, I can only go off what I've seen "on the line" lately, but I reckon Scharenberg is a beauty. Surprising pace for a bigger fella in the highlight reel on display. Frequently grabbing the intercept mark and then making the most of the turnover by quickly darting off against the flow. Is anyone else impressed by his initial bursts through & away from those packs? He would be a very handy acquisition to any team & I'd love him at the dogs.
Ouch, that's my cherry done, but I'll get used to it.

Which position do you see him predominantly playing in a few years time? With that break away pace from packs, combined with his strength and height, it seems like he has the same qualities as stringer and crameri. Would be great to see all three operate all over the ground. Actually re-watching his highlight again.. He looks like a taller version of hodge.

True that. Fisher was a gun. If we end up with Scharenberg, and he ends up like Fisher, that's a ripper foundation for the back six with the young blokes coming through there already. Roughy, Talia, Young, JJ & the Burg could be the core for so many years to come.

Which position do you see him predominantly playing in a few years time? With that break away pace from packs, combined with his strength and height, it seems like he has the same qualities as stringer and crameri. Would be great to see all three operate all over the ground. Actually re-watching his highlight again.. He looks like a taller version of hodge.
Bit slow on this, sorry. Yeah, he's got third tall qualities, a la Stringer and Crameri, but it looks like he plays the back half well already. He would be great as a third defender, cutting off the forward entries like a Josh Gibson, but he can take the mark rather than fist it away. Hodge is a great example, because he looks like Burg will grab the ball in a pack and dart through to space and deliver to the right spot. Composure in traffic is impressive.

See I don't see stringer as just a third tall. I'm thinking like in a few years... I see stringer as that strong utility type. I think the only difference I see with Berger and stringer is agility. Stringer seems to have a great turn of direction, which is why he is great with creating pressure on opposition. Maybe Berger is the same, I'm not sure.

I didn't mean to pigeonhole Stringer, the kid's a gun and he'll be very versatile for us in time, he could be anything. I like that we've already built a decent core of mids, but also like how we'll be able to create some variety in there with different sizes through Stringer, maybe Crameri, and hopefully Scharenberg. They could do some pinch hitting in there to rustle some feathers.

Very nice to see people jumping on the Scharenberg bandwagon.

The main reason I like him is his marking. People compare him to Sam Fisher and use it as a put down. If he becomes a Sam Fisher in the worst case scenario (so he doesn't become the midfielder everyone desires) I'd be very happy. Fisher was a star.

Said this from the beginning.

Is Mitch Harvey real a chance to be there at 42? Looks an absolute natural.
Reminds me a little like Jack Riewoldt, wondering if its a massive concern about his endurance and him nearly collapsing after the time trial considering I don't think he played all/most of last year after the basketball incident