List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

I'm also yet to see Emma mention that we are into billings. The Facebook link just said that it's near certain that he will slip to pick 4, didn't day that we will most likely take him.

I think with her connections it means heaps for her to say that we might take him.

I've heard from various sources that we might take Scharenberg, Aish, Kelly, Billings, KK, Bontempelli. If she said "I think they're interested in KK" then I'd pay more attention. But it was the way she phrased it, like an off the cuff remark. In my mind it sounds like "Eh, I dunno, maybe KK?"

I would say that she has a fair idea of who we are into. She Probly doesn't want to loose her credibility by making strong statement yet.

If Jacqui Reed came out tomorrow and said we're into KK, would you suddenly backflip?

I don't trust vague tweets.

We have heard from Chris grant on here that we rate Kelly and Berger. Well maybe Emma knows that those two will be gone pick 2 and 3. And she might be aware that our 4th preference is KK. What credible source has mentioned we are into Aish or Bontempelli???

We have heard from Chris grant on here that we rate Kelly and Berger. Well maybe Emma knows that those two will be gone pick 2 and 3. And she might be aware that our 4th precedence is KK. What credible source has mentioned we are into Aish or Bontempelli???

I don't remember what sources there's a lot of information out there :p

We're still about a month out from the draft. I doubt clubs know exactly who they want to take, and journos will know even less so. Even the credible ones.

I don't remember what sources there's a lot of information out there :p

We're still about a month out from the draft. I doubt clubs know exactly who they want to take, and journos will know even less so. Even the credible ones.
You really think clubs don't have a confident idea who they will take with there first pick?? I reckon they would.

I get the feeling we might be still tossing up a couple of options. There isn't a clear cut pick 4. But that's just what I think, what do I know? :p

I reckon it's just a toss up simply because of the pick 2 situation. I would put money on it that the club would have a very clear rating of the best 10 or so in the draft.

They would, but things can change once they re analyse and they re interview not only them but people close to them. Kelly and Scharenberg I don't think will be re considered however. All the info I'm getting is they are the clear No 2 & 3.

To be honest I find it hard to believe that we would be interested in someone like KK. From the descriptions, it seems like he doesn't have much of a contested ball side to his game?

Not that old chestnut!

If, as you say, 2 &3 are certain, then it's anyone's guess as to what 4 will be. There is a month to go, so that could mean the composition of our team varies to such a degree that we consider a different strategy or change our minds on who we want. We still don't know if Crameri will land with us, and we don't know if there are other trades that might occur. Given all that, how reliable is any information that journalists or posters come up with?

Valid point.

Since when do you need a contested ball side to your game to be a high quality AFL footballer? He plays predominantly off the half-back flank, his role is to run the ball out of defense & distribute, like that of a Grant Birchall or a Jarrod Harbrow not get in and under packs.

The last thing we need is a guy who's game is based around winning contested ball, that's a role we're well and truly covered in.

Sorry I meant that's how we rate the draft (from my info), not how it will go as in what other teams picks. But yeah, it's a good point. Things can certainly change.

Trade period ain't over. We could move pick 4, or any of the picks above us could be moved as well. Boyd could do his ACL walking down the street. Kelly might get caught passed out on king st with a tablet in his pocket. Aish might declare that he wants to stay in SA. Nobody knows.

Em's mail is very good. No question. But her mail also changes a lot as we get closer to the draft.

I'm not saying we won't have a strong opinion on who our preferences are at this point, but to say we're locked into player A or B for sure and certain, is just bollocks I'm afraid.

Since when do you need a contested ball side to your game to be a high quality AFL footballer? He plays predominantly off the half-back flank, his role is to run the ball out of defense & distribute, like that of a Grant Birchall or a Brendon Goddard not get in and under packs.

The last thing we need is a guy who's game is based around winning contested ball, that's a role we're well and truly covered in.
There are contest to be won all the time. Every player playing on the field needs to have the ability to win the ball. I'm just saying that it seems Suprising, considering Maccas main focus, that we would consider KK from what I have read and what's available at pick 4. Also I have never mentioned that the club is certain who they would pick. Just that they would have a clear idea with who they rate in terms of rankings.

Since when do you need a contested ball side to your game to be a high quality AFL footballer? He plays predominantly off the half-back flank, his role is to run the ball out of defense & distribute, like that of a Grant Birchall or a Jarrod Harbrow not get in and under packs.

The more I think it through, the more I realise how KK really does fit a need for is. I have just read that yes, he is "the best quarter back I have ever seen in the under 18". Would be great to have him pushing up on the wing as well. There is that run and carry that we need right there.