List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Official ???? Gotta laugh at MFC. Tyson is good, but is he comparable to Aish/Kelly etc. ? There original premise was flawed (wanting a mature "gun", ostensibly for an unproven 18yo"gun") but now they have done this. Can anybody see the logic ?
Tis Official!

I feel like its line-ball between Aish and Scharenberg really. Just depends on how St. Kilda see things...

Seems Melb traded pick 2, 20 & 72 for Tyson, 9 & 53
Sighssss... so who will GWS target at 2 now? I want Scharenberg to come here.

If the mail is right, Boyd & Berger are GWS bound. Saints want Kelly according to the rumours, so I guess we get Aish. Had someone suggested Aish at 4 a few months...weeks...ago, they'd be told "Not gonna happen..". Can we afford to let Aish slide further for a needs pick and then lament in a few years when the kid is a gun ?

Official ???? Gotta laugh at MFC. Tyson is good, but is he comparable to Aish/Kelly etc. ? There original premise was flawed (wanting a mature "gun", ostensibly for an unproven 18yo"gun") but now they have done this. Can anybody see the logic ?

They get an upgrade to pick 9 too from their pick 20. The later picks probably don't mean much though. I think it's a good deal. They get Tyson who was a high draft pick, plus 9 which is not that much worse than pick 2 this year.

I feel like its line-ball between Aish and Scharenberg really. Just depends on how St. Kilda see things...
Was mentioned the other day Silvagni is a Massive Kelly Fan so expect them to go #1 Boyd, #2 Kelly

If the mail is right, Boyd & Berger are GWS bound. Saints want Kelly according to the rumours, so I guess we get Aish. Had someone suggested Aish at 4 a few months...weeks...ago, they'd be told "Not gonna happen..". Can we afford to let Aish slide further for a needs pick and then lament in a few years when the kid is a gun ?
Is a interesting call on Aish isn't it.
Will GWS still get the Burger as they are landing Shaw? Obviously Berger is very versatile and can play more than the one position and you can have both Shaw and Berger playing in the backline. However is it as much of a need now that they have Shaw?
To be honest I am happy with either Shaw, Kelly or Aish. And Aish was a sure thing at number 2 not to long ago. So be glad to pick him up at 4. However is predicted he could slip to pick 6, which Collingwood is trying to get pick 6 from west coast, to possibly pick up Aish.

They get an upgrade to pick 9 too from their pick 20. The later picks probably don't mean much though. I think it's a good deal. They get Tyson who was a high draft pick, plus 9 which is not that much worse than pick 2 this year.

OR, as I see it.... a 7 pick downgrade AND their 2nd rounder. The upgraded 72 to 53 is insignificant imho

So he has cost them a 7 pick downgrade (2-9) in a shallow drat, PLUS their 2nd rounder, and as steak knives get their #72 upgraded to $53. Wow. Haven't seen a lot of Tyson, but he'd want to be a gun at that price.
Yeah your not kidding and plus he's had knee problems the last couple of seasons they would want to be REALLY confident

It's great watching St. Kilda and Melborune make some dubious decisions this trade period. Along with Brisbane losing some young guns and GWS not landing some of the bigger fish they had hoped for, everything seems to be coming up Bulldogs :)

Would be stoked if Aish slides.

OR, as I see it.... a 7 pick downgrade AND their 2nd rounder. The upgraded 72 to 53 is insignificant imho

I pointed out the second rounder. I think this is a good deal for them. It's interesting looking at the responses. I think the majority think they did well, but there are a lot who reckon it is a massive fail. I think it shows just how much uncertainty over the quality of this draft.

It's a risk, but I don't mind it. Dom Tyson is a very nice player if he can get that knee right and it's been reported they rate Freeman quite highly. I think they did well out of it.​

Forget the steak knives, a 7 pick downgrade and a 2nd rounder should get a gun. Tyson is NOT one...Yet! They initially wanted a mature "gun" mid for #2. They have NOT got that, and given away more. Good trade ? Pffft.

GWS need gun mid and a gun back flanker.
After this trade this morning, wouldn't surprise me at all if Boyd fell to Saints. :eek:

We defo can't draft needs 1st with our 1st pick, Howard is an example of that, Aish or Scharenberg it is, we took Stringer a little high last year, twas predicted he'd be in the 10-15 range bit like what happened with Menzel, but before his broken leg he was tipped as a future top 3.

It's great watching St. Kilda and Melborune make some dubious decisions this trade period. Along with Brisbane losing some young guns and GWS not landing some of the bigger fish they had hoped for, everything seems to be coming up Bulldogs :)

Would be stoked if Aish slides.

Prior to this trade, I think there was a 0% chance that Aish lasts til our pick.

Now I think there is a 50% chance.

This is because I think there is a 50/50 chance that GWS will take Kelly vs Scharenburg. This is because there is a perception that Kelly has shot past Aish in most recruiters eyes (based on his combine results) - specifically SOS is rumoured to want Kelly.

If GWS take Kelly at pick 2, then Aish goes pick 3 - we get Scharenburg.

But, if GWS decide they don't want another mid, rather a utility and take Scharenburg at pick 2, then Kelly goes pick 3 - we get Aish.

On list needs, Scharenburg is the most useful to GWS out of all 3...

Based on today's events....Would not be surprised if Boyd to fell to Saints. :eek:
Stranger things have happened.

GWS need gun mid and a gun back flanker.
After this trade this morning, wouldn't surprise me at all if Boyd fell to Saints. :eek:
Saints would end up like Melbourne if that happened, their needs is Kelly/Aish 1st before KPFs, they could get a prospect with their abundance of late 1st/early 2nd rounders they'll end up with.

On list needs, Scharenburg is the most useful to GWS out of all 3...
That's what I thought, another HFF/Mid would help them also as their only real standout in this area is Devon Smith atm so ud think if they'd look at Billings 2 would be too high but 5-8 seems where he'll go

Speaking of flog journalists, Robinson is just about the biggest of them all; nothing but a sensationalist bogan. He has no idea. The Australian football media is probably the worst sports media in the world.

Sure, you could compare them in the way that they can both run and have nice skills. Aside from that, the reality is that Kelly just isn't the power athlete that Griffen was/is. Remember when Griff first exploded on the scene and there were comparisons to a young Robert Harvey in the way he used to literally bulldoze through tackles? Kelly has none of that.

I like Kelly and think he will have a good AFL career, but I can't see the Griffen comparison.

Thanks , just as I suspected. And as for Robinson , my guess is he spent 5 years in grade 1.
so have to agree with you there.