List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

15!? You're not counting mature-aged recruits from North Ballarat Roosters, are you? And how many of those kids came on scholarships from NT/NSW?
I got that off Wikipedia, no mature agers in there. It had a few GWS 17 year olds though.

I can't speak for all of the Rebels draftee's, but I do know more about the St Pats players. Dom Barry and Jake Neade came from NT originally.

i wouldn't say 70%. I'd say 50% are drinking/partying moderately. About 15-30% take soft recreational and 5-15% your pills/harder stuff. Thats from psych research about general teens.
I know this isn't about the draft anymore, but that research must of been done a while ago? I reckon about 30-40% of the people I finished school with (2011) are heavily into pills.

Anyway, the point I was trying to make is if Gartlett is getting picked just on the back of smoking/drinking it's unfair. It's stupid by anyone who does that while a chance to get drafted, and if I was even close to getting drafted I would be in bed by 7:00pm every night and only drink water. But that's not how everyone thinks.

If it's more than that he only has himself to blame.

15!? You're not counting mature-aged recruits from North Ballarat Roosters, are you? And how many of those kids came on scholarships from NT/NSW? And considering the region they get to cherry-pick from.. Calder had 7 go in the national draft just last year alone.

Agree re Crouch.

tape-measure.jpg.html.jpeg

The club should pick the best available talent at 4, regardless of silly internet talk on Aish going home.
Just wonder if the SA teams are being mischievous
Garlett won't get picked up

Just read on WOOF theres a rumour going around that Aish is scaring a few clubs off in interviews because they think he will return to SA after the 2 years, probably just BS but could be a reason why he is randomly a chance to get to us now. So maybe they are good mates and we want to be able to keep him at the club ;)
That's interesting because it came from something read on here.

Hey people make sure you report Brett Anderson's phantom on this thread. It's based on what he hears from clubs to a large degree. Not always a lock as things change, last year he had us getting menzel and macrae but he does research.

also jeez Ian from that herald sun chat is pretty emphatic we're getting Scharenburg, Thorp and Garlett. No offence if you're on here Ian but Jmac effectively ruled out Thorp and Landsberger emphatically ruled out Garlett. Hope they're right because i'd much prefer Aish to Scharenburg

Had a very good football person from TASSIE, say to me Doggies could do worse than offer Aaron Cornelious a rookie spot. Story was he never got along with Voss, and more importantly Brown. Before he was drafted, good judges believed he was as good a forward prospect, similar to Jack Reiwold. I was told he was thrown to the wolfs, similar to Liam Jones. Tough place to play key forward.

Hey people make sure you report Brett Anderson's phantom on this thread. It's based on what he hears from clubs to a large degree. Not always a lock as things change, last year he had us getting menzel and macrae but he does research.

also jeez Ian from that herald sun chat is pretty emphatic we're getting Scharenburg, Thorp and Garlett. No offence if you're on here Ian but Jmac effectively ruled out Thorp and Landsberger emphatically ruled out Garlett. Hope they're right because i'd much prefer Aish to Scharenburg

Ian has been making lots of emphatic statements on Herald sun chats, don't think he has much to back them up.

Had a very good football person from TASSIE, say to me Doggies could do worse than offer Aaron Cornelious a rookie spot. Story was he never got along with Voss, and more importantly Brown. Before he was drafted, good judges believed he was as good a forward prospect, similar to Jack Reiwold. I was told he was thrown to the wolfs, similar to Liam Jones. Tough place to play key forward.
You'd have to question why he didn't get along with the clubs coach and captain..

Both of us are probably reading way too much into a potential throwaway line by Landsberger but I reckon there could be a connection between James Aish and Jake Needham...
Jesse Aish (James' cousin) played for South Gawler last year and I know his family (Aish) are a tight knit group so is it possible that James and Jake know each other?????
Not to say Needham can/can't play I couldn't tell you either way but could it be possible that we are recruiting Aish plus a buddy (Needham) so he doesn't get homesick etc.???

Any South Australians amongst us??? Preferably from Gawler..:D

Without wanting to fuel the speculation- just one other thought on this.
Maybe Sam has his wires crossed a little & we're considering offering Needham a spot with Footscray.
It seems a little more feasible and could still help Aish settle in (if they are friends & that is what's going on).

Just another great advantage in having our own feeder club.

The club should pick the best available talent at 4, regardless of silly internet talk on Aish going home.
Just wonder if the SA teams are being mischievous
Garlett won't get picked up

Don't worry, clubs don't actually listen to any silly internet talk :D

Wasn't there the same rubbish being said about cooney or griffin in their draft years?? In respect to the "go home" factor... They turned out ok :)

In the early days, I vividly remember that James Fantasia (then Crows recruiting manager) came out publicly and said that the Crows will be chasing Cooney hard when he comes out of contract. Never forgotten that and I've hated him ever since..

I still think we're a big chance to grab Scharenberg.

Aish don't wanna hang with coons and griff?? Melbourne is the best city on earth (and no, I don't live there unfortunately). We draft and develop him, he won't be going anywhere.

He is also best mates with Toumpas who is loving life in Melbourne, so hopefully he would help him settle in pretty well down here. Aish also said on the draft video "any of the clubs that have been linked to me offer exciting opportunities, most club are the same environment and offer you the chance to development as a player and a person, which I think is pretty important". Sounds like he would love Macca.

What a kid thinks at 17 and what he thinks at 19...

I had a mate who I was OS backpacking with for a few weeks who grew up in Canberra. While we were travelling he was adamant he would move back to canberra to live.

When he got back, he lasted about three weeks in Canberra, then moved to melbourne for a year, then moved to Paris. :)

Is there any reason, besides go home factor, that poeple have Aish dropping to us at pick 4? I always thought he was ranked no. 2 in this years draft? Would bloody love him at the Dogs. I'm salivating already.

He hasn't dropped because he's from SA. A few posters here have just asked the question. But I'd imagine it would have absolutely NO affect on Dalrymple in choosing him. Based on a few Phantom drafts floating around here and in media. His drop is based on the specific, identified needs of GWS and Saints, more so than Aish's playing ability. He has had shoulders and he didn't Combine test either. But I reckon he is still a chance to get taken before us.

All good then cos he seems to be a gun to me. I did think when Melbourne traded pick 2, GWS might go for someone a bit different to what the normal phantom drafts were saying(e.g. Plowman/O'Rourke over Toumpas). So fingers crossed.

I think it makes sense that GWS pass (although probably not for Kelly seeing as he is a similar player to Aish, Billings/Scharenberg would make more sense) but I still think St Kilda will take him if available, they need a mid and he is the best in the draft so they must really really like Billings.

I was a little worried about who we take at 4 but I'm pretty confident now that either way we will get a gun. We should probably take whoever is left out of Billings, Aish and Kelly and that would be great but even if we took someone like Kade K I would be pretty damn happy, would be just about perfect for us I reckon and would have him as my favourite after the other 3.